Buell Motorcycles Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell Motorcycles Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Buell Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-08-20 1997 Buell S3T Thunderbolt® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, so I have ridden this bike for about 3 months now and it continues to surprise me. Every time I think I can't take a corner any faster I am wrong. You can flat out launch yourself onto the interstate after a roundabout entry. The sound keeps you smiling and the bike is pleasant to ride. Very comfortable riding position and I am 6'7". The bike has ample acceleration and torque to lift the bike and my 250 pounds easily into a wheelie. Just a slow push to 3k rpm and a twist of the throttle and you are up and away. This is definitley one on a list of bikes you should own. A real head turner, even the old Harley guys stop and take notice.
- William Paterson, Fairview Heights, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an M2 and it's been great! If you just do standard maint. it will never give you any problems.
- john, west, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-26 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
wimps need not apply. lot's of the current "born again bikers" would be best off buying a honda helix scooter or a lawn ornament. I can't imagine how the folks who slam this bike would deal with my '67 BSA t'bolt..snottin' and cryin' I guess. I found this bike to be great fun in a "street fighter" kinda way. It's not a tourer but I've ridden it 1000 miles in 3 days. Torque is awesome for corner to corner work. FUN!
- mike melugin, manteo, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-07 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 1996 Lightning X1 and I love it, everyone has Ducks, Jap rice burners, and cruisers. You don't see many Buells, because there is not much of a market left for a bike like this. Everyone wants the simple crotch rocket, comfortable, quiet, and just like EVERYONE else. I have 10K miles on mine, have done the routine recalls, which the dealership has done no questions asked. The bike is fast, the exhaust gets it noticed, it stands out in the crowd, gets good highway MPG, and is so much fun to ride. The only downside is that the seat is uncomfortable for long trips, but even if they made a replacement seat I wouldn't change it--I'll take looks over comfort. All the people who give the bad reviews are the same people who have the automatic Toyota Corollas.
- Frank, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-01 1997 Buell S3T Thunderbolt® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a ride!!! I have owned and crashed a number of bikes. Though this does not make me an expert on cycling, but I do have an honest Write up about the 1999 Buell S3 Thunderbolt. This was my first new motorcycle. When I first saw this bike I fell in love. I rode all summer, then it all started. First my exhaust broke off, and I noticed a bad surge at around 3000 rpms/45 mph. I have Brought it to the dealer 3 times they cant seem to get it right. I just wanted to know if anyone else has the same problem? Please e-mail me with any response to problems. Okay I�m not just writing to bash Buells. I still have an ongoing love affair with this bike that I now share with my fianc�e, who now has commanded ownership. I believe that the S3t is the most enjoyable bike I have ever ridden, its the best of both worlds yet in a class of its own. The S3t has the style and power of a rice burner ,and the bark of a Harley, maybe a little meaner.0 to 100 you say? VERY QUICKLY any more questions? I thoroughly understand that when you by a bike new to the market there are going to be a few bugs. I�m confident that it will get fixed properly and rekindle the old flame once again. To anyone thinking of buying one go for it there has never been a bike like this before and it will only get better.
- R. Glazier, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All that we have encountered have meet or exceeded or exspectations. The rough rumble of Harley at low RPM , then the smooth acceleration from idle. No problems encountered so far. The oil tight and good looks with compliments from almost all.
- Carole & Randy Patterson, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Does anyone remember Erik Buells marketing? Buell- American Motorcyle Buell- Handling 101 Buell- It comes from the soul not a project planning committee Why does Buell no longer care about this. Because Buell American Motorcycle is out of business. Now it's Harley- Davidson / Buell. And everyone knows how reputable Harley is.
- John Allen, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-07 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The stone-axe of motorcycles. Not sophisticated but great fun to ride. Very quick handling and the torque is terrific. The worlds most uncomfortable seat, but can be replaced with one from a '99. Mine was very reliable although it was recalled 5 times. I recommend this bike.
- Jimbo, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-24 1997 Buell S3T Thunderbolt® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say that you either love it or hate it. I've taken several trips on the S3T, however 300 miles is all my body will take at one time. For two years the Buell was my daily commuter at 80 miles round trip, and aside from normal maintenance, thorough inspections for loose hardware, and necessary upgrades, the bike is a kick to ride. Track time has been limited although the bike performed well on those outings, the need for more cornering clearance was noted. I held off until 20,000 miles to have all the recall work completed, now I'll have wait and see how this affects the Buell overall. As for buying one new at $12,000, never, $8,000 yes. I keep toying with the idea of selling it, however I just cannot part with my Buell.
- Rider, Gary Sloane

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-12 1997 Buell S3T Thunderbolt® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, so love does come into this relationship I've had with this bike going on three years this march. I've logged 39,000 miles on this bike part of, which included a trip to Key West and back. The bike is a hoot. it handles, it accelerates, and it does the long distance thing well while hauling plenty of cargo, albeit with an aftermarket seat if you want to be able to do this last part for more than a day and a half. But things do tend to break off of this bike like mufflers, saddlebag latches, right fairing lowers, and front brake rotor pins. This can really leave a bad taste in your mouth if it is the first bike you've ever bought brand new and for $13k. would I do again if I had the chance to turn back time? not new for 13k, used for 7k......well it is the only bike that I've onwned that people have run up to me at gas stations to ask me about.
- Kirk Trosper, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-07 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally sold the M2, lucky to sell it at all, as there were very few responses to my listing. Finally gave up on the teeth-rattling vibration, leaking valve covers, bad bike stand switch, oil drain tube placed where it was half worn through because it rubbed on the swingarm, not to mention having to have the swingarm replaced, the front motor mount replaced, tank vent replaced, etc. Bought a Honda ST1100, just as fast. Put 19,000 miles on in 12 months with NO problems....
- PE, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-02 1997 Buell M2 Cyclone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a strong and competent performer in all categories: handling, braking, acceleration, etc. Not refined -- it's definitely a brute (and that big snarling, snorting engine doesn't let you forget it, either). But it's a controllable brute: fast but forgiving, loads of torque, and rock steady at speed. Definitely the most fun of any bike I've owned (out of nine).
- J. Schuler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-12 1997 Buell S3T Thunderbolt® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is all about riding. You may never reach Hayabusa speeds, but you will smile constantly. It is "Different in Every Sense", from the sound to the performance. The torque of this bike will lift the front tire with ease. On the twisties this bike just dips into corners at any speed you dare, and the instant throttle response makes it easy to lose certain Japanese bikes in curvy situations. Buell is more than Specs on paper, it's something you have to ride to understand. Many Buell dealers have demo rides, so don't let the chance to ride the best bike out; slip through your fingers.
- Chris, Meshoppen, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: