Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (43)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-05-19 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a bike last year, and went into a Harley dealership. Nice bikes, but the 1200 was over $14K out the door. Insane!! A friend of mine recommended that I look at used bikes since I hadn't ridden before. Great advise. After taking the MSF class I started looking and found a used 2000 Spirit VT1100C in beautiful shape, and got it for $3,200. This is my first bike, and it's been great. Very forgiving, and an excellent bike to learn on. Not so big that it can't be handled, and not so small that it would be easy to outgrow. Since buying the bike I've replaced the tires with Metzlers, put on a Mustang seat and a National Cycle street shield. It's a confidence-building bike, and with every mile I ride it I get happier and happier. It's so much fun!! I'd do it all over again
- Steve, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-18 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2000 vt1100 spirit.effortless ride,decent power,wonderfull value.I put cobra turn out slip ons& found I didn,t need jetting. If you have average mech. skills its an easy installation.Sound is worth the effort. If you decide to pipe your bike I advise you to order the original muffler gaskit as you can,t reuse the old one as cobra instructions say to do.
- Terry Mc Ewan, Okeechobee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 85 Harley Sportster about 2 months ago and bought a 1100 Shadow Spirit. The bike looks great, handles well even 2 up and has plenty of power. It's a great bike for short cruises (under 200 miles). The seat gets a little numb after about an hour and a half riding. The fit and finish are beautiful. The only drawbacks are the lame exhaust and lack of promotion and accessories by Honda. Almost everyone who buys this bike will change the exhaust system and re-jet it. I put on Leatherlyke bags and A good quality windshield out of JC Whitney and the bike looks great. I recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality inexpensive cruiser.
- Dave Williams, Norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-02 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2000 Spirit February 2001 so I got a great deal on it. It came right out of the box. Pick it up with 1.2 miles. It now has 3400 miles on it and it is only the end of June. The bike has performed flawlessly. I have added a Hondaline windscreen that helps tremendously with wind fatigue. The factory seat is good for about 60-70 miles before the tailbone starts to buzz. The stock exhaust is not as throaty as I would like but hey its a Honda. My Vance & Hines are on the way. The black and red paint is great it receives many complements and rider accessories are easy to match. For a factory bike it has lots of chrome. I'm looking forward to the rest of the Summer and Fall
- Steve, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-16 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2001 - very nice bike. Strong engine, failry powerful after breakin and things loosen up. Hauls my wife OK, easy to manage in town. Great mileage on hi-way at 70+ about 50 mpg. Paint isn't the best and some of the working looks cheap but the price is reflective of that. I'm satisfied
- MH, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took delivery of my new 2002 model (black) today. First impression is I love it. It has very good power, and handles very well, good brakes, soft ride. I have ridden Harleys for 26 years, and just got tired of them, wanted something as powerful, but better handling, something more fun to ride. I have found it in this Spirit. Harleys are nice, but way too much money to buy, and upkeep. For years they were the only bike I would have, but that has changed. I waited for this Honda for 3 weeks, and it was worth every minute. Try one you will like it.
- Earl Riviere, Hitchcock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-24 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a 2001 VT1100 Spirit after 5 years of seeking the wife's permission. Couldn't afford a divorce and the bike! Rolled out the door for $8,300 and have never looked back. This bike fits me like a glove at 6' 220lbs. OK 240lbs. Plenty of power and handling is smooth and easy. Thought it was strange not to have a tach but the sound of the engine tells you when to shift up or down easy enough. Like so many of the reviews I have read, I too would like a little more exhaust note without offending the neighbors. I have seen several people talk about drilling 4 to 8 1/4" holes in the back of the mufflers but I am hesitant to do anything I my later regret. I would love to hear from anyone with experience in this process or after market pipes. I could speak about how great this bike is forever but I will summarize it in two words, "but it". I don't see how you could be disappointed.
- Dennis Kirkland, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-24 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I acquired a 2001 and have put about 2500 miles on it in the last month. Overall good value for the money. Great mileage 45 - 50 mpg at a variety of speeds/roads city to interstate. Handles well and engine gets smoother as the miles increase - breaking in well. I think the tires are OK at best. The brakes are less than I'd really like and the paint seems fragile. Not much to gripe about actually. I sure would recommend this bike if one is looking for an inexpensive, capable cruiser.
- Kat's Dad, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-19 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2001 Spirit. It is a blast to ride. It is as fun to ride as the classic styling suggests that it would be. Very easy to ride. I got used to it very early during my ten-mile test ride. The power is very nice at low-mid speeds. It's not a racer, but there is no struggle at all to keep up with, or ahead of traffic. The exhaust is good for stock, but could be a little louder. The only reason I do not have this bike rated at 5-stars is the availability of accessories. Aftermarket parts availability is horrible, and Honda has almost nothing. The Honda line windshield looks like it was sized for my son's Huffy.
- Roy Parker, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-13 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I bought a 2001, it is the perfect bike for us. Handles great!!!!! Only two wishes -- tach and fuel gage, other than that we couldn't be more pleased with it.
- Mike Tuscana, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-10 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 7000 miles on my Shadow. I tend to ride aggressive on curving roads, and I have to say this bike is a joy to ride. Have put on Cobra pipes and jet kit, K & N filter and a fair amount of chrome. At 6'3 235#s, I need to upgrade suspension. Point this bike and it goes. Nothing to regret in buying this bike.
- Ed Smith, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-03 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a year ago because of its classic style. It was the first bike I ever owned. I never got to practice on anything else. So needless to say me and this bike have grown fond of one another. The low-end torque was the first thing that I noticed. I mean it is clean. It's extremely easy to shift gears. Extremely easy to handle on turns, and most of all it looks and feels great. I bought the black one and I've nothing but compliments. I've only put 700 miles on it in almost a year not because I can't handle it but my job doesn't allow for long time off. Only complaint is that for a beginner like me I would have preferred a tachometer at least for looks and possibly a fuel indicator. Other than that I'll keep this bike for a long long time -- unless I get the 2002vtx1800c.
- Cruiser Owner, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good solid bike: powerful, economical, reliable, smooth and quiet (I'm 46 and appreciate that). Great bike! I don't like the small headlight, turn signals too far forward, or high exhaust. However - installing bags and a windshield that I like has been a disappointing learning experience. I would prefer the Aero now that it also has the dual pin engine. I would like to hear if anyone else has much backfiring on downshift or tappett noise at idle.
- Al Cook, Highland, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming off a Gold Wing I was a little leery about a cruiser type bike for my main ride. Being short legged, with lots of road experience, I wanted a bike that would give me the best of several worlds. I tried out many bikes with no real favorite, but after riding the Honda Shadow Spirit I found a ride that came near perfect for me. With 53 rears riding experience, on many different types of bikes, and over a million miles of worn out pants, my 99 seems to fit the bill just rite. Adding Leather Like bags with running lights and Harley type wind shield (tinted), and a tank Bra and T Bags for longer run clothing capacity, I have found the perfect ride. All bikes have something for everyone but the Shadow Spirit has it for me. Not to heavy, not too high I can't reach the ground with my feet. Staying under the price of $10,000 wasn't hard either. No bike is perfect for everyone, as are cares, but finding a bike that's has it all is sometimes just luck. Fuel mileage is around 47+ mpg depending on the type of riding I am doing. I ride every Tuesday and Thursday with our senior group and the miles role up real fast. All and all it's the best bike for me to have now.
- Daniel M. Tucker, Santa Rosa, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-18 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 Spirit two moths ago. It is very comfortable and easy to ride. It has plenty of power and no vibration. I like the clean look. I think Honda did a good job of hiding all the oil lines and shifter rods that spoil the looks of other makes. My small complaints the gearing is too high and the Honda line windshield is too small. I am starting to get used to the gears, but you really have to pay attention on take off or it will die suddenly. The pay off is on the highway when the engine is barely turning. I would certainly buy the bike again. P.S. No bike is perfect.
- David Elrod, St. Joseph, MO

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my Yamaha 920 Virago and bought a used 1100 shadow (1997) and I just can't get enough of it. Superior bike all around compared to the Yamaha and the best choice I could have made.
- Gord manchak, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-11 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a thorough search of all sources. Test rides of similar 1100 style cruisers, read magazine reviews (three new subcriptions), searched responses from Shadow Rider Forum and Southern Cruisers Riding Club. The V Star 1100 was runner-up, with expensive oil changes. My Spirit like may Magna, always gets second looks in parking lots and the next lane at traffic lights. Keep up the good work Honda Motorcyle. Next VTX 1800?
- Joe Martinez, Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-02 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT A NEW 99 SPIRIT IN FEB. 2000. WHY THIS BIKE WAS STILL AT THE DEALER WITH LESS THAN A MILE ON, IT I'LL NEVER UNDERSTAND. AND THEY STILL HAVE ONE LEFT. ON MY RIDE HOME FROM THE DEALER I KNEW I MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE. ITS A GREAT RIDE GOOD POWER AND COMFORTABLE. I WOULD RECOMEND THIS BIKE TO ANY ONE.
- J.PICKHOLTZ, Baton Rouge, Lousianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-04 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am buying a new 2001 spirit after looking at the new Sabre.The Sabre is nice but the spirit comes with a more comfortable seat and a backrest all for a lower price. Can't wait until this snow melts!
- Mike Wentland, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-02 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 Shadow Spirit in November '00. With under 100 miles on it, I am ready to trade it in. It's not what I expected. Not a bike I would ride on the highway/expressway.
- F.Marino, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-01 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1996 shadow and have 10,000 miles on it. We take trips every year in August for 9-10 days and it's kinda what I look forward to every year. We usually put on about 3000 miles on and we love the ride. I love the bike and everything about it with the exception of the passenger seat, the pad size needs to be a little wider, so I'm going to install the rear pad from a Vulkary, which looks to me it will fit without much modification.
- Dave Regnier, Sauk Apids, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 shadow in July of 2000 and put on 4800 miles by October. It runs great solo or with my wife on back. Plenty of power. The fit,finish and quality are first rate. I did have one problem. It started running rough and then the engine would die. It seemed to be electrical short or something.I pulled the side cover,saw some fuses,pulled them out,put them back in and it seemed to be ok.I"ll see how it is this spring as its still under warranty. Anyone else have this problem?In any event,I am ready to add bags and other little goodies and have a great summer of riding.
- R.Williams, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2000 model last July I ran up 4000 miles before Nov. This bike has plenty of power and excellent handling. The fit and finish are up to Honda's usual standards. If you are looking for a good cruiser that can run with the big boys... here you go.
- Rob, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 98 Spirit that I bought new in Feb. of 2000. I put 4000 miles on before the snow. The bike runs great and handles well. My main complaints are the 4.2 gal. tank (5+ would have been perfect)and the fact that there are not as many after market goodies as most other cruisers. Almost nothing from Honda. I tried a set of cobra highway bars that fit so bad I returned them. Will try another brand this summer but the problem seems to be no good way to design a strong bottom mount. I will try to build a larger gas tank myself. Being a 200 lb. guy, 1" more of rear shock travel would be nice too. All that aside, you can't buy a better 1100cc cruiser for the money.
- MIke, Canton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike was everything I expected and more. The refinements that Honda has made over the past 25 years (# of years I have been riding) for its entire product line has been incorporated into this machine. It is a very sound bike with excellent v-twin performance. Having traveled all throughout the midwest on other Honda products, I can say that I cannot wait to try this one out on a long trip. It has good roll on power and is very predictable at all speeds. Every indication is that it will easily surpass my expectations from every other Honda I have owned before. I would say to anybody in the V-TWIN market. don't make a purchase without looking and riding this bike. It will suprise you.
- Daniel Vedral, Cedar Hill, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: