Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

anonymous from Oak Harbor, Washington says:

I came across this review thread and couldn't resist adding to it. I've had my Harley Wide Glide since new. I bought it at the thirty year mark of m

Read More (16 reviews)

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came across this review thread and couldn't resist adding to it. I've had my Harley Wide Glide since new. I bought it at the thirty year mark of my riding experience and have found nothing better that I wanted to replace it with! Now, seven years later, I'm still in lust with this bike. I can't really say why but I've never felt safer on a motorcycle (this being my 13th warrior). Perhaps it is the strong, smooth engine that responds EXACTLY to my input. Maybe it is the settled chassis on a long wheelbase railing through the corners. It's just a sweet machine that feels so right. This is a hard pulling, cool running, stone reliable Wide Glide. After 37 years behind bars (handle bars that is) I've never experienced it's equal!
- anonymous, Oak Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-21 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode dirt bikes when my boy was growing up plus some and other Japanese cruisers. As far as I'm concerned if it's got two wheels it's worth riding. But I've wanted a Harley since I was 14 and after my kids got out of school it was time. I wanted a Sportster but my friends talked me out of it. So now I had to make a new choice. Looked at several models but the one that felt and looked good was a Wide Glide. So in February 2001 I ordered it and it showed up early. This bike is one show stopping, head turning and beautiful. Rides great Harley vibration, none. This rubber mounted 88 cubic inch v-twin is awesome. Unlimited power, just twist the grip and hang on. It's chrome yellow with lots of chrome and pipes that give it a attitude. If you want a sweet looking ride that will turn heads and get a thumbs up every time you ride, this is the one. This is true Harley style.
- B Kramer, Oakes, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1993 90th anniversary Dyna Wide Glide. I have almost everything chrome on it. including a big bore S&S carb, pipes, and Cam. The bike is fast and sounds awesome. I get looks and complements even from japanese riders. I think the FXDWG is the sexiest looking bike out. I have had babes pull up at stop lights and ask for a ride. The bike has 20,000 miles and never had anything other than normal maintenance downtime.
- PM, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 Wide Glide since March. It's one of two bikes that I own (BMW R1100S is my other). The Wide Glide is perfect for the long cruise. It has a very custom look, plenty of power for taking the girlfriend, and the best part is that it's a Harly and it turns heads. The lean angle is limited and I had to add a wind screen, but the screamin eagle pipes really make that unique sound. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants to ride a big Dyna and have the classic bad boy look.
- Anonymous, Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in January 2000 and have put about 5,000 miles on it. The bike simply is the best looking custom bike you can buy. It has the chopper look and with the Twin Cam 88 gives you reliability that can match anything the Japanese or Europeans make. I have had no problems with this bike. I added custom pipes; cams and a 44-mm big bore carburetor, all from Harley's Screaming Eagle Performance Shop. The bike is smooth and you can ride for hour's vibration free. It's also very fast for a bike that weighs over 600 pounds. I get looks and comments about how gorgeous it is practically every time I take it out. If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed.
- John Godre, Northville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 27 bikes-Japanese, European, American -- and the 2000 Wide Glide offers excellent performance, dependability, ride, and according to females is simply drop dead sexy. (I love the sound, too)
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-30 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a really great bike and I've been able to see one up close and personal. WOW! I know what this bike looks like but what if I didn't?? Ex: I loved the image of the Fat Boy 2000, Beautiful bike! It would be great for all viewers to see an image of each bike. Knowing who he is, that's one thing, knowing what he looks like is another! Great review thanks; I love learning about these masterpieces! This is a great way to get info when you're ready to purchase a Harley-Davidson and after reading the previews you want them all!!
- Michelle M. Huels, Edinboro, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a few mechanical problems (oil leaks) which the dealer has been working on under warrant. But other than that, the bike handles well. It has plenty of power (once you lose the stock breather/pipes and rejet) and now that I've added an extension kit to my fwd controls its very comfortable for me and my riding position. I'd buy one again.
- Anonymous, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-21 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't rode in 30 years. Started to get the fever again. I asked a lot of questions from my Harley friends. The advice came back the "Dyna" series would be a good choice. Low Rider? Wide Glide? What's the difference? Finally a decision was made "A Wide Glide." The bike is fantastic. It's a good looking, fun riding, and a work of art. There are few things that have ever brought the JOY and Satisifaction of my Black over Red FXDWG. Which can been seen at Sturgis, you'll recognize the Grin, it'll be from ear to ear.
- Fred Mooers, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-19 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new Dyna Wide Glide is my tenth bike in about 23 years. I've gone through the Jap bullet bikes when I was a speed junkie. I also had a Goldwing, but found that I rode less around town because of the overall bulk and limited vision and road feel. I then moved to a Sportster because I wanted to just cruise around Southern Cal. I will say that of all the bike brands I've owned, HD has unparalleled after-market support as well as excellent rider camaraderie (regardless if your a Yuppie or not). I found myself spending more and more time with the Sportster, which was good, but tough on longer runs (over 100 miles). So, in an effort to enjoy the look and increase my comfort, I traded the Sportster custom in for a Wide Glide. It was an excellent move. The Wide Glide maintains the general open road, cruiser feel, with a much-improved ride. The power and riding comfort is superior. Vibration is not an issue (I could never see anything in my mirrors on the Sporty). There is much more room for my passenger and trips over 100 miles at a time are wonderful. I wouldn't classify the bike as a nimble curve destroyer, but the low center of gravity makes it very stable and easy to manage on mountain roads. I'm considering adding a windscreen and some leather bags for long rides. The main benefit you get with the Wide Glide is its hot rod chopper looks in a functional package. It always turns heads and gets the approved thumbs up from everyone. I've added the stage 1 Screaming Eagle package that really bumps performance and the sound
- Steve B., Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent paint, body and frame. Motor runs smoother than evo through the band with more power and torque. Ride has less vibration at high speed and idle. Maintains great sound. Seat is comfortable for rider and passenger. Still a little shaky in turns and on windy roads but front fork stabilizer really helps when added on.
- doc, Jacksonville Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-26 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the ape hangers and the two-tone black and chrome yellow paint, I have had 4 bikes this year and I am finally satisfied, totally! I would recommend this bike for anyone like myself that is tall and big as I am, 6' 5" tall and 275 lbs., It makes it easy with the forward controls and the laid back chopper style feel of the bike as a whole. Simply put, I love it! Good bye wife!!!!!!
- Anonymous, Prestonsburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, American made....Let me clue you in, Americans make far better products than this HARLEY. I was servicing my Hog when I noticed all the non-American made parts that are used to build my Fat Hog. I'm an Old Army Sergeant, I didn't put my butt on the line in the War so I could ride around on a HARLEY and feel proud of it's heritage. Fact is, I made it home alive. I have the right to ride any bike I wish.... And it isn't going to be this lame Harley sitting in my garage...Because it's crap... I fight for freedom of choice, as many did in the War. So I will be getting back on my Jap bike, and the next HARLEY rider who will not return my wave as I drive on past, well I will label them a communist, and an anti-American. Hog attitudes are plain old bad for the motorcycling industry. Besides that, the yuppies own more Harleys than the so called Bad Boys do. Tip...Check your spark plugs. They may be Japanese.
- 82nd Silverwing, Ft.Bragg, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is My First Harley. Rides like no Japanese Cruiser. So powerful and smooth. Fit and trim is excellant. Paint superb and all that chrome looks great, not cheap. This is a beautiful bike and that Harley Mystique is really there.
- Anonymous, Milton, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fine machine run and handles great. Very smooth and comfortible, fwd control feel real nice. Great on long trips.
- Sandy Volonino, Northport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley, so at first I didn't know what to look for in a Harley Davidson Motorcycle. What I found is that there are a variety of bikes, one for just about everyone's taste. I looked at the Sportster first, seemed like a nice bike and then I noticed the Dyna Low Rider. Coming from a Japanese Cruiser orientation the Low Rider seemed like the right bike. BUT Then! I sat on the FXDWG and it was love at first sitting. The Bike seemed like it was made for me. They let me test drive the bike and that was it. It handled beautifully, and what power and presence.
- Ted, Catonsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: