Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Don Del Vecchio from Webster, New York says:

I have recently bought a 1982 yamaha xj-750. I have ridden many bikes before, and let me tell you - this is the smoothest riding and one of the best c

Read More (22 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 1982 Yamaha XJ750J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have recently bought a 1982 yamaha xj-750. I have ridden many bikes before, and let me tell you - this is the smoothest riding and one of the best cruisers out there. All you gotta do is roll back the throttle, and you are GONE! I would recommend to anybody.
- Don Del Vecchio, Webster, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 1982 Yamaha XS650SJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike on earth! Very reliable, easy to work on, maintain, and love. Was blessed to have this bike given to me by a relative. Only has 4700 miles on her and is showroom new! The only problem is trying to find accessories that will fit a 24 year old bike! No one ever has information going back that far.
- Chris, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-20 1982 Yamaha XJ750J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several bikes over the past 25 years but I bought my maxim in '84 and it has been the best ride I have ever had. She handles fantastic on both the turns and straights and has more HP than any crotch rocket I have driven. No Harley could ever match the fun of this bike. I can't imagine ever giving it up.
- Jay Fowler, Amery, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-06 1982 Yamaha XJ750J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike and it was in good mechanical shape. The chrome was spotless. But it need a paint job. Once I got it repainted and seat recovered, it looks great. These Maxims are very sexy, curvy bikes. They are super quick for a cruiser. Much quicker than the large cruisers of today. This 750 is a little small for long road trips, not for power, it has oodles and gobs of power, but for ride comfort.
- Cg, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-19 1982 Yamaha XS650SJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '82 XJ650 Maxim this last spring from an individual - and bought it for just a little more than a song! All I can say is WOW - Lots of power in that 4-cylinder engine! Great starter cruiser!
- Hawk, Richardson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-04 1982 Yamaha IT465J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1984 IT 175, I bought it last year and it has proved a great buy. It is a little bit rough around the edges and the exhaust system isn't what it used to be but it still provides great thrills. It is perfect for a tall or older aged learner, because it has a frame similar in size to a WR 450, but a much smaller engine capacity, not that 175cc isn't enough for casual trail riding. It is also very loud, which I think makes it cool. The suspension, well to tell the truth, is crap. It is very soft, and bounces around all over the place. Donuts are hard to do because of this. If you are not doing professional vintage enduro racing or anything then it shouldn't matter about the suspension, it is more relaxing to ride than a new age motocross bike, but still good for people who want heart racing rides. I am 16 and it is plenty fast enough, when I said relaxing you maybe thought I was an old man? It does have one drawback for taller riders, I am 6'3" and the bike is quite large compared to others, the foot pegs are too far forward, I find my legs very bent, and my knees are far forward, my feet are on a 45 degree angle to the foot pegs, making it impossible to use the footbrake without taking my foot off the foot peg and stomping on the brake pedal, which makes it very hard to keep the wheel from locking in bumpy areas. The gearshift had to be adjusted as well for the angle that my feet were on, if the foot pegs were a little further back it would be great for tall people, but how it is perfect for people under or around 6'. But overall this is a good bike considering its age, and it is very good value for the money.
- jimmy, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-18 1982 Yamaha XJ750J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Nov 2002 just to see if I could still ride as I have serious back problems. Paid a grand for it. Was fully accessorized, one owner with 22,000 miles on it. Came with SLIDING back rest, 2 hard bags and a hard trunk. I love this motorcycle. I put over 10,000 miles on it in about 8 months, I ride it everywhere. I have ridden a 97 Kaw. Vulcan, a 1995 BMW R1100 and while they were nice, my bike rides just as nice. I have been on road trips with the big boys and had no problem staying up and do better on curvy roads as mine handles like a sport bike. If I do get another bike, it will be a big tourer for the long trips (over 400 miles), but I will always keep this bike. No mechanical problems at all. Being older, can be tough to find parts for. So far have had to replace a starter and the petcock. If you find one, buy it. You will never regret it.
- don berry, tullahoma, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-20 1982 Yamaha XJ750RJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this last summer (2002) and have put almost 3,000 enjoyable miles on it to date. Very inexpensive to ride. Upgrade the fuel recommendation to top-grade Sunoco with an occasional Slick-50 additive and switch to a top synthetic oil. I got this for next to nothing in mint condition and it had just over 5k tenderly-ridden miles on it. Needed fork seals and a tire, but so what? Minor detailing, and it looks like showroom condition, and is a real sharp looker. haven't owned a bike in 35 years, and am really enjoying this immensely. If you didn't know, this was the fastest production bike manufactured in its day, and is still an excellent high-speed performer either on the straights or in the twisties. Pick up this low-mileage classic and have yourself a real ball.
- Jim Walker, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-06 1982 Yamaha XJ750J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my XJ750 used from a co-worker that had it sitting for 4 years and could'nt figure out why he had such a hard time getting it started and keep it running until it warmed up. After purchasing it from for a song, I put it in the shop and tore off the carbs and discovered that he had left gas in them and of course they were tarnished beyond repair, so I got on the internet to look for replacements from a salvage yard. I bought a set that were in perfect shape for $250 and installed them as soon as I got home and was riding it by late that afternoon. It is really a fun bike and I run it to work every day and scoot around on the weekends. I plan to put some bags on it so I can carry the goodies when I ride. I have more than one bike so I don't use it all the time but it does get it' s fare share of miles every year. I wouldn't take it on many of my long trips but I do take it out for all day runs from time to time. Be careful and see you on the road. I'll be the one waving to ya!
- D. Regnier, St. Cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-16 1982 Yamaha XJ750RJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i just bought this bike in sept. had to put a few dollars in it but it is a very nice looking bike and has lots of power, should last along time. it has a nice ride also to much electronics is the only thing i can complain on the bike
- Gene A May, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-04 1982 Yamaha XJ550J Maxim Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned mine for over 1 year and love it. Fixed up to showroom condition. I'll keep her till time is up.
- Larry Theetge, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-21 1982 Yamaha XJ750J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got this bike cheap not too long ago. After doing the cosmetics to get it looking good, been riding with a smile on my face. Lots of power with an excellent suspension (that is adjustable) underneath. Only complaint is that they brakes are weak and I understand that is common with this series of Yamaha. No matter, if you find a Max, buy it!
- Triuman, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-17 1982 Yamaha XJ750RJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike looks sharp, it rides smooth and pulls pretty even all the way up to it's 9400 rpm redline. It has a warning light cluster and fuel gauge as well as a tach. It has a centerstand and a shaft drive. I don't notice the "shaft jacking" effect at all. Riding position is comfy, yet versatile. I get compliments all of the time, as people seem to think that it is a sharp ride. It does have complex electronics for it's time, sensors for fuel, oil, battery, brake fluid, head and tail lights, and a sidestand switch. It handles just fine in the twisties, fully adjustable suspension. I know people with more than 200,000 miles on their Secas, so this is a tough engine to say the least. Check out my page @ www.home.earthlink.net/~pacerz
- Pacer, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-14 1982 Yamaha XJ750RJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 82 XJ750J that I recently picked up at a low price. After giving it a good cleaning and such, been doing some riding and finding that this bike is such a blast to drive. Great power for a 750 and I love the suspension, nice the way you can adjust on it. Amazing contrast to what bikes had on them in 82 as compared to now. Only complaint is weak brakes that I understand is not unusual for this line, let alone a bike 20 years old. If you find one, get it and have some fun :)
- RD, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-02 1982 Yamaha XJ750RJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of the good ones. A little much on the electronics and wiring, but overall a solid bike. Parts can be high, but this one will last awhile.
- JIM ALLEN, Bryan, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-07 1982 Yamaha XS650SJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got a mint example a month ago, runs fine but the vibration is too much for any long distance riding (ie to the next town).
- Irv, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-25 1982 Yamaha XJ550J Maxim Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned mine for 6 years with no major complaints. It does everthing I have asked of it with no fuss. I have replaced tires, chain, battery, plugs, oil, & air filters, & repaired the fuse block. It still has the original pipes. Not bad for an '82. It is wonderfully vibration free at 70mph. I will concur with the other reviewer on the poor handlebar angle. It is short on power with a passenger but if you keep it wound up it performs well solo.
- Rider, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 1982 Yamaha XS650SJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good bike. I bought this bike new in 1983 left over model. I had the bike until 1999. It was a good all around bike. easy to work on, reliable. I give it a thumbs up.
- dan lester, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 1982 Yamaha XJ550J Maxim Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Superb! It's light, and easy to handle. Can ride all day with a decent windshield. Despite North American preferences, it can be used with saddle-bags, and two-up, with no problems.
- Anonymous, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-12 1982 Yamaha XJ550J Maxim Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good starter bike (6 close-ratio gears) with enough 'grunt' to get going well; will ride well at 60 all day but engine will complain at 70+mph on a hot day (95F handlebars at wrong angle leading to sore wrists etc; adequate seat comfort; nice-sounding standard exhaust note; standard seating position makes a windshield, even a small sport shield a must; overall a good, reliable bike(400+ miles a month)although I added new chain, sprockets, battery. Recommendation--you can usually find a good one if you look hard enough, and at a good price it is worth it as a starter bike to learn the ropes, with its modest power delivery and standard seating arrangement. 3 stars given for my sore wrists and heavy wind-force at freeway speeds.
- Anonymous, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-10 1982 Yamaha XS650SJ Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for 1οΎ½ years. It has over 35,000 miles on it and it still runs like a charm.
- John Doe, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 1982 Yamaha IT465J Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Older dirt bikes are way behind the newer ones in the areas of suspension and brakes but if you don't have much money to spend and refuse to sacrifice power, an open class 2-stroke is the way to go. This machine is scary on the gas (FUN) but can be scary off the gas too (such as going downhill on a steep grade). FAR from perfect, my IT does always provide thrills for the paltry $600 it cost.
- Duane, Pennsylvannia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: