Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-02-29 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 91 nighthawk from its original owner with around 9000 miles. It’s been an excellent bike, but for a taller individual like myself (6,2) it hurts my back and legs on long trips. It also in my opinion could greatly be improved if it had a sixth gear. Other then that it’s been fantastic. I’d recommend one to anyone.
- Al , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-03 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 35 years, decided to begin riding a bike again - after all that is what some going thru a mid-life crisis do... Yep, I took the safety class and realized why my teenage motorcycle mishaps occurred - well worth the money and time, might save your life. Anyway, researched bikes for 4 months before purchasing my 2000 Nighthawk 750. I felt I needed a bike with at least 60bhp for my frame, didn't like the feel of a sportbike and thought the cruisers too hard to control being so low and heavy. I found the Nighthawk to have autoadjusting hydraulic lifters plus a history of reliability. I purchased mine in May, 2008 with 16k+ miles - today it has about 20k+ miles on it. I use the bike for commuting 20 miles each way each day (weather permitting) on rural roads, city streets downtown, local highways and the inter-state. It is quite at home in all of these environments. It has the power to hold its own on the interstate and the maneuverability to deal with the caged drivers in the city. Fourteen months and 4k miles later I feel can offer the following to those considering buying one: Pro's: High reliability, new parts seem to be easy to get considering the last year this model was sold in the US was 2003, very maneuverable and predicable for the new rider, seems to receive a lot of respect from the sport bike riders and cruiser riders alike, you don't see one on every street corner, plenty of power to ride two up on the highway, low cost of maintenance. Cons: Drum brake on the rear and single disc rotor on the front, few upgrade options from 3rd party vendors, front fork springs are mushy and nonadjustable, oem seat will give you monkey butt after 30 minutes of riding, tricking handling when riding two up (adults) on city streets, no grab bar for riders, oem handlebar bushings are made of foam rubber requiring replacement each season or more often, doesn't come standard with a center stand although it can be added easily, no gas gauge, no gear indicator (must calculate from the tach)or keep count. Things I wish Honda had put on it as standard features: single rear disc brake, dual front disc brakes, comfortable seat with grab bar, aluminum handlebar bushings, adjustable front forks, center stand in addition to the kick stand, maintenance free battery, a model with 1200cc option. Conclusion: all bikes have their plus's and minus's and the Nighthawk 750 is no different. I love the bike and it was just right for the commuter bike I wanted. Two or three of the bigger bikes are trying to lure me away from the little girl so I am not sure how long I will keep her. I just wish Honda had kept up with the model upgrading its features to meet the public's demands. Every bike manufacturer thinks the American public wants a Ducati or Harley look alike. The Nighthawk 750 (more or less) is still sold in Japan as a CB750. It is the same motor, same body with a brake upgrade and updated looks. It would be nice for Honda to reintroduce the model to the US market.
- zzzoomer, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-11 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Nighthawk 750 in 2005. I have put on 6000 miles, mostly in clear weather commutes and pleasure rides. I always get over 50 mpg and always enjoy riding from March to November. Plenty of power, easy to maneuver and low maintenance. This is the perfect bike for the person riding every day.
- Scott, Jarrettsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 92 Nighthawk 750 and it's a great bike, small and light enough for a commuter, yet able to cross the continent. Will cruise at 85 all day, no sweat. I've put about 5K miles on it since purchase and no troubles at all. Of course, as the "last of the standards," the seating position is comfortably upright, not hunched over like on a sportbike or unnaturally balanced on your backbone with legs splayed out, like a cruiser. Wish list: a 6-speed and shaft drive, and a longer kickstand as it leans quite a bit. That and a one-inch lower seat, but that's me. I have it set up as a sport tourer.
- Jay S, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now logged my first 1700 miles in my first 2 months of ownership, and I thought it was a good time to write a review. This is my first bike, and long before completing my local MSF Beginning Riders Course (also highly recommended) and acquiring my motorcycle license, my research had really focused me on this bike. I thought that the size and power would be good for me as a beginning rider, without being overwhelming. That has been the case completely. The weight might be a little heavy for smaller/less sturdy riders, and as with any bike you're the master of your own destiny, i.e. a bike is only as dangerous as your throttle hand makes it, but it's quick enough to keep me excited about riding and it's detuned enough that you can twist away at that throttle without getting any accidental air under your front tire plus you get excellent reliability. I use it as an everyday commuter bike, and, of course, as a fun bike. I've had some scary moments locking up the rear wheel under heavy braking half a dozen times or so, once for more than 30 feet, but have yet to high side it fortunately. I'm a little bit of a thrill seeker (unfortunately for my long-term living prospects), so more conservative riders shouldn't probably worry about this - that's just what happens when the car in front of you stops and you're doing 65+. Great buy!! You won't regret it.
- Zachtank, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-18 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been my first riding season, and my bike is a 1993 Honda Nighthawk 750. Rest assured, if I had done my Internet homework before buying, I might have reconsidered. As it is, there is a Nighthawk in my garage, and I couldn't be more pleased. It should also be made clear that since I don't have a long motorcycling history, the Nighthawk represents my baseline in comparing motorcycles. It was the bike I cut my teeth on, and it is has been my primary ride (on nicer days) for the last couple of months. I should also note, I'm 6 feet tall, weigh 250 pounds, and have a 32 inch inseam. When I first was bitten by the motorcycle bug, I asked a lot of questions about things like brands, displacements and styles of motorcycles. My strongest influence recommended Honda, 600cc, and sport respectively. Aesthetically and ergonomically, I wasn't attracted to sportbikes. I don't do much long-distance riding, but even on the showroom floor sportbikes felt awkward and uncomfortable. Cruisers were more comfortable, but they still didn't feel quite right. I tried some dual-sports, but my stumpy legs left me grasping for the floor with my feet (if that's possible for non-simian primates who wear shoes). When I sat down on the Nighthawk, it was more like I found THE bike. The first few days of riding taught me a thing or two: first, it takes every muscle in your body to lift a 470 pound bike off of its side; and second, the handlebar doesn't like 700 pounds of bike and rider falling on it. I had to replace the starboard bracket, and the bar is still slightly more swept back on that side than the other. In practical riding, I have had no problems. The bike either pounces on green lights or accelerates so smoothly that my mother could almost stand to approve of me riding (she can't, but you get the idea). The curvy "Lake" roads of Oakland County offer no challenge to the Nighthawk. I can zip around the twisty Pontiac Lake, Williams Lake, Elizabeth Lake, and Cooley Lake Roads at speeds I don't feel comfortable with in my car. I don't drive as aggressively as some, so I can't comment on the bike's ability to pass between semis at 100mph with two feet of clearance on either side and the front wheel in the air. I will say the bike is a more-than-competent commuter for suburban areas. The bike I purchased was used and came with an aftermarket windshield. Why the windshield was added I'll never know. The person who owned it before me must have been a few inches shorter than me, because the shield dumped all the displaced air squarely in my face. I wear a full-face helmet, so there was no discomfort issue, but the noise was incredible. After I removed the windshield, the wind noise was still there, but greatly reduced in volume and ferocity. Too much power has never been an issue for me. My two or three incidents of malicious gravitation were of the same type: stop-shift-stall-fall. The 750cc engine does, however, bring my immense bulk up to speed effectively and quickly. I sometimes wonder if most of the power goes into getting my mass moving or keeping my less-than-aerodynamics carapace from dragging the bike to a halt. To make a long and rambling review short: I like the Nighthawk 750 more than any bike I've ever ridden... which isn't saying much since it's the only bike I've ever ridden. It's a classy rig that can move a big guy like me and still have enough 'oompf' to shake a tail feather or two. However, if power and weight scare you, inquire elsewhere. Just as a side note. One of the common complaints about this bike is the soft fork suspension. For a person of greater heft, this is an even more visible issue. I'm looking into new fork springs, as that was a recommended upgrade for riders who, like myself, weigh twice as much as Honda's ideal, average rider.
- DrThunder, White Lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-26 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had more bikes than I can count, including the original CB750. The late model Nighthawk is an ideal balance of power and practicality once the missing parts are added (centerstand, luggage rack, windshield if used for distance). It's affordable, reliable, and won't get stolen like my Sportster did last year. Should be the only bike you ever need.
- bug, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-09 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is a really solid bike, engine is tried and true, chances are this bike will last 50k+ miles. really nice and smooth motor, forgiving at low speeds, bike will get up and go when reved, rips pretty good from about 6000rpms. not sportbike kinda power but definately rip just about any cruiser.(except, magna or vmax of course). bike is little heavy, not really a newbie bike unless you are 6ft. handles pretty good, can definately muscle it around in corners, but tires are crapola. the rubber is the only thing between you and the asphalt. seriously get some radials on it, is possible to get 160's on, that is my only major gripe. a minor gripe is the brakes, would be niced to see triple disc. but still stops well. is comfortable to ride, obviously wind blast on the highway. top speed, is around 120-125mph. pretty strong accleration up to 105mph after that, just brace in the wind and wait to hit max. hehe. oh one more thing.. really tough to wheelie on this bike. if u like to wheelie, basically, forget it. just not snappy enough. needs to be reved for power. overall, this is a great machine, so solid and reliable, does exactly what it was made for. but if you want to push the limits..... sportbikes. ride smart, ride safe.
- pasystm, denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-25 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the Motorcycle Magazines ... US and Brit, anyway ... say "Boring". And these are the folks that are driving the market ... creating the glamour ... selling the sizzle, not the steak. The Honda Nighthawk is not packaged for sizzle buyers. I bought mine used last April with 14,400 miles on it ... and have added another 1200 miles so far this summer. I have a low tolerance for "boring". I have not been bored. Perhaps I'd want another bike if I were going to the track. I have added the Hondaline windscreen, backrest, centerstand, and case guards ... some Joe Rocket soft saddlebags and tank bag ... next week I head off to Canada. Nope. Not boring.
- Bob Ludwig, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Understanding that everyone has different tastes and that there is no such thing as a perfect bike, for me, this as good as it gets with what is currently offered in the U.S. Unfortunately, this bike lacks the displacement and has too much plastic to satisfy all my needs. I like "standard" bikes and this bike looks great to me but I went to a Yamaha Vmax to make up for the deficiencies in this bike. That was a mistake. No bike has everything (at least none in current production). I don't have one right now, but I will be going back to the Nighthawk because it suits me better than my Vmax. It combines practicality, looks, and handling, and performs as good as is necessary for everyday riding. The Vmax lacks the clean lines and maneuverability that the Nighthawk has but is more solid and much more torquey. But unless you're some sort of speed demon, it just isn't necessary to go from 0-100 in the same time you go 0-60 on the Nighthawk. Also, if you are dollar-conscious like me, consider the fact that the Honda costs little more than half that of the Vmax. Why compare bikes that are seemingly much different than one another? Both are unique in the current motorcycling world in that they have a standard seating position instead of typical laid-back cruiser or crotch-rocket feel. The main reason I moved up to the Max was increased speed and displacement. But at 60mph, they both run at about 4,000rpm. I found out the hard way that casual motorcycling isn't about how fast you can get to 100mph or how much faster than 100 you can go, but more about how competent the handling is and what style of bike suits you best. The best thing about the Nighthawk is that it isn't overrated like many other bikes, including the Vmax. All this said, I would like to see an upgraded/higher displacement/higher quality (less plastic) version of the Nighthawk in the future.
- Jason Thomas, Edwardsville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-09 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 41 motorcycles in the last 28 years. All types and sizes. Been there, done that. I am on my seventh Nighthawk!!! What else can I say.
- Little eddie, Santa Barbara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-27 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own a 1985 650 with shaft drive what a bike 21000 miles but the shaft robbed a lot of power wished they kept shaft on the 750 then you would have a perfect bike. my two cents.
- bob, Massachusettes

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-23 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is perfect for me. I have a little over 200 miles on it and can already see myself riding it for years. I'm taking it slow to break it in gradually, but I can see it has plenty of power for me. It handles great and the brakes are just fine, even with a drum on the back. The seat is comfortable as well. The first thing I'll probably buy for my bike will be a windscreen and after that maybe louder pipes. I can't complain about anything about this bike. It does everything I want it to and more. This bike is my first and I'm 23 yrs. old. For the money, low-maintenance and great looks, this bike is hard to beat!
- Sonny, Eastern, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-22 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many bikes including a new Nighthawk 750 and it is definitely a competent, powerful and low maintenance machine. That said, it doesn't hold a candle to my new Suzuki SV 650. Both bikes cost the same and have similar, standard seating positions. The SV, however, is an absolute blast to ride. The V-twin delivers power over a broad band, the handling is superb, the braking system is top notch and the thing just flat out looks sexy. Comparatively speaking, the Nighthawk seems low tech and boring.
- travis pipkin, Austin, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-08 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2000 NH, it is my first bike. I'm glad my folks talked me into getting the larger NH rather than a 450 or smaller bike. It is extremely comfortable to ride, except for the seat, which i will be replacing this summer with a Corbin. Extremely low maintenance is a definite plus. I have added engine guards and am working on adding a targa tsunami fairing which makes it look incredible. I am working on a nighthawk website so I can find riders in this area to go riding with this summer. http://www.telenet.net/~jetta It is under construction, but come back soon and check for updates. gary
- gary, Albany Area, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-02 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reviewing several bikes, on February 24,I decided to purchase a 2001 Nighthawk based on fit, price, and maintenance. The dealer had to go get this bike out of the warehouse, since they are not usually on the dealer floors (very long if that), I bought it right out of the crate. I new, compared to sportbikes, just by sitting on it that I could be resonably comfortable while riding. Only thing I wish that honda would have made the center stand standard for this bike, other manufacturers still include this part on theirs. Am presently considering a shield.
- John, Bolivar, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-13 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being my third Nighthawk should tell you something. These bikes are great. My first was an 1983 550 Nighthawk, 72,345mi. My second, and the absolute best Nighthawk ever made, 1984 Nighthawk 700S, 84,126mi. These bikes were made from 1984-1986. If you can find one in excellent condition, buy it! My new 2001 Nighthawk 750 has all of 28 mi. on it. I just purchased it last week. I can't say much about this bike other than the key to it for me is the engine. You can rack up a ton of miles with little maintenance. (3000 mi. oil changes and scheduled maint.) With some add on luggage and a windshield your set to tour. You can't go wrong with a Nighthawk.
- Greg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-07 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my '93 last year for a 2000 model. Had to get my dealer to order it for me, he did not have one in stock. Sure it could use a little more braking power and at times maybe a 6 speed transmission. I'm a fairly big man, 6'3" about 215 lbs, and my bike fits me real well. Guess that I'm a Standard Bike man and this fits all my needs. I also have the centerstand, case guards, backrest and luggage rack, also a Cobin seat (which is much more comfortable than the stock seat.) I've owned 6 bikes over the years and the Nighthawks are the best bikes I've owned.
- Lamar Douglas, St. Marys, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been racing and riding since 1965. This is the nicest bike I have owned. Mine is a 1991 Nighthawk, but what a bike. This one goes and doesn't complain, I have owned it for several years now and can review it correctly. I was looking at a Harley 1200 but I took a ride and except for the sound the Davidson is a &*&&%$ next to the Honda. Very nice bike, will purchase another one when this one dies. 14,000 miles and still going strong.
- Steve Hall, Corpus Christi, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It surprised me when the dealer said he would have to order my 2000 Nighthawk 750 because he doesn't stock them. When asked why he said "nobody wants them so why keep them in stockWell I wanted one and glad I got it. It sure was a step up from my 1969 Honda CB450. The only change I plan on making and don't understand why it didn't come with one is to add a center stand.
- Bruce, Valdosta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-28 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 Nighthawk that I picked up at the end of '99 for $5,000. All I can say is, this was one hell of a great deal. I've spent some great hours riding the country twisties, and the bike really handles decently. The power is definitely there, and really comes alive with the addition of a K&N air filter. The only downside on this bike is the lack of braking power, a disc in the rear would be great.
- E.B., New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a '91 red one and when I bought this one it had 8,300 mi on it. It was well kept for and I love it. At first it was sluggish but I am much younger than the one who first owned it. I replaced the breather and that was a breath of fresh air for it. I have had a lot of bikes and this one is a keeper. When and if it wears out I hope they still make these I will purchase another (Christ willing).
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The glossy paged m/c magazines always tend to downrate this bike because its not the 'latest-greatest-boy racer' thing on the market. I've been riding for over 20 years, and have owned 15 bikes of all types. I paid $4800.00 out the door for a 'new' leftover 1999 at the local Honda dealer, and never spent better money on a M/C! The inline 750 Honda is one of the best, most powerful and maintenance free mills ever made (25 years of practice makes perfect!). It handles, accelerates and brakes as well as any new boy rocket out there! Definitely a keeper! Buy the Honda line windshieled, centerstand, caseguards and passenger backrest/luggage rack and use this one as a perfect all-around bike!
- Tim O, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new Nighthawk now has 3600 miles. Keeping up with city traffic can be difficult, as I get left behind most cars when the light turns green. I now really open the throttle with higher rpm's which seems to help. I wish my stock 750 Nighthawk had a little more power in stop and go trafficbut it's something I can live with. Might look into carb. jet kits for a little better acceleration...
- Anonymous, Frank Eugene Lancaster, calif.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my bike used from a private party. He'd kept it garaged and in mint condition for the past four years (it's a 96). A beautiful racing yellow color which is the same exact bike as the 2000 model. I love this bike. Its fast, its comfortable, and it looks great. This is my first bike so I have nothing to compare it to but I doubt they come better than this. Every one stops fo a closer look at it whenever I take it out. I'm loving life and I have this beauty to thank for it.
- Tan Rezaei, Seal Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: