Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (74)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-03-23 1999 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike. It is awesome. It is a great ride. Thanks to the dealership I got it at.
- tim hanam, eastern passage, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 1999 Yamaha Virago 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for almost 2 years and enjoyed it a lot. Lost the feel after the wife decided she needed to be a fixture on the back. Had to move up to more power-06 Road Star Midnite Silverado. Great single cruiser, lots of power and easy to ride.
- Bill Plancke, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-23 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this bike, and after 10 years she looks and rides like new. These bikes really do hold up very good over the years, was saving up for a Road King...and for less than the down payment I own this bike. The 99 looks just like the 09 so when I ride with my friends this bike looks good next to a new Road Star or Harley. The ride is great, put some new Dunlops (white walls) on her and she just goes like a new bike. The stock seat is just fine for around town....I am going to have it shaped to get me lower and further back.
- Dave, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-19 1999 Yamaha PW80 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is absoulutley remarkable. The turning is great and wheelies are as easy as taking candy from a baby. Only one problem that I found is the seat is not comfortable so I might get a new one and the style you can't go wrong.
- Jason, Coventry, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I've owned, and after riding Harleys that friends and family have, I've got to say this is one of the most comfortable bikes to cruise on. It could use something more on the highway, but overall for everyday use, it can't be beat. I've put over 4,000 miles on it last summer, and have had it out a few times during some warmer winter days. It has great styling, great value, great comfort and is a GREAT BIKE.
- TMAC, Galesburg, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-11 1999 Yamaha Virago 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my opinion this bike was among the most gorgeous production bikes ever created but it was several inches short on wheel base. Great for smaller riders but the powerful engine on this thing could've stood to be scaled up a good deal. I loved mine and wish now that I'd kept it just to stare at. It would've made a terrific centerpiece in my living room. Lol!
- Mike Crowley, Berkeley, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 1999 Yamaha Virago 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this motorcycle 3 yrs ago, she had 12,500kms on the odometer. I now have 34,000kms and still rides like new, it is very low maintenace (tires, battery). She has lots of power at low and high torque, this is in my opinion one of the best motorcycles ever built. This is probably why they did not change the model for so long.
- Virago, ville, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-04 1999 Yamaha V Star 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was looking for a bike I just ran across this one for a great price. Looked at it and rode it once deciding this was the bike. Have put over 4000 miles on it since I bought it and have not had one single problem at all. Routinely take it on rides to NE Iowa and am never sore after a 3+ hour ride. Can't say enough good about this bike!!! Beautiful red paint job and pipes turn heads. I ride through ISU campus and make some noise and get a lot of looks all spring and fall! Plentiful parts in the aftermarket world! HAVE FUN MAKE IT YOUR OWN!
- Kyle Greenwood, Ames, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-02 1999 Yamaha Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold two bikes and planned on getting a Venture. The wife was wanting a better touring bike, the seat on our 1999 Honda Aero wasn't cutting it any more. It is purple over silver. I came across this bike from an owner and after talking with him, I bought it.($4,200.00) I have replaced front tire and oil change so far. Touched up some stone chips and buffed and polished the bike. I'm getting 36-43 miles to the gallon.
- John Trojan, South Bend, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-02 1999 Yamaha Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently got rid of my V-Star 1100 Custom and my wife's V-Star 650 Classic. The thinking was we would buy a 'Geezer Glide' that we would both be comfortable on. I picked up a '99 Venture w/28000 miles on it and LOVE IT! Aside from it being a total beast at slow speeds, it is so easy and comfortable to ride. The finish quality is very nice, the V-4 is awesome and no one knows what the heck I'm riding. It's not for beginners but there is no way I would consider paying $35k+ for a stock HD when there is a beuaty like this out there that is more comfortable, more powerful and nicer looking at half the price!
- Chris M, Flanders, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-22 1999 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike in April 2005; it is now October 2005 and I've got to say this bike simply R O C K S! I've ridden all the way from the Carolinas to Indiana, several trips around the Midwest, including the Upper Peninsula of Michigan via Northern Wisconsin. I cannot express how satisfied I am with this bike. It is very responsive, comfortable and massive! I survived a crash in the Cherohala skyway (yeppers, my fault), but was still in good shape to ride 400 miles back to Indiana, despite minor cosmetic damage. I am working on getting a new windshield and crash bar, which were damaged in the accident. BUY this bike, you won't regret it. PERIOD!
- Lou Oliveira, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 1999 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 1996 Virago from the original owner a few weeks ago. He had kept it garaged and in perfect condition with only 3390 miles on it when I bought it. The longest ride I have gone on so far is about 60 miles. I am getting about 48 mpg. It handles like a dream and has plenty of power. It is a little light for any serious rides on the freeway, but it will cruise at 75 mph without any problem. I am loving it!
- Brady Jensen, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-09 1999 Yamaha Virago 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since 1977 and this is my 3rd bike and by far the best. It has more than enough power and to me it is a great looking bike. It doesn't weigh a ton like some of these newer cruisers and in some people's opinion it's not very pretty like but like the song says (she might be ugly but she sure can cook). I bought it used with only 942 miles on it and haven't had any problems. From all the articles I've read the bike is pretty much bullet proof. I get snubbed by the (want a be) biker Harley crowd but that's okay because from what I have observed, most of their riding is done on the couch or bar stool. I paid $4000 for my bike and only someone not in there clear mind would pay the highway robbery prices they pay for their scooters.
- Jimmy P., Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 1999 Yamaha Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife of 33 years and I are enjoying riding this machine. It handles real well on the highway and in parking lots after you learn the bike. I've added lots of extras and just had it pinstriped. I'll buy another one when this gets to 150,000 miles. Super machine!!
- CSM Dana Braquet, Groves, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-13 1999 Yamaha V Star 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over 5K ridden since I got this bike last April (3 mos), I am really impressed with this bike! Other than a flat rear tire and oil change, the bike asks for nothing but gas! I have ridden this bike from South Carolina all the way to Michigan's Upper Peninsula, and it rides smooth, reliable. Unlike my previous Vulcan 1500, it does not backfire. It also has a better center of gravity... I am hooked!
- Lou Oliveira, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-09 1999 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Road Star 3 months ago. It had 6K miles on it and not a scratch. I bought it for MUCH less than a comparable new machine and have never looked back. It has a windshield and the Bub pipe's LOUD! Everywhere I go, I hear "good lookin' bike", etc. It has been twenty years since I had ridden and when I got this bike, I suddenly realized what I had been missing.
- Doug Thompson, Corbin, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-21 1999 Yamaha Virago 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's been about 25 years since I sold my Gold Wing and the saying is true - once a rider, always a rider. I researched, read and test drove lots of bikes from Honda to Harley but decided on the Virago. It's a 750 and has everything I want in a bike - looks, speed, agility, fuel economy, even the stock pipes aren't too bad. It has 16,000 miles on it and still rides like new. I'm back in the saddle and loving it.
- PB, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-15 1999 Yamaha Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had purchased a 2003 V-Star 1100 Silverado Classic off the dealer floor and loaded it with lots of upgrades. My father in Houston wanted a bike too. He got his hands on the 1999 Venture and found that it was too much bike for someone just starting to ride. He was 67 at the time and had never ridden. Long story short, we traded. Best thing I have ever done. The Venture is solid, loaded with lights, bells, whistles, and feels great. There is a lot of discussion regarding rider height. Yes, the taller the rider the better. The bike sits a little tall. I have never had a problem starting the bike. If you have ridden sport bikes or cruisers and find that you are ready to have cruise, stereo, cb, and let the world blow by while you lay back and enjoy everything, then this bike is for you.
- AusTxSteve, Round Rock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-07 1999 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with the straight line performance of my Max. The handling leaves a bit to be desired. Stops very well and goes like... well you know. No wonder they have been around for 20 years.
- Steve C, West Chester, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-17 1999 Yamaha PW80 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 14 now and I have a PeeWee 80. I don't ride it anymore but my brother does. I used to ride it and it's a great bike for beginners. I have been riding 8 years now and am getting a CRF150 in a couple of weeks. The PW80 a great bike with good acceleration and can keep up with a 100cc bike for about 35 meters. It does around 70km. It never bottomed out on me and I weigh around 50kg so I would recommend this bike to any youngster wanting to move up from the 50cc bike.
- Ben, ipswich, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-01 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a new rider and 1st time buyer this is a great bike. I've owned it for 2 months and have put 1000 miles on it. Starts right up and runs fine. Can run down the hiway at 65 and runs great. People think it's a HD softtail classic and are surprised it's only a 650. It's a keeper.
- TK, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I've ever owned. I didn't know what to get or even really know how to ride. After looking around and reading reviews I decided on the classic. It's the best move I've ever made. I learned to ride on this bike. It rides perfect and handles well. It could use a little more power but still gets me down the interstate well even at 6ft3in 230lbs. It's a great bike and I would recommend it any day. Thanks Yamaha!
- jman, battle creek, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-10 1999 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought it yesterday, but I really love it. Handles great, low seat height. Has enough power to go anywhere. I put 130 miles on it today, mostly on the freeway. It went down the freeway between 70 and 80 no problem. No vibration or anything. While I was out today I ordered a new windshield. I'll update this after I put some more miles on. Oh, also I am going to have to get a Mustang seat. Seat comfort only lasts about 30 minutes on the stock seat.
- Doug, Hemet, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-27 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like a Big V? Is torque your thing. It doesn't get any better. This was made for stylin' up the mountain passes two-up. Tires require some thought and constant attention to pressure. Great ride.
- Russ Moore, Walnut, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-15 1999 Yamaha V Star 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my third bike, the '99 VStar Custom, and it is the most comfortable, nicest looking and best sounding bike I've owned. It has slasher pipes, sissy bar, windshield, bags, floorboard pegs and heel toe shifter, and with 200+ pounds riding on it, there was power to spare. I've never owned a vtwin before, and I was impressed about how much power it has. I've had a 4 cylinder 1100, and it didn't compare to the VStar. I'd just like to know does anyone have a figure on it's mpg? Thanks! The Gunny Jacksonville, NC
- Curtis S., Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: