Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-05-28 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only put about 125 miles on my bike so I have a small sample to base this on. The bike is a smooth riding, very maneuverable at both low and high speeds, cruiser. It is well balanced with a low center of gravity. (The Picture at the bottom is NOT the bike I bought. I can't get the picture deleted. Sorry)
- John, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
That is a very nice bike - it oozes presence. If you like attention, this bike will attract it. Those Harley riders stop and check out this bike and they give it respect.
- FLA76, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-14 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Without a doubt, the hardest charging, strongest (built well) motorcycle I have ever owned. I'm 59 years old and I felt like a kid again after riding this motorcycle. I owned one for 18 months and literally had to trade on a more sedate model because my reaction times were not good enough to ride this bike. No other 800 lb motorcycle will perform like this one.
- DEAN BORING, LIBERTY, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-30 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had owned and ridden 1200, 1500 & 1800 goldwings for years, but couldn't part with the big bucks for a new 1800 goldwing. Besides the cost, I don't like the enclosed look of the 1500 & 1800 wings. Took a chance & bought a 2000 Valkyrie Interstate. I really like this bike. It has it all - long distance touring capability - excellent handling (even at low speeds) - smooth vibration free power delivery - and awesome power, all in a bike that looks like a motorcycle & has a bit of attitude as well. Fuel mileage is a respectable 40-47 miles per gallon (Canadian) @ 65-70 mph, but can easily get into the lower 30's if you use the power (& can afford the tickets). Seat is definitely on the hard side. I'm very satisfied. I'll be riding this bike for a long time.
- Gary, Roblin, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-16 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden a few bikes and this is the smoothest ride ever. I have accomplished the coin trick of balancing a coin on end on the valve cover and not having it fall over when you start and rev the engine. How smooth is that! I have taken this big bike on many trips and it has never failed to impress me with it's power, comfort and handling. My wife likes the comfort on the back seat also. I will keep this bike for a long time. The HD and V-twin crowd do not know what they are missing.
- Rick Wagner, Edgewood, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-04 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
HAVE RIDDEN FOR OVER 30 YRS, OWNED 5 BIKES, INCLUDING A '79 CBX 6 CYL 1050 CC. THE VALKY IS THE FINEST. QUALITY AND RELIABILITY IS UNMATCHED BY OTHER MAKES! FOR A CRUISER IT HAS A LOT OF POWER BUT I WOULD LIKE MORE, BUT NOT SO MUCH THAT I WOULD THINK OF TRADING IT. SO, INSTALLING A TURBO IS AN OPTION, IF ONLY THERE WAS SOME RELIABLE PERSON CAPABLE OF DOING THE JOB IN MY AREA.
- FRANK M. GARCIA, SAN ANTONIO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-01 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding for over 23 years, I now own a Valk Interstate. I have been on every web-site there is and have never seen anything I would call bad writen about this bike (what does that tell you). The very reasonable price gives you an awsome looking engine, speed and power beyond belief, a huge accessory market, comfortable touring, reliabilty (with a 3 year unlimited mileage warranty!) and a grin on your face from ear to ear every time you look at it! Believe me, you will not regret it for a second.
- Satisfied dude!, Midland, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-28 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is not just the motorcycle of the last decade but it is also the motorcycle of this decade as well. The beast has it all. Made right here is the USA. First rate quality...you really have to "nit pick" to find something wrong with it. Comfort, quality, all the power you'll ever need whether two up or alone. Good looks (especially in black) and it isn't trying to be anything other than it is. No fake gas tank or a v-four trying to look like a V-twin. The list goes on but this bike is truly awsome and outclasses everything in its class including larger bikes in just about every catagory.
- wallen, mt. clemens, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-22 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased a 2000 Valk Interstate in July 2001 after test riding it. Tried to buy a H-D tourer but less power, runs hot and a lot more money. The Valk is amazing for smoothness, power, luggage space, radio, water cooled, etc. I wish Honda would have included the CB, other than that it is a joy. Price was so much less than the Ultra classic, I kept the 1994 FXR custom and have the best of both worlds. I have to say my H-D riding friends are very impressed as well. Anyone considering a touring bike with classic looks (non Gold Wing styling) drive a Valk Interstate, if you can find one, you won't be disappointed. Especially if you get a deal like I got. Warning, do not test ride unless you are ready to sign on the dotted line. Vrmmmm Vrmmmm KB
- KB of Pa, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-06 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike in three years and as the story goes, I started off small (Suzuki 650 Savage and progressed to a Honda Shadow Aero (a bike that I thought I would never part with) and finally a 2001 Black Interstate. First of all I would have never parted with the Aero if it just have more power and a bigger tank for longer rides between fill ups. But as the story goes, I wanted bigger and I found it in the Interstate. It still being broke in so no real hard driving yet but so far, this bike had me at hello. My only complaint (a minor one) was the intercom plug up front came loose. The ride is smooth with a capital smooth. It is so smooth, It almost does not feel like a motorcycle. For a heavy bike, it behaves well (within reason) at low speeds and feels well balanced. I did expect a more torquey feel with a big engine but as I said, smooth is the word of the day. Plenty of power as you would expect from 6 cylinders and no trouble passing even at higher speeds. The windshield and fairing provide great wind protection so much so that goggles are no longer required. I drove through a nasty windstorm the other night and all it required was the occasional lean into the gust to counter. The trunk is a great benefit but the saddlebags take a bit of getting used to as far as latching them back up. Now for two up riding... my wife absolutely LOVES this bike for it comfort and gentle nature and looks forward to sitting in the saddle for an all day ride. Overall, fit and finish is great (except for intercom plug in glue) I now see why the Valk was voted the cruiser of the decade. The interstate just lengthens the time in the saddle. This is one of the finest rides you will ever find.
- Joe, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-08 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 30 years of owning more than a dozen bikes, including Harleys, I bought a new 2001 Valkyrie Interstate 6 weeks ago. What a machine! Smooth, powerful, great ride and performance. I already have 3800 miles on it and can't wait to take off next week on a 12 day 3000 mile trip from Atlanta to Maine through Canada and back thru NY PA and WWA. Overall most satisfying bike purchase I have ever made. I admit the OEM seat was not for me. Bought a Mustang seat. OEM Dunlops still have 55% of their tread, but just don't have the handling characteristics of AVONS, so they are being replaced tomorrow with AVONS for the big trip. Averaging 35 mpg with two up and traveling at 75mph. Bike is a handful in the parking lot at less than 3 mph. But over that speed the 775+ pounds feels more like 500 pounds. Fit and finish are typical excellent Honda. Brakes and Lighting far above average. Handling is excellent and predictable. More, much more power that is really needed. Open the throttle at 65 in top gear and BAM your at 85 mph in a flash. High speed stability with the full fairing is excellent. Bike lists for $15499 (black) got it without too much hassle for $12,800 + tax, title, and tags. I think its a great value. Wind management is excellent. But, above 85 degrees outside, stop at a light and you start to get a little warm from the engine heat. A small and short-lived inconvenience! The only improvement that can be made is to put the new 1800 engine in the next model and shave 50-75 pounds off of the beast.
- SilverPete, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-24 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've riden cycles for 33 years. Mostly Honda,s and Kaw's. Had a Harley and most recently have had Gold Wing 1500's. I was a little cautious going from the Wings to the Interstate. Thoroughly enjoyed the 75,000 miles I put on the Gold Wings. Whats my feeling of the Interstate after 10,000 miles? Absolutely the most exciting motorcycle I have ever owned. The power for a full dressed touring bike is incrediable. Even pulling a fully loaded trailer, you just crank the throttle in 5th gear and the big Honda powers forward. Take my word. If you ride it, you'll love it!
- Anonymous, Barry Ramaeker

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-17 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 6500 miles on my Valkyrie now and my advice to anyone is never ever ride one because if you do you will never be happy on anything else.
- David Payne, Valley, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has got to be the best motorcycle that I have ever thrown a leg across bar none!I have been riding since the 1950s and I can say that there is nothing that rides as smooth or has the power and riding qualties of this great bike.I have trouble trying to get harley people(I was one myself) to ride with with me now , I don't know if they think they are to good to ride with me and my Honda or if they are just scared to death knowing that they can't even begin to hang with me and BIG RED!!! Well Im getting ready to go on a 3000 mile trip to Beckley West Virigina on May 1 and I can hardly wait to get in the saddle I think this trip will be ALMOST HEAVEN.
- Bob Godbey, North Richland Hills, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I previously owned an ST1100 mega-miler that took two trips coast to coast. It was an awesome machine. I traded it in on the Interstate in 1999 and have fallen in love all over again. This bike is hard to get off of. It has gobs of torque and just enough horse power. It rivals A Lazy Boy recliner for comfort and is as smooth as glass at all speeds. Low speed parking lot maneuvers are a breeze. This machine out classes Harley in every catagory. If the "image bubble" ever bursts on Harley and people actually want VALUE for thier money, they'll buy a Honda!
- Bob Bromley, Preston Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I love it. Second off, I've loved every motorcycle I've owned. So first whats bad - 1. Gas tank is too small, you get around 130 miles before you need to fill. 2. The seat was designed by a proctologist to foster business. One fill up and you'll be beggin' for mercy unless your ass is as big as my ex-mother inlaw's. 3. Hot in the Missouri summer. You thought your BMW opposed twin was bad? Try three cylinders directly in front of each foot playing microwave with your ankles. 4. I'm absolutely sure it needs one more gear So second what's good - 1. Horsepower ooooohhhh Torque aaahhhhhhh 2. Handling is incredible for 700+ lbs. Drag those pegs through the corners. Confident slow speed handling - a low center of gravity. 3. Wheelies are a bitch but this brute can do 'em. Unless you bounce the front end to get up the back tire just smokes. When it comes down it comes down HARD and your going quite fast. Scarey, but it makes you forget how sore your ass is from the seat. 4. Imperceptible engine vibration. A buzz in the bars around 60 but when was the last time you went 60????? 5. Freight Train tracking. With the windshield on I cruised at 110mph for several minutes with one hand on the bars and felt COMPLETELY at ease and I'm old and chicken now in general. 6. Fresh yuppie Harley riders actually try to race me. Chuckle. Chuckle. It also causes deep concern in sportbike rider when they have to do 13,000 or so rpm to wheez on by before the next corner. Chuckle Chuckle.
- Mike, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-11 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Valkyrie would be comparable to the Electicglide Classic except for one thing. The Harley is not comfortable and the Valkyrie is, The Harley has the old belt drive the Valkyrie does not thank god for that. I can get on the Valkyrie and ride from the show room to anywhere in the US with out problems. The Harley I have to modify the Harley to make it run correctly and the small motor on the Harley makes it a real slow uncomfortable ride. I give Honda the fore thought of over coming all of the short falls Harley still holds on to. Besides that half of Harley is Jap built and assembled in the US.
- Anonymous, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-10 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never bought a motorcycle that didn't make me giggle with joy, dating all the way back to that 1963 Cushman Eagle. Folks, I'm here to tell you that this Valkyrie Interstate is just the most breathtaking machine I have ever looked at or ridden! The power awaiting in the throttle is superb. The ride is smooth and you feel no vibration. My wife is a motorcycle hater and she loves to ride this one! She feels so safe on the Valk. I looked for two solid months daily at comparable bikes-Vulcans and Harleys. They just don't rate. These machines are made in Ohio and I salute those workers for putting together a masterpiece! don't delay your purchase. Get one!
- Scott McClure, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-30 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode into my dealer in May of '99 on a Concours and left on the Interstate. One test ride, two-up, was all it took. 16,000 miles later I love it as much as the day I bought it. It is a great bike for 2-week vacations; I've done two so far. If you have a sport bike and are thinking about more long-distance comfort, then get a Valk Interstate. I've done several 700-mile days on it. You will not believe how well it handles on the twisties. You will not believe how well it accelerates and stops, and gets 37 MPG. You can cruise on this bike with low RPMs and slow shifts, or you can really romp it, redline every gear, and think your on an in-line multi. It does either - all day long, and doesn't break. Though the tires cost allot ($550+) to replace, but at least they last 10,000 miles. And the best thing? is rippin' by other full dress tourers, two-up & fully loaded, on a twisty up-hill road; it is pure unadulterated FUN!
- Greg Hughes, Kensington, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-26 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Valkyrie Interstate is truly "The Bike to ride". It is great around town and soooo smooth on the journey. With enough power to handle any needs. I found her in February and havn't looked back. I love the way it corners and there is plenty of room for my 6'4" body and my wife's 6' frame. Finally; A bike that actually fits! Forget Harleys; I like to ride, not vibrate.
- J.B., Hilly & Twisty, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-08 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since there are "only" five stars I will go with that one. I purchased a Silver/Blue Interstate in February and have been a VERY happy camper ever since. YES, I looked at the Gold Wing but that had far too much plastic for me. After talking to a couple of people that owned a Valk I decided to go with it. I have been incredibly happy and have no desire to change to another bike. This, to me anyway, is the ultimate in riding. Speed when needed and cruising capabilities that are unequalled!!!!!! I will have many riding years with this bike!!!!!!!!!! If you have one you know what I mean. If not....then you DEFINITELY don't know what you are missing!!!! THE FAT LADY HAS SUNG!!!!!!!!
- Harry Brogan, Dumfries, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-28 2000 Honda Valkyrie Interstate Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Amazing machine, a twist of the wrist in any gear from almost any speed, and away you go! Can't park it anywhere without attracting admiring fans. Two up, the back seater rides in comfort and confidence (a great selling feature if you like to ride with company) The intercom is great for conversation at any (legal) speed. Can't wait for the next morning so I can ride then the evening so WE can ride. Valkyrie standard is wonderful but the Interstate is tops!
- Anonymous, St Pete, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: