Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-08-31 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I have never owned a motorcycle and the last time I rode one was 20 years ago, and it was a dirt bike. As a matter of fact, I don't even have a license yet. I am taking the MSF course in September. So, I don't have anything to compare too, but the tooling around I am able to do in the neighborhood is awesome. The rumble of the V-twin rocks and the torque will put you back in your seat for sure. How can anyone not enjoy a bike like this. I mean it is total freedom. I just got my 2000 XL1200C and the person before me took great care of it. All kinds of extras on it and stage one is complete. This thing rocks. I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially a beginner that wants to own a harley.
- Robert, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wouldnt change a thing. Just took the training course and picked this up as my first bike last week. I couldn't be happier with the results. Now i havent driven anything from honda or any of the other import manufactures so I really dont have anything to compare the sportster too(except for the eliminator I drove during the training classes-not even close goes without saying) I was more than impressed with its sound, it is a harley isnt it, and the handling seems to be very nice. I havent experienced any vibrations that would cause me to doubt the ability of this bike to do its job. What i can say is that I havent met anyone that hasnt given a glowing opinion of this bike. People that I have seen in the local gas stations for years, havent said so much as hello before, seem to be a lot more friendly and always ask about the bike. For a beginner like me this bike is everything that i hoped it would be. I havent riden the bigger models but i am looking forward to trying a few of those out as well after i get my feet and my skills more solid. But if I had a chance to go back in time I wouldnt have wanted to change anything about my choice.
- vettepwr, kerrvile, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-19 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Went to the local dealer 5 days in a row with the very real intention of paying cash. Couldn't get a salesman to even look at me - must've been the jeans - young guy too, for a HD - old guys in slacks would walk in and get swarmed by salesmen while looking at the Road Kings. I SAT on the Sportster and was ignored. Oh Well - went 20 minutes down the road and bought a different (and much bigger) American V Twin. Couldn't be happier - worked out after all!
- Rob, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-26 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have over 3,700 miles on the bike, considering winter here was long and cold. I just put on saddlebags and a windshield, both made nice improvements to the bike. Got most from JP Cycles, in Iowa. Real nice catalog. Bike runs just fine, dealer treats me great and service is prompt. Only thing that bothers me is when some young guy on a Jap hotrod bike sees me on the Harley, they act like fool's.
- Rudy, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-05 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not so much my 2$ about the bike, but my experience trying to buy one. I'd been looking for awhile, my significant other was all for it, I got really impulsive, walk in, pointed at it, said " How much ? I'll take it." Heart rushing, then my baloon was busted. The dealer said he couldn't sell it because it was the only one he had in the showroom and it'd be November before he got another. Hell this was July & I was ready to ride. *^%#@!!!make me wanna have flashbacks & hangovers %*^#@+! I got over it in short order, went bought a second hand Vulcan at a 1/3 the price and could not be happier.
- Had to have it...I thought.., USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 7 motorcycles in my life. This was my first Harley. My last bike was a Suzuki Intruder 1400 and I was concerned about the power of the 1200. I am not disappointed in the performance of my new 1200. It is a "small" bike though and not really big enough for serious 2 people riding. My only other problem is that even though the vibration level is not as bad as some reviews would make you think, I am having problems with parts coming loose. I also have a problem seeing anything out of the rear view mirrors because of the vibration. I still love the bike! But then again I love motorcycling!
- Charlie Kelley, Dalton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-02 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a bike that likes to cruise. It is no top end rocket but the rumble and the ride more than make up for the lack of top end speed. This bike really responds to the throtlle and from 0 to 100 it is a rush. Spend some time with this baby and you will fall in love.
- John Myers, Greensburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-13 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked My XL1200C in July of 2000.I need to win the lotto so I can have more time to ride it.I've made a few changes.Corbin Hollywood solo seat,high flow kit and custom slash cut pipes.I thought this bike was quick stock,but with the H.F.kit and pipes it screams and sounds like a harley.But!It's had it share of time in the shop.Oil leak out of vent tube had to be re-routed,rear rocker gasket leaked, waiting for the front to go and the oil line was leaking.All were fixed under warrenty by the dealer.With six months of warrenty left I hope I get enough time to work out all the bugs.It's hard to keep you mind on work whe you have a Harley wanting to be ridden. "LOUD PIPES SAVE LIVES"
- T. Frerkson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Going into my 5th month with my new 2001 XL1200C. Having owned about 15 bikes (three at present), and this being my third Sportster, all I can say is today's Sportster is everything a Sportster should be, but improved. And I read in another review at this site. This is not a bike for anyone who is not a competent, very experienced rider. It doesn't drive itself for you, like some other bikes I've owned and ridden. But if you just have to have THE LOOK that only a Sportster has, this bike has plenty of low-end torque, handles extremely well, and you do anything you want with it. I've installed a Vance and Hines Straight Shot Exhaust system, Kuryakyn HyperCharger (big increase in low end grunt!), complete chromed front end, Corbin solo seat, billet pegs, shifter, grips, and too much else to list. Between the sound and the looks of this black and red beauty, there's nothing I'd rather be going down the road on. 2500 miles and not even a loose bolt or a drop of oil leaked or burned. Great ride for anybody who doesn't mind paying attention.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-28 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a first-time rider - a recent graduate of an AMA approved, beginning rider safety course. Since I live in the Milwaukee, WI metro area, there was a heavy influence to get a Harley. I was hell-bent on buying a GoldWing, but after riding this machine, forget the others. This bike is pure fun - even for a newbie. It's got all of the things you want in a bike: Chrome, Power, and the 'v-twin' feel. Ya gotta love it!! The only drawback is adjusting it for a passenger. If you've got saddlebags, you have to remove them to adjust the shocks, which adds 30 minutes to your prep time. Other than that, it's a great bike.
- Ted, Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from dealer and test ride of a Sportster1200custom. The bike is great, Lots of power. Had a Lowrider in 1981,A Sportster 1000 and 900 in 1981. This bike came a long way. Would recommend to anyone. You know your on a motorcycle not on two wheels without a top. Japan will never come close with their clones. Will have one by March 2001.
- Harry, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
August 30th this year I purchased a 2000 model Honda Aero. I Thought I was happy with the size and the "Harley like Rumble", until I went to the Harley dealership to buy a new helmet for my new Honda. They seem to have a better cruiser selection. Well after I paid for my helmet and was on my way out, I happened to spot a 2001 Sportster XL1200C near the door, It stopped me in my tracks. I had not even considered looking at the Harleys when I was shopping for the Aero, everyone said I would have to be on "The List" for at least a year. This bike was beautiful, Luxury pearl blue,laced 21" front wheel, foward controls and chrome everywhere. $10,650.00 price tag. As I was picking my jaw up off the floor a very nice salesman said, "want to test drive a demo", before I knew what I was doing I said sure it will give me a chance to try out my new helmet. He said meet out front and he would bring the Sportster around. I had never ridden a Harley of any kind before, just Hondas and Yamahas. This bike is a HOT ROD! True American muscle! The moment you push the start button you know this is the REAL DEAL! My Aero compared to this is a Slug! I had always heard the Sportsters shaked like paint mixers. I pulled in the clutch popped the shifter down and took off. This bike has some power and what an attitude. Kiss my Grits out of the way fun and no Shake problem to me. Well, after three weeks of trying to sell my Honda and getting dealer bids as low as $5000, I just bought it, said give me the Harley credit. I will sell my Honda this coming spring. I feel very sorry for my Honda Aero it just sits there all nice and shinny but no rides. I love this Sportster!!
- Richard, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you thinking the resale value of this bike will stay intact, think again. I bought one with 2000kms on it for five grand less than the original owner paid. The excessive vibration will shake coin right outta yer pants. And hold onto those pants when your cornering, yipes!! What a good looking, nicely chromed, piece of crap. I was very lucky to sell with only a small loss.
- Vince Waz, Toronto, Ontario. Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-28 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very disappointing performance and shifting sucks. The one star is for being a Harley, so I will get a good resale price next summer. don't buy unless you must have a Harley. Sold my Honda 1100, wish I hadn't, this Harley reminds me of a beginner's bike.
- Anonymous, Queens, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-19 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're comparing it to past sportsters, don't. You can't. The stopping power is far greater and acceleration is very impressive. This bike allows for a nible ride with plenty of power. With forward controls this year you feel like you're on a Harley, finally.
- ryan, South Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-02-23 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a Motorcycle you feel in your guts...from the first time you start it to the last turn of the key.
- Chris Cotellini, The Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: