Honda Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (235)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-11-01 2000 Honda Nighthawk 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for my son to learn on. We had a 250 Ninja, but I wanted something more sedate. He got his license and moved on to the ninja. I thought of selling the nighthawk, but it was fun and I decided to add some foam grips and a 15 tooth front sprocket a couple years ago. It can cruise comfortably at 65, but can struggle on hills and high wind. I'm approaching retirement and wanted a bigger bike, but my wife said she won't ride with me, so I figured the nighthawk will get the job done if I'm soloing it. I added a center stand and a rear rack. The most I've done in a day is about 250 miles, but I know I can take it farther with no problem. I will replace the chain and both sprockets and change the fork oil to a heavier weight, and while the rear wheel is off, replace the rear brake shoes. It delivers up to 80 MPG in good conditions, and never gets below 65 MPG. No repairs needed yet. I would recommend it to anyone who wants cheap, reliable transportation and doesn't care about impressing the Jones.
- The Inspector, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-29 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 91 nighthawk from its original owner with around 9000 miles. It’s been an excellent bike, but for a taller individual like myself (6,2) it hurts my back and legs on long trips. It also in my opinion could greatly be improved if it had a sixth gear. Other then that it’s been fantastic. I’d recommend one to anyone.
- Al , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-19 2000 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike new in 2001. It still looks and runs like new and still catches the eye of others. It has 1520cc of power, runs very smooth and is extremely dependable. It's great for city and highway driving but due to the fact that it has 6 cylinders, it can be just a tad heavy on slow moving corners because of the wide engine. Overall, a great ride for one or two.
- Robert Rzepka, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-28 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only put about 125 miles on my bike so I have a small sample to base this on. The bike is a smooth riding, very maneuverable at both low and high speeds, cruiser. It is well balanced with a low center of gravity. (The Picture at the bottom is NOT the bike I bought. I can't get the picture deleted. Sorry)
- John, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-03 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 35 years, decided to begin riding a bike again - after all that is what some going thru a mid-life crisis do... Yep, I took the safety class and realized why my teenage motorcycle mishaps occurred - well worth the money and time, might save your life. Anyway, researched bikes for 4 months before purchasing my 2000 Nighthawk 750. I felt I needed a bike with at least 60bhp for my frame, didn't like the feel of a sportbike and thought the cruisers too hard to control being so low and heavy. I found the Nighthawk to have autoadjusting hydraulic lifters plus a history of reliability. I purchased mine in May, 2008 with 16k+ miles - today it has about 20k+ miles on it. I use the bike for commuting 20 miles each way each day (weather permitting) on rural roads, city streets downtown, local highways and the inter-state. It is quite at home in all of these environments. It has the power to hold its own on the interstate and the maneuverability to deal with the caged drivers in the city. Fourteen months and 4k miles later I feel can offer the following to those considering buying one: Pro's: High reliability, new parts seem to be easy to get considering the last year this model was sold in the US was 2003, very maneuverable and predicable for the new rider, seems to receive a lot of respect from the sport bike riders and cruiser riders alike, you don't see one on every street corner, plenty of power to ride two up on the highway, low cost of maintenance. Cons: Drum brake on the rear and single disc rotor on the front, few upgrade options from 3rd party vendors, front fork springs are mushy and nonadjustable, oem seat will give you monkey butt after 30 minutes of riding, tricking handling when riding two up (adults) on city streets, no grab bar for riders, oem handlebar bushings are made of foam rubber requiring replacement each season or more often, doesn't come standard with a center stand although it can be added easily, no gas gauge, no gear indicator (must calculate from the tach)or keep count. Things I wish Honda had put on it as standard features: single rear disc brake, dual front disc brakes, comfortable seat with grab bar, aluminum handlebar bushings, adjustable front forks, center stand in addition to the kick stand, maintenance free battery, a model with 1200cc option. Conclusion: all bikes have their plus's and minus's and the Nighthawk 750 is no different. I love the bike and it was just right for the commuter bike I wanted. Two or three of the bigger bikes are trying to lure me away from the little girl so I am not sure how long I will keep her. I just wish Honda had kept up with the model upgrading its features to meet the public's demands. Every bike manufacturer thinks the American public wants a Ducati or Harley look alike. The Nighthawk 750 (more or less) is still sold in Japan as a CB750. It is the same motor, same body with a brake upgrade and updated looks. It would be nice for Honda to reintroduce the model to the US market.
- zzzoomer, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-11 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Nighthawk 750 in 2005. I have put on 6000 miles, mostly in clear weather commutes and pleasure rides. I always get over 50 mpg and always enjoy riding from March to November. Plenty of power, easy to maneuver and low maintenance. This is the perfect bike for the person riding every day.
- Scott, Jarrettsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-19 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a bike last year, and went into a Harley dealership. Nice bikes, but the 1200 was over $14K out the door. Insane!! A friend of mine recommended that I look at used bikes since I hadn't ridden before. Great advise. After taking the MSF class I started looking and found a used 2000 Spirit VT1100C in beautiful shape, and got it for $3,200. This is my first bike, and it's been great. Very forgiving, and an excellent bike to learn on. Not so big that it can't be handled, and not so small that it would be easy to outgrow. Since buying the bike I've replaced the tires with Metzlers, put on a Mustang seat and a National Cycle street shield. It's a confidence-building bike, and with every mile I ride it I get happier and happier. It's so much fun!! I'd do it all over again
- Steve, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-06 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a fellow that only added 1600 miles to it since new in 96. Thats not many miles in 8 years. I now have over 12000 miles on it and it continues to run strong and dependable. It has lots of power to out run most Harleys and sports around the corners to leave em in the dust. I recommend a Magna as an all around fun bike that won't dissappoint you or your wallet.
- Brian, Nyack, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
That is a very nice bike - it oozes presence. If you like attention, this bike will attract it. Those Harley riders stop and check out this bike and they give it respect.
- FLA76, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 92 Nighthawk 750 and it's a great bike, small and light enough for a commuter, yet able to cross the continent. Will cruise at 85 all day, no sweat. I've put about 5K miles on it since purchase and no troubles at all. Of course, as the "last of the standards," the seating position is comfortably upright, not hunched over like on a sportbike or unnaturally balanced on your backbone with legs splayed out, like a cruiser. Wish list: a 6-speed and shaft drive, and a longer kickstand as it leans quite a bit. That and a one-inch lower seat, but that's me. I have it set up as a sport tourer.
- Jay S, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now logged my first 1700 miles in my first 2 months of ownership, and I thought it was a good time to write a review. This is my first bike, and long before completing my local MSF Beginning Riders Course (also highly recommended) and acquiring my motorcycle license, my research had really focused me on this bike. I thought that the size and power would be good for me as a beginning rider, without being overwhelming. That has been the case completely. The weight might be a little heavy for smaller/less sturdy riders, and as with any bike you're the master of your own destiny, i.e. a bike is only as dangerous as your throttle hand makes it, but it's quick enough to keep me excited about riding and it's detuned enough that you can twist away at that throttle without getting any accidental air under your front tire plus you get excellent reliability. I use it as an everyday commuter bike, and, of course, as a fun bike. I've had some scary moments locking up the rear wheel under heavy braking half a dozen times or so, once for more than 30 feet, but have yet to high side it fortunately. I'm a little bit of a thrill seeker (unfortunately for my long-term living prospects), so more conservative riders shouldn't probably worry about this - that's just what happens when the car in front of you stops and you're doing 65+. Great buy!! You won't regret it.
- Zachtank, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-21 2000 Honda CR125R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used and completely stock so far no problems. I had this bike for roughly 4 months. I love the power and handling. It has enough power to jump the bigger jumps in a lower gear. I crashed countless times and so far nothing mechanically or visually has been distorted. I recommend this bike to any experienced rider.
- Brad, LaCrosse, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2000 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You have already heard everything you need to know about the Valkyrie from a technical point of view. Let me take it to the next level. You are riding through the hill country of central Texas or the mountain highways of Colorado. On a Harley, or Harley equivalent, you will be able to associate yourself with Mother Nature. At the same time you will always have a strong association with the motorcycle due to its predominant sound and pulsation. On a Valkyrie the trip takes on a different dimension. The Valkyrie has no sound and the only physical sensation is the slight twist of your right hand on the throttle and the subtle but forceful acceleration of a quiet engine with exceptional dynamic range. After about 20 miles of riding you can completely disassociate yourself from the Valkyrie and it will be just you and Mother Nature. You may have to keep reminding yourself that you have not died and gone to Heaven yet. You simply experience Heaven on Earth on the latest evolution in motorcycles.
- Jerry Spoor, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-18 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been my first riding season, and my bike is a 1993 Honda Nighthawk 750. Rest assured, if I had done my Internet homework before buying, I might have reconsidered. As it is, there is a Nighthawk in my garage, and I couldn't be more pleased. It should also be made clear that since I don't have a long motorcycling history, the Nighthawk represents my baseline in comparing motorcycles. It was the bike I cut my teeth on, and it is has been my primary ride (on nicer days) for the last couple of months. I should also note, I'm 6 feet tall, weigh 250 pounds, and have a 32 inch inseam. When I first was bitten by the motorcycle bug, I asked a lot of questions about things like brands, displacements and styles of motorcycles. My strongest influence recommended Honda, 600cc, and sport respectively. Aesthetically and ergonomically, I wasn't attracted to sportbikes. I don't do much long-distance riding, but even on the showroom floor sportbikes felt awkward and uncomfortable. Cruisers were more comfortable, but they still didn't feel quite right. I tried some dual-sports, but my stumpy legs left me grasping for the floor with my feet (if that's possible for non-simian primates who wear shoes). When I sat down on the Nighthawk, it was more like I found THE bike. The first few days of riding taught me a thing or two: first, it takes every muscle in your body to lift a 470 pound bike off of its side; and second, the handlebar doesn't like 700 pounds of bike and rider falling on it. I had to replace the starboard bracket, and the bar is still slightly more swept back on that side than the other. In practical riding, I have had no problems. The bike either pounces on green lights or accelerates so smoothly that my mother could almost stand to approve of me riding (she can't, but you get the idea). The curvy "Lake" roads of Oakland County offer no challenge to the Nighthawk. I can zip around the twisty Pontiac Lake, Williams Lake, Elizabeth Lake, and Cooley Lake Roads at speeds I don't feel comfortable with in my car. I don't drive as aggressively as some, so I can't comment on the bike's ability to pass between semis at 100mph with two feet of clearance on either side and the front wheel in the air. I will say the bike is a more-than-competent commuter for suburban areas. The bike I purchased was used and came with an aftermarket windshield. Why the windshield was added I'll never know. The person who owned it before me must have been a few inches shorter than me, because the shield dumped all the displaced air squarely in my face. I wear a full-face helmet, so there was no discomfort issue, but the noise was incredible. After I removed the windshield, the wind noise was still there, but greatly reduced in volume and ferocity. Too much power has never been an issue for me. My two or three incidents of malicious gravitation were of the same type: stop-shift-stall-fall. The 750cc engine does, however, bring my immense bulk up to speed effectively and quickly. I sometimes wonder if most of the power goes into getting my mass moving or keeping my less-than-aerodynamics carapace from dragging the bike to a halt. To make a long and rambling review short: I like the Nighthawk 750 more than any bike I've ever ridden... which isn't saying much since it's the only bike I've ever ridden. It's a classy rig that can move a big guy like me and still have enough 'oompf' to shake a tail feather or two. However, if power and weight scare you, inquire elsewhere. Just as a side note. One of the common complaints about this bike is the soft fork suspension. For a person of greater heft, this is an even more visible issue. I'm looking into new fork springs, as that was a recommended upgrade for riders who, like myself, weigh twice as much as Honda's ideal, average rider.
- DrThunder, White Lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-16 2000 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 Honda XR250 and was very pleased. The bike has a top speed of 65 MPH, and I can do a wheely in 4th gear. What is really great about this bike is its low end torque. We have a drive way that is at about a 30 degree angle and I can idle up it in 2nd gear. I could also go up just about any hill I could find in 3rd gear easily. The suspension is very good for TRAIL RIDING. I bought this bike thinking it could handle hard core jumps, and I was very wrong. Yes, it can clear 25-30 foot doubles, but anything bigger, and you will bottom out pretty bad. If you like to do little jumps then the XR250 will work fine. Just don't expect to feel good after casing a 50 foot double with this thing. Overall a very good bike, just not meant for jumping.
- Justin Brinker, Mexico, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-14 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Without a doubt, the hardest charging, strongest (built well) motorcycle I have ever owned. I'm 59 years old and I felt like a kid again after riding this motorcycle. I owned one for 18 months and literally had to trade on a more sedate model because my reaction times were not good enough to ride this bike. No other 800 lb motorcycle will perform like this one.
- DEAN BORING, LIBERTY, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2000 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fun in its stock form but is a great / awesome wheelie bike after you uncork the in-let & exhaust, re-jet, and add three more teeth to the rear gear. Best dual purpose bike on the planet in my opinion.
- Mark Gaarz, North Richland Hills, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-09 2000 Honda CR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome right out of the crate. I love it wouldn't trade it for anything
- shawn sevidge, sparks , Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-07 2000 Honda Nighthawk 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1991 Nighthawk, the first year they came out with them. I've had it for about a year now, and have had no problems with it! Get this - I bought it with about 35k on it (we had to replace tires, chain, sprockets, though)! Original exhaust, engine, etc! This bike will last forever! Reliability wise, I'd say it's great! Even in Michigan, I ride it at least once a month in the winter. It starts up right away every time (may stall out because of the cold and the very lean carburetion), but no other problems! I ride it to school and work mainly, but it's also good for slightly longer trips and short highways excursions. My observed top speed is 73 mph - If you can get it faster, let me know! If you're like me - a high school kid saving for college who wants cheap transportation like this, it's the way to go! The only downsides I can see are the cold-bloodedness and the low top speed. It's also a great chick magnet!
- T.W., Mason, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-31 2000 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 2001 I rode a 2000 XR650 over 500 miles in Death Valley, CA with Trailbosstours.com. I weigh 220 pounds and typically ride an XR600 on the mountainous trails in Vermont. Accross the open desert and gravel/dirt and even snow and mud, the bike was awesome. I was smokin' past 175 pounders on XR600's. The suspension was great, the acceleration was great, the bike was very nimble for it's weight. The only negative I felt was the stopping distance and inability to slow the bike down when coming hot into corners. I have a few friends in Vermont who have bought these bikes, and actually wish that for the tight, single track trails that we ride that Honda still made the XR500 (the XR400 is not enough for us big guys and the 650 can be a little much on the tight trails) In Baja, Death Valley, Moab or any other open space riding, there is not a better bike in my opinion. The only must add on is a strearing dampener. If you have the dough to add a baja designs street legal kit to it, it's a great bike to go exploring some of those hidden trails off the side of the road you have always wondered about but didn't want to park a truck or trailer at.
- Chris, Danby, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-30 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had owned and ridden 1200, 1500 & 1800 goldwings for years, but couldn't part with the big bucks for a new 1800 goldwing. Besides the cost, I don't like the enclosed look of the 1500 & 1800 wings. Took a chance & bought a 2000 Valkyrie Interstate. I really like this bike. It has it all - long distance touring capability - excellent handling (even at low speeds) - smooth vibration free power delivery - and awesome power, all in a bike that looks like a motorcycle & has a bit of attitude as well. Fuel mileage is a respectable 40-47 miles per gallon (Canadian) @ 65-70 mph, but can easily get into the lower 30's if you use the power (& can afford the tickets). Seat is definitely on the hard side. I'm very satisfied. I'll be riding this bike for a long time.
- Gary, Roblin, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-28 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently bought a "99" Magna from a long time buddy of mine in Feb 2003. It had only 4600 miles on the clock and looked like it just came off the showroom floor. This bike is great! Tons of torque, speed, no vibes and smooth as silk. Love the black color with orange accents. Came with all of the extras. Have taken it on many long trips and it can keep up with about anything except the "crotch rockets". Handles great and holds the corners well. Go easy on the throttle. When you get near the power band, you better hold on tight. Scared the heck out of me the first few times! Ok, now the minor gripes: NOTE: Items marked with a * maybe because my 1983 KZ440 LTD (which I rode for (20) years and still own) have features that I am used to. We are creatures of habit. 1. *Still find myself trying to get it into 6th gear. (My KZ has (6)speeds). 2. Seat could be a little firmer. 3. My wife hates the passenger peg locations (and seat). Added peg extenders for her and that fixed one of her gripes. 4. Miles per gallon (needs larger tank). 5. *Lubing the chain is a pain unless you have a motorcycle lift due to the lack of a center stand. Bought a lift and solved that! (My KZ has a belt drive, no chain to lube). 6. *The chain drive ... I'm a clean nut, and any spots on the back wheel cause me to go into a "crazed" condition. 7. Living in Florida provides enough heat. The heat off the engine at low speeds (25mph or below or at idle when the cooling fan kicks in) just adds to the already hot condition. Will be great during our 4 days winter however! 8. *The under the tank ignition key location. 9. *The column lock. Can't tell you how many times I almost dumped the bike because I forgot to unlock it after starting the bike. My KZ has a "all in one" ignition/column lock on the triple tree area. 10. *Only has (1) helmet lock and the helmet's top can get blistered due to the high position of the muffler. 11. *Needs an automatic fuel petcock (I am always forgetting to either turn on or off the petcock). My KZ has this feature. 12. *Needs self canceling turn signals. My KZ has this feature. Would I go back to my KZ? Nope, it just sits in the corner of the garage wimpering it's little heads off. I just wish the Magna had these features. I highly recommend the bike and still give it a five star rating!
- George W., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-28 2000 Honda CR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Starts right up always. Very fast. A little too fast. Pulls up in every gear. Great handling and great stock shocks. Gotta love the aluminum frame to. Never been beat in a drag race yet.
- bobby, menominee, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-16 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden a few bikes and this is the smoothest ride ever. I have accomplished the coin trick of balancing a coin on end on the valve cover and not having it fall over when you start and rev the engine. How smooth is that! I have taken this big bike on many trips and it has never failed to impress me with it's power, comfort and handling. My wife likes the comfort on the back seat also. I will keep this bike for a long time. The HD and V-twin crowd do not know what they are missing.
- Rick Wagner, Edgewood, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-26 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had more bikes than I can count, including the original CB750. The late model Nighthawk is an ideal balance of power and practicality once the missing parts are added (centerstand, luggage rack, windshield if used for distance). It's affordable, reliable, and won't get stolen like my Sportster did last year. Should be the only bike you ever need.
- bug, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: