Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-01-30 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I've owned, and after riding Harleys that friends and family have, I've got to say this is one of the most comfortable bikes to cruise on. It could use something more on the highway, but overall for everyday use, it can't be beat. I've put over 4,000 miles on it last summer, and have had it out a few times during some warmer winter days. It has great styling, great value, great comfort and is a GREAT BIKE.
- TMAC, Galesburg, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-01 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a new rider and 1st time buyer this is a great bike. I've owned it for 2 months and have put 1000 miles on it. Starts right up and runs fine. Can run down the hiway at 65 and runs great. People think it's a HD softtail classic and are surprised it's only a 650. It's a keeper.
- TK, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I've ever owned. I didn't know what to get or even really know how to ride. After looking around and reading reviews I decided on the classic. It's the best move I've ever made. I learned to ride on this bike. It rides perfect and handles well. It could use a little more power but still gets me down the interstate well even at 6ft3in 230lbs. It's a great bike and I would recommend it any day. Thanks Yamaha!
- jman, battle creek, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best thing about this bike is the nice ride it gives at an impressively affordable price. Its large enough for most men and women to cut through the wind on an interstate. The seat is at a perfect height for me @ (5'8") in fact thats one of the things that caught my attention in addition to the great looks, when I had mounted it the first time, it felt wonderful, like a nice pair of comfortable glove. The horse power as you throtel through straightaways and on corner bends are quite sufficient for a 650CC. It does have room for improvements but minor, in areas of re-distributing the weight to the rear more. But other than that. Hey, I love it. Its just "right" for me.
- ALEXIS, SHREVEPORT, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-02 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my yamaha V-star 650 classic just four months ago and have already put double mileage on it. I bought it with 5600 miles and now it's at 11000. This is a great bike to have at a good price. I read all the other reviews above and I'm happy to see I'm not the only one who gets people thinking I'm on a HD. Only thing I'm going to change on it is the pipes because I want the deaper sound.
- Brian, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-22 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1999 vstar classic. Have 21000 trouble free miles and have rode all over the country two up saddle bags and tbag packed and easily cuise 70 mph with no problems. Only retro is rejetting and cobra pipes for improved performance. I can say enough about the ride, performance, and handling for this mid size cruiser. The wife and I love this motorcycle.
- Bill Cook, Byron, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-16 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was going to buy a Harley 883, but after reading some reviews, and talking to some friends that owned them (Harley's) and sold them, I decided NOT! I baught a friends 1999 v-star 650 classic. It only had 2900 miles and showroom new. I had read all the reviews on this bike, on this site and all most all were good. Well, they were right, this is a great little 650 that does it all.I could'nt believe how well it did two up, for a 650. As for all the people who said it needed a 6th gear, for what? this thing loves to rev, and at 55 or 65 the rev's are fine and smooth too! If you have ridden a 650 or 750 of any kind, and a 5 speed this is normal.This little 650 will blow away any stock 883 harley!, and it will not brake down like a harley.Yamaha has done a great job on this mid-level cruser,after all it was bike of the year its first year out!
- Wild Bill, Yuba City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a used 1999 V-Star classic with 6000 miles. I chose wisely! This bike is much better than I ever thought it would ever be, not to mention the personality of the bike is fitting to anyone that has a passion for a solid cruiser. I was considering a Buell Blast, which I think is a good bike, rode nice and has an unbeatable trade-in policy. I underpaid for the v-star at $3800.00, with a Mustang seat w/ backrest, saddlebags, windshield, extra chrome lights, and much more extras. I put about 300 miles on it, my first week of riding a bike. I just can't stop riding! Anyone thinking of getting this bike, should, especially for a first bike. Peace
- Gordong11, Joizey USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-29 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding bikes for 15 years. Started out on an old 70's something custom Honda that was absolutely beautiful, but had electrical problems too numerous to mention. Next I picked up an 83 Honda Shadow 750. That bike just kept going and going and going. I think I had maybe 3 or 4 tune-ups in the 13 years I owned that bike. Finally decided I needed to upgrade to something bigger and badder. I searched for months trying to find the right combination of bike, price, features, looks, power.... Everywhere I looked I kept seeing one awesome and gorgeous bike. Each time I'd ask what it was....I'd here, "v-star classic, it's a 650". Good grief, I couldn't go smaller after years on a 750 I had to go bigger, didn't I? Apparently, I didn't have to go bigger. Salesman told me, "take it for a ride, you might be surprised by the power and the ride"... Surprised doesn't quite cover it...perhaps tickled pink would be a better description. Needless to say I bought that bee - a - you -tee - full motorcylce and have been thrilled with it ever since. Everyone thinks it's a bigger bike than it is...most say 1100 to 1300, I'm almost embarrassed to tell them the truth...ugh! bottom line, fantastic bike at an unbeatable price!
- JEFFREY BROWN, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first motorcycle I've owned. How do I like it? What does 12,000 miles in 18 months say? I just do the preventive maintenance and ride it. At slightly better than 50MPG it passes by a lot of gas stations. Riding single it performs well but with a passenger (total wt. about 375#)it seems a under powered. A lot of people think it is an 1100cc or bigger and the rest think it's a Harley. The low seat height makes it a great ladies bike or a short legged man's bike.
- Ed, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden since I moved to Texas (in 1991) and had a sportbike before that (1987 Kawasaki Ninja 600R). I recently got a wild hair and decided that I wanted to get another bike - this time a cruiser as I am getting a LITTLE more mature. I am a freak about getting the best value for my money and this bike was it. I bought the bike used and got a good deal but I am convinced that the V-Star 650 Classic beats the pants off the competition in class. I rode a Shadow ACE 750 and the V-Star rode so much better. I looked around A LOT to determine what was the best bike value in this category and for me this bike was it. I was surprised that these bikes used hold their value so well. Give one a shot if you're in the market for a middleweight cruiser. Would love to hear from other folks about the experiences with the V-Star. Do any of you know of any owners clubs (even online) for V-Star owners.
- Wes Mailhos, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 43 and have not sat in the saddle in 20 years. From 16 to 23 the only transportation I had was a 1957 pan (HD) still in the family by the way. My oldest son has it. Yamaha has come to the rescue for us regular working people. You don't have to be a banker or CEO to own a decent scoot. I love my jade green and pearl white 650-v star. I have been truly converted. Willie g. does not need my money. Thanks Yamaha. It feels good to ride again.
- bob moser, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V-STAR 650 classic is one cool bike. Aside from constantly being asked if it is a Harley, this bike ROCKS. Smooth power from bottom to top great looks and many custom accessories rate this bike as an exceptional value with big bike looks. I've put 6000 miles on it and so far it has been trouble free. With the cobra pipes and jet kit this bike comes alive as well as sounds good. I'm looking forward to adding more custom accessories and maybe a custom paint job in the future. If anyone out there knows anything about installing drag style handlebars please send me an e-mail.
- Sonny, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: