Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-02 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride daily, but my first time on her I thought my hands were going to fall asleep, but after a week or so of riding the buzzing no longer affected me. Before making my purchase, I rode a variety of touring bikes, but was drawn back to the Connie. It's a VERY dependable bike and one of the best buys for sports touring. It's low maintenance for those who do the work themselves. The only draw back I can see are the tires. They're an odd size and hard to find when you need them right away! Other then that, it's a bike you'll love to ride.
- Antony , Austin , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-06 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike in June of 2001 to use as a business vehicle. Since then I have logged over 100,000 miles with no mechanical trouble at all. I am able to do the normal maintenance myself because of the simplicity of design. Initially the engine was a bit buzzy, but with adjustment of the balance shaft and carb synchronizing it is acceptably smooth. Stock front brakes are adequate but really should be upgraded. All things considered, this is the most bike you can buy for the price.
- d.g., augusta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-07 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought my connie yesterday and really love the comfort factor. Road 50 miles home with no buttal discomfort at all. Plenty of power and good wind protection - although at 6'1" I could use a stock + 4" windshield. The much maligned connie buzz is there, but not bothersome. Will add highway pegs for the road, but as a chiropractor - I love what the high foot position does for the low back - very strong riding position and promotes good riding posture. She's a little cumbersome at low speeds, but more than makes up for it on the road. All in all - I'm very happy.
- Dean Chancey, Farmington, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-27 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
good bike, comfortable for taller people, plenty of power. great for weekend trips.
- sw kahle, toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-10 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 95 Connie, sold it in '98 and bought a '98 Valkyrie. In 2000 I sold the Honda and bought a 2000 Connie. I will not get rid of this one. I regularly do 600-1000 mile days. miles per tank is great. I hate to get off for any reason. It runs great at any speed (triple digits inc.). Power is close to great, handling is good. It vibrates a little but I can live with that.
- Oscar Ysaguirre, Roma, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-12 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, this is a 1997 Concours A-12 model which I noticed in internet ads for $4,000. Wow that's a good price, I thought and pondered how to scrape up the cash. Turns out that it was a salvaged title vehicle, the unlucky first owner having caused an ungodly amount of cosmetic damage in some sort of crash. It had been professionally repainted and appeared very nice when I went to see it. I sold my "outdated" XS1100H in late April and got a small loan - and all of a sudden found myself with the latest technology - well 1986 anyway for a mere $3500. In 1994 they did some nice front end, wider tire and wheel changes and updated the dashboard. My impressions after 2,000 miles and 2 months (I feel I can comment competently 'cause I've been riding for 20+ years): Engine/Power - Vey smooth in most situations. And -It's really fast. Over 5K RPM (esp 2/3 gears) your eyes will open wide. I don't find much purpose in exceeding 8000 RPM - lots of buzz/stress. Keep in mind this was the engine off the ZX-10 slightly detuned - did I mention it's fast. For me - excellent power, more than your sane sport tourer will need. Handling - I am very pleased and surprised for the weight you would be carrying +600 lbs.- this bike loves to turn. Transitions from corner to corner can be made rapidly with a firm push on the bars. Very stable at high speeds. Comfort - Here's where I lost a star. Everyone says these are buzzy. Well yes they are. With the original handgrips - on the freeway my hand would fall asleep within 7 miles. Foam grips helped. A cruise control will be a must - I'm thinking the Throttlemeister which although expensive would complement the already good workmanship. The seat is very comfortable. Passenger (sweetest wife in the world) is very comfy and secure with the good quality Kawi backrest available. The distance to the pegs could be better - I'm 6 ft and my legs will get cramped on longer distance rides. Love the gauges they look great - however the gas guage is incredibly pessimistic, after 4 gallons it shows completely empty. Utility - The saddlebags are great - a must for everyday utility. Easy to take off/put on. Economy - Usually more than 40 MPG - but I don't beat it up. 60 MPH = 3400 RPM - easy going with the 6 speed tranny. Maintainence - I have performed the oil/filter, air filter, spark plug, final drive maintenence and while somewhat of a pain, it really wasn't that bad. A lot of plastic removal and allen wrench turning. I see good engineering here. A troubling point is that the owners manual calls for 6000 mile valve adjustment intervals. This will be expensive if you bring it to a dealership (I haven't learned valves yet). But the bike sounds pretty good as it is now and I'll hold off. Overall opinion - Well obviously with the way it looks and runs I got a steal for $3500. The mild discomforts can be dealt with, and the power and handling are excellent. It might be considered "old tech" but it is a fine value for the $$.
- Glenn Geller, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-22 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
April of 2001 I purchased a new hold over 2000 concours. I have to admit it is one of the best buys on the market today. Coming from a ZX-11 ninja there was a bit of an adjustment, but didn't take long to fall into the comfort of this sport touring motorcycle. 99 percent of my riding is double up and wife enjoys the comfort as well. We were able to end our season with 9500 miles and so far have been trouble free. If you guys or gals are looking for an inexpensive sport tour, jump on board, the concours truly is a good buy!!
- Jay Kilton, Barre, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-06 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Has been a good bike. Now has 3300 miles. Please Email me if you had a problem with the mirror braking while driving down the road it suddenly started dropping then hung loose.I took it to a dealer that was close by. They told me that it has happened before and they don't understand why Kawasaki doesn't have a recall. They told me its covered under warranty. So I took it to the dealer I bought it from and they gave me a hard time about it being under warranty then they told me they would order one. I'll let you know if they cover the whole bill.
- Tom Pronesti, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-16 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 leftover in Feb. 2001. I paid 7700$ dollars out the door. This bike is wicked awesome. I'm very happy with it, but I did give it 4 out of 5. The reason is, with the stock windshield there is a fair amount of helmet buffeting. An aftermarket screen should fix it. Other than that EVERYTHING is just fine.
- rider, MA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now I'm no spring chicken (39 years old), but I ran a marathon in Oct2000, ejoy working out, tae kwon do, computers, and riding! In other words I can deal with any bike but this one is my pick. Acceleration, handling, braking and extremely comfortable. I commute 126 miles a day to work and back and only drove my car five times from mid June (when I got my Concours until October (when it snowed). My wife loves to go along on runs to Chicago and back 150mile one way 300 round trip. The saddle bags hold huge amounts of clothing, shoes and/or shopping bags. I can put a bag of groceries and a 20lb bag of kitty litter in each side for trips to the supermarket. I pulled the saddle bags off and my 24yr old nephew thought his 750 Ninja finally had an uncle it could be proud of (the Concours that is). Last thing he said while riding on a short 200 mile day trip was,"Now I know why you bought that bike. It goes like crazy for a touring bike, and it's sooo comfortable! My bike (Ninja) is'nt nearly as nice for going long distance on it." (He's a smart young man, and I like his bike too) On one ride he asked could I do a wheelie. I said the bikes' to big. He then told me he say a picture of a guy doing a wheelie on a Gold Wing. Now that I've done a few, this bike seems to do everything well. I owned a cruiser (of sorts 1985 Elinator 900) a few years back and I must say to get the cruiser comfort on this bike is incredible. I also highly recommend the shaft drive as it's virtually maintenance free (as has been the whole motorcycle to date). When I went to purchase a motorcycle I thought I might spend 14-15K. I looked at lots of stuff and with the help of my style consultant [she wanted a Ninja, but it had to be comfortable for two] decided to give this bike a closer look. I'm happy, thrilled, elated and over whelmed at how much fun can be had carving up curves alone, or riding along with a few curves on the back seat, touring the back roads and interstates... If you don't get a Concours, get something close, this thing is great!!!
- Phil Carpenter, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-21 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never thought I would get rid of my XV750 Virago. When I took a job 50 miles from home and started riding the cruiser to and from work, I was convinced that I needed a different ride. After researching numerous models, I settled on the Concours. It took me about a week to get used to the different riding position. It turned out to be much more comfortable for high speed riding over long distances. Power, comfort, handling and protection from the elements are standard. I get 42 miles per gallon running 70 miles per hour. On the highway and need to pass. Goose it and off you go. Take the time to tune the engine counterbalancer and put foam grips on it. I don't have the hand numbing experience that others complain about. 6,800 miles and it's a joy to ride. I'm very happy with it and highly recommend it to anyone who wants power, handling and long distance touring ability.
- Michael Smith, Hutchinson, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-16 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 Concours for 11 months now and have logged a little over 10,000 miles on it. It has been an excellent bike. The only problem I've had was a leak at the gear shift shaft seal, that the dealer found and repaired at the first service. The body is a little dated looking, but at age 48, so am I. I would recommend this bike to anyone that likes to tour long and fast.
- Al T, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-05 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned both an '87 and a '97 Concours. Put 35k miles on the '87 riding almost exclusively on those wonderful Colorado twisties. The '97 currently has 22k miles of which about 6,000 were this summer. I usually ride with the wife on the back and we could not be happier owing a Concours. Lots of performance, handling and rider comfort at a reasonable price. What else could a person want from a bike?
- Doug Springsteel, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-18 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2000 Concours. I can't believe what a great bike it is. I have put 500 miles on it in the last week. I have had around 70 motorcycles over the years. I have been riding for 33 years. This one has more character than most of them. It vibrates much less than I expected, the ride quality is very good and it is much faster than I will ever need to go. It has incredible range. I gassed it yesterday with 280 miles showing on the odometer, and it still had over 2 gallons left in the tank. I love this bike. I love the snarl of the engine when you twist the right hand, this thing gets busy. Seems to run about 110 in the ᄐ mile, plenty fast for me, and has great midrange, no need to downshift to pass, just pull out and gas it, you will be doing 90 by the time you are ready to pull back over even with 2 people on it. It is much more comfortable than either my GSXR or my Katana, and almost as fast. It is just a great do everything, go anywhere kind of a bike. I wish I had bought one years ago. Its a keeper
- Stephen Cunningham, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an 86 and a 98 Concours. The 86 replaced a totaled Goldwing that some girl smashed for me. I bought the 86 as a temporary ride and loved it. I later bought another Goldwing. It couldn't do what this Concours could do. I sold it and bought the 98. I added rifle fairing and Storz bars and risers. Excellent commuter or tour bikes. Now that I have the 98 -- 86 anyone???
- Big Bill, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 98, a very capable bike. Few riders will really NEED more handling or power if being honest. Is it perfect? No. What is off the showroom floor? But it does the sport/touring thing very well and can be improved easily. The bars are a bit low for most (Gen-Mar helps a Rifle windshield and Baker airwings are worth every penny. Cobra slip-ons add character and make you sound faster. PROPER adjustments of the balance shaft idle screws and carb sync. will go a long way in reducing the buzz. Strong brakes, great fairing, strong motor, good seat. 7.5gal tank and I like the looks, price (around 7500 new). If it lost 50-75lbs. Kaw. would never be able to build enough. But the weight seems to disappear above 10-15mph. It's a keeper
- Tom Roper, Dittmer, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am presently on my second Connie (88 & 95). These have been excellent machines. The only mechanical problem was a clutch spring failure on the 88 at 30,000 miles. They handle far better than a bike this size has a right to and engine performance is excellent (good power & 42 mpg at 75-80 mph). Major gripes? Engine heat on 90+degree days and the 95 stock seat has to be one of the worst in all of motorcycling. Get a throttle lock and head for the horizon. With the money saved on any comparable bike you can afford a long vacation.
- Anonymous, Sullivan, Illinois. USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2000 Concours in July of '99 and have over 7600 miles. I took it in for the clutch recall and have had no problems at all. This bike handles very well with plenty of power for two up, even at high altitude.
- Anonymous, Grand Junction, CO

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from a high speed run to Laguana Seca & back. It still takes a rider to ride. Blew by (in the twisties) a lot of superior sport bikes (Aprilla's, Duc's etc) The Concours has enough power & handling to keep up in the public road arena. Top speed was an indicated 137-mph fully loaded w/ passenger. Averaged between 100-110 mph all day long. This bike never skipped a beat & ran perfectly. It is totally dialed in & is extremely smooth below LEGAL hwy speeds but has a SERIOUS high-speed vibration buzz that gets through the handlebars when you travel above legal limits. Lost the feeling in a couple of fingers for a few days. Solved the problem on the return trip with a THROTTLE ROCKER for $6.95. This is a MUST have item for anyone contemplating any serious high-speed x-country runs on this bike. Other than shredding the Metzlers & completely wearing out the brake pads this bike performed flawlessly. It just vibrates more than an in-line four should. For the money its still a good buy since you get good weather/wind protection, reliability, low maintenance, large luggage & enough balls/handling to go fast enough to embarrass a lot of better bikes. Would I buy another one? If I had the funding to buy a Mille, Duc, Hayabusa, Zx12r etc I would not buy another Concours, but I don't so I love it for what it is! Oh, & the gas mpg was 32-33mpg @ speeds over 100mph & in the 40's for everything else.
- Anonymous, Denver, Colarado, U

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-06 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1992 Concours. If Kawasaki would put it on a major diet it would be perfect low maintenance sport touring 5 star terror. But since it is so over weight you MUST set up the suspension properly. Throw out the rear shock & put progressive springs up front w/ heavier wt oil. Set up the rear sag @ 25% of travel (this can not be done w/ the stk shock & a good set of springs up front), add some Metzlers & you'll find it handling like a champ instead of a chump giving you the opportunity to drag the pegs safely just like "real" sportbikes. Forget the K&N if you don't want to suck fine dirt into the carbs. Motor has tons more power available if you can stand the extra noise. I can not. Excellent weather protection w/ long distance reliability/comfort & true sport bike potential is what it is all about. Tons of after market creature comforts available-your choice. It does vibrate but it won't drive you crazy, just Locktite everything. My Concours runs better w/ automotive synthetic oil & runs cooler. Motorcycle specific oil? Do the research & you won't waste your money. Start @ www.xs11.com/stories/mcnoil94.htm & your interest will be sparked. I love my bike & would buy another but it seems I won't have to for quite some time. Another useful site: www.concours.org
- motomike, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-13 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned my 1999 Concours for almost a year now. I reviewed a lot about the bike before I purchased her and and am happy to report it's the best bike I ever owned. Yes, I had to take it in for a recall, but at least Kawasaki owned up to the clutch problem.
- Mike, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-09 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my new Concours 2 weeks ago it's a red 2000. It loves the dealer-- clutch went out at 110 miles, I have found a loose part laying under bike, dealer thinks it's a Kawasaki part but doesn't know where it came from. Cclutch side of engine cases leak oil not much but enough to make a mess. Well if they get it fixed maybe I will give a better review. By the way Kawasaki did recall my bike 3 days after clutch let loose.
- Anonymous, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-23 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the money the Concours is the best value in motorcycling. For under eight grand you're getting a full fairing, detachable luggage, and shaft drive. I've heard nothing but good things about it, so I'm sold! As soon as I sell my 1996 HD dresser (that's right!!!) I'm going down to my local Kawasaki dealer and buying one. The hard part will be test-riding one before purchase. A BMW dealer near me let me test ride a R1100RT, so maybe a Kawasaki dealer will be just as accommodating. By the way, I don't see how the BMW can be twice as much bike as the Concours just because it costs twice as much. When I get my new ride I'll send a follow-up.
- Anonymous, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-02-16 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a '90 Concours for the last two years and it has been flawless. The only changes I have made to the bike has been a taller windshield and a little carb work. Most bikes come from the factory running a little lean and stepping up the needles with some shims helps alot....makes it much smoother and quicker. All I have is smiles and thumbs up! None better can be had for the money. It has good looks...Lots of performance...and long lasting durability....what more can a person ask for?
- Anonymous, Bellingham, WA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-02-04 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1991 Concours with over 100K miles and the only mechanical problems were caused by mechanics and my own drops, until the hydralic clutch master cylinder went ($250. After you sort out the suspension for the load the handling is up to most speeds and twist. Your race buddies will leave you, but you will drive by when they take a break. Motor has power spread all through the revs, big hit at 6k but will pull from 1500 all the way up. Motor buzzes a bit but there is a fix the owners assc. has at there web site. Brakes on my bike required bleeding once or twice a year to stay firm. The detachable sadle bags do double duty as my travel lugage and are water-tight (and each hold a full face hat). The fit and finish could be improved a tad, but nothing really rattles or falls off. For daily driving, long distance (twice accros USA), mountains (twice up the Blue Ridge), all around a value for the fun returned. A big recomendation if you want a sport-tourer.
- Brian P. Honaker, Delray Beach, Florida, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: