Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-06-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the way this bike has been from day one. It is fast, smooth, and it handles way better than it looks like it it should. I like the unpainted engine's clean simple look. I'm a "don't need it, don't want it" kind of guy.
- Kenny Rosen, Tarzana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-26 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up the bike in Sept.2000, after six thousand plus and several road trips, the bike is still a thrill. First you have to shed the stock air box and exhaust and let it breathe. Add what goodies suits your fancy -- gauges, detachable rack and sissy bar etc. Finish it off with a screaming eagle Mikuni 42mm carb. Now you've got a touring machine that's still a good bang for the buck.
- Bob Garcia, Paradise, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-11 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2001 FLHT is the ultimate buy at $15,000 for what you get for your money. What other motorcycle offers the standard equipment (bags, crash bars, touring seat, air shocks, dual disk brakes, full fairing and the same ride as the $21,000 fully equiped FL). The TC88 power plant is full of torque but as smooth above idle as a Gold Wing. I put Vance & Hines slip on's and now the sound is awsome. I WILL OWN THE MATERPIECE FOREVER!! There's so many ways you can individualize this uncluttered slate just use your imagination.
- Dave Beggins, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-07 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's taken me almost two years to find a new FLHT, but it was certainly worth the wait. This bike has great looks, excellent paint and finish, and tons of torque. The brakes are average and the steering is rather slow. My 2001 FLHT came standard with Harley-Davidson's new Security System. The system includes a key chain fob. When the fob (button) is depressed, it grounds the ignition. Unfortunately, H-D didn't include an audible siren; it's available separately at about $100. And don't expect a tool kit either because the boys in Milwaukee don't provide one.
- Geoff, Des Plaines, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-16 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After three Japanese motorcycles and thirty years with my bike license, I finally got my Harley. I researched everything for months before I bought this bike in September and riding it confirms I made the right choice. There is no other choice than Harley once you spend some time around these machines. It's hard to explain -- you just feel it. What a ride this bike has. Awesome power, cuts the wind like a knife and looks like a beautiful woman, like the one I'm married to. Bye the way, she loves it too. Best money I ever spent.
- Blair D. Collins , Ft. Mcmurray Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 10th Harley in past 22 years. Comfort, style, dependability is excellent. For those who complain about the handling characteristics, this is a cruiser, not a crotch rocket.
- Denis Hague, Notre Dame

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Harley and by far the best. All those other reviews saying how poor it handles just don't get it. This bike was not meant to corner like a BMW or a Guzzi. IT'S A TOURING BIKE GUYS!!!!!. The bike rides smooth, no vibration to speak off and LOOKS GREAT. The customizing options are fantastic and try selling those BMW GUZZI'S or Hondas for the same price you paid for them.
- George, Canandaigua, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a far cry from the Harleys of the past. I've been riding for more years than I care to think about, and this is THE BEST DAMN BANG FOR YOUR DOLLAR BIKE around right now. This is the third H-D I've owned and by far the best. Now all they have to do is get a fix for the squealy brakes. 4 7/8 stars!!!
- George L. Wilson, Sarnia, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like this bike for what it is and realized when I bought it, what it's not. After putting on freer breathing air cleaner, Bub slip-ons, big bore kit, high compression pistons and a Yost power tube, it performs and sounds like the factory should sell it. Harley realizes 95% of a rider's time is spent below 80 mph and this bike is in a very nice groove there. My wife likes it too(big plus!). Have over 10,000 enjoyable miles in less than a year and plan on running it until it drops. This is not a canyon carver or even close. It has predictable handling and, yes, must be muscled in faster tight corners. But, I bought this as a touring bike, not a sport bike.
- Phil Ginter, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-31 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The dealers are not helpful, and the brotherhood talk is BS; but my wife still rides with me. And people still comment when you stop. I bought it on 6/25/00 and it now has 1600 miles. My Honda is still sitting in the garage, like always. If you want technology and handling, buy German or Japanese. If you want fun, buy a Harley.
- CAMEL, Wisconsin/Illinois State Line

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been lusting after an "E-Glide" since the '60's. Never really cared for the Harley image, especially lately with the yuppie image they've attained. Anyway, 5 months (and 8,000 miles ago) I got one...the Standard, at MSRP! Love its looks and sound, and what you can do to it to make it run like it should...mostly. (Why didn't it run that way from the factory...we're not talking low end here)! I DO NOT like the way it handles (or should I say DOESN'T handle) in the twists. I guess I'm just spoiled by my Guzzi EV11 carving the canyons. As far as long touring goes, it's certainly comfortable, and "glides" along nicely, albeit rather laboriously. I have decided to sell the E-Glide, and happy that I'll get my money out of it, and glad to at least have had the chance to actually own one. Sorry that it disappointed so much. I'm into performance, not image. But for those who don't mind the handling problems, and the fact that you really do have to spend ridiculous amounts to get it to where the factory should have made it, it's s nice, fun, good looking "highway" bike...just stay off the back roads.
- Frank Parloverita, San Francisco Bay Area, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike was a '65 Harley Electraglide. I said I'd never buy another. Now, 25 yrs later, I've eaten my words. I took delivery two weeks ago and put 700 miles on it so far, it grows on you. I can't say it's a bad bike. I also have a '97 Honda Gold Wing. The Wing has everything but character. The Harley has character but not much of anything else.. oh yea, it's got the "sound". If it was 1950 it would be a technological marvel. Sorry to say, it's the year 2000 and it's way behind anything else on the market. So far the cigarette lighter vibrated right out of the socket on the highway somewhere and the saddle bag almost fell of from the same vibration. Twin Cam isolation mounts?? Where are they? Harley corporate needs to get off their high horse and admit it's only an average bike. Where's the water-cooled motor you've been hinting about?
- Frank, Paterson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About 12000 miles since August 21, can't find enough free time to ride. Punched mufflers, drilled holes in back of breather cover added Dino kit. This bike will take you there and bring you back smiling. Stop looking at resale your, lucky you bought the best bargain. You could be sitting on that bar stool squawking about spending 25000 on something that goes from one bar to another. By the way I love beer just not as much as my new FLHT My Panhead does the get up and going.
- Anonymous, Fremont, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-09 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a R100/7 for 20 years... bought this baby, rode it, liked it--and was I glad the resale was so good.... sold it. It's a pig... it wallows down the road. You have to wrestle it through even a moderately twisty road. It handles like a heavy weight version of a mid 70's Honda CB750. And, it's way overpriced! Sorry... I'm back onboard a BMW and loving every minute of it.
- Al Shippe, Virginia's hill country

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Bike! Love the new motor, tons better than the EVO. 5 Stars for the bike. 1 star for the dealers and the price gouging.
- Anonymous, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-17 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The most satisfying bike I've ever owned. Beautiful looks, extremely comfortable, and much more than adequate power for the touring rider. And that sound...... Sorry guys, but the Japanese just don't get it. They build high quality machines, but lack the style and SOUL of a Harley. This bike is a great bargain, too, if you can find a dealer to sell one to you at MSRP.(I did)Did I mention that Harley has the highest resale in the industry? I love this bike.
- Anonymous, Hartford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: