Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (12)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-03-01 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike two years ago. It was sitting in a garage for four years and had never been started. It still had the original battery. After putting the battery on a charger, the bike started and ran perfectly. I then took the bike on a test drive and fell in love. The bike has had no problems. It rides, looks and sounds great. Vibration is high on the highway, but other than that I have no complaints. This is the perfect bike for cruising around town and going on short trips. It is very dependable and I recommend it as a great starter bike.
- Dayne, Lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-22 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my Hugger January,2000 and the only thing wrong is that here in Maine I can't ride it all year round. She is a perfect bike and I wouldn't trade it for my husband's Electra-Glide classic or any other. I find the ride very comfortable and lots of fun!!!. Its too bad previous reviewers seem to have gotten problem bikes,but as in any product there are always some that are not up to par (and maybe in some cases the bike can't live up to the image the buyer created in their own mind). We plan to do some touring in the future and I look forward to every minute & mile I'll be travelling on my Hugger.
- Barbara, Ripley, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-21 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Gentlemen: I'm 45 years, ridden for 30 years and had 15 Jap bikes. Most of you are missing the true intent on the Sportster. This an entry level Harley. The bike gets great gas mileage, handles great , has good brakes and is a sharp looker. Plus you can never run out of customizing or hot rodding accessories for it. For the money, no Jap bike can beat it. I do miss a couple of things on the bike like: bigger fuel tank, no tool kit, no center stand lugs, no helmet lock, no bungee hooks and smooth rear view mirrors. The bike is not perfect, but if you add it all up, its a great value and a lot of fun for in town and short trips.
- william barroso, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the Screamin' Eagle mufflers put on and the carb jetted (my dealer recommended against the air cleaner for the 883, saying that it has a proclivity to spit gas). The performance is greatly enhanced; the bike runs like it should, breathing as though it has been cured of asthma. Horsepower improvement is neglegible, but torque is way up--I don't have to downshift on anything below, say, a 7% grade. Pulls very nicely in the city, and it is fine at 65 mph. Still, it ain't a speedster, which is fine; not much else looks or sounds better. Now, as for the malcontents, I don't know what to say. I simply don't share your unfortunate experience. You all seem to have purchased lemons, and I would advise you to check your state's lemon laws--you may be covered. Otherwise, quit complaining, have the engine cases snugged, and ride!
- John, Pleasanton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-04 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, after the long wait (seven months), I can say it wasn't worth it. First of all, when I went to pick it up from the dealer, it won't start, hell it didn't even crank. The dealer "fixed" the short, but only until I decided to take a 60-mile ride! Got stuck an hour from home with only 97 miles on it! The shop "fixed" an electrical problem, or so I hope. Also there is a rather hard pull on the clutch, going to dealer to get that "fixed". I like the ride for the most part. But the engine noise (not exhaust) is horrible. It sounds rather 'loose' at highway speeds. A friend of mine has had a oil leak for over three visits to the dealer. Seems like Harley gets you with there name, and then forgets yours. The dealers I have dealt with are all rude, and annoyed that they have to fix another Harley. Mine is being traded in for a quality bike, Honda Sabre. You should to. Future Honda owner...
- John, Central, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a Hugger for about a year now and have found it to be a great bike. True there isn't a lot of power but since I didn't buy it for that I wasn't disappointed. The 883 is an affordable way to ride a Harley and I would probably be buying another, however it's time to move up to a bigger bike [Shadow Ace].I've really enjoyed the past year on my little hog.
- Michael Arnold, Roanoke,Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife bought one of these bikes and she's put about 5000 miles on this summer. I had mixed emotions at first because the Sporty I used to own was a lemon, but this has been a solid fun bike and she loves it. I ride it sometimes and even though it's a little slow I still get a kick out of it, plus the 883 has a great exhaust note.
- Mike, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-29 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, there's been a lot of negative reviews on this bike, which is a little too bad, because, fact is, this thing is a nice little ride -- the lemon in a previous review notwithstanding. This is my first bike, and I think it's a good choice because it is underpowered. I'm not going to have this thing fly out from under me while I get used to two wheels instead of four. I've found that this bike is serene at 45 to 50 mph--simply put, it's no highway bike in stock form. I am having the "Stage I" work down in a couple of weeks, so I'll have to update this forum on any improved performance. Even then, I don't think this bike will ever be a canyon carver or drag racer. It's a neighborhood, local backroad CRUISER. Period. If you take this bike for what it really is, you won't be disappointed.
- John, Pleasanton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had a sreies of minor problems with this bike. An electrical short, crapped up speedo, oil line that developed a leak and a bad oil sending unit. But there is something about a Have had a series of minor problems with this bike. An electrical short, crapped up speedo, oil line that developed a leak and a bad oil-sending unit. But there is something about a Harley that you just can't quantify. After a carb kit, new pipes and a K&N air filter, I have a "new" bike and I'm loving it! Yeah, the Japanese have the quality thing down cold, but there is something about this bike........... Just can't seem to put my finger on it........ hhhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmm???? Could it be that Harley mystique????????? hhhhhhhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmm????
- David, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-12 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You wait 6 months for one of these things...and mine sure looked good on delivery. But less than a mile from the dealership, just when "The Harley Experience" should be confirming the worth of the wait, the bike began backfiring, hesitating, etc. Limped back to the dealership and had to leave it at the service department (just where you want to be with your new bike after a 6-month wait). Next day, I was told it was fixed, but got to the dealership to find that they couldn't get it to start. First "air leaks" were the diagnosis...then something else...and now they think its electronics. Bottom line is that they have no idea what's wrong and my new bike with 3 miles on the odometer is sitting in a repair bay. Hardly a confidence builder. Engine is now being "blueprinted" to factory spec I'm told which will take a few more days. Theory: When you have people stacked up like cordwood to buy a new Harley, it's easy to take customers and quality for granted. This is a factory quality control problem--don't they test engines before shipping them? This one would have backfired off the assembly line.
- Annonymous, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-04 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike just last January. It really sucks. I bought it based on the Harley mystique. Boy was I a sucker. The only good thing about it is there are other suckers out there just like me that don't know any better...that's why Harley's resale value is high...stupid people that get caught up in the hype. I'm trading this guy in for a Suzuki Intruder 1400....
- Anonymous, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-11 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is heavy, slow, and the clutch is stiff. It does hold its value for resale better than just about anything else. I no longer like its looks compared to other bikes I have been looking at. Buyers remorse?
- Anonymous, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: