Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1996 Yamaha reviews

4.3
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.3
Performance
4.3
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

32 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mark

Winchester, California

Reviewed on 2003-12-19

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XV750H Virago 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Virago XV 750 is one of the best all around balanced street machine I have ridden in over 34 years. I have owned 18 street machines in 34 years. Why Yamaha discontinued this model is beyond me? The engine is bullet proof, mag wheels, shaft and well balanced on handling. Over all great machine. Its a jewel I'll never part with!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2005-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my 1996 Seca II in May, 2004 with 9300 miles on it for $2300. I bought it after a 20+ year break from riding. I couldn't have found a better bike to re-learn on. Plenty enough power to keep up with my large cc cruiser friends and also to get into trouble with. Power delivery was very predictable and smooth. Brakes provided good stopping power without fear of locking up the front (locked the rear on occasion but that was due to rider error every time.) Mileage was decent... Low-35, High-55, Avg-43. As mentioned in other reviews, she's a cold-hearted beast and needed a proper warm up to work well. For me, that meant starting her up on full choke, letting her idle while I donned my helmet & gloves (usually 2-3 minutes), set her to half-choke, pull out and keep her in 1st for 1-2 miles and then turning choke off. Not really a pain for me. In all fairness though, this was in 50 degree or higher temps. I'm sure that in a colder climate, she'd be little more difficult to make happy. I did several 200+ mile rides on her without any complaint. Even took her down a few gravel/dirt roads without any problems (not a dual sport by any stretch, but she didn't complain.) I always felt planted and steady on her. Flicking her about in the twisties was always a joy. didn't take a lot to get her to lean over. Maintenance wise, I replaced the air filter, chain & sprockets (at 18,000 miles), dash light bulbs and tires in my 9000+ miles. All repairs were very easy to accomplish. Overall, I couldn't have been happier. My ONLY regret is trading her in for a new bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jonesy

Lexington Park, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike thinking it would be good for my wife to learn on. It is the smallest street bike I've ever owned. I turns out that she is too short to feel comfortable on the 30.5" seat height, so I got her a Buell Blast. I've been riding and upgrading this bike for the last year now. I bought it with 9300 miles on it, for $1,800.00 in perfect condition and now have 17500 on it. It has not had any problems at all. It was completely stock. I've put on a new chain, windscreen, turn signals, Skidmarx hugger, Yoshimura exhaust, K & N jet kit, gel grips, Corbin seat with backrest, and Metzler tires. Most I found on ebay dirt cheap, and there are a lot of parts still available for this bike. The jet and exhaust upgrade felt like a 20% increase in power. I have no problem keeping up with the guys I ride with, even then two up. If you are looking for a fun, low cost, low insurance ($75.00 a year), low maintenance, easy to handle, good looking, comfortable, fun in the twisties, good for around town, upright seating position tour capable starter bike, this is it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Leicester, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2004-01-17

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha YZF750R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok so I acquired this on a total whim after just turning up at a dealers showroom and asking 'what have you got for around $3k UK sterling?' Answer was 'a 'why-zed-eff' sp with trick bits for $2.5k UK sterling boy. Do you wanna a go?' Well I have to say it was the best offer all day and after installing myself on the thing in full enduro garb (I rode to the dealer on my KMX200 trail) I thought yep this would do. It is difficult to gauge performance against modern kit such as CBR600RR's, GSXR's, 600 Kawasaki's and Blades. But, I've got to say I can't think there is too much difference on the road. Certainly well impressed by the outright power as it pulls well up to the limiter and the close ratio box puts you in command all the way. The rear Ohlins gives faultless tracking of the rear at any speed and the front seems to behave. Could do with a little more feedback from the brakes under heavy use and we'll inspect this area at a couple of track days. Could be headstock bearings as there is an ominous 'knock' from the frontal area. For the money though this bike has put as many smiles on my face for an alternative missile costing at least 3 times this. Very underrated and it must be remembered that just as Yamaha launched this model along came Honda with the 'Blade' and rewrote the rulebook. I'd say though this is a great little package for anyone looking for something a bit different. won't let you down when scratching with your mates, and you're probably going be a front-runner either on the road and track as handling is well solid. Good useable power, comfortable, handling tops and great value when you can find a good one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Delvin jennett

charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-11-26

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First off I bought this bike for one grand at which point I had the carbs cleaned (cause it had been sitting for 2 years) and i changed the spark plugs which ran me about another $500 so total i only spent 1500 bucks. i own the 92 model in red and it only has 6K miles, I love riding it its really comfy and its fast enough for me for right now seeing how it is my first bike and all. Great bike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tshark

nebraska, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2003-11-14

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
My 93 has been trouble free for the most part. At 22k, it is on the third set of plugs, oil changes every three thou or so, and two sets of tires. Will probably replace rear for only the third tire back there at 25k. Cheap to own is my point. It is ready for an air filter and I think new fork oil. Noticably a little squishier the past two thousand miles up front when braking. Replaced a slightly leaky clutch gasket for seven dollars and two hours of my time. Valves have never needed adjustment. Suspect chain and sprocket are coming to the end of a lifespan. Original front brake and one new set out back. Mileage has been consistantly 50-53 mpg whether riding 1 or 2 people on city or highway. Corners nice and switches direction very easily. Only weighs a hair above 400lbs and under 450 with full tank. Seat is comfy for 2.5 hour stretches. Very good for passengers. A great recreational motorcycle. It is fun to ride, extremely low maintenance and a good looking scoot.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

applemac

stlouis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2003-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I have a 96 Seca II with this side of 14,000 miles on it. I've been riding for a year, and without a doubt, this is a great starter bike if you're 5'7" or so or taller. Mine came with a Corbin seat, and is extremely comfortable from the waist down. The only real major problem with this bike is the tiny windscreen. It basically provides no protection at highway speeds unless you're laying down on the tank. I've looked for a larger replacement, but none of the usual suspects seem to make one. As others have observed, it is a bit cold blooded and takes a couple of minutes in first gear at full rich to get warmed up and happy. Also, it would be a better traveling bike if the gears were a little taller. I'm currently deciding if I should keep or replace my Seca, if anyone has any solutions for the above windscreen and gearing problems, let me know applemac_g4@hotmail.com
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Millersville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2002-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a '92, I bought it new, and its exactly 10 years old today (and I'm 45 today, so my age probably affects my perspective). Its original attraction was that it was a full-size bike, it had adequate power, excellent build quality, a low enough seat that I can put my feet flat on the road at a stop (that requirement nixed several interesting bikes at the time), and was well-priced ($3995). Mine is the metallic black, which draws many positive comments, and looks great with the silver-painted engine that was on the earlier years (in later years the engine was black, which hides a rather attractive engine). Good points: 1) Reliable. Never been in the shop, never needed any work. Only maintenance has been oil changes, spark plugs, air filter, and I replaced the tires this year. It still has the original battery! However, I noted the other day that the final working light bulb in the speedo has died ... 2) Mileage - generally 50-55 in town, 55-60 cruising the back roads. 3) Long-haul comfort - besides commuting, I like to ride out toward Western Maryland and get lost on ... uh, cruise around on ... the back roads. Typical "loop" is 190-260 miles (anything under 220 miles can be done on a single tank of gas) requiring 6-8 hours, with usually one rest stop half way and other stops for only picture taking, and the comfort is fine for me - and I ain't a lightweight. Bad things: Hard to think of any - okay, the light bulbs in the speedo have all burned out now; I guess it is a bit "cold blooded" and requires some choke for a good 4-5 miles on cool mornings, which ain't a big deal to me; not much room in the cubbyhole for carrying much (won't hold a u-lock and it doesn't have a clock. There is some vibration in the 4-5K range (I have carpal tunnel, and this badly aggravated the condition until I discovered "gel gloves" - now riding is painless I suppose its "slow" by 600cc sport bike standards, but its as fast or faster than a Corvette, so I don't need any more than that. Certainly I'd recommend it as a used bike for anyone - it seems low mileage, well-cared for examples are plentiful, and the usual owner seemed to be older so most weren't rode hard, modified, or dropped. If it has a pipe and a jet kit pass it by, there are untouched ones aplenty (the mods don't seem to make 'em any faster, either). Since used versions are easily found in the $1,000-$2,000 range, this may be a great bargain in used bikes. Basically, my "starter bike" turned into a "keeper" - Yamaha had a great bike here, and since its demise they haven't introduced anything that actually replaces it. A shame ...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mnben

St. Paul, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2002-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
I bought a '94 seca II last spring, for what I thought was a pretty good deal at $2300. First of all...this bike takes FOREVER to warm up, especially if you live in a colder climate. On a 40 degree day, it takes a good solid half hour of idleing to warm enough to ride. At first I thought I had something wrong with the bike, and got it checked out by a mechanic. Turns out this bike has this problem. I use the bike mainly for short trips, and its a real drag to wait 15 min for the bike to warm up for a 5 min trip. Fuel econ should be good--considering the exceptionally small carbs (26mm) the bike has, but its really not. I averaged about 40 mpg. A new 600cc sport bike would have at least double the horsepower of this bike, and average close to 50mpg. Once the bike finally warms up, its an alright bike, no serious complaints there. I just think the warm-up time is unexcusable, as well as low mileage. Motorcyle.com reviewed this bike in 95, it took 5th place of 6 bikes.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Carmel, Indiana

Reviewed on 2002-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed1996 Yamaha XV750H Virago 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Last July I purchased a 1996 Virago 750 after a 17 year furlow from riding. I am impressed with the overall quality of the bike, the speedo and tach location, and general comfort. I also added a wind screen and Max and Willey saddlebags. It is a good re-introduction into riding at a very reasonable price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 32 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: