Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (11)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-09-28 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2000 fuel injected Thunderbolt earlier this summer. At the time, I also had a 99 Sportster sport. Since the Buell purchase, I have sold the Sportster. The Buell runs better, faster, is lighter, and is a winner. The performance is spectacular and it is amazing what the Buell folks can do to a harley 1200cc engine. I used to think my sporty was pretty quick until I began riding the Buell. All I will ever do now is replace someday with a newer Buell model.
- Mark, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-03 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Talk about American Made, whew, this was my first American bike and it DOES make me GRIN!! Having been raised on Kawasaki's and Triumph triples of the 60's an 70's most of my younger life. The Buell was different, just like my "Tridents" when I fell in love with them. Brutal torque, I had to put a set of Trident bars on it just so I could hold on! I got it with 1400 miles a second owner, race kit, PM wheels, she was a fire breathing dragon as far as I was concerned that handled better than my Triumph! Enough said there. I'm 53 and a bit crippled up (Crashed a SuzukiGS750 in 78 hard, Ouch) so vibration is my enemy. If you can stand the vibration(from my Harley buddy that I let ride it, "What vibration, She's as smooth as silk")she'll take you anywhere you want to go and more reliability than any other bike I have ever owned. I rode her 8000 miles in 16 days last year on a trip out west from Florida to Idaho via California. My longest day was 987 miles, Sonora, Tx to Scotsdale, Az. Most days were around the 750-800 mile mark in all kinds of weather(47 degrees to 100+) including a downpour in Texas that stopped me for 2 hours as it rained 6" in 2 hrs! She sat out in it the whole time and started on the first push of the button. I've heard others tell their tales of woe but my Buell has been great. Simple to repair, I did those valve cover gaskets myself in 4 hours, 2 taillight bulbs in that time, belt still good but wish the tires went as far as the belts do! I have added some creature comforts, Throttlemeister, Moto-lights, the better to see Montana deer with, taller Zero Gravity wind screen, taller still by Rifle would be better! and of course those Ugly western style Triumph Handlebars, I can sit up or lay down on the tank bag. The Saddlebags are the narrow style and have never given a problem and they are always stuffed! Did I mention the brakes? I also have a Monster Fuel injected 2000 md. and have racing cast iron dual Brembos on it, the Buell weighs more and still stops better! About handling, think it and it goes and fully adjustable too! One day I'll have a Goldwing but I don't think it'll make me GRIN like the Buell does, at least not going uphill into a bunch of twisties and the thrill of racing down the otherside. As for what would make it better? Maybe some foward rider pegs, a better seat, that 6 speed tranny from Baker would be nice, the Rifle sheild, that's about it.
- Brian Brodhead, ft. Myers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-17 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now own a 99 S3T in Colorado after owning several bikes from 5 "Yap" bikes to 3 different Harley's and have enjoyed most of them. After riding a freinds S2 all through the Italian alps for 3 years I knew what my next bike would be after returning to the states. I love to "Cruz" and "Ride" the S3T allows me to do both. It's very comfy on the long runs and when it's time to get on it this bike holds the road like glue and grants unbeatable control in the curves. The bike does generate some heat to the legs and a optional tall touring windscreen but overall this one is a keeper, don't know why they discontinued the S3. What were you thinking Eric?
- Rocky Mtn. Buell'r, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-31 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 57 and have been riding since I was 14. I had the Buell 2000 S3T for 2 years and was a fun travel companion. Mine was full race, chrome sportster engine, black/nuclear blue, tons of carbon fiber, great noise, but too much attention had to be paid to the road in front of you. I traded it in for an Electro glide Classic. The S3T can be picked up at the Gainesville, Fl dealership for 1/2 the price paid for, not including all the extras.
- Dennis Trimble, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-16 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, okay, I have an S3, not an S3-T... but I've added the factory luggage, handlebars, and aftermarket larger windscreen. All that's missing are the fairing lowers, which I don't want anyway. :) I really like this bike. It replaces another sport-tourer, a 1985 Suzuki GS1150ES, and everything I liked about the Suzuki is present in the Buell... only a little moreso. The handling is excellent, the motor strong and torquey, the brakes powerful (albeit a bit grabby when it was new). It also draws attention from other motorcyclists everywhere I go ("What is that? A Harley sportbike? Cool!"). And, for a 6'2" 200-pound rider, the bike *fits*. And there's no damned chain to lube! Yay, belt drive! The rough edges part... the 2000 Buells have had a couple of recalls (rear shock, front muffler mount). At 2500 miles, it developed an oil leak on the rear cylinder rocker-arm cover... a warranty fix. It spits a little oil back through the breather tubes. I'd trust it to go across the country, but let's be honest... it's not a Honda in the reliability department. that's okay, though, at least for me... part of my relationship with my bike involves a set of wrenches and TLC. I like it.
- Lance, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-15 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the pleasure of logging about 4500 miles on a S3T this past summer. It has changed the way I look at riding. I've spent the last 16 years riding Harleys, had lots of fun, looked cool and all that. This past summer I put more miles on Buells than I did my other three bikes combined. Now before you think I didn't ride that much I also put about 4000 miles on M2s and X1s. You see I am a lucky guy that sells Harleys and Buells. The Buells are much more fun to ride than any other bike I've ever had. The power, handling and style of riding are different than I'm used to and I have to admit lots more fun! The S3T is only 5-10% less comfortable than my Electra Glide but it wheelies 150% better. If you're looking for a perfect blend of comfort and performance buy a S3T. Later Dave
- Dave Stueve, Waterloo, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-03 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sure it's a lot of money. Sure my right side fairing cracked after 1400 miles. (And it will again I'm sure) but I've had more fun on this bike then my 10 years with my beloved FXR, and my two with the Kaw. Riding position is perfect, handling is excellent, acceleration is effortless, braking is good...get one
- Brett Betz, Aurora, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-20 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had over 40 bikes and this is the best. It accelerates up to 80 and beats anything on the street providing that you use the chip, aircleaner, and borla exhaust. For a man over 40 this makes a great sport tourer with awesome luggage capacity. Top speed is around 140 and very stable. Passengers are also very happy. Get one
- hugh mclaughlin, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1999 S3 with the touring package is by far the best bike I've owned in my 50 years, and over 30 years of riding. It's also my first American bike. It will do anything, and do it well. Sure it has shortcomings; It tries to bake your knees at a stop light, the oil is hard to check, and the stock windscreen does very little, BUT... What it does do well far outweighs its shortcomings. Watch it bounce around at a stop light like a Harley should, or growl when you get over 4500rpms. Great on the highway or on the back roads. A true American touring sport bike.
- Ken Budzek, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-27 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are a lot of sport tourers coming out these days. I picked the Buell S3T because I wanted something unique. Buells are. The bike runs great above 2500 rpm, below that you search for the right gear to keep the lugging from being annoying. Handling is outstanding...the bike goes right where you want with practically no effort. The ergonomics are very comfortable with the touring package, but a slightly taller windscreen wouldn't hurt. The bags are quick and easy to remove, although they must be empty to do so. If you want really good performance, a comfortable ride, and some place to put a couple bags of groceries, this bike should be at the top of your list. I love mine.
- Anonymous, Eastern Shore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-26 2000 Buell S3T Thunderbolt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is by far one of the best handling bikes out there. Above 3000 rpm and in the twisties, it is smooth and agile. Just think the turn and it happens. that's the up side. Below 3000 rpm, this thing will vibrate your fillings out. Midrange power and torque are weak at best. Worst of all is that things break and the fit and finish are not 14000 dollars(after tax) worthy. At my 500 mile break-in check, the tranny was already having serious problems and the back brake had stopped working. This after 500 sedate miles and a lot of pet and pampering. The Buell dealer was very helpful and fixed everything asap and without cost but is this worth 14000$??? Also the left bag leaks at the slightest hint of moisture in the air. I can tell this is going to be a love-hate machine. It rides like a dream but the Buell nightmare continues. Add to this (which may or may not be contributal to the make) thieves have already tried to separate it from my ownership. A good disk lock and having the steering locked only cost me a few scratches. Happy riding.
- Anonymous, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: