Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (68)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-30 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Indian Chief and believe me it's a great point of interest from other bikers.
- J.Pierre, Boucherville, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-15 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as a repo two years ago with only 1,900 miles on it. The previous owner had added Legend Air Suspension and a drag racing cam. Since then, I've added an OEM windshield, chrome Arrow shift linkage, chrome Indian Head gas cap covers & the Aardvark ignition jumper to alleviate the problem of blowing ignition relays. The ignition relays are the only problem I've had with the bike and that was an easy and inexpensive fix. With the air suspension I can drop it to the ground for shows and the cam would allow me to burn through tires at an alarming pace!! My only real complaints about the bike is (1) cosmetic - I think I'm gonna have a fat rear tire conversion done because the rear tire is a little too puny for my liking and (2) mechanical - the clutch is extremely heavy and apparently I'm not the only one who thinks so since clutch replacements are pretty popular for these bikes. Potential Indian riders beware - you cannot ride an Indian and be an introvert! Be prepared to have someone ask you about your bike every time you stop. I've had people take pics of my bike while filling up at a gas station, it is nothing if not a conversation starter. On the highway, the ride is awesome, but the rake and longer wheelbase that feels great on the open road can be a bit of a beast in town, especially with the wide bars and heavy clutch. I don't recommend this bike for a beginning rider or strictly city driving. To really be appreciated, this bike needs to be opened up on the highway! I doubt I'll ever sell this bike.
- GRS, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-20 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Other than a few minor items, this is the finest motorcyle I have ever owned. It is a crowd magnet and even my Harley friends will agree that it is a fine bike with many extras that came stock whereas you pay the piper with Harley extras.
- Pete Rogers, Chaumont, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-02 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a few bikes over the years but this is my first Indian. It is a real head turner and is a lot of fun to ride and most of all it has a very distinct sound and look. Wouldn't trade it for any H.D. on the road.
- Brian Phillips, Fredericton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had numerous bikes my whole life (all v-twins since 1973). By far my '00 Chief is the most fun to ride on pavement. I have had some issues (starter, stress cracks) but nothing major. The 88ci SS hangs with or out runs any other v-twin. I have a Geezerglide HD screamin' eagle ultra classic hot head 110ci for the long hauls but absolutely love riding my chief. Love the beach bars and overall look is traditional Indian and perfect!
- Kim, Falls Lake , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 99 Chief in 2001 with 26 miles on it. It belonged to a Nascar owner who displayed it in his shop but never rode it. It has the California smog kit on it and is S/N 0041. The reason I bought it was the way it felt when I mounted it. I wanted a Road King my whole life, but being a big man, they just didn't feel comfortable to me. When I mounted my Chief, I felt, for the first time, here is a bike made for big guys. I was informed the 99's were 6 inches longer and 2 in. lower than the Road Kings. Every year after 99 they got shorter and higher...I will never sell my 99.
- Chris F., Cornelius, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-09 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike from Corona Indian in Ca. I love this bike and would like to purchase a 09'. This 99' chief is just that. I can pull up into a Harley dealer and the sales guys come out to see it. You should pick one up for your self. I know I'll wind up getting a 09' but they are a little high priced right now, I hope they come down some soon. God Bless to ya'll Mike G.
- Mike G , Fredericksburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 00 Chief new, have had umpteen different bikes over the last 25 yrs, mostly Harley in last 15. This bike is without a doubt the biggest head turner I've had. I had some minor problems with it early on but Indian was excellent in taking care of it. I complained about the top end noise in the motor so Indian had s&s rockers and boxes put in. They put cc garbage in a lot of them originally to save $. If you have cc in yours, get rid of em. I also strongly suggest 2 sets of fender struts on the rear fender especially if you have open pipes. I put struts on mine {they even look good} years ago and have never had a problem w/ cracking. I put a dyna ignition, a single fire coil and 561 s&s cam in mine and it made quite a nice increase in umph. As soon as I aquire the room for a 2nd bike I'm going to get another Harley dresser for long hauls but I will always love my Chief. It's been a great bike.... keep the shiny side up bros.
- bill c, seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Right after hearing this bike fire up, I was sold! Cost probably a little more than the Harley's I was looking at, but hey...... EVERYBODY has a Harley and only a FEW have the Indians. Even though they're out of business again, I'm still glad I bought it and enjoy all the people that awe over it. Have only had a few minor problems with it. Has been a real crowd pleaser and it looks, performs and distinguishes itself everywhere we go.
- Terry Tipton, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-29 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike since 01 and put about 8-9000 miles on it. I have not had one problem with the bike in 3 years. It is exceptional. In addition, all the Harley riders have to stop and eyeball the machinery. I had it custom painted, and added V & H pipes. No one has a bike like mine. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- N Laporte, Lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-19 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, it is an awesome bike. Second of all, too bad the warranty is pointless now that they're going under. Certainly a Kawasaki Drifter is no comparison but at least you can buy parts and have it serviced until you're too old to ride. Also, with the $20,000+ saved buying the metric bike you and your old lady can take a couple of cruises and still have extra spending money when you return. I love my Indian and wouldn't trade it for anything but I DO have just as much fun on my Drifter and I didn't waste the extra $$$ again. It's all a matter of pride (or should I say arrogance). Too bad we've all swallowed the Harley lie, that all good bikes should be ridiculously expensive. PS: Promote motorcycling; WEAR A HELMET
- Herman Munster, Hollywood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-17 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I bought my 2000 chief "pre-owned". Spent a little time fixing all of the BS repairs the previous owner had done (without loctite I might add). Have put over 10,000 miles on it since in the last 6 months. Rides great, looks even better. However, many of the issues I've encountered shoulda never happened. Leaking rocker box - mechanic used OLD gasket. Rear floorboards coming loose - no loctite on them. Clutch basket came loose - no loctite on nut at all. Electrical bugaboo - plug not fully engaged on back of Electrical Box (between tanks). Only remaining issue I have is the ignition. There's a gremlin in there somewhere - fouls front plug until it gets warmed-up - runs great after that. Have entire new ignition system in box ready to go. I've ridden this bike from Austin here to Sturgis with no problems. Turned around and rode it to Vegas no problems. Bottom Line: I am able to work on a bike and kinda enjoy it sometimes. I understand the risks of buying a used bike. If some of these issues popped up for original owner, I'm sure they would have been covered under warranty. Local dealer is pretty good at getting issues resolved. Oh and did I mention? This bike will wax a twincam's ass - every time. Woohoo ! tomt
- tomt, austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-26 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 Chief , best ride Ive ever owned , a real attention getter at evert event . The Dealer I purchased from is excellent and really knows his stuff . As far as problems go .. who can have problems with aride this great !!!
- Spotted Raven, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-28 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2000 Indian chief on Jul.4 2003. God I love this bike! Yes it has been in the shop for shocks and fender recall,but its worth every bit because in my humble opinion this is the prettiest bike ever made. I like all bikes but there is not one single bike out there that looks like this.
- rider, walkertown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-17 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THE RAKE AND RIDE ON MY 2000 CHIEF, I TRADED IN A ROAD KING FOR IT. IT WAS A NICE BIKE, BUT SINCE MAYBE IM TALL THAT CHIEF RIDES GREAT I LOVE IT.I BEEN RIDING FOR 18 YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER ROAD SO MUCH,WILL SOMETHING GO WRONG, YES WHAT HASENT, ALL MY PAST BIKES HAD PROBLEMS, HARLEY YA REMEMBER AMF, SUZUKI EVEN A GOLD WING, HAVE FUN
- DAVID KNOBLE, FRANKLIN, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-16 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding American-made motorycles since I was fourteen years old. I have boought and sold so many different Harleys I cannot remember them all. I have a 93 H/D Fatboy, 00 Chief and just parted with an 01 Spirit. The Chief has been the preverbial dream bike. No leaks, no transmission troubles, no problems of any kind. The dealer (there are two here in Houston and one is light years ahead of the other and the owner and employees are customer service personified - Indian Motorcycle Houston - North) will run through brick walls to help you and his staff is top-notch. This bike rides like a dream. The single detractor is that she does not run well right off the bat if the air quality is bad combined with the heat of the summer. But, as she warms, she runs like a dream. Otherwise, I have never owned a better bike!
- Brian S., Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-03 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2000 Indian chief, Since purchasing this bike in June, 2001 it has been in the shop for a total of 5 months. The bike spends more time on a trailer being towed than being rode.I am at the end of my patience and I can't get any answers from Indian except for them advising me to take it to their preferred mechanic in Nashville, Tn. which is a 4 hour drive from my home.Each time I get the bike back the primary problem still exists, That is that while riding the bike it shuts down not to restart without turning the key off and back on to reset the computer. And this is only one of the many problems we have encountered with this bike.
- kevin young, dalton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-06 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am writing a review at this time because I have had my 2000 Indian chief for 2 years, and last December I also purchased a 2001 Spirit (Great Bike) Unlike so many reviews that are anonymous and seem to contain only negative comments, I have both positive and negative comment and am not afraid to divulge my name. I have had almost ever-thing that can go wrong with a motorcycle happen to mine. There were new gas tanks (twice), new shocks (twice), new fenders (twice), brakes electrical problems and major engine problems. All were fix at no cost to myself, but lost time on my scoot. This brings me to my reason for writing this review. I had been planing a seven-week vacation starting on May 22nd so I could ride the chief during my time off. On May 18th I traveled to Terre Haute Indiana for a bike show, in which I took second place for best in show. I returned to Indianapolis after the show and on the way home my Indian developed an engine problem. The next day it was returned to the dealer in Terre Haute. The dealership had to hound the company to get parts almost four weeks, and even then they had not sent an oil pump so the dealership had to order one through S & S on its own. Repairs made I picked up the bike and headed home from Terre Haute to Indy. Just outside of Cloverdale, Indiana the engine again developed trouble. The next day back to the dealership. Four weeks pass and finally a letter from the company with a few gift items and an apologetic letter from the president for any inconvenience. I then proceeded to call the dealership and they informed me that they had just unloaded off the truck a brand new crated engine for my chief. Now there is no one on this planet that loves Indian more than I do, considering that my house is a shrine to Indian, but even with that nobody that I know has ever received a new engine on a two year old vehicle at no cost to themselves. The engine was replaced and detailed out by the dealer at Indian Terre Haute. They have been wonderful and very sorry for any inconvenience that I had been put through. Indian Motorcycle Company should be very proud of this dealership because they have gone above and beyond the call of duty. While the company is going through growing pains it is the dealerships that will make the difference. ( “If we do not learn from our mistakes we are doomed to repeat them”).
- Richard Loudenback, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-15 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WHAT YOU SEE IS WHAT YOU GET.WHAT A NICE LOOKING CHANGE OF PACE.I HAVE SOME MINOR DISSAPPOINTMENTS BUT I COULD HAVE BOUGHT A HARLEY LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE.ALL AMERICAN BIKES ARE OVER PRICED BUT,GOD BLESS AMERICA. PS.HARLEY IS A BRAND OF MOTORCYCLE NOT A GUARANTEE OF NO PROBLEMS
- bodie, brunswick, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-03 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 Chief for about a year now. Like some of the other guys I've had some real issues with the dealer I was using, (they absolutely sucked), but I looked around and found good service elsewhere. I've put some money into customizing the bike and it gets more attention than just about anything on the road. It's a blast to ride and if you take a look at the newer models they're getting crappier and crappier each year, the 2000 is money. I'd give the bike 5 stars and the Indian dealer 1.
- Dexter, Woodland Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-21 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote a review in 03/01. I own a 2000 Chief and now have 18k on the odometer. I mostly ride in town and on day trips, but have spent upwards of six hours in the saddle on longer hauls, like the Trail of Tears run. The point is, I have some credible info to pass on, unlike some of these anonymous reviews I've read in here. I know what I ride. It's not a smooth fast metric cruiser, or a hard cornering crotch rocket, and it ain't the same lost in the parking lot American Iron that my buddies ride. If you're in the market for an Indian, make sure you know what you want. Me...I like the look ("buy a Drifter"...now thats a laugh!), I like the style, I like the interest people show (my Harley buds will attest to the same!)and I like the reliability. (18K with no problems). I've gotten great service from my adopted dealer (moved here from Fla. with the bike).
- k-dog, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-22 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I cannot imagine that all indians are built this poorly. But this is a brand new demo with 1350 miles on it. We have had nothing but problems. Engine problems, electrical you name it, its falling off. Thank God there are lemon laws. Indian should investigate their dealers more carefully, we recieved no help whatsoever.
- James Smith, austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-17 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold my Harley FLH, to get a 2000 Indian Chief. Harleys are nice, BUT, stock, they look like old man bikes. Sorry to say, but Harley knows darn good and well that 80% of all Harleys are modified one way or another. It's calle d business people. Enter Indian. Classic, sleek, and vintage looking. Any mods needed? Absolutely not.
- SlyDog, Pasadena, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-09 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have about 3500 miles on my 2000 Chief. This is my 9th motorcycle and I have owned several different makes and have rode a lot of miles in the past 25 years. I love the Chief and have recently had some work done on it, the items covered under warranty included the oil pump and rear brake master cylinder. Caution if the oil pump fails in the mode mine did your oil will pump out the breather onto the ground. I was lucky as it failed after my mechanic had done some work so it failed on the bench at the shop and he caught it right away. I have installed a gel pad in the original seat and it is beginning to make longer rides a bit easier as it conforms to my shape. They have some bolts that mount the P-Pad on the back of the front seat that are just long enough to smack you in the tailbone through the seat pad. Where did you get those four bruises ask the wife. I only have one gripe with the bike and it is an engineering problem. The 1999 and early production 2000 models were made with a right hand floorboard rear support bracket similar to a Harley. It attaches to the frame and is made of aluminum. You can find the same parts in the H-D catalogs. With the Chief set up in it's advertised low seat height mode, shocks lowered, the right side bracket will reach out and grab uneven pavement in a corner hard enough to high side you off the bike. I'm not talking about riding like a crotch rocket rider, just a simple turn. That is why you will see many of the early bikes with a taller stance which ruins the effect of a low cruiser. The factory came out with a relocation kit but it is not being covered under warranty at this time. I have heard they have three versions of the kit. The new version connects like the newer bikes it doesn't use the frame tab and rear support. My dealer told me it cost about $550 plus labor. I really feel this should be a warranty item, many don't like the update kit because it is cast black and not billet. I can recommend the K&N filter, the performance exhaust and the S&S 561 cam, power cones. After reading some of the reviews I think I might replace my petcock. I am considering installing the EZ-Boy clutch activator as it is a heavy clutch to deal with in traffic. P.S. Remember to keep your brake light lit when you stop. Flash it a couple of times when a car is coming up. The life you save will be your own.
- Clay Hollister, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-14 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't own an Indian but would if I could afford one.I had an chance to ride one a while back and really liked it. The young salesman that went with me on the ride looked at me like an old gray bearded guy like me would take easy but he changed his mind when I hit about 110mph.I liked the power of the bike and it also handled well. The only gripe I had was the seat was a little to hard. RIDE SAFE&SOBER SONNY MARTIN
- Sonny Martin, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: