Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (17)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-03-14 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a '97 Sporty as my first bike (you get what you can afford before you get what you want) but I have always liked the looks and comfort of the King. I only have two complaints!First is Harley's handling of the camshaft bearings (mine is okay for now). Second is the noisy transmission, this thing sounds like it is coming apart when shifting from 2nd to 3rd. I love my ride and it will be part of my life for a long time to come!
- gus, hancock, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used clasic 3 months ago, I use it for back road touring. It handles suprisingly well for such a big bike. I can ride all day in comfort. I did the stage one kit plus harley touring mufflers with fishtail end caps. Its just too cool,I have been asked several time how old is the bike? Suprise its new and mechanically up to date.
- rich patterson, winchester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the RoadKing because I like how it looked and I wanted a 2up bike that would be comfortable for my sweetie. The King is that and more.For a large heavy bike it handles curves with ease and when I hit the Interstate I believe the bike actually smiles at me. It has plenty of power and is smooth in all gears.I ditched the stock handlebars for pullback touring ones and I am 100% in love with this bike.
- Hondo, Vincennes, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i did exactly what the last guy is talking about. shorten wind shield,add stage1 kit, change bars. i recommend wild1 chubby baby apes 8.5. great bar with nice width and perfect rise follows the line of the fork to bring the bars a bit closer to the rider. also wrist placement is crucial to control. you want your wrists to be straight and flat palms down as you grip the bars. also you dont need to change cables and break lines, and they look cool!
- rusty, chi-town, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always liked the looks of the King Classic and purchased a 2000. It has more than enough power,smoother than i had imagined on the highway and it handles good for a large heavy bike.The only thing I dont like are the handlebars. Im 5ft.10 and they feel too short and wide. Otherwise its one heck of a bike.
- Ron Smith, Hillsboro, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike since 2000 and it has 8500 miles on it. I just found out that the lifters are going south. One shop tells me that Harley has been having problems with lifters. Outside that the bike has served me very well for a Harley. I will be selling it and going back to a Honda for comfort, value, performance and reliability.
- Ed, Corvallis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-14 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well guy's or gals here is what it does for me!! My first H-D was a 1981 AMF Low Rider. Nice but not the bikes that are out today. I have only owned this bike for two weeks now and have700 miles on it, so you all know I like to ride. The look, the feel, and ride tell you that you are on a Harley. The color that I wanted was hard to find, but if you look and are willing to go get it, they are out there. I had to go two states over to find what I was looking for but it was a good move. I also saved money on the deal. I do love the color it is the rich red. Life is short and you never know what is around the next turn, so live your life and go after your dreams, I did!! ROAD KING CLASSIC.
- C.E. Forbes, Oakdale, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-25 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I placed a deposit on my '00 Aztec Orange RoadKing Classic in Dec of '99 and took delivery in Jul '00. I'm really glad I picked the right color. It makes the bike look older especially with the whitewalls and the massive chrome front end. Definitely the appearance that I was looking for. I own a '99 FatBoy and a '98 Suzuki TL1000R so riding the RoadKing is like being in a Cadillac, smooth, plush and comfy. Riding the FatBoy, RK Classic and the TL, (interstate and city miles) there can't be anything better (excluding my family). Finally, after 39 years of dreaming, we own (in my opinon) 2 of the best looking bikes HD ever made!! Does anyone know a good deal on a used NightTrain????
- RedMan, Okinawa, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of guts, lots of chrome and the wanna-bees? I do a lot of Autobahn riding and even the Porsche and Beemer drivers slow down for a second look. Between 60MPH and 105MPH, no vibes or shakes, just enjoyment. It's the perfect toy for a 50 year old kid's birthday.
- Jim, Holland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-27 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an update from my review of June 12th. I put on Heritage Softail handlebars. Got more height and pullback. Got rid of the numbing sensations in my fingers I'd get after just a couple of hours. Had the windshield cut down 4". What a difference! My choices were to slouch to see through it or sit very erect to see over the top. Now it's just the right height to easily see over, yet still provide wind protection. The Samson Miter Ovals look and sound nice. I did however inherit a problem with their installation. Popping when I let off the throttle. After a few phone calls to the engineers at Samson, I installed a Power Commander II. This did, as they said, eliminate the popping. The bike's good now and I just continue to accessorize it. It's becoming my personal statement. Maybe a paint job next year ...
- Steve Smidt, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
LOVE THE KING CLASSIC 2000, I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS AT ALL, VERY HAPPY WITH ALL ASPECTS OF THE BIKE, THE BRIT BIKE REVIEW WIMP SHOULD GROW MALE GENITALS BEFORE COMMENTING ON A MAN BIKE, BUY A VW BOY, SELL YOUR HARLEY FAST, YOU don't DESERVE IT....
- RON PROUD, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-03 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first HD and love it! I've waited for several years and it was worth the wait. Although, I too need to do something with the windshield. The top is right in-line with my vision. Very annoying to the ride. In addition, my wife has only rode twice as she finds the seat very uncomfortable and the bars hit her calves. Not much I can say about the seat either. They should consider designing a bar that won't annoy the rider. Doubt if she rides much because of that. The handle bars do need to be pulled in & back a little closer. I plan to add the stage 1 kit for performance and believe I'll be all set. Looking forward to my ride to Sturgis and will be able to tell more. Besides these few items, it's a great ride and handles very well. Always enjoy the remarks I get just about everytime I'm riding!
- Bob, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-30 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Road King Classic. My first was a 1998. I sold it, added about $1500 to it, and bought a 2000. Great resale value. I had plenty of buyers, it is in demand. I wanted to experience the new engine. I do not notice any real big significant difference in engines (EVO vs.Twin Cam). Both run terrific. This is a big, fat, heavy, powerful, comfortable, smooth running, expensive, nostalgic and classic looking bike with all the modern technology. I really enjoy the space in the saddlebags, the smoothness and rolling on the throttle. This bike does extremely well on trips and around town. I think it handles very well. It seems very balanced and weightless when it is moving. It is plenty fast enough and is very smooth and comfortable. If you like the looks of an old Harley with the modern stuff then this is the bike. You can do anything and go anywhere in style with it. I get plenty of complements. My friends are jealous. One ride and they want one. I have put nostalgic and classic chrome parts on it to give it the old Harley look. People ask me how old it is. I have had many bikes but this the only type that I have bought twice. I really like this bike. It is the only choice for me. Ride the others and I think you will agree.
- Anonymous, Jacksonville, Florida. USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-22 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2000 RK classic (injected) was a tad rough around the edges when I brought her home from the dealer. But I had two serious offers to buy it that first day! Like all Harleys, it was a rolling art form that needed some final touches. So, with the addition of the factory 95-Cu.-In. kit, stage 1 + stage 2 engine mods, different handlebars, and a personal splash of chrome here and there, it's better than my 97 Valkyrie, my 98 ST 1100, or any HD before it. Damn near perfect! What could be better??? Add the counterbalanced engine to this rubber mounted frame, have the 95-In. kit standard, and you'd be there. Total invested: $22,970 (w/tax) Value: about $19,000 to $22,000 used. I'm happy.
- Skip wilson, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-15 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my worst mistake, getting on the Harley bandwagon, what a big fat hunk of scrap metal. More problems than Bill Clinton, and it just doesn't measure up. I gave it a great try, I didn't shower for two weeks, let my hair grown all over my face, splashed some oil on my face, got a fat blonde on the back with big boobs and bad breath, and still I didn't like this fat hog.<br /> The bottom line is, I'm glad I still have my other bikes, one Brit bike, and one Italian. Like the slogan says, " If you want to ride a couch, stay home " As for my ultra pathetic Harley, it's for sale. The good news is, there are plenty of takers on a used hog...Poor misguided fools.
- Hog Slaughter, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-14 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2K Black Road King Classic from a friend and could not be happier. It is a fun to ride big bike that draws lots of compliments. Balance and handling is first rate, and the fuel-injected Twin Cam engine is smooth and powerful. The pipes have been changed to the HD touring model and the sound is just right, not too loud but definitely HD. I have been told that the Stage 1 kit is a good way to get more power at a reasonable cost, and will upgrade in the future. The handlebars are too wide (I am 5'9") and will be changed out for a narrower and maybe a more pulled back version. The stock passenger seat is not comfortable for my wife, and I am ordering the Mustang touring seat for our two up rides. The top of the stock windshield is right at eye level and needs to be lowered a few inches. Have also begun checking out some of the sharp fairings available for Kings, but hate to cover up that gorgeous chrome headlight. Does anyone have any experiences with fairings on this model? I can see where customizing this bike is an ongoing process, lots of fun but bring the checkbook. Enough for now, gotta ride...
- Don Schlump, Washington, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-02 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2k Roadking Classic from an individual. I liked the look of the bike except for the wide whitewalls. The ride is nice enough but after about a 100 miles my 40 years plus butt starts to ache. The seat needs to be softer for me and especially my sweet wife. The stock handlebars need to come back further. I am 6' so my arms are not short. The rear foot brake is also a problem when braking, as you have to move your foot back to actuate it. The stock pipes are a little tame. I am not sure why but after the first few hundred miles I noticed the pipes were blue. I asked a person at my local H-D dealer and he told me that the fuel injected models run hotter? I get a lot of compliments on the bike and it makes me proud to own a H-D. For the price I guess I should be. Still my wife tells me she likes to ride with me now. that's worth a lot.
- Steve Painter, Carrollton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: