Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1999 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

4.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

LunaticR6

Wyoming, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my first bike, an R6 from a guy who races them. He has tought me so much about the bike before I even gained the experience. I haven't had the bike over 145mph yet but I'm having a blast learning. I can't believe the power and reliability from just a 600.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barrett Bonnar

Antigonish, NS, Nova Scotia

Reviewed on 2003-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
Just letting you taller guys know, that when I sat on this bike, it was way too small... I think 6'2 would be the max... My legs would not fit in the gas tank molds for your legs... I was too tall from the knee to the heel... too bad, it was a great looking bike and great price...
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Hopkins

Dunedin, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2002-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Used to own a brand new dec87 VFR700R Recently purchased a 1999 R6 in mint nick. The R6 would beat the VFR in all categorys except long distance 2 up comfort. tis amazing how a 600 would blow away a 700cc machine
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joseph

Pflugerville, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
The R6 is a great bike but you need to be aware that several owners have been experiencing battery leaks. A site has been dedicated to the problem. http://www.houndheaven.com/batteryleak.htm
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bike guy

Miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Although this bike has better than average power, it is extremly uncomfortable, and the suspension sucks. Would much rather ride the gsxr, or f4. Thumbs down, and for sale if you are interested, I'll let her go cheap.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete

Pomona, California

Reviewed on 2001-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my 1999 R6 used from my neighbor Scott. It was 2 years old and had 2,000 miles on it. The bike was better than new, with a Vance & Hines titanium slip-on on an otherwise stock bike. He knew I was looking for a new 600 something and let me ride his so I could see if it had enough power for me, having owned a Ninja ZX-11 and currently own a Nighthawk 750 and a Vulcan 1500 Classic. I was so impressed with this bike, I wanted his. I didn't care for the graphics on the new ones and most of the used ones I saw were in pretty rough shape, not knowing who had ridden them and how, and if they had been broken in correctly. So, I did buy his and I love this bike. The performance is awesome and in the canyons it's a dream. This is my first Yamaha and hopefully not my last. My neighbor, by the way, bought a GSX-R 1000. I think he should have bought an R1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2000-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a big Honda type of guy but when my brother bought a 99 R6 he told me you gotta ride this machine it out rides the F4 I said "no way. My bro took me to the canyons by his house and let me loose. I read a lot about the F4 and R6 but the way the R6 handled it was the best performance I could imagine looks like I'm buying an R6!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry C. Southall

Asheville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2000-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my R6 for a year, this bike is awesome. Only modifications I have made are, tank bra, tinted windscreen, Dunlop D207 Rear Tire, and Jardine R One exhaust. Women have long since liked this bike, for it's looks and ability. I highly recommend if you are looking for a bike in a moderate price range with great potential, get a 1999 Yamaha YZF R6.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt Roberts

Lewiston, Idaho

Reviewed on 2000-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my Red '99 R-6 in July 99 after repeated trips to the dealer. I signed the papers without riding the bike because I read all the articles I could get my hands on. The bike was everything I imagined, and the more miles I put on it, the stronger it got. The bike fits me better than others I've ridden. The bike is fast; 154 mph and still pulling. The reliability is exceptional and it corners like a dream, even with my size 6'4", 230 lbs. I ride comforably on long distances with little strain on my wrists and back. The performance still amazes me. Yamaha did an awesome job on the bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scott

Burlington, Colorado

Reviewed on 1999-12-20

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just recently purchased a '99R6 (the blue one) in August of 99. To be really honest with you, the moment I saw this bike on the show room floor I automatically fell in love with it. This is my first sport bike purchase. After looking it over for about an hour I signed the papers therefore to ride. My first impression of the R6 was its exceptional balance. The second was its power. I couldn't believe that I was riding a 600. It totally blew my mind. I live in a small town that is overwhelmed with new Harley owners. I was not accepted very well for purchasing it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: