Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-08-23 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this bike, and after 10 years she looks and rides like new. These bikes really do hold up very good over the years, was saving up for a Road King...and for less than the down payment I own this bike. The 99 looks just like the 09 so when I ride with my friends this bike looks good next to a new Road Star or Harley. The ride is great, put some new Dunlops (white walls) on her and she just goes like a new bike. The stock seat is just fine for around town....I am going to have it shaped to get me lower and further back.
- Dave, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-27 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like a Big V? Is torque your thing. It doesn't get any better. This was made for stylin' up the mountain passes two-up. Tires require some thought and constant attention to pressure. Great ride.
- Russ Moore, Walnut, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-21 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After being with out a bike for 12 years and not knowing what I wanted or costs at the time, I bought a 1997 XV535 Virago straight out of the box...mistake :).....1 month i realized i should have gotten a bigger ride. So after shopping around i settled on a Black 2001 Roadstar Silverado. 2 years later I'm Still in love with her :) She's almost due for her 32,000 mile check-up <30,947 on odometer atm> and I've gone all over without a single hick-up. The only thing I have left that i want to do to her is get a sign made to hang on her in a parking lot that says " Get Over It, It's not a Harley" I LOVE the torgue the Roadstar has STOCK out of the box, I laid rubber on accident for 90 feet 3 hrs after I got it. Less Money and More bang than that other pushrod brand.
- Mallory, Antioch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-03 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nothing is better on the highway nimble easy to handle power there when you need it. I have the 2001 in Silver and Black the only mod is a backrest for myself for those long hauls.
- Richard Jalbert, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-21 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
got one-keeping it-sometimes trade off with my brother (harley electra glide) AND I WOULD NOT TRADE HIM EVEN!
- LARRY G., DAYTON, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-25 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A couple of years ago I was in the market for a new motorcycle, after an absence of 20 years riding. Living in Illinois, where most people ride Harley's that was my first choice. That started the progression of trying to find a Harley shop that had or wanted to sell a Superglide at M.S.R.P. After wasting my time being told of $500.00 deposits and a 14 month wait, and $3000.00 premiums, I decided to look at other bike. The criteria, air cooled (no radiator), external pushrods, overhead cams, and belt drive. Then I heard of the Yamaha Roadstar. It met the criteria and some, dual sparkplug heads, double overhead cams, dependability, and excellent fit and finish. I'm happy that HD is so proud of their product, but after 2 years with YRS count me A Star rider for life. P.S. 15,000 miles and no problems, Harley who?
- Gary F., Tinley Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-11 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well they did it again. First it was the cars, and now you can count on the bikes. This cruiser is a lot of machine for a very modest amount of money. It boasts the latest in tech development with hydraulic clutches,(much appreciated on around town rides) electronic advance, dual discs in the front that actually stop the bike, and a fuel gauge!! What's next? The belt drive put a lot of horsepower in the right place, but I found that the 1600 needs some love to make it a fun ride. She needs pipes, air filter, and jets, and if you can afford the hotz firing system get it. These items make the Yammy brawl. She is a sweet ride with standard features, like foot platforms, that really make this bike a value plus machine that will out perform my first love.
- Wild Willie, Gorham, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-29 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my silverado for a couple of months now and I am very impressed with the overall apperance and also the power. But I still have to get used to the handling. I had a Shadow 1100 before this bike and I cant get over how much more muscle you need to keep this bike on the road. But if I had a choice I would still pick this bike over any bike I have driven.
- Jake , attleboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2 and would not trade them for anything. I have 2 brothers with Harleys and know first hand the problems they have!!
- skip sabourin, greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-16 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also have a Yamaha Roadstar Silverado 2001' and love the bike. Harley has just gone off the scale as far as prices go. I'll put my Star up against any Hog, any day....
- Randy, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
if you like a big bike and love to ride you won't be sorry you own this bike. the only reason to buy a harley over this bike is "EGO" let's face it, harley is a awsome motorcycle and more importantly a even greater promoter. if they wern't, yamaha and everyone else wouldn't be trying this hard... i don't have anything against harley, I've owned a couple, but when yamaha can build a harley better than harley, it's time to get on with it and go back to riding instead of bragging... i can buy several of either and if i had to do it again i'd do it again. if you feel the need to impress yourself and others, buy the harley otherwise you'll never be happy. if your ego's in check, buy the roadie, you won't be sorry and you'll still have 5 grand left to buy the old lady something nice so you can actually ride the damn thing!
- g maj, sterling, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-03 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for more years than I would like to admit (48) and have had all sizes (50cc to 1602cc) and makes, including H-Ds and Gold Wings, and just love this bike. It feels much lighter than it is, handles great, and is just a great ride every day. Here in Arizona I have all year to ride...Would I buy another one? You BET!!
- Dale Phillips, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-16 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 99 Kawi Nomad for the 99 Siverado and she feels like a smaller machine, very easy to maneuver and a real joy to ride. What caught my attention to the Yamahog was the finish. I only wish that Yamaha would warranty the bike like my other ride (a 99 Royal Star Venture) for 5 years.
- Vic, Augusta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-07 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to admit the Yamaha Roadstar was my second choice. The heritage softtail was my first. The Price made up my mind for me. The bike is great. No regrets. I bought the siverado model. If I had $5000 more to spend would I still get Roadstar. Hell yes. I love the look of the Harley guys when I tell them it is a air cooled 1600 V twin belt drive.
- Walt, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: