Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-11-13 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I've got 6000 miles under my butt on my brand new anniversary edition Softail Deuce. I took it to the Milwakuee event this summer and back, 14 hours on the way back. I can tell you this, the Deuce definitely has curb appeal. I get people asking me who made it, like it was a custon or something. OK, to make this bike really what I wanted out of it (I compare it to my previous girlfriend, a 1979 Kawasaki KZ1000LTD), which was faster, faster, faster, I will need to go for the 103 kit. I'll have it lowered an inch (or two if it can be done) and I'll get new bushings to rake out the front fork to match the new lower height. I already have custon exhaust and Stage I air cleaner, this bike is gonna bark and growl when I'm done with it! Batt
- Batt, Lawtons, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think that the Deuce is the better HD that the factory produce in 100 years of story, but his look is too much futuristic and the people don't understend it. I want know if there is a DEUCE club in USA.
- MANNI Luca, Grosseto, Tuscany, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-21 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2003 Duece Softail and love it. I was concerned it was small for long rides and found it handles well. Feels great on the road, including ruff freeway riding. I'm hoping to add some bags and a sissy bar for the old lady.....
- Big D, Rancho Cucamonga, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Deuce May 2002 and put about 4000 miles on it during the summer. I anticipate the 2003 cycle year. I had the Deuce bags put on at purchase. They don't do much for the look but they sure come in handy!
- Courtlen, Southfield , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This past weekend I took a little winter vacation and spent 3 days in Fort Lauderdale. I rented a 2000 Duece for 3 days. I currently own a Heritage, and had owned a Fatboy and wanted to give the Duece a try. The one major thing I didn't like was how the rear brake pedal is positioned, its very hard to apply, you have to twist your foot to use it. Second was the steering, I found it to be quite unresponsive. It almost felt as though I was fighting the bike in turns and curves. Other then that, I found the Twin Cam delivering impressive power. This was my first ride with the new motor. The looks are great. I did miss the tripometer though, the Duece doesn't have one, and I did like the factory security system. Overall, I still wouldn't give up my Heritage.
- Len Siciliano, Runnemede, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Duece has the best ride and feel of any bike I've ridden. It is the first bike I will not give up (had 4 others in first year of riding). My husband, a BMW fan, rode my Duece for a few miles and is trading in his BMW this year for his own. He couldn't believe how sweet it is, such personality, responsiveness and shear pleasure. The Deuce has it all!
- Ellen, Acton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-04 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my 1st anniversary ride on my 2001 Deuce yesterday! Almost 10 000 miles in 365 (minus 6 months because of snow). I posted in February how much I loved my ride and it has only grown stronger since then. I've added Vance & Hines pipes to give it some solid bark (It worked - she sets off alarms all over the place), hard saddle bags (quick release - my ass!) and various pieces of chrome. A few weeks ago I rode from Waterloo Ontario to Manhattan down I81 and really found out what live to ride ~ ride to live means. I thought I understood the feeling before ~ I know I do now. Riding through the Adirondacks on my Harley was even better then my ride on a rental Road King on the big island of Hawaii! Coming back from Manhattan I road straight up I90 and made the 981 km journey in 10 hours. While I was sore it was a great ride, one I'll never forget. There will NEVER be a different manufacturer between my legs - This fool will part easily with his money - nothing compares NOTHING!
- David, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last Harley I had before my 2001 fuel-injected Deuce was a Sportster, I bought about 30 years ago. That Harley was terrible. In between, I owned several other bikes, mostly Hondas, including an ST1100, which was a very different and great bike, but this new Harley Deuce is incredible! Incredible power. Incredible style and incredible fit and finish. Other bike manufacturers pay high compliment to Harley by their efforts to try and imitate the look, the sound and the power of a Harley. The Deuce is a beautiful machine and a great ride.
- Greg Gola, Libertyville, Ilinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-14 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 Deuce last August. I now have 2000 miles on it problem free. Beefed up the sound a little with screaming eagles and added a nice chrome tachometer to keep in touch with my rpms. The bike moves out real well. No spiting or hesitation on quick takeoffs. Power to spare. I love the crisp shifts, and no slop between gears. The ride is very comfortable. I love the big back tire, and the stretched gas tank. I've added Harley Davidson tear drop mirrors, and a chrome license plate cover to dress up the back end. Red pearl is the color. Not sure if I want to put bags on it, didn't really like the hard bags. Harley now has leather bags for the deuce, they look ok in the store but how do they look on the bike??? Over all I am very pleased with the looks and performance of the Deuce. I give it a 5*
- Nick, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently rented the new Deuce on a sunny LA day and was quite pleased with it's performance. It's a reasonably comfortable machine with ample power and the "killer" looks you need when cruising the strip. If it wasn't for the outrageous price tag, and the dealers take it or leave it attitude, I might have bought one. don't play games with me, please!. In my opinion, there is no justification for demanding $5,000.00 more than MSRP. The only reason they do, with a straight face, is because they know some fool will pay it. I'm not that foolish, are you?. I did get the type of bike I was looking for though, at 1/2 the price, and twice the quality -- the Yamaha RoadStar. It's made in America also. If I ever feel the need to impress someone with how much money I spent on something, I'll take them to my house. Now THATS an investment!.
- David Atchley, Denver, CO

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-12 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Deuce with every intention of reselling it and taking the profit. I had been riding a 97 Magna VF750 and been very happy with it. Having never riden a Harley before I had no idea what I was in for. What a great ride, well balanced and powerful! The Magna was good to, but it just doesn't compare I'm afraid. The Honda is sold and the Deuce is here to stay. I really recommend checking it out...you won't be disapointed!!
- Jay, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-27 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't even had the chance to break her in yet and I can't believe I waited this long to shell out for a Harley!! The feel, power and responsiveness is overwhelming. With our long winter I'm itching to get back on the road. I was able to put 1000 miles on my new Deuce in October, I can't imagine how sweet it'll be once she's broken in. It's impossible to descride what's it like, just suffice it to say there's only one thing better. Take one out for a run and you'll know what's it's like to be the envy of anyone that sees you.
- David Henderson, Ontario, Cananda

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took a Duce for a test ride last fall at the local dealer. No doubt, a lot smoother than previous Harley's I have ridden. I am six foot, still have to stretch to pull back the kick stand. The rear brake pedal, in a panic stop, your dead. With all the bragging about the new twin cam power, I never felt it. I'll keep my Valk, it a whole lot more fun to ride!
- Barry Ramaeker, Humboldt, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
wasn't too much to do to my new Concord Purple Deuce other than chrome the swing arms, inner primary, and grips. Already has that custom look straight from the factory. (Chromed forks are even stock) Have never gotten so many comments and "thumbs ups" as I have on the Deuce. New counterbalanced engine maintains the unique "Harley feel", but makes for a much more comfortable ride. Great bike!!
- Mark Cohen, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-17 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just learned to ride and bought a 2000 Sportster. After 4000 miles I borrowed my buddy's Deuce. I had to have one. Luckily, I knew of one that was ordered but not taken. It is so easy to ride and smooth. The Deuce turns heads every where we go. Truly a custom!
- Anonymous, Chelmsford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-30 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Deuce for the looks -- stretched tank, extended rake, shotgun exhaust, and the fat rear tire... powered by the new engine. I'm not disappointed with the preceding -- fit and finish is unsurpassed. Where I'm surprised (pleasantly) is how well it handles and rides. I live where hills and canyons are unavoidable -- the ride is confidence inspiring. The Deuce is a complete cruiser package.
- Anonymous, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great custom cruiser. Has the ride, feel, fit and finish that would make any owner proud and anyone else lust with envy. The riding position is just about perfect. Minimal vibration due to the counterbalanced engine, you still know you're on a Harley. Sure, it's expensive, but you truly get what you pay for. While so much custom detail was done at the factory, they still leave you enough room for further modification to make it uniquely yours. I could not think of one thing that could be done to make me happier with my Deuce.
- Mark Novick, MD, Jericho, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-02 2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of a kind, the power, the handling, the motor, the chrome. I just bought one and it's just the best bike I ever sat on.
- Anonymous, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: