‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1998 Yamaha reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bruce Blount

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha R1 view listing

3.3
Had to lower it, 2nd gear slipps, super fast, not the most comfortable but I am in the wind. I hear loosing second gear is notorious on the R1. Midprocess of repairing 2nd. Biggest bike I've owned since my CBR929.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stewie

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha YZF600RK view listing

5.0
With the release of the race-oriented R6, the yzf600r is often overlooked. But this bike can really haul with the best of the new bunch. Ok, so it's not going to pull throttle wheelies from stop, but it will get you from point A to B fast and without a sore butt. Its ergonomics are comfortable enough to make it a sport-tourer yet it is nimble enough to turn quickly and effortlessly. Can you tell that I like my bike? Commuting through New York City is a breeze; it's just locking up that's a hassle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chuck

dansville, New York

Reviewed on 2005-03-16

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha YZF600RK view listing

5.0
I don't know what took so long, but I finally got a bike. Bought it in January of 2004. I did not test drive it when I got bike (snow on the ground). My first time riding was in Daytona for Bike Week. I have owned a lot of ATVs, so I knew what I was doing, but still a rookie on two wheels. I was intimidated at first, but caught on fast. The bike has great handling. I can go into any corner knowing the bike will stick. I thought the suspension was a little soft, so I adjusted the rear shock, much better. Plenty of power. 0 - 100mph is fast, and fun. I won't lie, it doesn't keep up with anything in the 1000cc range, but will kick the crap out of 99% of cars and 80% of bikes out there. The fastest I have had it was 155 mph. After 130mph it really starts to slow down, took a couple of miles to get there. I was really impressed with the looks when I got it, and now that I have had it a while it's above average looking. I put on over 16000 miles the first year I owned it, but don't forget, I was a rookie. That should say a lot about the bike. It's a great beginner bike. I'd give it 9.8 out of 10. My wife will get it this year, she's a beginner also, she is looking forward to it. I will get something bigger, maybe an R1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Helfrick

Victoria, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2001-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha XVS650AK V-Star Classic view listing

5.0
I owned lots of bikes various sizes and makes, Yamaha put out a fantastic V-twin here upgraded from the Virago. I owned a 81-XV750 Virago and the starter sucked but the new V-star 650 great start and great starter very snappy 0-60 faster than my 750 but then the top end of the 750 wins. Love the gas tank size, I don't have to fill up every 5 blocks like the old 750.Gas mileage v-star 650 wins there amazing. Price of this machine unbelievably cheaper than a Honda Ace with a shaft drive .....screw the old chain system.....messy crap.......lots of chrome on the motor and pipes look out Harley the Yam is coming to chew you up, love the sound of the motor it so quite with stock pipes neighbor love that. So last call its a winner!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis M. Sullivan

USA

Reviewed on 2001-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha XVS650AK V-Star Classic view listing

4.0
Having ridden for over 40 plus years but not owned a bike for several years it was difficult to know where to begin again. After searching at several dealers of most makes there was no question to going with the Yamaha. A great ride and feel, but a little short on the top end.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jared scaggs

Indiana

Reviewed on 2001-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha YZ125K1 view listing

5.0
My YZ is the envy of all my friends because of the Pro Circuit engine and suspension. It is a rocket and has no trouble keeping up with (and beating) the newer bikes. Also a cr250 clutch perch and lever make a great pull.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wendell Morse

Newport News, Virginia

Reviewed on 2001-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha VMX12K V-MAX 1200 view listing

5.0
I've riden a lot of bikes in the last 30 years,and my Vmax is one I'll never be without. My 98 has a stage 7 kit with K&N's and Supertrapp exhaust, that spells FUN. I never get tired of riding this rocket, it always puts a smile on my face every time I take it out. The torque is unreal! And its truly the hot rod of motorcycles. It has airbrushed flames on the fenders and hood, which makes it as pretty as it is fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Defurr

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-06-10

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha YZF600RK view listing

4.0
I've owned two cruisers previously, and decided that I wanted to get more into the adrenal side of riding, but was hoping to have something that could still comfortably hack longer distances. It's definitely faster than any of the cruisers I've ever owned (v-4 and straight four 700cc, mid 80s rice burners). I agree with a previous reviewer that it's higher and bouncier in its suspension than I care for; the F3/F4 seems to have nailed that one. Anyway, as to the question of its viability as a sports tourer... The jury's still out. I picked it up and rode it back from Amarillo to Dallas (360 miles). I'd have to say that the seat started to really hurt after about an hour. The seating position is very comfortable for shorter distances, but after a while you do start to wish you could stretch out. I know: Duh, buy a cruiser if that's what you want. This thing is at home in a highway setting. In fact, around town I feel fairly clumsy and out of my element, as I'm not able to adequately take advantage of its horsepower. I reserve the right to review it again after I've maybe installed a custom seat to remedy that particularly painful source of discomfort.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wade Dixon

Spirit Lake, Iowa

Reviewed on 2001-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha VMX12K V-MAX 1200 view listing

5.0
I've owned Harleys for the past nine years of my life, ever since I was 16. Loved the style, the comfort, the sound, but was lacking the power and speed I desired. I knew a guy who had one of the fastest, if not the fastest, bike in the area. We ended up trading bikes, a Harley for an '88 V-MaX (since he had two anyway). It was repainted to resemble the '97 silver color, a stage 7 kit with 4 K&N air filters to cover the high mounted individaul Mikuni 35 mm carbs, which are easily diplayed by removing the pseudo-gas tank. A Kerker 4-2-1 pipe (louder than my Harley) that almost blows you over when you stand behind it. I definetly got the speed and power I wanted. The V-max is so fast it almost scares me to open it up. You want to a wheelie? no problem, by the time you touch down you're goin 90. You want to lay a 50 foot blackie? No problem, save your money for new tire though. I haven't had the balls to go top speed, yet. I haven't put it on a dyno but I think it would put out about 120 h.p.(over double of what my Harley had). I would suggest buying a nice used one since they haven't changed in the last 16 years, although the new carbon fiber look is pretty sweet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

S.Iacovelli

Barnstable, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2001-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed 1998 Yamaha XVS650AK V-Star Classic view listing

5.0
I've owned a few motorcycles in my 30 years of riding, from 50cc up to 1200cc's, and let me tell you that this is the ONLY bike I would never consider selling. I have ridden this bike in sunshine, sleet, and downpours, without a hitch! It handles like a dream, and is the prettiest machine I've had the privilege of owning. With only Yamaha bolt-on accessories aboard, it has won first place in every contest it has been entered in. I cannot believe how many people, both motorcyclists and non-riders who are stumped by the brand and size of this machine, not to mention it's sheer beauty. As for reliability, the only problem I've encountered was that if you get a flat tire, the replacement tube for the rear tire is an odd size and not readily available. Overall, no complaints.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: