Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (61)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-08 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2000 Ace with 4200 km on it and have owned it for coming on two years. I ride from April - October and enjoy every minute of it. In two seasons of riding, I added 28,000 km, with no problems on long and short trips. All decked out and I get a lot of comments. I cruise with a buddy who rides a Goldwing and everyone walking by comments on my Ace, not his Goldwing. Great bike just waiting for winter to end.
- Clint, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-30 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT MY HONDA SHADOW ACE 750 ON MARCH 31ST OF THIS YEAR. I HAVE 5000 MILES ON IT ALREADY. TODAY IS JULY 30TH, 2004. SO THAT SAYS A LOT. THE ONLY THING I DID TO MINE SO FAR IS SADDLE BAGS AND DRAG PIPES. THE FACTORY PIPES ARE OKAY IF YOU WANT REAL QUIET. BUT IF YOU WANT THE THRILL OF THE ROAR, GO THIS WAY. THE BIKE HAS PERFORMED AWESOME. I haven't RIDDEN IN 10 YEARS OR SO. I FEEL LIKE A KID AGAIN, I'M NO SMALL GUY AND THIS BIKE HAULS ME REAL GOOD. I WENT TO PA THIS MONTH AND TOOK THE MOUNTIANS LIKE STORM. GAS MILEAGE IS GOOD. IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT GETTING ONE, I SUGGEST YOU GO FOR IT. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THIS BIKE.
- CHUCK BLAKE, MYRTLE BEACH, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-12 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, I am very happy with the bike, it is my 4th in 20 years. A good bike for a confident beginner or an experienced rider. It has a great platform for customization. High quality and reliability. Very stable on the road. Burns no oil. 60 mpg regularly. Purchased with drag bars - excellent results and comfort.
- JL Crosby, Sumner, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-02 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very happy with it. Having the timeof my life. Approach this middle weight cruiser with reasonable expectations and you will be very happy with it too.
- Brian Morris, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-26 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Shadow was always my first choice. I had an 1100 back in 1989 and I had loved it. I thought I needed another 1100 but as to my surprise the Ace 750 seems to stack up to the bigger cruisers very well. The balance on the bike is wonderfull. With a dry weight of over 500 lbs it does very well on the highway. The look of the bike is out standing. I have Harley riders commenting on its look all the time. The cons that most people have are that over 70 mph it does not have the get up and go. I figure once your doing 70 - 75 how much get up and go do you need?? Does it go 80 - 90 Yes and it still wanted more. The chain drive is another complaint, that it slings oil all over. Well according to the specks you should oil the chain every 500 miles or so. With one big oiling at 500 it will fling oil about. I figure every 200 miles a little oil and.. well... hey there is very little oil and the chain is being maintained and I am able to keep an eye on the condition. Over all this is a great bike that handles well and looks like you spent a high dollar on it (but you didn't) So go out and have some fun if your not sure test drive a few of the middle weight cruisers and pick the one that suits you. I believe you will see that Honda has done a good job with this bike. Ride On!
- Mr. Jim, Kenosha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-26 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If I have ever done anything right in my life it was purchasing this bike. As far as price for product goes this bike takes the cake. I bought mine brand new when I graduated and could not of been happier. The "ACE" combines an aesthetic charm with a peppy 750 cc engine that will impress the most critical rider.
- Donald Abraham, Grand Haven, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-18 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently decided to take up riding as a hobby that I could participate in with my dad who has been an avid rider for 30 years. I took the MSF course and began shopping for my first street bike. The ACE caught my eye on my first visit to a local showroom, and after much deliberation between the 750 ACE, VStar 650 and Marauder 800 I decided on the ACE; shopped around to find a good deal and haven't been disappointed with my decision! I purchased a 2000 Deluxe Model (Silver/Black Motif) and have added a Memphis Windshield. I'll be adding a Cobra Sissy Bar and saddlebags in the coming month. The bike is wonderful! I feel like I am in total control at all times (I'm 5'10", 210lbs.) and have opened it up on the highway with no hesitation. My only complaint so far is with the standard accessories (most are plastic), but with the money I saved, I can easily upgrade to chrome. I'd recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great starter bike at a great price. I'll be riding this little beauty for a while.
- John, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-02 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2000 Shadow Ace 750 in Red and Black and it is an awesome bike. This bike always starts and runs perfectly with ample crusing power. It is very easy to drive and handling is wonderful. All systems and controls are very smooth and easy to operate on this machine. Do no hesitate if you are thinking of buying one. Lots of chrome, Honda reliabilty and resale value earns this fine machine an A+
- Jim, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-30 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Put on 2600 miles since first review. Put some chrome fender tips from J.C. Whitney. And will be putting on fiberglass bags from Cyclemall soon. Looking into a Mustang seat from other reviews this seems to be the way to go. this bike just looks great with the more personnel touches as you go. Heading for Blue Ridges Mtsn. in spring.
- Rider, Leon, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-27 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say that the other reviews haven't said? I recently bought this bike and, well, I've never been able to say "home sweet home" until now! Being 6'0" of course the seat is unbearable after about 10 minutes of riding, so I will definitely throw a custom fit Corbin on there one of these days. But in the mean time -- love the handlebars, love the sound, love the looks, love the comments, and, most of all, love the ride!
- Dave, East Bay, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-27 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I checked out four major Japanese cruisers in the medium power/medium price range and decided on the Shadow Ace. I have not been disappointed. The attractive looks, neat sound and superior handling make it the best bike for the buck if you are looking for this type of cycling fun (I am 60 and have mellowed out a little bit). I have outfitted it with a Dakota windshield, saddlebags and driving lights and people are quick to mistake it for a vintage Harley...humorous for an old Triumph/BSA rider like myself! All in all, it's quite a hoot to ride and gets 60 mpg.
- Ken Shoemaker, Staunton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have about 12,000k on my '99 VT750CD. I have ridden almost every bike in this class, and still love my bike the best, though I did have a blast on Kawasaki's 800 Vulcan Classic. As for the ACE, if you don't mind keeping up with the chain maintenance, it is a great middleweight. I only wish Honda would give up on those rear drum brakes. I have made the following modifications: Hondaline Windshield, Backrest, Rear Carrier, and Chrome Radiator Cover; Mustang Vintage Studded Seat; National Cycle Cruiserliner Hard Bags, Light Bar, and Fender Tips; Kuryakyn Grips and Footpegs; Chrome Switch Box housings from Show Chrome Accessories, and a variety of chrome parts from JC Whitney and Pro One. I have just installed Thunder Manufacturing's teardrop air kit (K&N filter) and jet kit, and am awaiting pipes from RoadHouse Brand. My hope is that I will get a good high-end power boost, the one thing this bike (and any of its class) is missing. Out of all these mods, I would highly recommend the Mustang seat and the Hard Bags. If you ride two-up, the Mustang has the biggest passenger seat on the market. You won't even feel them back there. The bags are easy to install, come off in a couple seconds, and compliment the look of this bike perfectly. I also happen to love the Kuryakyn ISO grips, with the throttle boss. It's like wearing gel-padded gloves. I would recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a retro-cruiser in the middleweight class. The Kawasaki 800 lineup is also a great choice.
- Trish, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a few notes for your consideration. I've owned my silver/white Ace since early March. The bike is a good running, good looking, stable cruiser. It is NOT nor was it designed to be an interstate rocket. I don't know if it's worth the trouble to change the rear sprocket and chain to lower the rpm on the highway because it would require more clutch slipping to get moving from a stop. It runs best at 50-60 mph in 5th gear. I consistently get 55mpg town and country. Running at 70 on I-15 yields 45mpg. The dealer service at 600 miles cost just over $120 for labor + oil and filter. Insurance (Farmers) costs less than $100/year. The bike looks better without the rear seat. Install a solo rack in its place. I'd replace the front seat if I had $300 to send to Mustang. I doubt I'll drill out the exhaust baffles to change the idle sound. Quality problems: The speedo indicates about 3 mph too high. The fuel tank was not centered on the bike. The "U" shaped front tank mounts were not positioned properly prior to welding. I took care of that with shims. The dealer replaced the scratched front fender under warranty. I've added a headlight bezel, solo rack, and license plate frame to the otherwise stock bike. It gets favorable comments from everyone.
- Steve, Roy, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-06 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 12-year absence from riding, I got a Ace Deluxe 750, primarily for commuting purposes. My only previous riding experience was sport bikes, so getting used to riding 'cruiser style' took a couple of days. The low seating position does help inspire confidence, but it certainly isn't flickable like a sport bike. Complaints: Seat - I'm 5'11", and the seat just plain hurts the tail bone. Looks good sitting in the showroom, not so practical in real life. Figure on spending a good few hundred dollars on a seat. Right foot position - No real comfortable place to put my foot on the brake lever side. Of course, I have big feet (11 1/2), so that might have something to do with it. Buzzy - At highway speed (70mph) tingly feet, buzzy handlebars. Throttle hand goes numb pretty quick Other than the seat, these are minor complaints, and probably common to this type of bike. The looks and feel of the bike more than make up for that. As far as power, well, my '81 Honda 750F would smoke it. you're not going to get to many exhibitions of speed tickets on this bike. It does have more than ample power to get you up to cruising speed and stay there, no worries there. Why only 4 stars? The seat. Totally inexcusable to make such a bad seat, and it looks so comfy on the showroom floor. Overall, if you're looking for great commuter, a cool looking cruiser, and a medium duty tourer (once you replace the seat), this the bike. An 1100, in my opinion, is much too large for a primary commuter, and I think the 600 VLK maybe a bit small to use for some medium duty touring.
- Karl Hoelscher, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-05 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I graduated up from my vintage 1973 Honda CB350 (which is for sale) to this new Honda (actually a 2000 still in the crate) 4 weeks ago. I drive it in to NYC daily and love it. Fast, smooth and no worries at all. I was also looking at the 1100cc models but the insurance it 3x as much. I went for this one because it looked awesome (two tone grey/black) and since I bought it I've added lots of chrome (side covers, cables, etc), a windshield and saddle bags. I think I am a lifetime Honda rider. Good luck to all.
- John F, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-09 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2001 750 Ace with little reluctance. I graduated from a 500 cc 1985 Shadow (had to let it go). I went with Honda again because the 85 Shadow gave me no trouble at all in 15 years. Honda makes a good quality cruiser. When it comes to reliability and fun riding - She is always there for me. Wish I could say the same about my girl... TT
- Tom Townsend, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-06 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 750 ACE, a black one, in December. Really love it. No problems at all, rides great. I have added windshield, bags and backrest. Getting almost 58 miles per gallon in all around riding. Have a couple of questions? Does anyone know the horsepower and the torque ratings for the 750. Also is it worth the effort/expense to change rear sprocket for less vibes at highway speeds. What sprocket size should it be and still have power when riding in the hills.
- David L. Keneipp, Tulsa, OK

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-02 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have about 800 miles on my ACE and the bike seems to ride better every time I take it out. Put on a windshield and back rest and this bike is one great looking machine. Can't wait to take it down to the Jersey Shore for a nice long ride. I really do think that this bike is one, if now the, best looking bike around (and it rides great and is real comfortable). All this for under $6,000. Thanks, Honda.
- Michael, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-27 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2001 Honda ACE last month. I didn't think I would become so addicted to riding. I've ridden since 1989 and have not had as much fun as I do now with the ACE. The looks and value are second to none. My only complaint is that I don't have enough time in the day to ride!
- JB, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-06 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't owned a motorcycle in 10 years and I did a lot of research before buying this one. Honda has built the perfect mid-size cruiser. Unlike some riders, I love the soft rumble of the 2 into 1 stock mufflers. I also will happily keep the low end torque and give up the 70+ power with the stock gear ratio. I even like the factory seat. The only things I don't like are the stock passenger seat and the lack of a tachometer. Congratulations Honda, you've built a metric cycle that lets me hold my head high while waving to Harley riders.
- Mark Feenstra, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-07 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 3,000 miles it seemed like my ACE was always wound, buzzed, out on the interstates. After beeing told to change to a 37/38 tooth rear sprocket, add pipes and a jet kit, and add an air kit and making these changes my ACE is a different bike. It now easily cruises 75-80 with passing power and runs more in its power band w/lower rpms. With $500-1000 for these items it could be classed as the Highway or Hi-Po version. Will probably keep it a long, long time, which I wouldn't have said in the beginning. Looks, power, and pulse for the road junkie!
- Tank, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-23 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I reviewed my ACE Deluxe a few weeks ago. Since then I've put over 2500 miles on it and quite a few mods. 1)LeatherLyke saddle bags with my own custom SignalDynamics running and turn signal LEDs. They look way cool, and really help conspicuity. 2) The Mustang Saddle, as I said before, is awesome. 3) Added a National heavy tourer windscreen. tip: leave a decent gap around the headlamp in order to provide a vent and reduce back pressure. 4) Added chrome footpegs and brake pedal from JCWhitney. They look cool, but are a bit slick when wet. I'll take a file to them and get them both re-chromed. 5) Sissy bar and rack installed, look great and are really best when riding with a pillion rider. 6) It's well broken in now, and had the 600 mile service ($135!!!). What it really needs now is some more top end power . . . ideas anyone?
- Bert, McKinney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-14 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at a lot of Harleys and comparing prices and quality, I decided to buy the Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe!!! haven't road a bike in 20 years ,and after sitting on the Ace just for one minute i was convinced. Starts great. Runs Great . Sounds Great. And Looks great. Can wait for the weather to permit some long distance riding. Check this bike out. You can't go wrong. Price is right,and it's a real LOOKER! Eat your HEART out Sportster Fans!!!!
- Jesse T., Corning, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '99 ACE 750. After I put aftermarket pipes on mine it would backfire after it had sat for a week or so or if the outside temp was cold. When I had the service done last spring, I told the service dept at my dealer about it. The mechanic said the jets needed to be adjusted and he did that. Problem was fixed at no charge. Might need to find a new dealer if yours doesn't want to fix it. As for my review, I think it is a great bike at a great price. My only complaint is the stock seat which kills my butt after only 30 minutes or so. Needless to say, it is getting replaced.
- James, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 2000 Shadow Ace Deluxe in June 2000. I have never bought a new bike before alway older ones. I was attracted to the good looks and the price was the best on the market. After riding the bike for a few weeks it started to backfire, so I took it back to the daeler. They checked it and said there was nothing wrong. I began to ride it again and when it got hot not only would it backfire, but it would stall at lights while sitting in place. I took it back to the dealer and told them what was happening. The said thay took the carbs apart and fixed the problem. Again I took it out and it was still backfiring. I even noticed that it was missing a little bit. It has been back and forth to the dealer several time since and still the backfiring persists. Anyone else have any problems in this area. I was told this week that there have been problems with a pinched line to the carbs from the factory.
- Steve Moir, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: