Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-09-01 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my first bike, an R6 from a guy who races them. He has tought me so much about the bike before I even gained the experience. I haven't had the bike over 145mph yet but I'm having a blast learning. I can't believe the power and reliability from just a 600.
- LunaticR6, Wyoming, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-07 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just letting you taller guys know, that when I sat on this bike, it was way too small... I think 6'2 would be the max... My legs would not fit in the gas tank molds for your legs... I was too tall from the knee to the heel... too bad, it was a great looking bike and great price...
- Barrett Bonnar, Antigonish, NS, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-04 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Used to own a brand new dec87 VFR700R Recently purchased a 1999 R6 in mint nick. The R6 would beat the VFR in all categorys except long distance 2 up comfort. tis amazing how a 600 would blow away a 700cc machine
- Mark Hopkins, Dunedin, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R6 is a great bike but you need to be aware that several owners have been experiencing battery leaks. A site has been dedicated to the problem. http://www.houndheaven.com/batteryleak.htm
- Joseph, Pflugerville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-29 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although this bike has better than average power, it is extremly uncomfortable, and the suspension sucks. Would much rather ride the gsxr, or f4. Thumbs down, and for sale if you are interested, I'll let her go cheap.
- Bike guy, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-12 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 1999 R6 used from my neighbor Scott. It was 2 years old and had 2,000 miles on it. The bike was better than new, with a Vance & Hines titanium slip-on on an otherwise stock bike. He knew I was looking for a new 600 something and let me ride his so I could see if it had enough power for me, having owned a Ninja ZX-11 and currently own a Nighthawk 750 and a Vulcan 1500 Classic. I was so impressed with this bike, I wanted his. I didn't care for the graphics on the new ones and most of the used ones I saw were in pretty rough shape, not knowing who had ridden them and how, and if they had been broken in correctly. So, I did buy his and I love this bike. The performance is awesome and in the canyons it's a dream. This is my first Yamaha and hopefully not my last. My neighbor, by the way, bought a GSX-R 1000. I think he should have bought an R1.
- Pete, Pomona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-12 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a big Honda type of guy but when my brother bought a 99 R6 he told me you gotta ride this machine it out rides the F4 I said "no way. My bro took me to the canyons by his house and let me loose. I read a lot about the F4 and R6 but the way the R6 handled it was the best performance I could imagine looks like I'm buying an R6!!!
- Anonymous, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my R6 for a year, this bike is awesome. Only modifications I have made are, tank bra, tinted windscreen, Dunlop D207 Rear Tire, and Jardine R One exhaust. Women have long since liked this bike, for it's looks and ability. I highly recommend if you are looking for a bike in a moderate price range with great potential, get a 1999 Yamaha YZF R6.
- Terry C. Southall, Asheville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Red '99 R-6 in July 99 after repeated trips to the dealer. I signed the papers without riding the bike because I read all the articles I could get my hands on. The bike was everything I imagined, and the more miles I put on it, the stronger it got. The bike fits me better than others I've ridden. The bike is fast; 154 mph and still pulling. The reliability is exceptional and it corners like a dream, even with my size 6'4", 230 lbs. I ride comforably on long distances with little strain on my wrists and back. The performance still amazes me. Yamaha did an awesome job on the bike!
- Matt Roberts, Lewiston, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-20 1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased a '99R6 (the blue one) in August of 99. To be really honest with you, the moment I saw this bike on the show room floor I automatically fell in love with it. This is my first sport bike purchase. After looking it over for about an hour I signed the papers therefore to ride. My first impression of the R6 was its exceptional balance. The second was its power. I couldn't believe that I was riding a 600. It totally blew my mind. I live in a small town that is overwhelmed with new Harley owners. I was not accepted very well for purchasing it.
- scott, Burlington, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: