Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycle reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

35 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Al

Illinois

Reviewed on 2020-02-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I bought a 91 nighthawk from its original owner with around 9000 miles. It’s been an excellent bike, but for a taller individual like myself (6,2) it hurts my back and legs on long trips. It also in my opinion could greatly be improved if it had a sixth gear. Other then that it’s been fantastic. I’d recommend one to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

zzzoomer

Knoxville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2009-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 35 years, decided to begin riding a bike again - after all that is what some going thru a mid-life crisis do... Yep, I took the safety class and realized why my teenage motorcycle mishaps occurred - well worth the money and time, might save your life. Anyway, researched bikes for 4 months before purchasing my 2000 Nighthawk 750. I felt I needed a bike with at least 60bhp for my frame, didn't like the feel of a sportbike and thought the cruisers too hard to control being so low and heavy. I found the Nighthawk to have autoadjusting hydraulic lifters plus a history of reliability. I purchased mine in May, 2008 with 16k+ miles - today it has about 20k+ miles on it. I use the bike for commuting 20 miles each way each day (weather permitting) on rural roads, city streets downtown, local highways and the inter-state. It is quite at home in all of these environments. It has the power to hold its own on the interstate and the maneuverability to deal with the caged drivers in the city. Fourteen months and 4k miles later I feel can offer the following to those considering buying one: Pro's: High reliability, new parts seem to be easy to get considering the last year this model was sold in the US was 2003, very maneuverable and predicable for the new rider, seems to receive a lot of respect from the sport bike riders and cruiser riders alike, you don't see one on every street corner, plenty of power to ride two up on the highway, low cost of maintenance. Cons: Drum brake on the rear and single disc rotor on the front, few upgrade options from 3rd party vendors, front fork springs are mushy and nonadjustable, oem seat will give you monkey butt after 30 minutes of riding, tricking handling when riding two up (adults) on city streets, no grab bar for riders, oem handlebar bushings are made of foam rubber requiring replacement each season or more often, doesn't come standard with a center stand although it can be added easily, no gas gauge, no gear indicator (must calculate from the tach)or keep count. Things I wish Honda had put on it as standard features: single rear disc brake, dual front disc brakes, comfortable seat with grab bar, aluminum handlebar bushings, adjustable front forks, center stand in addition to the kick stand, maintenance free battery, a model with 1200cc option. Conclusion: all bikes have their plus's and minus's and the Nighthawk 750 is no different. I love the bike and it was just right for the commuter bike I wanted. Two or three of the bigger bikes are trying to lure me away from the little girl so I am not sure how long I will keep her. I just wish Honda had kept up with the model upgrading its features to meet the public's demands. Every bike manufacturer thinks the American public wants a Ducati or Harley look alike. The Nighthawk 750 (more or less) is still sold in Japan as a CB750. It is the same motor, same body with a brake upgrade and updated looks. It would be nice for Honda to reintroduce the model to the US market.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Jarrettsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2008-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2000 Nighthawk 750 in 2005. I have put on 6000 miles, mostly in clear weather commutes and pleasure rides. I always get over 50 mpg and always enjoy riding from March to November. Plenty of power, easy to maneuver and low maintenance. This is the perfect bike for the person riding every day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay S

Deerfield Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 92 Nighthawk 750 and it's a great bike, small and light enough for a commuter, yet able to cross the continent. Will cruise at 85 all day, no sweat. I've put about 5K miles on it since purchase and no troubles at all. Of course, as the "last of the standards," the seating position is comfortably upright, not hunched over like on a sportbike or unnaturally balanced on your backbone with legs splayed out, like a cruiser. Wish list: a 6-speed and shaft drive, and a longer kickstand as it leans quite a bit. That and a one-inch lower seat, but that's me. I have it set up as a sport tourer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zachtank

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have now logged my first 1700 miles in my first 2 months of ownership, and I thought it was a good time to write a review. This is my first bike, and long before completing my local MSF Beginning Riders Course (also highly recommended) and acquiring my motorcycle license, my research had really focused me on this bike. I thought that the size and power would be good for me as a beginning rider, without being overwhelming. That has been the case completely. The weight might be a little heavy for smaller/less sturdy riders, and as with any bike you're the master of your own destiny, i.e. a bike is only as dangerous as your throttle hand makes it, but it's quick enough to keep me excited about riding and it's detuned enough that you can twist away at that throttle without getting any accidental air under your front tire plus you get excellent reliability. I use it as an everyday commuter bike, and, of course, as a fun bike. I've had some scary moments locking up the rear wheel under heavy braking half a dozen times or so, once for more than 30 feet, but have yet to high side it fortunately. I'm a little bit of a thrill seeker (unfortunately for my long-term living prospects), so more conservative riders shouldn't probably worry about this - that's just what happens when the car in front of you stops and you're doing 65+. Great buy!! You won't regret it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DrThunder

White Lake, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-10-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This has been my first riding season, and my bike is a 1993 Honda Nighthawk 750. Rest assured, if I had done my Internet homework before buying, I might have reconsidered. As it is, there is a Nighthawk in my garage, and I couldn't be more pleased. It should also be made clear that since I don't have a long motorcycling history, the Nighthawk represents my baseline in comparing motorcycles. It was the bike I cut my teeth on, and it is has been my primary ride (on nicer days) for the last couple of months. I should also note, I'm 6 feet tall, weigh 250 pounds, and have a 32 inch inseam. When I first was bitten by the motorcycle bug, I asked a lot of questions about things like brands, displacements and styles of motorcycles. My strongest influence recommended Honda, 600cc, and sport respectively. Aesthetically and ergonomically, I wasn't attracted to sportbikes. I don't do much long-distance riding, but even on the showroom floor sportbikes felt awkward and uncomfortable. Cruisers were more comfortable, but they still didn't feel quite right. I tried some dual-sports, but my stumpy legs left me grasping for the floor with my feet (if that's possible for non-simian primates who wear shoes). When I sat down on the Nighthawk, it was more like I found THE bike. The first few days of riding taught me a thing or two: first, it takes every muscle in your body to lift a 470 pound bike off of its side; and second, the handlebar doesn't like 700 pounds of bike and rider falling on it. I had to replace the starboard bracket, and the bar is still slightly more swept back on that side than the other. In practical riding, I have had no problems. The bike either pounces on green lights or accelerates so smoothly that my mother could almost stand to approve of me riding (she can't, but you get the idea). The curvy "Lake" roads of Oakland County offer no challenge to the Nighthawk. I can zip around the twisty Pontiac Lake, Williams Lake, Elizabeth Lake, and Cooley Lake Roads at speeds I don't feel comfortable with in my car. I don't drive as aggressively as some, so I can't comment on the bike's ability to pass between semis at 100mph with two feet of clearance on either side and the front wheel in the air. I will say the bike is a more-than-competent commuter for suburban areas. The bike I purchased was used and came with an aftermarket windshield. Why the windshield was added I'll never know. The person who owned it before me must have been a few inches shorter than me, because the shield dumped all the displaced air squarely in my face. I wear a full-face helmet, so there was no discomfort issue, but the noise was incredible. After I removed the windshield, the wind noise was still there, but greatly reduced in volume and ferocity. Too much power has never been an issue for me. My two or three incidents of malicious gravitation were of the same type: stop-shift-stall-fall. The 750cc engine does, however, bring my immense bulk up to speed effectively and quickly. I sometimes wonder if most of the power goes into getting my mass moving or keeping my less-than-aerodynamics carapace from dragging the bike to a halt. To make a long and rambling review short: I like the Nighthawk 750 more than any bike I've ever ridden... which isn't saying much since it's the only bike I've ever ridden. It's a classy rig that can move a big guy like me and still have enough 'oompf' to shake a tail feather or two. However, if power and weight scare you, inquire elsewhere. Just as a side note. One of the common complaints about this bike is the soft fork suspension. For a person of greater heft, this is an even more visible issue. I'm looking into new fork springs, as that was a recommended upgrade for riders who, like myself, weigh twice as much as Honda's ideal, average rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bug

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2003-03-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had more bikes than I can count, including the original CB750. The late model Nighthawk is an ideal balance of power and practicality once the missing parts are added (centerstand, luggage rack, windshield if used for distance). It's affordable, reliable, and won't get stolen like my Sportster did last year. Should be the only bike you ever need.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

pasystm

denton, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
this is a really solid bike, engine is tried and true, chances are this bike will last 50k+ miles. really nice and smooth motor, forgiving at low speeds, bike will get up and go when reved, rips pretty good from about 6000rpms. not sportbike kinda power but definately rip just about any cruiser.(except, magna or vmax of course). bike is little heavy, not really a newbie bike unless you are 6ft. handles pretty good, can definately muscle it around in corners, but tires are crapola. the rubber is the only thing between you and the asphalt. seriously get some radials on it, is possible to get 160's on, that is my only major gripe. a minor gripe is the brakes, would be niced to see triple disc. but still stops well. is comfortable to ride, obviously wind blast on the highway. top speed, is around 120-125mph. pretty strong accleration up to 105mph after that, just brace in the wind and wait to hit max. hehe. oh one more thing.. really tough to wheelie on this bike. if u like to wheelie, basically, forget it. just not snappy enough. needs to be reved for power. overall, this is a great machine, so solid and reliable, does exactly what it was made for. but if you want to push the limits..... sportbikes. ride smart, ride safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Ludwig

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2001-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
All the Motorcycle Magazines ... US and Brit, anyway ... say "Boring". And these are the folks that are driving the market ... creating the glamour ... selling the sizzle, not the steak. The Honda Nighthawk is not packaged for sizzle buyers. I bought mine used last April with 14,400 miles on it ... and have added another 1200 miles so far this summer. I have a low tolerance for "boring". I have not been bored. Perhaps I'd want another bike if I were going to the track. I have added the Hondaline windscreen, backrest, centerstand, and case guards ... some Joe Rocket soft saddlebags and tank bag ... next week I head off to Canada. Nope. Not boring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Thomas

Edwardsville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2001-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Understanding that everyone has different tastes and that there is no such thing as a perfect bike, for me, this as good as it gets with what is currently offered in the U.S. Unfortunately, this bike lacks the displacement and has too much plastic to satisfy all my needs. I like "standard" bikes and this bike looks great to me but I went to a Yamaha Vmax to make up for the deficiencies in this bike. That was a mistake. No bike has everything (at least none in current production). I don't have one right now, but I will be going back to the Nighthawk because it suits me better than my Vmax. It combines practicality, looks, and handling, and performs as good as is necessary for everyday riding. The Vmax lacks the clean lines and maneuverability that the Nighthawk has but is more solid and much more torquey. But unless you're some sort of speed demon, it just isn't necessary to go from 0-100 in the same time you go 0-60 on the Nighthawk. Also, if you are dollar-conscious like me, consider the fact that the Honda costs little more than half that of the Vmax. Why compare bikes that are seemingly much different than one another? Both are unique in the current motorcycling world in that they have a standard seating position instead of typical laid-back cruiser or crotch-rocket feel. The main reason I moved up to the Max was increased speed and displacement. But at 60mph, they both run at about 4,000rpm. I found out the hard way that casual motorcycling isn't about how fast you can get to 100mph or how much faster than 100 you can go, but more about how competent the handling is and what style of bike suits you best. The best thing about the Nighthawk is that it isn't overrated like many other bikes, including the Vmax. All this said, I would like to see an upgraded/higher displacement/higher quality (less plastic) version of the Nighthawk in the future.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 35 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: