Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-17 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second Fazer I have had and I wished I never would have sold the first. My Fazer is very responsive off the line and very easy to handle in corners/turns. The only drawback is the Fazer has is its small fuel capacity. However, I have people come up to me all the time whenever I am fueling up, who just have to know more about my Fazer.
- Shawn, Montgomery, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is just a perfect bike. The way it's made, it's just great for anyone. The powerband is like a shot of nitrous oxide! The comfort level is great, I could ride it for a couple hours at least and still be comfortable. The top speed is about 150 at least. 0-60 is around 3 seconds. It'll beat just about any car out there. It's very easy to handle and very lightweight for a 700cc bike. And even though it's 19 years old, it looks awesome! I love the design! The only negative thing about this machine is the very small fuel capacity. I've had to fill up at about 105 miles after the past couple tanks of gas. But I still love it. And also very rare, only made for 2 years in the U.S. Couldn't ask for a better bike.
- Paul, Pleasant Grove, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-26 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the '86 in Dec '04 with over 20,000 miles. It rides beautifully, looks great and I get compliments all the time. I couldn't ask for more.
- Sal ( Lefty), Cl;earwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-20 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '86 Virago XV1100 with over 80,000 kms on it and it runs like new. Previous owners have obviously taken care of this machine and it shows. Torque and HP are unbelievable. One twist of the throttle and you're gone. Took my first long trip (450 km) nonstop and purred like a kitten all the way there. 2-up riding is fine and I get just over 200 km/tank. Good enough for touring. I can't say enough about his bike. It really is a joy to ride. It's got the looks, power and comfort that will constantly leave me with a smile on my face after every ride. Get one now!!!
- Silver, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-05 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this '89 Virago w/ 11,500mi. + pipes, saddlebags, hiway pegs, windshield for $2600. Had a Maxim 550 in my youth and love the trouble-free Yamaha. I commute 13 mi. to work and this is sweet for that. I too am somewhat bummed at kinda high RPM at 70-75MPH- but for 1989 it's Fine. Beautiful bike that turns heads!
- Bapeter, Kasson, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-06 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a great time on my 87 virago. It is as dependable as a can opener. Easy to use power, great in town manners, low seat height, great brakes for the time it was built. And when it was built, the speed limit was 55, and it works just great at that speed. I was gonna change the ergos to make mine a little more sporty, but with the driveshaft, the motor gets a little buzzy if you spend a hours at illeagal speeds. And there is no cheap way to change the gearing on it. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time at illeagal speeds, it is a 5 star, but if you want get out on the open road, uhhhh i dunno...........
- tony, omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-07 1986 Yamaha XJ700XS Maxim X Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Maxim in May of 2001 (this '86 is mint). It had 8k miles on it. Now (Jan 02) If 14k miles on it. I ride it as a commuter bike - just Awesome in traffic and as a 1 rider curvy mountain road bike. Longest ride has been 500 miles. ZERO problems. Not quite a cruiser. Not quite a crotch rocket. But the best of both.
- Woody Phillips, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-31 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1986 that I ride every day, this is the best bang for the buck if you want to go fast, and trust me you will!
- Gary A. Schoonover, Grand Prairie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-10 1986 Yamaha SRX600S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Even though we're well into the new millennium, I'm stuck in the mid-eighties in my taste in motorcycles. I own an '86 Fazer (if I want a seriously quick standard bike), an '85 VMax (for when I want wicked acceleration) and an '86 SRX for when I just want to have fun. It is the coolest sounding (with the Yosh can I've installed on mine), best handling (I got it with Ohlins shocks), lightest and slimmest bike I've ever had. I wouldn't want it to be my only bike but it has served even that function well a few years ago while I was temporarily sans other bikes. On it I sport toured all over Quebec, NY and Vermont, used it on track days to beat up on.... nobody except seriously slow street riders, and commuted on it for three years with only the occasional slight problem (three times I've had electrical gremlins on it mainly due to the previous owner's mods). A great little bike.
- Manny Barqueiro, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-09 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Radical looking even after 15 years this bike kicks butt. It is completely reliable only requiring an occasional valve-adjustment every 25,000 miles. Mine (a full 750 in Canada) does the quarter in 11.58 at 116 mph, tops out at 140 mph prone, has real good brakes, is very nimble with it's 16" front wheel, being naked it is a little wobbly at ultra high speed but nothing that can't be managed. It's almost as quick as a VMax, whose style it emulates, and much quicker on a winding road. It wheelies real well, can burn-out like a dragster, is low to the ground but has reasonable ground clearance, it has a short reach to the bars which make it seem even smaller than it is. I've had over 35 bikes of all kinds, this one is the best and most versatile. Manny
- Armando (Manny) Barqueiro, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-09 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This must be the most underrated bike of the eighties. I bought it for 7500 guilders, not knowing what it was. The slightly detuned 20-valve (!!!) genesis-block has loads of torque. I never lose a traffic light GP and I take on everything, from Ninja's, CBR's to V-Max's. The combination of power and great handling makes it an ideal bike for in the city. With a top speed of about 220 kmh it will also do fine on the highway.
- K Wolffers, Holland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-29 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only had this bike for five year's. I got it in trade for a truck worth about $1,500. I ride it as much as possible, mostly to work and back. It has about 54,000 miles on it but doesn't seem to mind. I often rode with a guy who had a "98" Buell (that's 12 years technology and 500cc advantage) he was always wanting to remove a few plug wires from my bike, stating "that's the only way he would be able to keep up." My point is that this is an all around good bike, daily driver, very fast and works well within a budget.
- M-Hop, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the coolest cruiser out there. Different looks, great performance, easy to work on (you should not have to), and dependable as my faithful dogs. Lotsa factory chrome and the gold accents set it apart from the new age nostalgia bikes and it weighs a lot less. It will rev easily to 7 grand, how many other v-twin cruisers can do that and it stops as well as it goes. My only complaint is that it kinda short geared for running at 70 plus, but that is ok, just find the slower backroads and see little towns that pepper the landscape.
- toejammmer, Omaha, NE

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-22 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1986 Phazer is so fast I can barely hold on to it! It"ll do every bit of the speedo.
- Daniel Newman, Lebanon, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-14 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started off with an 84 1000cc midnight special. That was the best intro one could have to these bikes. They look great and handle superbly. When the runout models were marketed in NZ at $10,500.00 I couldn't get to the dealer quick enough. I have put about $1000 worth of extras on it, without over doing it. I use it everyday to go to work. It's great in traffic and if I want to go cruising in the weekend it fits that job just as well. I have a Honda goldwing as well but it is reall only the lack of a stereo that I jump on the 'Wing'.I have ridden the Virago [Virago stands for "wild woman" by the way] for four hours at a time before today,only stopping for gas. My bum hardly complained at all. I couldn't recomend a Virago more highly.!!
- Graeme Ingram, Auckland, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 1986 Yamaha XV700CS Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it used in 1994 with less than 12000 miles. Has been very reliable but with the standard pipes and jetting it had less than thrilling engine performance. Recently (finally!) put on Jardine pipes and re-jetted carb and the difference is astounding, but noisy. Feels much better at all speeds and throttle settings. Low weight, good (low) seat height, non-fussy shaft drive, and reasonable handling makes it a low riding standard with reasonable performance-now. I gave up, at least for a while, the search for a new 1100/1400 cruiser; they all weigh too much and seem "bulky" (wide and clumsy) when you ride them, other than the Suzuki Intruder 1400.
- Jim S., California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1987 XV1100S Virago for 3500$cdn with 6000 miles on the meter. Best buy I have ever done in my life. This bike is as reliable as any motorcyclecan be. It costs peanuts to maintain. You can run very long ride (800 plus miles a day) if you throw the origin Yamaha saddle to the garbage and replace it by a Corbin seat. A small windshield will help too. I put 60000K in three years on the odometer and I wouldn't trade it for anything new.
- Carol Lavoie, Rawdon, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-23 1986 Yamaha SRX600S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 86 SRX. I dreamed of owning one since the day I seen It on the show room floor back in 1985.I had just bought a new bike a year before so I thought I would wait a year or so and then buy one. Well was that a mistake , they only came to Ontario that one year .Time slipped by and finally in 1996 I decided I was going to find one. It took a while but I found a good one with only 10,000KM Its was great to be back on a single again, I missed that sound since I had sold my SR 500 back in 1982. Its a great bike, its styling was ahead of its time and still turns heads where ever I go. I`ll keep it forever.
- John Richardson, Tweed,Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-30 1986 Yamaha XJ700XS Maxim X Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Against today's sport bikes, it's only fair but it's fun. And it's classed as a cruiser. If you own or have owned one you know where I'm coming from. It'll make you the envy of the cruiser crowd except for Mr. Max people. It handles great in the twisties and power to spare. Watch out when you hit around the 6K mark it explodes. I've had it since new and have enjoyed 30K + miles on it. Trips in the 200 to 300 mile range are the norm. The wife prefers our larger bike for serious mileage and I tend to agree with her. But for short trips and some playtime she'll still come out and play on the XJ. If you're a lone rider with a once in awhile passenger you won't go wrong. I haven't taken any long trips by myself so I can't give any information on that. If you can find one at blue book rates, I'd go for. Trouble is dealers want way over book but they know what they have. I've been more than pleased with mine and it'll be my favorite play bike. One word of caution, it's not for the new rider or someone wanting to move up in class. It's a serious performance cruiser. My problems have been minor. A starter and two exhaust pipes where the inner pipe broke loose and rattled. ENJOY
- Little Joe, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-29 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Fazer performs very well but is somewhat uncomfortable on long trips or rough roads.
- Eric Feader, Kindersley, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-11 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About 6 years ago I was heavily researching for an upgrade. The bike had to fill all my needs 1) tach (nice to have), 2) centerstand, 3) weigh under 600 lbs. (easier to pick up if dropped, heaven forbid), 4) at least a 4 gal. gas tank, 5) looked good without looking like all the other bikes, and last was quicker stock then any stock cruiser on the market. I found it and wouldn't trade it for any other bike out there including the v stars.
- stuart myers, Leeds, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-28 1986 Yamaha SRX600S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my SRX since new. I bought it in 1989, in New Minas, Nova Scotia. I have put many enjoyable miles on it since then. Unfortunately the passenger seat is even less padded than the riders, so my girlfriend doesn't like to come along any more. Yes, the bike doesn't have an electric starter, or a fairing, or a radio, but that's not what I wanted when I bought it. It is small, light, attractive, unique, and moderately comfortable. The only problems I have had with it over 11 years have all been related to its 3 years spent in storage. Gas leaks from dried out "O" rings, rust out of the tank from condensation, and a seized drive chain. It runs like a top, starts on the second kick most times, and sips fuel. I can't think of a more pleasing motorcycle.
- Tracy Reid, Ville de La Baie, Qu´┐Żbec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: