Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (30)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-03-30 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike handles great. I have had no problems since the day I bought it new. When I first purchased it, it set for the first year, and didn't go far the second. But this bike performs and handles just as good as most in its class and more. I build custom bikes and I've enjoyed building this one up.
- Jimi Doyle, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-14 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had one a few months ago, until I traded it in for a Ducati. Back then, I thought it was a great bike, but compared to the Ducati.....it just doesn't measure up. Still, it's great for just cruising around and getting people to notice you, especially if you install screamin eagle pipes. don't get me wrong I loved this bike, and compared to other cruisers I've ridden like the Honda magna, and Suzuki intruder, this one is definitely a keeper. Especially because of the aftermarket parts available for it. First thing I would do is increase the hp to about 80 horsepower. Then, you'll have a pretty nice ride, plus, it's American!! And there is no greater sign of patriotism than ridng a Harley. Harley Davidsons are the "Cruiser" class, where as "Ducati" is the sportbike class. Can't really go wrong with either one.
- Alberto Carreon, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-24 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ive owned Japanese bikes years ago, with the kids grown I was talking about getting a Harley and started looking. Low and behold my wife works at a Ford dealership and the sales award for 2000 was a new Sportster. The winner didnt want it and I ended up with it for $4k. Not bad huh? Ive only had the bike for about five months and have only seven hundred miles on it. I take it out for spins on Sat and Sun rides. I knew what to expect with the weight and rigid mounted motor with this bike so I wasnt disappointed with the way it rides. Being over six foot I know I would be more comfortable on a bigger bike but the price was right. My wife got on the back and now she has the bug , we have been looking at Honda Goldwings. Yes Ill keep the Sportster. Would I go out and Get another one, no way. It is fun to ride solo, however the second you start it the mirrors are useless from vibration. The second time I had it out on the road one of the rear footpeg came off and was lost, replacement was $28. The factory seat is torture and after twenty minutes my wife cant feel her legs or butt. I can handle it a little longer. The gas tank is so small most trips are to the gas station. Like most Harleys the bike comes half done then they want you to spend a fortune on their accessories to fix it the way you want. The larger HDs made after 1998 have that twin cam motor which reduces the vibes also fuel injection as an option. These are nice bikes but way overpriced. The Japanese bikes are far more technically advanced, comfortable and come ready to ride. Then again all my friends that had jap bikes bought Harleys, want Harleys and one guy bought that big Indian. The Harleys have great resale but pick up a cycle buyers magazine and in our latest edition with ads there was fifty-nine pages of Harleys for sale. Yeah all the forty somethings like my self are buying these bikes, hold them for a while and get rid of them. Will there be a glut of them in the next few years? who knows. Anyway Ive gone on way too long. For what I paid I have fun riding my Sportster, I will keep it, but I looking for a bigger more comfortable, affordable machine for the two of us. Have a Great ride.
- Paul Anthony, Palm Spings, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-30 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What I don't understand is how people call it price gouging. Yes they add on extra fees. But the fees still aren't that different from other bikes. Plus most bikes at that same base price don't even reach 750cc so what is all that complaining about. And for anybody comparing Sportsters. the Cost to upgrade an 883 Evolution into a 1200 is roughly 2,500 so if you add that to the full cost of an 883 that is a hell of a lot cheaper for pretty much the same bike.
- B Cook, Palm Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-09 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have both a Harley Davidson Sportster 883 and a Honda CBR 600F2 "Crotch Rocket". In my experience, I spend more time underneath my sportster with a wrench or towing it to the dealer for repairs then actually riding it. My Honda has never broken down. You may have better luck, but I would never buy a Sportster again.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 883 but wish I had gotten a 1200 as I could use more power!! The only complaint is that is feels like it should have one more gear. You want a fair deal on buying a Harley - go to Monadnock Motorcycles in Swanzey NH (no I don't work there). I was only charged the freight charges over MRSP, I ordered my bike in Aug. it came in around November. They held it for me until I picked it up in April. Great Service, Great People!!!
- Rider, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-23 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning scooters in high school about 16 years ago this would be my first real motorcycle. After owning it only only one week I cannot give a good performance rating since I have not yet taken the bike for a serious outing. (just putting around locally, practicing for my license test), but I will give the bike 5 big stars for turning heads where ever I go! Even the local "rice rocket" boys have to do a double take. My one concern is for the people who were put on waiting lists, and or "gouged" by rude Harley dealers. While my experience with the dealer wasn't exactly warm and fuzzy, I did get to pick my bike from the showroom floor and did not get the $2000 "gouging" mentioned by other reviewers. It seems that all these complaints seemed to be at or near the East Coast. Is this common? And are people waiting for certain color?
- Roman, Walnut, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yeah, like everyone else, I looked at every Bike out there, and read every magazine looking for the best deal for me. The V Star 650 Classic's look grabbed my attention right away. I just picked mine up yesterday, and I really do like it alot. I got Maxxis white walls and Hard Krome straight pipes with a jet kit, and what a look. And you can't go wrong with Black, the bike looks great! I can't afford a Harley Fat Boy, but thanks to Yamaha, I've got something even better, and more reliable, what a classic look! Thanks to Yamaha and my wife for being so understanding, I've got the bike I've always wanted.
- The Mad Hatter, San Francisco

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-03 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To Anonymous just below me, just in case you didn't know, there is a big difference between invoice and msrp. Invoice is what dealers pay for a vehicle and msrp is what the manufacturer suggests they sell a vehicle for. Most auto dealers sell above invoice, that's how they make money but I have never known one to sell one penny above msrp. There's too much competition. Harley dealers, on the other hand, are simply ripping off consumers by charging many thousands of dollars over "MSRP". This is partly because HD is not producing the bikes fast enough to meet the demand. On the other hand, you can also put part of the blame on the buyers for paying these high prices. If people wanting to buy Harleys simply put their foot down and refuse to pay these outragous prices and buy something else, you will start to see the prices on Harleys go down, it's that simple. I also don't think HD can do anything about what dealers charge, by law dealers can charge anything they want as far as I know.
- Tee, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-02 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If this is your first bike, you'll probably like it. If it is not, and you are used to Honda's or Yamaha's like I was, you'll hate it. Any speed above 55 mph causes you to lose feeling in your butt, hands and arms. Any ride over 200 miles is UNCOMFORTABLE. My first changes were a two up seat and new handlebars. They helped a little, but not much ($350.00). I also added a National Cycle windshield, which is pretty much the same thing that HD sells but a whole lot cheaper. In fact, I think I have found that HD really stands for "hundred-dollars." As everything for the bike is usually more than 100 dollars. By the time I was done bringing this bike up to standards, I would have been better off buying the Honda Shadow ACE tourer. Oh well, live and learn. If you are shopping for a Sporty, look around. My local dealer in Spokane charges about $1800 more than I got mine for from a Montana dealership. But beware, because I did not buy my bike from Spokane, my first service cost me, you guessed it, a hundred dollars.
- Kevin Murphy, Coeur d' Alene, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-23 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey, some of you sound as if you've never purchased an automobile? Have you ever noticed what auto dealers charge over invoice on the popular model cars? Harley Davidson sells a quality product which naturally increases the demand.
- anonymous, East Lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-18 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I admit it. I have wanted a Harley for over 14 years. So I finally splurged and bought a Sportster. This bike--for all the rave reviews I read--leaves much to be desired. First, the ergonomics for someone six feet tall are terribly uncomfortable. After 30 minutes in the saddle I was dying to get off the thing. The bike vibrates like a paint shaker at all speeds above 68mph. Torquey bike? Hardly. A quick roll of the throttle leaves the engine gasping and trying to keep up. I know, I know, you've got to keep spending money to make it run right, to make it comfortable, to make it look good. After paying $2000 above list for the thing, I'm not in much of a mood to spend more for something I should have gotten already. Granted, the bike has loads of V-twin character, but I think I'm turning Japanese for my next
- John, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 7th sporty. 4 ironeads and 3 evolutions. I was worried that the 5-speed trans would take away that old sporty feel. I was pleasently surprized. The larger tank gives better range. I love the belt drive. They are choked from the factory, but this can be fixed. They will never be as fast as the old ironheads, but much better overall. My most recent bikes have been Kawa Vulcans. They were great bikes and better products than the sporty, I will admit. However, I want to ride a machine not a car on two wheels. I love the way you can feel the pistons pushhing you up a steep grade, matched with the exhaust sound. I'm 45 years old standing still and riding other bikes. On my Sporty, I feel 25. Temporary Fountain of Youth? What price do you put on that.? I'm happy with my new $7000 mistress. I had Electraglides and Superglides. I miss them sometimes on longer rides, but I love this little Roadster.
- Robert Clark, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 883c , Im very pleased with the bike, and the dealer that I got it from. The bike does not leak a drop, Ive been in many HD shops and have yet to find the new Harleys leaking. Maybe in the late 70's and early 80's that was the picture. I have also looked at many other bikes, and none do the justice that the Harleys do. Hey if you're looking to ride a bike then look at the other brands, you don't ride a Harley you wear it! Now I know there are some dealers out there that are hard to work with, but there are some out there that do care for the buyer and the HD company. So look for those company's and let your dreams come true.
- Jason, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ordered an 883C 7 months ago but still haven't gotten it. I can't believe that Harley allows its dealerships to treat all of their customers like absolute garbage!!!! Here's what happened, I placed my money down and ordered the bike. I was told 3-6 months delivery time. In the meantime, my buddy went to the same bike shop and purchased a bike that just so happened to be the bike I ordered!!!! The dealership sold it to him for $3000 more than what they were going to charge me for it. I approached the dealership and they said "TOUGH LUCK!" If you wanted a bike sooner you should have paid us $3000 more than the MSRP. I have since cancelled my order and refuse to deal with HD at all. Their dealerships are way out of line and are raping the public. Judging from other's experiences, most Harley dealers across the country treat their customers like this!!! I am now looking at Indians and Victory bikes. These are American companies that actually want your business. I predict that Harley is heading for another faltering fiasco like the classic 1978 AMF epsiode. This is a sad commentary on a once great company.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey, I own a 2000 883 custom & it leaks a little oil also. The bike does come with a dip stick. It's located right on the oil tank ! Thats the black part below the seat. If your ever around i'll stick your head in it.
- Joe, Niagara Falls

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-21 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The sporty was a good bike 20 years ago, but in the year 2000 it's way at the back of the pack. The price is too high when you add on the dealer markup and extras. The suspension sucks, the motor vibrates too much, and the handling is terrible over 70 mph. I just don't get it. If a person needs a sporty Harley, buy a Buell.
- mike, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's really my girlfriend's bike but she has asked me to put some miles on it once in a while and have taken it to get serviced when she couldn't. She loves it. I had to put shorter shocks and drop the front end an inch so she could fit on it. She's 5ft 105lbs. It's a little cramped for me, 6ft 210lbs but forward controls would help that. After ridin' my bigger Harleys this thing feels like nothin'. It's easy to whip thru the curves and fun to ride. It's not the most powerful thing on the road but it's a great starter bike.
- Dennis Rhodes, New Bloomfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before I bought my 883c I did some research including riding several different. types. The Sportster is not a crotchrocket or a touring bike. It vibrates and shakes. After PROPER break in and five-min warmups. Mine doesn't leak. I'm 5'7" and 170lbs this bike fits, it has plenty of power for my needs looks great and holds its value like no other brand. I did do the stage 1 mods to get it to breath better and it did make a big diff. in the motor.If you take the 883c for what it is not what it aint you should not be in for any unpleasnt surprises. I bought it at the dealer in Cinncinati for list price after a six-month. wait. So far a very good experience. Emails welcome
- max, Cinncinati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-02 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was the bike I wanted before I bought my beloved BMW R1100RL. It is criminal what Harley dealers are doing to their customers. Charging $2000.00 over list for a 1950s piece of technology is not my idea of cool. I finally gave up on the Harley when I went into a showroom in Queens, NY. The dealer wanted to charge me over $2000.00 over list, for the "honor" of owning a piece of American machinery. When I looked down on the floor the brand new Harley was leaking oil! When I told the salesman of the oil, her response was "its a Harley, they all leak oil". This was the icing on the cake for me. I ran out the door and haven't thought twice about Harley. Look at BMW, Triumph's classic line, or any of the Japanese models, you'll do much better with any of those.
- Jay Torres, Staten Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Es una motocicleta muy noble. Tengo 30 a�os y es mi primera motocicleta, se puede decir que he aprendido a manejar sobre ella. no he tenido problemas mecanicos, salvo que la suspencion trasera es muy debil para las pistas malas. Es una buena compra.
- To�o, Peru

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 97 883. Run hard for 23K with no problems! I ride it daily, commuting, touring, club rides. A very versatile, reliable bike. Easy to upgrade to 1200 if you wish. Goes like stink if you open up the intake and exhaust and rejet. The stock seat and rear shocks suck. Check out www.sportster.org for tons of info...
- Mike, Victoria, BC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Married with kids = weekend rider. Why pay the big $$ for a HD when all you have is the weekend? I put a HD Touring seat, windshield, hwy pegs, and did a stage one. This thing moves and I don't have a problem with the vibes since I put HD comfort grips (foam) and a throttle rocker. I can cruise sun up to sun down. The 883 with a stage one (pipes/jets/SE AC) has plenty of power! Be sure to add some accessories, as the base bike is just too basic...in my opinion.
- Rick McNeill, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-18 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very disgusted with the price gouging that the dealers are doing to us, the consumers! It is pretty sad that the manufacturer is knowingly allowing them to do it. $2,000 to $6,000 over MSRP is criminal! I refuse to pay these prices. Alamo Cycles in San Antonio doesn't care what you think. If you don't like what they are doing then don't buy from them. This is their attitude, just call Ken and ask him. Anyone know where I can find a reputable HD dealer?
- TR, San Antonio, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first experience with American Iron, and so far I am not impressed at all. Mine leaks oil and brake fluid, and it only has 1900 miles on it. Take your $ and go get a Honda. I think it might be a better value.
- Anonymous, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: