Honda Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (36)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-18 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 1999 Shadow VLX Deluxe a month ago. It is the best bike I have ever had. I am a pretty big guy and it takes me down the road really well. There is nothing I can put down about the bike for I have ridden many different bikes and this by far is a A++ Bike!!!
- Mark Foster, Kent, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Between my husband and I, we have logged over 116,000 miles on this bike and it has not had a top end done on it yet. This bike is the best platform to customize and is quite affordable. The lines that grace this bike are awesome, she vibrates quite a bit, and is a blast to ride.
- Amber Ross, Casa Grande, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-15 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 1999 Honda Shadow Ace 1100 with 22k mi. My last bike was a Honda Elsinore MT250. This is my 4th bike, although it has been awhile since my last bike. About 20 years! Caught the fever again after my son bought a Buell Blast. Was really looking for a 650 Vstar or a 750 Shadow but a salesperson told me that they would not put out enough power for 2 up riding, so I decided to go with something bigger. Was a little intimidated by the size at first, I'm not a very big guy! But after a week of riding around the neighborhood, I now feel very comfortable with the 1100. Took a few times to get used to letting out the clutch really slow. I am a truck driver and am used to just letting out the clutch on a Kenworth, and it goes. This is a really fun bike to ride. I really like the styling, seems like an older style bike. I always liked the Indian Chiefs and the look of older Harleys, but the prices on those are a little out of my budget for right now. Maybe someday, but for now this is a very classic looking bike. Mine is black and red with wide white walls. Because of the single pin crank, this thing sounds just like a Harley. Lawsuit, I know, but whatever. I didn't build it, I just love the way it sounds! Especially since someone put Vance and Hines pipes on it. The neighbors must really be loving me now. Anyway, I am so glad I went with a bigger bike. Probably will never have to upgrade. Basically this is just such a nice looking bike, that I spend a lot of my time just looking at it in the garage. Although riding it is a blast!
- cwcole2, Greenwood, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-06 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike two months ago. It is my first REAL bike, and I love it. It is easy to ride and low maintenence so far. I hope it gives me many years of pleasure and fun in the sun here in Florida.
- Dan, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-15 1999 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 750 Ace back in May '05. I have since added numerous add-ons. This bike runs along side a Honda 1800, Honda 1300 and Honda 1100. My friends own all of these bikes and I can cruise all day right with them. If I may say so, it's the best-looking bike in the group. It has great gas mileage - over 60mpg. You won't go wrong with this bike. I also recommend a mustang studded seat cover (it looks great) on this bike.
- citrofel, mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-02 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1100 aero is Honda's best example of a finished cruiser. I say finished because all of the details are "finished" polished, satin aluminum, etc. The headlight gauge cluster looks and performs better than a handlebar or tank mounted gauge cluster. I have kept up or passed nearly every imaginable cruiser, so the power is "Adequate". The floor boards are huge I have size 15 shoes and they fit nicely on the boards. The heel-toe shifter is long enough to stay out of the way until needed. The sound has a nice rumble, but is quiet in its stock form. The maintenance is negligible compared to some manufacturers. The bike is a head turner and I will keep it for a long time. If only Honda would make a VT1800C3 or a new 1800 Valk then we are talking!
- Mark, Medina, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-30 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just love the bike. It handles like a dream and really turns heads. It's always mistaken for being a H-D Heritage. I upgraded items to really make it look 50s. The only downfall I can see is the turn signals don't automaticaly return. But it's not worth any points off this awesome bike. I will run it until it (or I) dies.
- Phatdaddy, Roseville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-23 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my ACE T brand new. It is the best bike I have ever owned and I have had a lot of bikes. The overhall performance is good, the handling is superb and for the money, you can't go wrong. You can not find a bike that will even come close to the quality of this fine motorcycle.
- Bill Reed, Lee's Summit, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT IT USED THIS PAST SPRING. YOU JUST CANNOT BEAT THE OVERALL LOOK OF THIS BIKE. THE RIDE IS AWESOME, YOU THINK THAT you're RIDING A MUCH MORE EXPENSEIVE BIKE. TODAY'S CRUISERS JUST don't MATCH THIS BIKE'S LOOKS, THE DEEP WIDE FENDERS WITH THE CHROME MOLDING ARE CLASSIC RETRO LOOKING, AND THEN ADDING THE BIG FAT WHITE WALLS JUST PUT ANOTHER NOTCH OF THAT CLASSIC LOOK TO THE OVERALL FIT AND FINISH. THE EXHAUST IS TOO QUIET FOR ME, BUT IT DOES HAVE A NICE LOOK TO IT. THE TWO INTO ONE THEME REALLY WORKS ON THIS BIKE. AT EIGHT FEET LONG IT WAS THE LONGEST PRODUCTION CRUISER HONDA MANFACTURED, THERE ARE SO MANY GOODIES OUT THERE TO ADD IT ALL COMES DOWN TO PERSONAL PREFENCE. THE SINGLE PIN CRANK MOTOR SHAKES A LITTLE BUT IT'S NOT AS BAD AS SOME OTHERS HAVE SAID, IT HAS PRETTY GOOD POWER. IT CAN BE IMPROVED BUT you're NOT BUYING A SPEED BIKE HERE, IF YOU WANT SOMETHING FASTER THEN you're GEARING MORE TO A SPORT BIKE. IT'S REALLY A SHAME THEY STOPPED PRODUCTION OF THIS MODEL (750 AERO IS NO COMP) IF YOU CAN FIND A USED ONE OUT THERE SNATCH IT UP, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. AND TO SUM IT UP, YOU CANT BEAT THE SHAFT DRIVE AND HONDA'S RELIABILITY!
- TONY .D, SI, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-05 1999 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got mine, used as a '96 ST. It is my dream bike. The ride is smooth, the layout comfortable. The extra GIVI' bag on the back tail is a real joy on a longer ride. Shifting is smooth and easy. The windshield is effective, but still allows for some air to keep you cool on the hotter days. I also have a Corbin seat which makes a difference to me. The large fuel tank, 7 plus gallons, means you can almost go on forever. I have taken it to PA 2 or 3 times with no issues up or down the mountains. Next, I'm trying to make it to the Honda Hoot with her. Keep riding, all!
- Ed Rivera Jr, Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-27 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden the ACE for about 10K miles, I'm fairly pleased with it overall. It is a good around town bike but lacks the top end power to make highway use comfortable. At speed (above 70mph) it tends to run out of power too early and you have to be aware of your speed and the bike's ability (or lack of) to pass large trucks with power to spare - the burst of speed isn't there when you want it at top end. Around town on the other hand, it is a pleasure to operate as it is light and easy to handle in parking lots, has plenty of power for traffic and has hard bags to fill when shopping. The windshield is effective to about 60 mph then the buffeting becomes irritating, making the bike tiring to ride for long distances. Carving through the mountain roads is a pleasure, as well as it is well mannered - but it's not a sport bike, so don't try carving too hard. The brakes are lacking in a hard stop. It needs a second rotor up front to bring it to a stop sooner. I love its clean lines, its lack of unnecessary bits and pieces hanging off here and there, and it has really stylish wheels.
- Ray Boucher, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-16 1999 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Shadow ACE in 1999 and have loved every mile in the saddle. It has great looks, sound, rock solid reliability and handles better than any other cruiser I have ridden. don't expect to do wheelies or challenge any of the 1100cc and up cruisers in the speed department though. Remember it is just a very cool running 750. It is geared well for 2-up riding. Never had any issues in 5 years with this bike. The original battery even still works fine and cranks right up at 30 degrees. The older Shadow ACE's like mine have 0-ring chain drive which has worked great for me. I wondered about that when I bought it, but the new chains are light years ahead of ones from the '70s. This bike is a great value and one you can ride with pride.
- Stan White, Angola, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-15 1999 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this thing used with 11.5K miles at a dealer. All I can say is that it's plenty powerful, stylish and loads of fun. I'm hooked!! I get lots of approving looks. The sound is awesome and I see no need for upgrades other than a Memphis Fat 17" windshield. Great bike and a great deal!
- AustinXb, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-29 1999 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have almost 50K on my candy apple red ST1100 and have not had any major problems with the bike. Positives are: huge gas tank (7.4 gal)+ good mileage = almost 300 mile range! Center stand, saddle bags that hold a full face helmet, Bags remove/install in a few seconds, good wind protection (body and legs), quiet, fast (130 easy), strong brakes, low maintence, doesn't look like a Harley, easy to keep clean, and hard to drag parts on twisties. Negatives are: heavy, does not like strong cross winds, hands are not well protected (cold weather), not many after market add on goodies, when you do need to service - much plastic to remove, and hard on rear tire (likes to smoke it).
- Larry, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 99 vlx dlx is, to me, an excellent bike. I've had mine for a year now, but its not the first vlx I've owned. I really like the 99 style better than the earlier models. the bike has plenty of power, excellent gas milage(on long rides, im getting about 55-60 mpg!!) I bought mine for 3500 bucks and it only had 3000 miles! hell of a good lookin bike for the money, and all sorts of add-ons you can purchase. I'd recommend to anyone to buy one of these bikes, new riders or experienced ones.
- Marc Lowery, Harrison, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-05 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The knock on this bike has always been a lack of power. I have found with a jet kit ,pipes and air filter the bike is much improved.The suspension is my complaint. The single rear shock offers up a very harsh ride and makes you cringe at the sight of a large bump coming your way. I've tried all settings and have not had any success.The non-adjustable fork also leaves much to be desired.
- Jonmako, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-22 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I get lots of thumbs-up around town. I have the orange and white paint with the fat whitewalls. Very retro. I have since added a backrest for the wife, luggage rack, windshield and lowers (for when it's cold). Great bike for around town and shor hops outof town. Ergonomics are not good for a long trip. Needs a better seat. Lots of vibration with the Harley-style single-pin crank. Other than that it's a perfect bike. won't ever trade it. Made add a touring bike to the collection, though, someday.
- Randy, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-29 1999 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years and many bikes from way back, I came back to riding after years of excuses. When shopping for a ride I did my homework and rode all the competitions cruisers in the price range I was looking in. Comparing looks, price, specs, others views and opinions, I bought a Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe. What a beautiful ride in both style and performance. Solo highway cruising at 60mph with plenty left for passing or whatever! This is a seriously sharp bike with tons of accessories available to spend your money on. Like everyone says, it really is a "head turner". The bike I bought was from the original owner. Maintained in perfect condition. Had 5000 miles. If you are looking for this bike used there out their. I saw two others in my area. All very similar. Downside? None other than the non-issue of chain vs shaft. I've had both in the past and has never been an issue with me. Highly recommended.
- Lance D'Coty, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-05 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great straight line tourer. Engine quite adequate for one up. High center of gravity compared to some of the competition. Extremely reliable. I put on 17K without a single problem. Put on a Mustang seat for better comfort. Cruises at 70 but above that it is working. Traded for a full dresser which handles better.
- j c relis, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-08 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 42,000 miles on my ACE and am very happy with it. Notice that I said happy, not ecstatic! Checking the oil is an absolute pain in the butt. I can check it 10 times and get a different reading every time (?) Ignition switch is in a lousy position - I shut it off with the kill switch every time then get off and shut it off with the key. Is there any particular reason why all of these manufacturers are putting these ignition keys so you have to be a contortionist to use them? Power is good but not impressive. The good stuff? The windshield is great, the hard saddlebags are great, I put a JCWHITNEY luggage rack and backrest on. Big mistake! The chrome absolutely sucks! I put Cobra floorboards on, and they are great! All things considered, a great bike.
- Bill, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-26 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the Money that is! I test rode all the rest but for Cruiser Bikes it came down to Honda and Kawasaki. I rode both new Honda VTX's. The VTX1800 is a great Bike if you have money to spare and you want to make frequent Gas stops. I was disappointed with the VTX1300 (see review) and think that the VT1100 motor feels more torqy. Overall the Aero is the best looking and most rounded Bike out there and if you can find one used with all the accessories like I did, you can't go wrong. It is fun to ride and gets all the looks. I give it a 10 plus Grin Factor!
- Joe, Niagara Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-28 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first larger displacement motorcycle that I have purchased and I feel the it was worth every penny. My original ride was a 1986 Honda Shadow VT700C. While the 700 was nimble and quick, I wanted something that had better two-up capability and able to carry a full compliment of luggage. So I went on an information search and decided I wanted something in the 1100cc range. On a whim I stopped at a local dealer and asked about used cruisers. He pointed out a 99 Shadow ACE 1100. It fit my criteria in both looks and price so I began to consider it. Well, needless to say, I bought it. It is an awesome ride. The engine does not have great amounts of horsepower but it does have great torque and very smooth power band. It has a long wheelbase and weighs in at about 600lbs. dry. For a cruiser of this size it is very gentle and responsive. No straining to get this cruiser to turn. The day I took it out to get familiar with it I decided to take a ride in all different types of traffic conditions. Side streets, back roads, bumper to bumper traffic and the highway. It was comfortable, controllable and predictable in all conditions. As is with most Honda cruisers, the engine is all but bullet proof. Regularly secheduled maintenance will keep in running for thousands of worry free miles. Bottom, this is a larger displacement cruiser with long, low looks and is as much fun to ride as smaller cruisers with a price tag that won't break the bank. One other thing that makes this cruiser so attractive is the aftermarket support for it. From exhausts, to lighting and everything in between, there is an option to fit your taste. I highly recommend it.
- Michael, Scranton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-14 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Bike. Good looks. Plenty of goodies available. Sounds great with Vance and Hines pipes.
- Shannon, Seneca, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 1999 Honda ST1100 ABS II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding sportbikes since 1984(FJ1100)have had over 16 of them,the ST is truly the best of the bunch!!Having owned this bike for little over a year now,I can find no faults with it.Yes the ABS is worth the extra cash trust me on this!!Honda has allowed you to customize this bike to your personal taste.I have equipped mine as follows:Givi 50 Litre Top Box Avon Tires Clearview Shield Dash Shelf Saddleman Gel Seat Throttle Rocker Chase Harper 1150 Tank Bag Garmin Color Streetpilot GPS Cobra Radar Detector This bike is as reliable as a Hooker during Fleet week,Would Definetly buy again!!!
- Lynwood Thompson, St.Albans, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-29 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a used silver and black '99 Ace Tourer last week as my "re-entry bike". I have owned 5 bikes prior to this one, but had not done much riding for 15 years. Previous bikes were smaller (550cc was the largest). This is my first Honda. As a 50 year old, my interests were primarily in middle distance two-up touring with at least some level of comfort. This bike seems to fit the bill quite nicely. The ACE is sort of like a Golden Retriever in the way it is large and strong, but has a very gentle disposition and is a pleasure to spend time with. I had certain expectations based on reviews I had read, both here and elsewhere. Expectations that were met would include Honda quality (they really do seem to make the nicest bikes for the money - I say this in spite of a long standing Yamaha bias), good wind protection, supple ride and nice-but-not-too-loud exhaust note. Expectations that were exceeded would include the smoothness of the engine at all speeds (mirrors are absolutely clear even when accelerating), power delievery which I would describe as being like an old V-8 powered Buick (smooth and powerful, but especially smooth). Also, the overall comfort level is much better than expected, including the seat which seems hard at first, but really isn't. Most reviews I read tend to speak in absolutes, or they compare a bike to some other bike of which the reader has no knowledge. If you have the same problem finding meaningful information about a bike, I hope this information will prove to be helpful: I would say that the bike is at its best when running 65-70 mph on secondary roads. It seems ideally suited to two-up touring for trips up to 200-300 miles in a day. No doubt, one could ride it across the country, but a Gold Wing would be a better choice for that. The ACE Tourer is, however, the better choice if you don't necessarily plan to spend most of your time on the highway, as it is fairly nimble around town. The locking hard luggage is so handy you quickly wonder how anyone gets by without it. I live in AZ where you don't have to go far to find changes in elevation that translate into different weather conditions, so being able to pack extra layers even for a day trip is quite a nice feature. Being able to lock up the cell phone and other valuables when getting a bite to eat is also very nice. To sum it all up, if you are a somewhat "mature" rider looking for a versatile bike that can also comfortably do an overnight trip to somewhere 300 miles from home, this would seem to be an unbeatable choice. Too bad Honda discontinued them for 2002, but there are good used ones out there.
- Jack Irwin, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: