Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (7)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike because I really liked lowriders and especialy FXRs, but I knew I would be changing and adding a lot of things so went with the lowest priced big twin. Best decision I could have made. I haven't done a thing to it repair wise besides typical maintenance. I can only dream that my snowmobile ran as good as this.
- Steve Forte, Westrford , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 FXD new off the show floor, only $12,500.00. It had the FXDT HD decal on the tank, so many people think its a striped down touring model. I lowered the backend 1 1/2 inches and didn't sacrifice the ride. I added a SE air breather kit and Cycle Shack slip on mufflers to get better flow but still look stock. I rode from Omaha to Sturgis(2002) in the rain and back again (1564 miles plus SD riding) and had no problems. I Cruised around 65-70 and got about 50 Mpg. I just had an Andrews .510 cam and S&S Timing gears installed, a Crane Hi-4 ingnition(set RPM Rev-limit to 6200), and a Mikuni HSR42 carberater and better plugs. WHAT A DREAM!! When I cruise at 70 MPH the tach barely hits 3,000 Rpm. The vibration (what little there was) in the handle bars is gone. In fact the engine is much smoother and more responsive. My first tank of gas showed 52Mpg combined city and highway(I'M NOT KIDDING). The twin Cam has really come to life and works a lot smarter not harder. I would recommend this mild hop up to anyone who wants to pull the front tire off the ground but not sacrifice gas mileage. Yep, She's a Keeper. BUT, the stock seat is not. its going this spring. PS, no bugs in my teeth, I have a Memphis Shade sport shield.
- Major DMHRG, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 7,000 miles on this bike which I bought used with 1100 miles. This bike has given me zero problems, other than a minor leaky gasket behind the shifter, which was easily fixed while performing the primary oil change. Maintenance is a snap, for the most part, just change the engine oil&filter, transmission oil, and primary oil at the required intervals; no valve adjustments necessary (hydraulic). This is the least expensive of the HD big twins and represents an excellent value if you want a Harley. It's a bit of a plain jane, but of course half the fun of owning a HD is customizing it to suit your vision of what your Harley should be. The bike is great as a boulevard cruiser, but add a T-Bag or saddlebags and a shield and you've got a very capable touring bike. I consistently get 48 mpg on the road and 42 in town. The stock seat is fine for the driver but the pillion is good for only about 100 miles or 2 hours whichever comes first. I'm replacing mine with an aftermarket version, mostly for the benefit of the wife who occaisionally rides along. The FXD gives the classic Harley vibration at idle, but smooths out nicely at 45 plus and becomes silky smooth at 65mph to 80mph. Ground clearance is minimal so it's not a canyon runner but will do fine for general country roads. In my opinion, Harley Davidsons are generally overpriced for the performance that you get. However, they do have their inherent advantages such as low end torque, a beautiful sound, and an engine that is a visual work of art. The Superglide gets you into the big twin ballgame and outperforms many more expensive models while forgoing a bit of chrome which can be added to taste. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants a Harley big twin but doesn't want to lay out 15 to 20 grand.
- Clay Couch, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-11 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not a bad machine -- no problems in 30,000 km. Maintenance i.e. oil changes are more involved than other bikes.
- S Zovko, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-17 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2000 FXD new for list price and have added about $1,00.00 in extras. The bike is great, smooth running and great on long trips. This year I traveled to Atlanta, GA. I put 1,500 miles on the bike in five days and it never missed a beat. My gas milage was 48 MPG for the trip.
- Scot Yarnell, Rossford, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-03 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FXD since 11/99. For the most part it's a great bike. Plenty of power & brakes, especially with the TC motor and the new four-piston calipers. Wouldn't have bought the bike with the old brakes and engine. Handles great for a cruiser and is smoother than expected. Have had a number of oil leaks. Leaks are around base gaskets, transmission cover and seam between engine and transmission. Dealer fixed under warranty. Would buy again!
- Bryan, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2000 fxd at the end of February 2000; started riding as soon as it got over 30, in the morning. I have nearly 7000 miles on it, including a ride to Sturgis for the 60 th. I put on 2700 miles (round trip) comfortable, quick and flawless. I have had many bikes since i started riding in 1963, this is the best of all of them......
- geezr, Waukesh, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: