Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (92)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-11-25 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Monster with just over 3K miles on it and then proceeded to rack up several thousand more during the last two years. Great fun, absolute blast of motor, with pretty decent handling. The "tough" look of the bike combined with the classic sound (with C/F pipes!) is just awesome. For real world use and up in the Green Mountains of Vermont where we have some serious twists, turns, and elevation changes, it's a very good choice. It is definitely not a hard-core sport bike (I have a 916 for that) but rather, it's more of a "do many things" bike. For instance, I rode it out to Mid-Ohio for the 2005 Vintage Motorcycle Races (Ducati was the featured marquee) and with the Sargent seat, 50 mpg with stock gearing, small 1/4 fairing, and elevated clip-ons, its was close to perfect. My only dislikes are the non-adjustable suspension and steel swingarm but then again, I did not pay the premium price for these bits.
- Smitty, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-08 2000 Ducati 996S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first wrote my review of my 2000 Ducati 996S after only having ridden the bike about 500 miles. Well, over four thousand miles later, I still can only gush over this machine. It is still the best looking series of sportbikes ever sculpted out of Italy spanning the 916, 996 and 998 (although the MV Agusta F4-1000S comes close). Granted Japanese sportbikes may be smoother and more refined, the shear torque, grunt and ferocity of the Ducati is something I wish everyone could experience. The sound emminating from the pipes is nothing short of a symphony. The handling of the 996S is where this bike still shines utilizing the amazing Ohlins suspension. Just an all around amazing machine that begs to be driven hard and fast.
- Todd, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-11 2000 Ducati Supersport 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After spending the last dozen years with used bikes I found this one brand new this year in a Mid-Missouri dealership. I have thoroughly enjoyed the bike and am glad I found it. I have had a 750 Nighthawk and Suzuki GS 750T and they deffinatly had more power, but I don't miss it as this has plenty for me. The handling, the feel and tame rumble of the V-twin are what sets it apart. It runs perfectly although I think it was basically swept around in the showroom for 5 years. I was debating between this and a YZF-600R which I have ridden on quite a bit and really like both. You sacrifice a little clutch ease, power, and comfort with the Duke but you gain the handling, v-twin, and "uniqueness". The sidestand is shaky at best, that is really my only beef. I also think it works over distance but you really need a break per hour, as I took it 400 plus on the second day. If I stretched it to over an hour, pain set in.
- Jeff Koskinen, North Aurora, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-16 2000 Ducati Supersport 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the 1st Ducati I have ever owned. I bought my 750SS in 2004 as a leftover from 2000 with 5 miles on it. It is yellow with the half fairing. This bike rocks, the handling is unbelieveable and the look is great. The exhaust note is the best sound in the world, that alone turns heads. Then when people turn to look they wonder what kind of bike it is. don't see many Duc's in my area. People are always asking what kind of bike it is. Duc's are real attention getters and even better in the performance department. I know I will get many years of enjoyment out of this bike and hopefully one day I will get a Ducati Superbike.
- Jeff , Blawnox, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-08 2000 Ducati Supersport 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The trick to the Supersport is the weight. At about 415lbs it's a light bike. But the 750cc version is underpowered. It would be much better to go for the 900cc or the newer 1000cc dual-spark models, which get you about 80 hp after the mandatory exhaust, air cleaner and EFI upgrade. Replace the flywheel with a lighter Ducati Performance one and consider a slight regearing and you'll have one of the fastest real-world bikes around. Pick up from a standing start is awesome and plenty of punch for all but the certified insane. A lot of 40 something sportbike riders end up on these. A bike you can enjoy owning for years, that is as nice to look at today as when it rolled out. Oh, yeah, if you do decide to get something else (999 anyone?) you'll find the resale on Ducati's is much better than on most Japanese bikes. Not for everyone, but a pleasure to ride with the signature fast but stable handling that made the marquee.
- Dr. Zero, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-18 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So, my wife got licensed which necessitated finding another scooter. We've got to go for rides together and one Buell S-1 between two riders just doesn't cut it. Being somewhat of a Buell snob, I figured I'd be in for an XB12R. I couldn't find one to ride at a dealership and there was no way I was going to get stuck with a bike weaker than my old S-1 ala the XB9. Ducati had always seemed to me the mythical creature in the motorcycle world. Even so, I found an add on e-bay for a likely candidate and tagged it never consciously thinking I'd buy it. Things change at the stroke of a few computer keys however. Am I glad I picked up a 996? Absolutely. Mind you, I haven't taken a ride in the daylight yet. But after two evening rides it is already apparent that what is written on the 996 is true to one extent or another. The 996 engine is one amazing piece of machinery. Having riden a Buell for years, I am very partial to motors that produce solid torque. Peak HP numbers are informative but a big fat torque curve is what you'll feel out on the road. The Ducati feels like a big twin the way it belts out torque but doesn't leave you hanging when the revs start climbing. Plus, vibration levels are so mild it's difficult to believe that the engine is actually a twin. But the SOUND.... Both on and off throttle the exhaust note lets bystanders know something serious is approaching or receding. Shifting the Ducati through the gears is a pleasure courtesy of a velvety transmission. Gear selection is positive and smooth. Shifter effort is virtually nil. But you certainly know that you've shifted gears instead of wondering if you grabbed a different ratio. The clutch takes some practice. Buell/Harley Davidson might not do some things right but their wet clutch is smoother and easier to modulate than Ducati's version. And it makes no noise. That said, anybody who complains about Ducati having a heavy clutch pull has never worked a Harley-type clutch. Riding position is aggressive but far more comfortable than what I was led to believe by reviews I have read in the past. The seat is nice and wide but high. The bars are low. Therefore, weight is focused on the wrists. I'll take sore wrists over a sore ass any day. Overall, I'm impressed by the 996. It is a high performance machine that was built to deliver a sensational riding experience. don't buy one if you're not willing to make a physical investment to get to that riding experience. Any engineer worth his salt will tell you that there's no free lunch when it comes to design. I for one believe that the price of admission in this case is well worth it.
- Jake Staub, Anacortes, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike looks great. People stare at it constantly. The performance is excellent, handles like a Ferrari. don't expect a power rush like an I-4, there is none. Just smooth delivery. Add a few nice bits, and you've got the best balance of power, weight and looks on the market!
- Timmay, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-16 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The power delivery on this bike is simply so sublime, so deceptive, 3 secs after you leave the light and you see 65+ mph, and not even popping a wheelie while at it! It's an odd feeling! Nice creamy midrange with fantastic VTwin song. Keep it in third gear and you'll be a happy camper in most situations. Ohlins suspension! OMG! Talk about flying over bumps. These babes soak up nasty terrain with class. Magnesium wheels are highly recommended; it brings the handling of the bike up to an even better level. Simply unbelievable. This is a keeper. Warning: This bike will NOT suffer fools lightly. It is hard to turn with stock wheels, and will track a line to a hilt. So you have to be more methodical while riding it compared to other bikes. But the rewards will be very satisfying indeed!
- DixieDuc, Dixieland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-28 2000 Ducati Supersport 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 750 SS last month from a guy in UT (I'm in CA) and drove it back 800 miles. I had no problems on that 10.5 hour trip nor any since. I love this bike. It isn't supposed to be very comfortable, but I drove the entire trip in 1 day with no pain. This bike is so much fun, you'll never want to get on any of those inferior Japanese exports again. Italy rocks.
- Michael Barreiro, West Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-28 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2000 M900 in 2002 with only 44 miles on it. Made the common mods to it, and then some, and enjoy the hell out of it every time I ride. This is not a high milage bike but one for pure pleasure when you need it most. I love all bikes but this one, as any Ducati, is all about passion.
- David, Casa Grande, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2000 Ducati Monster750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been on and off motorcycles for over 10 years. A year ago, the opportunity to purchase one from a brother in-law inexpensively was too good to turn down. Up until recently, I thought I knew all the upper limits of this bike, putting tons of commuter (LI, NY, NJ, CT) and late nite mission miles. Now a buddy of mine is a nut on the bike, and rides hard and fast on a GSXR1100. Riding from LIE, to the BQE exit going towards Brooklyn, there is this rediculously sweet sweeping turn to the left that's smooth as track. Desperately trying to keep up with the big bore Suzuki one nite, I slammed into the turn at just over 100 unknowningly. This is rediculously way too fast for someone that normally takes that turn at 85 to 90. What in the hell was I going to do? "Do it like a pro I thought," so I stuck out my left knee, held my breath, and clinged to dear life on the handle grips and pegs. I still don't know what happened, but amazingly, in a glory of night time spark showers (muffler and pegs scraping all the way), it was the most smoothest, most accurate, most perfect turn that I had ever executed! About 2/3rd's the way through the turn and a few dribbles between the legs later, I was so confident about my poise, that I started to twist the throttle, again, unexpectingly getting sling shotted out and away from the turn. The feeling was just amazing, as I can still vividly remember the rush of euphoria that was pumping through me. What should have been a exciting end to my existence, turned into the most exhillarating sweeping turns of my life. Just when I thought I was getting bored with this bike, it starts impressing me even more. In retrospect after some research, hell, the chassis of this bike IS superbike caliber (based off the 988 Superbike chassis??) although underpowered at times. True, there are a few things about this bike that lend it character. Such as the long warm up times (engine runs lean when cold), and skipping gears every now and then (sometimes goes from 3rd to 5th in the heat of the battle). At speeds over 110 the front end of the bike becomes very light, small short dips in the highway turn into exciting death grip struggles over the handlebars in an attempt to keep the wheels from reaching the sky. But still, when I ride this motorcycle, at least through the twisties, I have confidence knowing that I could blow away almost any other bike through the Hutchinson River and Merritt Parkways ;o)
- CrackedGee, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-12 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 996 is simply amazing. Period. I only ride the canyons, where the 996 stability and handling are unreal. The bike is confidence inspiring. I don't ride around town on the bike at all and don't travel the freeways unless necessary. With that said, when I ride the twisties, the riding position is fine. The first week or two I owned the bike my wrists were a little tender. After that, no worries at all. Buy one, I did. This is my first v-twin and my first Italian bike. I'll never go back.
- Nathan D., Los Angeles County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first Duke last year, a new 900SSie full-fairing, and equipped it with the mandatory e-prom and well sounding pipes. I just must say that this is the best investment that I have done in and for my self. What a lovely bike! It is as beautiful shaped like a hot blooded curvy latina (you know well trimmed and curvy on the right places), has soul and personality that I haven't found on any other bike. It looks makes everybody turns their head, even an older woman asked me to start my Duke up, she said "I just love the way your bike sounds". Yes, I fulfilled her wish. The bike has enough performance for twisty roads and has very good corner capability and stability. The bike itself doesn't have any problems matching more high performing bikes on these type of roads. It depends on whose behind the fairing and that persons driving capability (this one is for you who complained that you got blown away by an R6). Anyone can go fast straight! Even though it is a sports bike you can go touring for 2 weeks with it. Of course you cannot bring the whole closet with you, if you want to do that buy a Sushi Goldwing. A tank bag and a saddle bag that you strap on the passenger seat is fine. Givi has a very good saddle bag. It even works at 120mph. Now I am just waiting to my Duke out for this years premiere ride. So far I have almost 6000 miles on her.
- Ducce, Gothenburg, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-10 2000 Ducati Supersport 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Streetbike, rode dirtbikes for 10 years. This bike is outstanding. I haven't had the oppitunity to take it to the track, but summer is rolling around. I am still doing mods to it. It is an awsome handling bike.
- Bo, Rota, Spain, New York, Spain

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-12 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is heavy, i am blatntly guna get dis, but in contrast the ducati 749s is better...... and so is the 999s
- Alvin stardust, london, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-28 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ducati,zen incarnate,the moment you own it,clip ons-dont ever let them go.you only get one life, your chance ,live it in grey or "full on" rainbow colors ,hear your breath, feel your heart beat,rise to the challenge,overcome the obstacles,reap the rewards, your on a 996. yeah!!!!!
- greg holt, crestwood

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-03 2000 Ducati 996S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 16000 miles on my S and I recently put the Gold Marchasini Magnesium wheels on. 6 inch on the rear and standard front. It makes a big difference on the way the bike turns-in at relativly high speeds. As you know the bike takes some effort to turn even if the weight is shifted well to the inside. I recommend the wheels if you can buy them.
- Bruce Macdonald, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-30 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you like windey roads and you dont mind leaning at 45 degrees all the time, this is the bike for you. It might not have the power of a GSXR1300 in straight line but then again, how many roads are just straight lines? I know what I'd prefer to be on.
- Derek P, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-05 2000 Ducati Monster750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, my dad just got a 2000 Monster 750. I ride a GSX-R 750. I ride a lot and I ride hard most of the time. First off, I thought this bike was going to be underwhelming, but with a bit of bottom end power. I was very wrong. Now, I'm used to 120+ peak horsepower, and this little Monster did not disappoint in the engine department. It rips! The powerband is really flat; has great midrange, decent bottom end, yet doesn't disappoint on the top end. I was surprised how fast this bike really is. If you wind it out, it'll pull past 100mph faster than I'd ever thought it could. Plus, it sounds great. The chassis is immensely rigid, and the suspension is taught yet offers a decent ride. The bike is very flickable and rock solid stable. Excellent brakes. I keep reading that this is a great beginner's bike. That may be, but I think it's a great expert's bike too. FUN is what it is, no matter what. I'm sure I could smoke everyone I've smoked on my GSX-R on a twisty road about as easily on the Monster (except on long straights; but who cares? They'll be so far behind in the twisties, they'll never catch up) The riding position is also much more reasonable than my GSX-R. I amazed myself by how quickly this thing could be turned. It loves to turn, but be aware of the relatively low pegs and pipes. If 110mph is enough for you (doesn't pull real hard after that; and really... 150mph is fun, but almost every time I've done it, I've thought... "that probably wasn't a great idea") and you want something that has good ergonomics, craves the twisties, and sounds great, this should be a strong consideration. I'm thinking of getting one myself.
- aeon, Valhala, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-26 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in 2000 900 FI. 1st change was to regear, one less tooth in front, two more on the rear. Add slipons and a new computer. No more clutch feathering in traffic. It's dial a wheelie now (Who says 60 is too old to have fun). Added a small fairing with Custom paint, It is a one person bike, the check writer refuses to ride on the back. She has been more comfortable sitting on a brick. Plus she likes the back of the R11RS BMW much better. Its main use is the comute to work and ride with the guys. Its mileage is low because the seat is still 50-60 minutes maximum and there are too many straight roads in Michigan. Would I buy another YES and it would still be the two valve.
- AJW, rockford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2000 Ducati Supersport 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my seventh bike and definitly not the fastest I've owned (GSXR750) But, I have to say this gets more attention anywhere I go. I've added the Sergeant's seat, K&N breather filter micron carbon fiber pipes and flush turn sigs in front. In the rear I have the fender eliminator kit from http://www.evoluzione.net/. It works great and was easy to install. All in all I love my first Ducati and reccomend it highly. It may not be a screamer like some asian bikes but it is loads of fun and looks SWEET!
- Seabass, St. Augustine, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At age 44 I traveled 240 miles north and purchased a new 99 900SS. As my wife drove away in our car, the young salesman gave me a quizzical look and asked, "How ya gonna get it home?" I just smiled and held out my hand for the key. If you buy this bike for the right reasons, you're going to love it. The right reasons are, it's a torquey, old technology L twin motor wrapped up in state of the art componentry. The motor is it's true beauty. There's nothing like reaching for a handful of throttle at 3500 RPM and feeling that long stroke, stump pulling power hit ya in the butt while the sound coming through the aftermarket carbon fiber twins sings in your ear. If satisfaction in the total motorcycling experience is what you're looking for, this is your bike. If quarter mile ET's and ultra high RPM/horsepower figures are what your looking for, look somewhere else,... until you develope some taste.
- Bike&Mike, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-19 2000 Ducati Monster900 S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Ducati Monster 900S rocks. It takes some time for the Japanese bikes to catch up to me off of the line. Japanese bikes will have the high end speed but most of your statement is made off of the line and in your mid range power which is where the Monster reigns king. It has a riding position that accomadates longer rides but still enough foward lean to secure your blast off position. Do yourself a favor if deciding between a Ducati Monster and other bikes. Buy the Monster. Most bikers end up upgrading to a better, more powerful bike after they buy there "entry level" bike. If you trade up once you lost money. Get a bike that will you will respect a few years down the road and allows room to grow into. Japanese bikes lose there coolness after a while due to their flavor of the week styling. Ducati's age gracefully and maintain there appeal many years down the road. Look for yourself, compare an early 90's Japanese bike to a same year Ducati Monster, enough said. Buy a Ducati Monster, you will thank yourself, besides, you deserve it.
- Michael P. Rutland Jr., Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2000 Ducati Monster750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
great little street bike. plenty of punch, great handling and awsome braking. down at daytona bikeweek, folks loved it. this bike doesn't know when it has a passenger on it.
- iron mike, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-30 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
25 years ago, when I was a poor graduate student riding a 380 Suzuki as my only transportation, I lucked into a chance to ride a 900 Duc. I have always dreamed of owning one, and finally made the jump! My 2000 SS (Carbon pipes, performance chip, and Cycle Cat risers) puts a grin on my fave every ride! I ride for fun and have no interest in going 120 mph, but the Duc does sneak up into triple digits every once in a while... The bikes balance of handling, torque, riding position (with the risers) and SOUND make it a classic.
- drdave, West Chester

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: