Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-02-10 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used and modified X-1 with just over 7k miles on it recently. I've been riding almost 30 years and have had cruisers, crotch-rockets and everything in between. Much as I like the silky-smoothness of Japanese sport bikes, I find the personality of such rides lacking (for the record, I have a 600 Ninja in the stable as well). The X-1 though, it redefines image! It is the hairy-chested brawler of performance bikes; don't get one if you're shy and timid. Be prepared to be the center of attention every time you fuel up and plan your schedule to allow chat sessions every time you park it somewhere! The real reward is this bike performs every bit as well as it looks, the chassis is a thing of wonder. It slices and dices the curves and rips down straight stretches with a growl. I also have a 1200 Sportster and the difference in handling and performance is astonishing, the Buell reigns supreme. If you've ever ridden a Sportster, you'll also be amazed at the smoothness of the Buells. On the freeway they cruise along buzz-free at 60+ mph. Nice! In summary, get an X-1 and get in touch with your inner hooligan, you'll be glad you did!!!
- Tres Wright, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-05 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden Harleys since I was old enough to ride a hummer(12). This was my first sport bike, and wow. That says it all. The only disappointment is the lack of umph past 120 due to the gears and the aero, but how many times do you need that type of jail bound speed? I am currently stroking out the bike to 111 cubic inches, with slight mods to the tank. I have a 54 mm throttle body, a 575 cam with 253 duration, thunderbolt cnc hurricane heads, a k&n ramhorn, and vance&hines s2r exhaust. It's hard to find anyone on the street who can keep up, even without downshifting. the bike is scary in the corners, because it feels like the bike is laughing at the road wanting more. I love my baby, all 11,000 miles of the experience have been great, with no shop visits other than the recalls.
- Matthew Malott, Norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-13 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
had mine almost two years and 11000 miles with only a speedo sensor to replace.sounds awsome with the vance-hines muffler.really fun bike to ride.
- bobby getman, charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-26 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is simply too much fun. I have had a race kit installed and the power is staggering while remaining silky smooth. Oh, and the sound is awesome. This bike is a blast to ride and a real head turner. This is my second Buell and I have no complaints with the bike. Additionally, dealing with the sales and service staff at Danbury H/D-Buell is truly a pleasure.
- GMorris, New Fairfield, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm the proud new owner of a 2001 X-1. I will tell you that after years of driving different makes (Kawasaki, Yamaha, Ducati, Honda) while overseas Germany, where there are no real speed limits, a foreign bike is what you want to own. Fast, cheap, disposable, plus there are many places where you can speed-up your bike to its limits. Here in the States, well, if you're willing to pay $12,000 for a street legal bike that will do 160 MPH,(where?) then more power to you. My point is, the X-1, turns heads everywhere I've gone with it, it has enough power to handle any (LEGAL) speed in the US HWY's, and if you care for it, it'll last as long as any other foreign bike. Plus it will keep its value, better than most of them. So far I'm impressed with bike, the dealer's customer service and the Harley Davidson's engine. Just my opinion.
- rider, Radcliff, KY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far not my first bike, and it's one of four I own now. I did a lot of research before purchasing it and knew what I was getting into. Since I've owned it the bike has been in the shop four times, that's four times in four months. I've got about 2000 miles on it now. Not sure the actually millage because on my last trip the odomiter failed when the charging system went south. So far it's been in twice for an intermintant surging/rough running problem that has yet to be diagnosed. The shock has had both recalls, the highbeam indicator went out, it used over a quart of oil in 1500 miles, (factory says 1 quart in 1600 is usual), a seal came off in the air cleaner, and as of yesterday the entire charging system failed. Had to stop every 30 miles or so with my buddy and use his bike to charge my battery to get home. Long day :) You would think I'd pretty much had it with the bike by now but not so. I purchased it at San Diego Harley Davidson, they have been great. They have top notch people with outstanding Buell knowledge. (They have a Buell race team) The mechanic's have known proper set up and the fixes for most of my troubles. Hopefully the surging/rough running will be fixed with this charging system replacement. When the bike is working, it works like nothing else. The handling is wonderfull, the throtle response is frightening and it never fails to start conversations where ever I pull up. I'm sure that once it's dialed in and the bugs are worked out it will be a true dream. I also know I'll always have to tinker with it....and that's OK. Like I said, I have three other bikes. If you are looking for a one and only, turn key ride, this may not be the bike for you. If you are looking for American made Exotica with more hrumph and grumble than anything from over seas and don't mind tinkering from time to time, this may be the ride for you.
- Larry Adair, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man I had this bike since June 00 I put 9500 miles on it. The thing leaks oil. My muffler broke 4 times and waiting on new race kit for about 3 months / but if this bike hit 180mph and would last longer than 1 month with no problems then I think it would be probably the best bike out but till then its just a great ride.
- rider/owner, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My good friend and neightbor owns an X1, every time my cell phone rings with his # on the caller ID I know he broke down on his X1, so I hitch the trailer and do the neightborly thing. He bought this bike against my advice I had an S1 for about 4 months, this bike stranded me 9 times on different days, guess who used to come and get me?
- Gilbert Companioni, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-04 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love riding this bike! It is not the fastest bike in the world. With 1203 cc motor, you'd think it would be faster. but there is tons of torque that makes the twisties a blast. I ride with guys with sportbikes and they sure eat my lunch, which is annoying since my bike has a bigger engine and costs more. But there is something about this bike I love. Maybe it's just because it is one tough bike.
- kent, Oklahoma City

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is in response to the last post from LA. Did your friends X1 have a race kit? This makes all the difference in the world. Try one with the kit! Later Dave
- Dave, Waterloo, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently had the opportunity to ride a friend;s 2000 X-1. The overall handling of the bike impressed me, but the motor isn't impressive at all. It starts to make good power at 5000 rpm, but red line is 6500 rpm. Below 5000 rpm there isn't a whole lot of power. I would probably go for the M-2 instead and upgrade the suspension to the units on the X-1. If you can live with the peaky motor, go for the X-1, just don't expect the same level of performance you can get from a four cylinder bike.
- Jack, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-02 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in July after all recall work was complete. I have had in and out of shop for various problems (Fuel leaks, Fuel injection problems). The bike currently has 550 miles on it and is for sale!!!!!! (Shop put over half those miles on testing problems) I got no help from H.D. Dealer or Southeastern Buell rep.
- Dwayne Mims, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-15 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
poor reliability, poor customer service, I purchased this Buell in April of this year. It has been at the dealer for more than seven weeks for repair. I have had problems with the rear tire (lost air but wasn't punctured), clutch, alternator, rear suspension (recall item), and now the front brake. The folks at Harley customer service have not returned my calls or letter in two weeks. This bike handles great and is great to look at. Unfortunately, despite my dealer's best efforts, it's impossible to keep it running!
- Rider, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-11 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a Buell for two years. When I traded in my S-1 for a brand new X-1, I was expecting the same ride -- far from it. Buell has made dozens of improvements. The ride is smoother, more comfortable, and has a better engine. All around it is an excellent bike. Great for anyone with the need for raw power and the sound of a hell raiser at your heals
- adam bell, Waterford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-11 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 X1 - tons of fun. Great in traffic and on the highway. Total wheelie monster. I think reliability could be better, and a higher revving engine would certainly help things. On the other hand, its competition is really the Duc Monster and Triumph Speed Triple - neither has a rep for reliability (in fact quite the opposite) and the Buell has better performance and components. I'd have bought the monster if it had any thing close to the performance (and it will next year). I do own a Japanese Sport bike, but the Buell fits my punk style and my vanity (it gets a reaction) and is easier to ride around town so it is the commuter. Hey BMC, when is that water cooled OHC comming?
- Anonymous, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-08 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a huge fan of twin cylinder sport bikes, and I have always wanted Harley to build one with no excuses. Each year I test rode a Buell and each year is better than the last. The chassis is great. This bike handles well, as expected, but rides comfortably also. The ergonomics are near perfect. The finish is almost there, far less of a home made look than the earlier bikes. Brakes are first rate. The transmission shifts fair, but could use another gear and narrower ratios, because the engine has such a narrow (!!!) power band. This was a huge surprise, to me. I'm hoping for a more modern engine (maybe a Sportster Twin Cam) but not a Japanese style DOHC. Then I'll buy one in a heartbeat.
- Mark Trimmer, Warwick, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-28 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You've never rode anything like it, but you should. Buells aren't like those japs, cause you can actually ride one. In fact, when I first rode a 99 X1, I was just poken arond and this guy walks up and says...
- Thomas Hopkins, Bradford Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-09 2000 Buell Lightning X1 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handles Great! Excellent brakes. Decent seat and bars. One of the most fun to ride bikes made. Look out or it will turn you into a hooligan!
- Garry Burman, Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: