‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1986 Yamaha reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

30 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Shawn

Montgomery, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer view listing

5.0
This is the second Fazer I have had and I wished I never would have sold the first. My Fazer is very responsive off the line and very easy to handle in corners/turns. The only drawback is the Fazer has is its small fuel capacity. However, I have people come up to me all the time whenever I am fueling up, who just have to know more about my Fazer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Pleasant Grove, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer view listing

5.0
This is just a perfect bike. The way it's made, it's just great for anyone. The powerband is like a shot of nitrous oxide! The comfort level is great, I could ride it for a couple hours at least and still be comfortable. The top speed is about 150 at least. 0-60 is around 3 seconds. It'll beat just about any car out there. It's very easy to handle and very lightweight for a 700cc bike. And even though it's 19 years old, it looks awesome! I love the design! The only negative thing about this machine is the very small fuel capacity. I've had to fill up at about 105 miles after the past couple tanks of gas. But I still love it. And also very rare, only made for 2 years in the U.S. Couldn't ask for a better bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sal ( Lefty)

Cl;earwater, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago view listing

5.0
I bought the '86 in Dec '04 with over 20,000 miles. It rides beautifully, looks great and I get compliments all the time. I couldn't ask for more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Silver

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Reviewed on 2004-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago view listing

5.0
I bought my '86 Virago XV1100 with over 80,000 kms on it and it runs like new. Previous owners have obviously taken care of this machine and it shows. Torque and HP are unbelievable. One twist of the throttle and you're gone. Took my first long trip (450 km) nonstop and purred like a kitten all the way there. 2-up riding is fine and I get just over 200 km/tank. Good enough for touring. I can't say enough about his bike. It really is a joy to ride. It's got the looks, power and comfort that will constantly leave me with a smile on my face after every ride. Get one now!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bapeter

Kasson, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago view listing

5.0
Just bought this '89 Virago w/ 11,500mi. + pipes, saddlebags, hiway pegs, windshield for $2600. Had a Maxim 550 in my youth and love the trouble-free Yamaha. I commute 13 mi. to work and this is sweet for that. I too am somewhat bummed at kinda high RPM at 70-75MPH- but for 1989 it's Fine. Beautiful bike that turns heads!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tony

omaha, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2002-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago view listing

5.0
I had a great time on my 87 virago. It is as dependable as a can opener. Easy to use power, great in town manners, low seat height, great brakes for the time it was built. And when it was built, the speed limit was 55, and it works just great at that speed. I was gonna change the ergos to make mine a little more sporty, but with the driveshaft, the motor gets a little buzzy if you spend a hours at illeagal speeds. And there is no cheap way to change the gearing on it. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time at illeagal speeds, it is a 5 star, but if you want get out on the open road, uhhhh i dunno...........
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

male RN

aiken, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S view listing

5.0
I bought my 90 FJ with 32,000 miles on the clock (aug 2001). After much research, the bike performs as expected, which is to say very well. Comfortable, great power band, and appears "bullet proof". It has a Vance and Hines 4 into 1, with K & N filters. The bikes cruises the open road with little or no effort with 2 up riding. I agree with others, it could in fact use a 6th gear on the interstate. I plan on keeping it for several years, and would even purchase another one (ie "cherry condition") with no hesitation.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Woody Phillips

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2002-02-07

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha XJ700XS Maxim X view listing

5.0
I got my Maxim in May of 2001 (this '86 is mint). It had 8k miles on it. Now (Jan 02) If 14k miles on it. I ride it as a commuter bike - just Awesome in traffic and as a 1 rider curvy mountain road bike. Longest ride has been 500 miles. ZERO problems. Not quite a cruiser. Not quite a crotch rocket. But the best of both.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary A. Schoonover

Grand Prairie, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha FZX700S Fazer view listing

5.0
I have a 1986 that I ride every day, this is the best bang for the buck if you want to go fast, and trust me you will!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Manny Barqueiro

Montreal, Quebec

Reviewed on 2001-05-10

Motorcycle reviewed 1986 Yamaha SRX600S view listing

5.0
Even though we're well into the new millennium, I'm stuck in the mid-eighties in my taste in motorcycles. I own an '86 Fazer (if I want a seriously quick standard bike), an '85 VMax (for when I want wicked acceleration) and an '86 SRX for when I just want to have fun. It is the coolest sounding (with the Yosh can I've installed on mine), best handling (I got it with Ohlins shocks), lightest and slimmest bike I've ever had. I wouldn't want it to be my only bike but it has served even that function well a few years ago while I was temporarily sans other bikes. On it I sport toured all over Quebec, NY and Vermont, used it on track days to beat up on.... nobody except seriously slow street riders, and commuted on it for three years with only the occasional slight problem (three times I've had electrical gremlins on it mainly due to the previous owner's mods). A great little bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 30 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: