Honda Magna Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (43)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Magna Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Magna Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-05-06 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a fellow that only added 1600 miles to it since new in 96. Thats not many miles in 8 years. I now have over 12000 miles on it and it continues to run strong and dependable. It has lots of power to out run most Harleys and sports around the corners to leave em in the dust. I recommend a Magna as an all around fun bike that won't dissappoint you or your wallet.
- Brian, Nyack, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-28 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently bought a "99" Magna from a long time buddy of mine in Feb 2003. It had only 4600 miles on the clock and looked like it just came off the showroom floor. This bike is great! Tons of torque, speed, no vibes and smooth as silk. Love the black color with orange accents. Came with all of the extras. Have taken it on many long trips and it can keep up with about anything except the "crotch rockets". Handles great and holds the corners well. Go easy on the throttle. When you get near the power band, you better hold on tight. Scared the heck out of me the first few times! Ok, now the minor gripes: NOTE: Items marked with a * maybe because my 1983 KZ440 LTD (which I rode for (20) years and still own) have features that I am used to. We are creatures of habit. 1. *Still find myself trying to get it into 6th gear. (My KZ has (6)speeds). 2. Seat could be a little firmer. 3. My wife hates the passenger peg locations (and seat). Added peg extenders for her and that fixed one of her gripes. 4. Miles per gallon (needs larger tank). 5. *Lubing the chain is a pain unless you have a motorcycle lift due to the lack of a center stand. Bought a lift and solved that! (My KZ has a belt drive, no chain to lube). 6. *The chain drive ... I'm a clean nut, and any spots on the back wheel cause me to go into a "crazed" condition. 7. Living in Florida provides enough heat. The heat off the engine at low speeds (25mph or below or at idle when the cooling fan kicks in) just adds to the already hot condition. Will be great during our 4 days winter however! 8. *The under the tank ignition key location. 9. *The column lock. Can't tell you how many times I almost dumped the bike because I forgot to unlock it after starting the bike. My KZ has a "all in one" ignition/column lock on the triple tree area. 10. *Only has (1) helmet lock and the helmet's top can get blistered due to the high position of the muffler. 11. *Needs an automatic fuel petcock (I am always forgetting to either turn on or off the petcock). My KZ has this feature. 12. *Needs self canceling turn signals. My KZ has this feature. Would I go back to my KZ? Nope, it just sits in the corner of the garage wimpering it's little heads off. I just wish the Magna had these features. I highly recommend the bike and still give it a five star rating!
- George W., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-24 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike has good acceleration, but the handling is not up to par with it's power. Compared to Harley's, the steering is a little too fidgety, which gives you the feeling that it is not stable. Nevertheless, good inexpensive power cruiser. Only problem is it doesn't hold its price, and you can tweak any Harley to blow right passed it.
- Alberto Carreon, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-03 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You've got to love the speed of this thing! It just goes without hesitation when you want her to, with grace and comfort. Windshield + ear plugs work good for me on long highway rides. Lubing the chain is a hassle though. Bigger tank, bigger tank, bigger tank! I think the Magna engineers really need to ride this baby in the US for a month to realize that just how much bigger this place is than their home islands. Bigger tank can actually be useful.
- ycai, Monterey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-25 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a lot of motorcycles in my life, different makes and models but, never two of the same make and model, until I owned a magna.. When my 94 magna got totaled in a mishap I immediately went out and bought another magna. I now own a 95 magna deluxe w/mini fairing. I actually like the 95 better than the 94. I guess it's because the 95 has a mini fairing. anyway, magna is the best all round bike I ever owned..
- motorpsycho jim, columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-04 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 98 Magna for a little over two years and I have been very pleased with this bike. I have put 28,000 miles on it and have had no problems with it. I took it down to Fayetteville NC last week which was is about 850 mile away from where I live and it was good ride with the exception of the rain on the way back. I put a bladerunner windshield on it which also helps on the long trip. If Honda made it shaft driven it would be the ultimate bike. I occasionally ride with a couple of guys that ride Suzuki 600 GSX's and they are surprised that a cruiser will keep up with them. I most definitely recommend this to anyone who can't decide between a cruiser and a sportsbike.
- Da Stuff, Chaumont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-01 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 1997 Magna about 2 weeks ago. I love the bike; it handles great, and is very fast. However the seat is somewhat uncomfortable after long rides and the fuel tank is very small. If you can't decide between a sport bike and a cruiser a magna is the way to go. I often ride with a friend of mine who has a Katana and I have no problem keeping up. A windshield is a must if you plan on any speeds above 50mph. Ride safe!
- Bob, Muunroe Falls, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-04 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike,except for the gas tank too small, and the seat is horrible. But a Corbin makes it very comfy for long rides and the windsheild is a must if your going more then 65 mph.
- dan, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-17 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After not having a bike for 25 years this is as good as I remember. Had two different CB750 Hondas back in the early 70's and this one is more comfortable, faster and handles what ever I give it to handle. 50+ mpg (50.06)And it looks good. 4000rpm at 60mph. Just took it in for 4000 mile check up. Love it. If I could afford a Gold Wing I would, but it carries my wife and I very well. Try it you will like it.
- Phil Gowan, Leesburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-12 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this last ride last Sept, used with 6200 miles on it and took off for Reno the next day. Went alone so was hoping it would run as well as I was told it would. It did!!! I'm a 56-year young woman just enjoying my wheels again. I'm now in the process of customizing it a little, just to make it more mine than the same old Magna everyone has and that, I feel, is what riding is all about. It's like I read the other day, a club's slogan, "It's not WHAT you ride, but THAT you ride". I like it also because at 5'3" I have a difficult time touching ground so this is fine. This has been my biggest turnoff on certain bikes because of their height.
- Anonymous, Mary

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-06 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '87 700cc,shaftie was the most stable bike in the rain, but its vibration from that very powerful V-4, made my hands drift -off to sleep at highway speeds...the long wheelbase was great for cruising, but made back road excitement a chore...would like to try a newer, chain version...think that's the way to go....but can't deny the bikes awesome power whether it be shaft or chain!....I'm buying a 600 vlx deluxe!
- rider, Scranton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-18 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Formerly being an owner of an 84' V65 Magna, and currently owning a Suzuki TLR, has given me an opportunity to compare old and new technology. Honda definitly had something going on back in the 80's with this bike. The new stuff is faster, but I always managed to keep my sportbike buddies in sight until the road got straight. Then all bets were off. The new Magna is OK, but it lacks the testicle fortitude to measure up to the reputation laid down by the earlier bikes. Though I now own something more modern ,as well as more powerful(TLR), the old V65 is missed Daily..........nuff said.
- Mark, Morgantown, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding my 83,1100 for 4 years and love it. I don't think I will ever get rid of it. I just picked up a 95, 750 it is one great bike but I found that it needs a 6th gear or a different ratio for 5th. Lots of power for a 750 but if it were a 1100cc I would love it even more, a drive shaft and rear disc would also be the way to go. Honda could make this the best cruser ever with these type upgrades ( what do you think ) Honda go for it, power it up and kick butt we want more.
- Anonymous, Scranton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 98 magna new, I had a ZX6 before and was going to buy a CBR600F3, but I saw that blue/black Beastie and fell in love! It does need better brakes and a 6th gear but heck the bike is a blast to ride! I take it well over 100 mph effortlessly. I've had it up to 130-135 it doesn't have much more... thank god its a scary bike at those speeds! I have added a Corbin seat and highway pegs too. A light bar was also put on... that was the best thing I did, other than the slip-on mufflers!!.... don't buy em from cobra, they suck!!! No matter what, you can't beat the Magna for performance or ride... I LOVE mine!
- spacemais, Blackwood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-23 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had one plus a 93 Goldwing. Didn`t think I had any business with two bikes, so I sold my magna. Been crying ever since. Bought a 1100 Kawasaki Spectre and it's OK, but it's not a Magna. Want to buy an 86 Magna in good shape. Last of the 1100s with 6 speeds.
- Anonymous, Dickie Shortes

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-19 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reviewing all articles I could get on this machine and a short test drive, bought a 94 used machine a few weeks ago. Have put little over 1000 miles since and enjoying every mile. Taking back road twisties and hills is very good (there is always room for improvement in the suspension area). I'm not taking the bike to it's max potential in this arena yet. On the highway, it's a different story the Magna is not just a cruiser it's a POWER CRUISER, normal cruising is between 70 and 80 mph in 5th. if you can stand the draft. Improvement in this area is also possible, it's just a matter of tailoring the machine with aftermarkets to the riders' size and riding style. AH style! yes the Magna does have it's own personality, CUSTOM!
- Octavio, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 95 magna. I love it. Great power. Faster than anyone except for my cbx buddy. My wife hates rear seat. Too narrow. Honda should put shaft drive on the new ones.
- Paul Hughes, Carthage, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 94 Magna. It is by far the best bike I have ever owned! I ride all types of roads & freeways & have no problems. I will by a new one someday.
- Johnny Harden, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 97 Magna. It's my seventh bike and so far the best. Honda should definitely consider an 1100 version.
- Martin J. Groen, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-07 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a '95 Magna. One of the best bikes I've ever ridden. It's excellent for one up riding. I used it a lot for touring and in pretty much every kinda weather. I just got married and after our first trip together, I realized I need to upgrade, only because it's too small for two up riding. I had no problems with performance during two up riding, only that it was a little uncomfortable. I hope to keep the bike even after I get my upgrade (Valkyrie-Interstate).
- Leo, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 97 Magna for a month now. It has many after market add ons,including a windshield and high performance pipes. This thing flies, and handles great! I wonder how can I make a good bike better? Maybe a jet kit? Anyone out there have any info???
- Tom Thacker, Cedar Bluff, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-02 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I myself ride a Magna with a Fairing infront. I found that is very a powerful bike.I have race with Harly Sporters and I am surprise to see a 750cc beat a 1200cc bike easily.
- Benny, Singapore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My red 1999 Magna is great! I agree with the others who would love a 6th gear and disc brakes all around. Wouldn't mind louder pipes (to keep nearby cars more aware of my presence)and a larger tank for road trips. I also have found a "rumbling" noise (valve train?) around 4,000 rpm. Anyone else experiencing that? I get a lot of compliments on the bike. I have a small (Honda) windshield, Honda backrest and black semi-rigid saddle bags (Travelcade Saddlemen. Nice, a bit small and needed longer bolts and spacers with the back rest). Anyone find a good tank bag match?
- Steve, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 95 Magna and consider it the best bike on the market. I tried many bikes before selecting the Magna for its: no vibration: power, handling and looks (in spite of its color - Yellow). I ride the mountains in Georgia at every opportunity. No maintenance problems but wish it had a drive shaft instead of dirty chain.
- Anonymous, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '94 Magnaand like the bike very much. It is very smooth and comfortable. The performance is outstanding, but the egine throws off alot of heat for summer riding here in Texas.
- K.Jabir, Madisonville,Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: