BMW Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (145)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a BMW Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-07-03 2000 BMW F650 STRADA Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It sounds like a tractor and it drives like one. Engine is struggeling under 3000 rpm and above it, the vibrations are so severe that you will think twice about driving above 60 miles per hour for extended periods of time. The Rotax engine is the worst engine I have ever driven. Good for your lawnmower but that,s it. And, in my opinion, not worthy of the BMW badge.Pro,s: it is reliable, cheap to maintain, and easy to handle.
- Roger, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-22 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 R1100RT with 84k miles on the clock in July. I was not sure about changing from a cruiser to a sport touring bike. All summer long, when I went to the barn, I kept grabbing the RT. I put over 6k miles on this bike over the past three months, including a canyon carving expedition into the Smokies in August. It's easy to ride, comfortable and quick. Just trying to figure out why I waited so long to trade in my cruiser for a sport touring bike.
- Andy, Chagrin Falls , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-01 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my R1100RT brand new in Oct., 2000. i rode her daily back and forth on Los Angeles freeways for a year. I put 31,000 on her during first year. She handled very well in rough traffic: stops on a dime and has the ability to power you out of tight spots like a rocket if need be. I rode her recreationally over the next couple of years, and due to knee surgery, I had to park her in my garage over the 2003-2004 time period. Occasional starts during 2005 ended with a dead battery, and her sitting quietly in my garage until the spring of 2012 (yes 7 years). I FINALLY put a new battery in her and she started up with a chug, until I put fresh gas in her. She rode like a champ and I had her serviced within a week. I've put almost 800 miles on her in the first two weeks of bringing her back to life and she hasn't missed a beat. I was thinking about trading her in for a new R1200RT, but after riding her and enjoying the looks of onlookers, I don't think I could ever get rid of her. This is one great machine built by one great company. If you have one; keep it.
- Mike Barker, Moreno Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-01 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in April 2008 with 18,000 on it, as a 40 mile each way commuter, and with the Corbin seat and BMW bags already on it. I love it right from the start. It has massive torque, gobs of acceleration and is fast enough for me (I haven't had it flat out, but I've had an indicated 120 mph out of it without trying hard). I found it a little too buzzy for comfort around 4500 rpm. The Manic Salamander bar end weights (18.5 ounces instead of the stock 9.5 ounces) completely cured that. I found it very windy over 70 mph; Parabellum windshield, adjusted as high as it can go cured that. My other add-ons were for personal preference, not necessity. The bike is as reliable as a stone, comfortable all day, a joy to drive and magic through the twisties. At first I felt like I wasn't getting much feedback from the front suspension, then I realized it just was not having any problems, so there was nothing for it to tell me. It just goes around bends on any surface at any speed I've asked of it without fuss.
- Brian Henderson, White House, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-07 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the R1100R about two years ago. (My other 'ride' is a '71 BSA B50.) The BMW is, by far, the nicest bike that I have ever ridden or owned. I tend to service the bike myself since I'm basically a cheapskate and because the bike is fairly easy to service. Other than a minor surging problem (that was taken care of by the previous owner through the installation of a custom 'chip')changing the fluids is simple enough. I noticed a squeak in the rear brake at the end of a 280 mile run this past weekend. Today I pulled the rear caliper and found that I need a set of pads. So, I got shade more than 13,000 miles on the rears. The fronts still look like new. I've also installed Speed Bleeders on the bike and they really help when the annual 'bleeding' comes up. Otherwise, the braking is superb. At 240 LBS and 6ft 3in I'm a pretty big character. When I add my much smaller wife to the equation along with full hardcases we're quite a package. Even so, the bike has absolutely no problem with us. When I'm alone very few other bikes can touch me. (I've got a friend who's a veteran MX'r. He tells me that he figures that every LB costs you 7 HP. The way the BMW pulls, I figure that I could weigh as much as a small cow and it wouldn't even protest!) Now and then an arrogant Harley guy sort of looks down his nose at the BMW. Harley isn't half the bike. (I can hear myself think on the BMW - the Harley guy can't.) The bike consistently gives me 40 - 45 mpg. It handles precisely at any speed. My only 'gripe' is the distance from the seat to the footpegs - I could use another couple of inches. Last year I installed a peg 'lowering' kit and it helped but if I could raise the seat height a bit beyond it's 'high' position it'd be better. (I've got a sciatic problem and I find that I've got to get off of the bike periodically in order to stretch out.) All-in-all the R1100R is an absolutely superb machine. I'd recommend it happily to all!
- Mark Keyser, New Milford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike about 2 years ago. No problem. I lied, the only problems I have had are people taking their eyes off the road to look at it. It is a head turning bike. Very comfortable to the rider, and with the comfort seat upgrade, my wife feels safe and comfortable as well. ABS brakes, need I say more? Engineered to last 100K or more, this is a great bike for a bargainer with performance and looks for a collector.
- rjjrlaw, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-31 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 99 K1200LT used with 61k. I have had a great experience with the bike. Moving up from a 97 Honda Magna, I can't believe how smooth, comfortable and fast this big bike is. If you want to get into touring, this is a great ride. It corners with finesse and handles the superslab with ease. Watch those foot pegs, it will fly through the twisties at amazing lean angles. The frame is rigid and doesn't flex like other big bikes do. You can ride this big machine all day long. Love the adjustable windshield. My wife, not a big fan of riding, has turned the corner now that I have this machine and now travels with me frequently. Her high vantage point actually allows her to see the scenery. Wind buffering for the passenger can be strong unless you have the windshield set up high.... My ICON model offers all the comforts necessary for long trips, CD changer, intercom system, cruise, etc.... It just eats up the miles. I looked at used Gold Wings and during these model years, (99 to 01) the LT has it all over the GL1500's in regards to price and value. Only complaints, upfront storage is lacking, pickup a good small tank bag for items you need close by, (toll money, a water bottle, gloves, etc). This thing is heavy, not a beginners bike, low speed handling takes concentration, and dealerships are rare and maintenance is on the expensive side. I can highly recommend the K1200LT to anyone looking for a great long distance bike.
- Eric Brinley, Friendswood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Bought this bike online. I was going to ship it, but you know how it is. I jumped on the next flight out. Road this bike from Tampa, FL to Minneapolis, MN in three days. I went through 450 miles of pouring rain and 500 miles of a strong cross wind then about 400 miles of sleet and 32 degree frezzing rain, but the bike was glued to the road at 70mph. I was so impressed I road 850 miles in one day in this weather. First time I rode in 2 years. 1950 miles to Minneapolis in 3 days, I even did some sight seeing. Got back home and I'm ready for the next trip. I can't wait to go again. I have been riding for 30 years. I would never attemped to ride this hard on any other bike. I felt safe & like I owned the road. This bike was so smooth it handled like a road race bike and had the comfort of a recliner.
- Mike Michaelson, Bloomington, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-22 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike and also my favorite. I like it so much I actually have two. A perfect fit for the more aggressive rider who also enjoys one or two day touring. Not tons of top end, but plenty to get yourself in trouble with. Great in the twisties, great in the rain. If you want to scrape some heads, this is the machine for you.
- Cord Jemison, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my R1200CM for nearly 3 years. Everyone comments on what a great looking bike it is. The ride is just as great. I researched the Harleys, the Kawasakis, the Yamahas, and Hondas. Then I test rode this BMW. Feature for feature, nothing came close to matching the R1200CM in a cruiser bike.
- Mark Wiskow, Merton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned and ridden many bikes ranging from a Yamaha R6, YZ80 dirt bike and a Honda Interceptor. As this being my first cruiser, I was a bit reserved with purchasing a BMW, who are known for their dual-sports and sport touring bikes, not cruisers. Initially, I was taken by surprise by the amount of torque it had from a standstill and how it handled. It looked like a cruiser, rode like a cruiser, sounded like a cruiser; but handled like a sportsbike. After a few more test rides on it, I pulled the trigger and took her home. I've logged 12,000 miles in 6 months and really enjoy the looks and handling of this fine piece of German engineering. I would highly recommend this to anyone who's considering a cruiser and doesn't want to be branded with the HD logo on their butt. Only complaints: cheesy rear tail light assembly, thin clear coat (need to repaint tank this winter)
- Doug W., Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-06 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hadn't ridden in 2 years and never on a BMW. Acouple of friends rave about them so I decided to try them out. I picked a 2000 R100rt opal blue 9,000 on the clock. It's been love at first sight. Coming from Jap bikes with more horse I was kind of surprised that this 90 hp twin had as much take off. The ability to adjust the riding position to suit the rider is excellent. Not just the seat and suspension but the position of the shifter mechanism (with one wrench) and wind screen(at the touch of a button)The more I ride this machine the better I like it. Everything is layed out with the rider in mind. The mirrors are lower than the handle bars, I heard alot of people complain about such a thing but until you sit there and experience it one cannot really see the benifit. The abs2 is so fool proof I wouldn't consider any other system. Luggage space is perfect for commuting or weekend tours. If (when ) I go on longer tours I will probably put the top box on the back for the additional storeage. The bag system is very secure and goes on and off in seconds. I'm looking for liners for the bags though it keeps things alot more organized. I haven't experienced this buzzing or vibration that other riders often complain about. The saddle does however work on one bottom after a long period of riding. All in all I love it! I would highly recommend this cycle to anyone who enjoys comfort and safety in motorcycles. Thanks BMW you have sold me on this RT!
- Jeffrey Henning, wuakesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-25 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2003 LT-E. What a great ride!! A little top heavy at the slow speed but oh what a thrill down the road. One negative thought. Imagine having paid for the bike only to learn after taking delivery that the helmet sets are an extra expense.
- Harold Petty, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-03 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased one. The test bike was great, but my new bike the back end slips around under low acceleration. This has Metzler marathons that have always performed great on other bikes. The dealer claims there is nothing he can do. After years of wings this is very frustrating.
- Steven Schenck, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-26 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't give it 5 stars. that's for perfection. It's a teriffic motorcycle, but it's not perfect. This is my first BMW. It was a tough choice because of all the great bikes out there and because of it's $16,200 price tag. But I like the "do it yourself maintenance." and the LONG term reputation Beemers have. I bought it new in Aug. 2000 and now (Jan.2003) I have 51,000 miles, trouble-free miles! Yes it surges. I hate it. But this is the best of the 6 motorcycles I've owned.'84 Goldwing (31,000 miles in 13 months)'90 Electroglide (14,000 in 10 months '89 FJ 1200 (13,000 in 10 months) '90 FJ 1200 (11,000 in 7 months 99 VFR (20,000 in 15 months) and now the RT.<P>I just got back from riding to New York City in Dec. 1536 miles in 42 hours. I couldn't do that on any of my other bikes. I rode the VFR to Key west, but stayed for 4 days. In Feb. 2001 I rode to NYC by way of the WHITE HOUSE. I stayed in NYC for 45 minutes and then rode home. That was 1832 miles in 28 hours, in FEBUARY!! I am 46 years old and this is the best bike I've owned. 280 miles on a tank of gas, great wind protection, easy maint. and the best luggage in the business. It has been flawless.
- Paul, Irmo, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-08 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Highs: Power windshield, heated seats and grips, comfortable seating position, excellent milage when ridden conservatively, excellent9relatively) high speed handling. Lows: Idiotic turn signals, exceptionally poor gas tank filler cap, unacceptable oil check/refill arrangement (unbelievable poor concept of paper oil funnels and ergonomics), poor handlebar control ergonomics, mediocre stereo perfomance and output, skipping CD, takes too much room, inadequate storage up front, poor side stand, poor low speed control, questionable engineering when it comes to weight saving. Pricey. questionable dealers base and attitude. McBride in TO is fine. I keep the bike for long distance riding comfort, but have great doubt in long term value and sensibility of this piece of so claimed "german engineering" (?!) For an average rider- the Goldwing is a better ride.
- Steve, Windsor, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-06 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
looks like a slug, runs like a slugger. read a lot of reviews, they all say one thing; it is a wolf in sheeps clothing...a touring bike to run with the sport bikes. the only thing loud about it is the stereo, radio, tape, cd changer; and the best sound i ever heard in a vehicle sound system. the suspension is uncanny, there is no nose dive, hammer the front brake at speed in a curve, your car should handle so well. i didn't notice this till a harley rider pointed it out, it is easyer to clean, the clean lines translate to fewer surfaces to wipe. the only thing wrong with it, and you will find this objection time and time again in reviews by owners, it WILL get you in trouble with the wife/girlfriend..."you said you were only going to the store for a paper, you've been gone for five hours!" the features are to numerous to list...check this out, you can throw a tarp over it as soon as you get off, the exaust pipe is not hot. no burning your leg or your passangers leg on it. test ride other bikes, try this one..hah!
- tom luckenbill, womelsdorf, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-03 2000 BMW F 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my BMW F650 It's funny to drive this bike. She's a king on bad gravelled roads (I call my bike Dolly), still it's a good bike on the highway. Maybe not the hottest babe for speeding, but not the worst eighter :o) And when it comes to and end...she's not half as expencive to own as my wife...hehe... ;o)
- sas, Lillehammer, Norway

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-27 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife wanted the huge and heavy LT, but I opted for the boxer knowing I would do all of the driving. I am commuting everyday on this baby and mostly love the scoot. Handling is excellent, power just fine, torque great, and brakes outstanding. There are two flaws. One is the shifting. Why can't the Krouts design a modern transmission? They should copy a Japanese bike or something. It clunks like crazy in lower gears. Into fourth and fifth, there is no problem, but below that, wear earplugs and ignore the sounds. Second flaw is vibration in the bars above 65 mph. My wrists go numb. Why didn't I wait for the 2002 model and get the sixth gear and balanced pistons? Oh well! Otherwise I love riding all the time.
- Larry Engwall, Santa Ana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-02 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my K1200RSA new in 2000. Have 12,500 on the clock with no problems what so ever. Once or twice a year a few buddies and I go on long trips of 2,500 plus miles. Even with both side bags, truck plus a dry bag full of stuff NOTHING can beat the power of this bike. With 135HP I never worry or think twice to passing traffic in any gear. The ride is smooth and comfortable even on the longest days. My only complaint,, the bike is top heavy around town but get the K1200RSA out of the open road and it's near perfect. The ABS works well, yes I've needed them once or twice. Unfortunately, I have to sell it due to the economy but I will buy another hopefully by next year.... If you're in the market for a bulletproof, smooth, powerful bike, the BMW is worth a serious look.
- John, Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-30 2000 BMW F 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 F650 with 30,000 miles on the odometer. This is the same bike as the 2000 model year. It broke down once when the aftermarket carb jets died. I also threw one chain while going 80mph but that was my fault. I tried to save money with a cheap chain. I have the Ron Woods timing advance and the staintune exhaust on my bike. This does a very good job of making the bike quicker. Despite the single cylinder, it is smooth enough on the highway to make out a police car in it's mirrors. But, the handlebars get a little buzzey over 70mph. This bike has no problems keeping up on the highway. It accelerates strongly right up it's max and cruising all day at 80mph is no problem if your butt can take it. Some dealers do not do a good job after the sale. This being said I have only praise for Hebert Cycles in Baton Rouge and have had no problems with dealer support. The model bike needs it's valve clearance checked every 6,000 miles. This is the expensive part. BMW allows for four hours plus about $40 in parts for a servicing. This is of course assuming that none of the valves need shimmed. Those people with a moderate amount of shop skills can download most of the information to do this service work from www.f650.com. My bike has also had the dust guard come loose in the ignition system. But I got lucky and was able to fish it out with a tweezer. This occurred after 2.5 years and with 24,000 miles on the odometer. It was covered by the warranty. The part does have to come from Germany though, as BMW does not allow anyone but the factory to put together ignition cylinders as a security precaution. I hope this might help someone in the future with their decision. Dave
- dwr461, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-29 2000 BMW R 1100 RL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved this bike when it was working properly. Unfortunately that was not very often. I won't go into the numerous minor, but annoying, repairs that this bike required. I don't have the energy or memory to hit them all. Some of the more serious problems were the cracked subframe and the complete exhaust system replacement. The stalling is what finally did it for me though. The bike had a stalling problem from the day I bought it until it went back to BMW. The dealer made numerous attempts to fix the problem but the only result was to add backfiring and black smoke from the exhaust to the list of troubles. BMW NA was rude, untruthful and pointedly unhelpful in my attempts to get the bike replaced. Finally I ended up suing the dealer and BMW NA. They settled and I got my money back. I can understand a mechanical problem with a bike. I cannot understand or accept BMW's behavior in this case. They were deliberately unhelpful. They did not stand behind their product and did not support the customer. If BMW had replaced the bike(or even repaired the problem) they would have earned a customer for life. Instead they've convinced me that I should never buy another of their products. I was foolish. I belived the hype about BMW. In my experience they do not deserve the quality reputation they enjoy. On a happier note, my Triumph Sprint RS has been a great bike.
- Dave Whittaker, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Around the beatiful Tuscany hills, wine tasting, excellent food, and with a head-turner like the GS, no match!!! You feel great on this monster. Ducati's where no match on the hilly roads! It is just incredible how easy it is to drive this elegant elephant! Sport bikes were astonished to see them overtaken!!!
- gstourer, Firenze, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-03 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having had them all (over 20 motorcycles, most "open class" high horsepower models), MX'ers, dual-purpose, touring, sportbikes and standards, I'd have to say that I have rediscovered the simple pleasure of riding once again in the R1150GS. The most fun I can recall having on a bike was on a little Honda scrambler back in the 70's, when I got up early on Saturday mornings and just rode all day long, nowhere in particular. that's the same sort of feeling I get on the GS; I can go anywhere on or off road that I feel like going (dual purpose), enjoy the view, carry "stuff" with me (touring), and not feel like I have to yank open the throttle to get a short lived rush of power (sportbike). In short, it's a great all around purchase, and while BMW's are famous for fit and quality, I'm just happy to know that I think I've finally found a bike that can literally "do it all".
- Steve Hays, La Vergne, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-12 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was pleased with the comfort, the ride and the chuckability, but as most of my riding is in town I eventually found that I couldn't put up with the hunting, which got worse with the first service. Also the steering damper, in sudden low-speed darting manoeuvres, feels like a brick wall. Then I started noticing that the hunting was exacerbated by a choppiness in the ride. Then the handling deteriorated as the back tyre wore and surprised me by not improving with new tyres front and rear. I had an R90S for about twelve years and couldn't get the handling right. BMW's suit some people, obviously, but not me. I decided 18 months was long enough for this one. So I sold it. The new owner is happy with it, even though I told him what I thought of it. I'm happy with my Raptor 1000.
- Roger, Bristol, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: