Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (51)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2019-12-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a few months ago and im already in love with the bike it is fast and comfortable i would suggest it to anyone that said whats the best bike if you want a comfortable motorcycle this is the one for you.
- joe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki Heavy Industries proves their point by building the fastest street production bike ever seen. They set the standard for high performance like no other. Just think, the next generation of sportbikes will utilize many of the ZX-12R's highly refined technologies. that's what a flagship standard does for the future. It makes the next generation even better. I ride my 2000 ZX-12R with grace and confidence knowing the bike can deliver an incredible amount of power. 150 MPH stand-up wheelie is not something an inexperienced RIDER should attempt, but I am here to tell you, this bike does it with ease. I have owned several other bikes in the past 27 years, and from a rider's perspective, the ZX-12R is definitely an engineering advancement.
- DC12R, wilmington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold my gpz last summer after 18 great years, but I now have a modern sportbike, and love it. It has a Muzzy exhaust, and has been slightly lowered, but is otherwise stock. Am considering helibars, steel brake lines, and a "Power Commander". I was told that a 190 rear tire works better than the 200. Does anyone have any advice/news about these mods?
- Doug, san diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-26 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Who cares if this bike goes .0003 tenths of a second faster in the quarter that that one. or has a 1.2345 mph advantage at top speed!!!! the 12, Busa, and Gixxer are different bikes with different characteristics. You can make any of them go as fast or handle as well as you want. I've ridden them all, and love them all. There is always somebody faster. The 12 is an awesome machine. Bottom line... ride them and choose which one suits your riding style the best. or pick one that looks the best and suffer through It. P.S. If you have to ask which one is faster. you probably shouldn't be on either! Go find a Helix or better yet, a Razor scooter and work your way up from there. don't ride beyond your skills. RIDE ON !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- ammotorsports, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-03 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With some reservation earlier this year, I traded in my Honda Blackbird for a 2000 ZX12R. I'm in my mid 40's and the primary application is sport touring with obvious emphasis on "sport". I was pleased with my CBR for the most part, however even with Heli Bars the reach was a bit too extreme for me. I did a 2000 mile trip in four days earlier this summer and wasn't comfortable at all. (I'm 5'11") I was going to seriously consider trading it in on a ZRX1200 or a FZ1, but I was lukewarm about the styling of the nakeds, and wasn't nuts about sacrificing the performance of the bigger bore sport bikes. All I can say is thank God I sat on a ZX12! Immediately I noticed that it's ergonomics seemed more comfortable than the Blackbird. (Due to it's shorter wheelbase) So I made the deal and hoped for the best! Last week I put Helibars on and off I went for a 1,000 jaunt this Labor Day weekend. The difference between the two bikes to me was surprising, if not astonishing. The Ninja is in every respect the superior bike, and not just in performance. I was extremely comfortable the entire trip, and with soft luggage I would have no reservations about crossing the country on this bike. It performed flawlessly and handling was superior to the CBR as well. (My only comment on the acceleration is that it's everything people have said it is, and more! It makes the Blackbird seem almost anemic) I couldn't be more pleased. I had thought about putting an aftermarket exhaust once the break in is over, (2000 miles) but if there's a bike on the market that "doesn't" need anything done to it it's this one. Even the saddle was perfectly sufficient on the 500-mile days! One final note, I had ridden a Hayabusa and was less than impressed. Nice bike with similar acceleration as Ninja, but I didn't particularly like the handling and it didn't feel as though it'd be as comfortable on long trips as the ZX12.
- Mark Cohen, Pittsburgh, Pennsyvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-14 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike not running as hot in traffic since changing to synthetic 15/50 oil, and flipping horns away from front of radiator to below radiator behind air scoop. also eats a lot of rear tires at 150.each
- Badboy, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Attention all of you ZX12R Owner's, I'm tired of all these magazines saying the ZX12r is faster than the Busa.Or that the Busa is Faster than the ZX12R. I have read a lot of magazines and surfed the net for the actual truth and watched videos but I am still unsure as to which one is the fastest. I mean if you believe what you read in these magazines then guess what, I've seen magazine articles that show the GSXR1000 smokes both bikes. So what do I want? I want the actual owner's of both the ZX12R and the Hayabusa to tell me which is the fastest in the quarter and top speed. Factory bikes not one that are tricked out i.e. turbo, exhaust, power commanders. Just stock bikes.
- Troy Jones, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-02 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this machine for about two months and have three thousand miles on her. although this is an awesome machine, I'm concerned about the clutch problems and it running hot in traffic. Other than it being a little heavy in the twisties, I love it... and of course it is as fast as they say.
- madman, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-01 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got 600 mile's on my ZX12R and it was between the Busa and this bike, I'm very happy this is the bike i chose, It's quick, (still breaking the bike in)No high RPM'S yet, It's light in the corner's and it's a work of art to look at, I changed my oil and filter at 450 mile's tightened and lubed the chain, And just had pure fun, Beware this bike is fast and it feel's like it just want's more and more throttle, I'm holding back. for break-in period, Sweet is all i can say about my 2001 ZX1200R Ninja,
- Norman Baisden, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-10 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2000 zx12r for about 2 months now and have over 2000 miles on it. Besides for the fuel line recall I have not had any mechanical problems with the bike. I have added a full Muzzy exhaust and a K&N air filter as well as a Corbin seat, Helibars, Givi windscreen and Throttlemeister cruise control. The Muzzy system really woke the bike up, I now have 170 rear wheel HP and have seen 200 mph indicated on the speedometer. The bike is quite fast, and if anyone has any questions or fears about riding they should avoid this beast. I have pictures of the bike and the dyno charts posted on my web page at http://www.down1up5.com/zx12rpage1.htm
- Forest, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Heli Bars and it will be perfect! It will remain stock, very stable yet neutral in the corners! No problem passing three cars and a motor home at the same time on the Ortega highway! Feels very safe because you can zoom out of trouble!!!!
- JG, Anaheim, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a new zx12r ! I traded a 2000 zrx1100. I am very happy with the zx12r and I am very happy with the service that I have received from my local dealer over the past year on the bike that I traded in. The zx12r is a beautiful bike to look at, has amazing power all over the place. I am getting mileage over 42 miles per gallon.. It is so smooth and what a joy to ride!! It truly is an awesome motorcycle, and misunderstood, but what really makes your motorcycle purchase a great experience is when your dealer is friendly, fair prices, and great personnel, Yamaha, Kawasaki of hickory, is truly an awesome dealer thanks for the great service!!!!! Alan.
- Alan, Hickory, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-27 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ZX12-R = Power of a Busa with the handling of a smaller sportbike. Busa = Lots of power, handling of a Harley. A busa would never want to race a ZX12-R on a track or curvy road...... It's to big and wide...not much on handling.
- Vic T, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-30 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding since 1970 - some were '71 Triumph Tiger, '76 Harley liberty edition, '80 harley wide glide, yamaha 920, Gold Wing, Dirt Bikes etc. This new zx12 is by far the best bike I have been on. Speed, power, handling all are superb. Those of you who figure the zx12 is just another crotch rocket are either too old, too ill, too lazy, or just haven't driven one. My bike till i die.
- Alkingston, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
mcasey...I just bought a new Suz SV650S and they are making me pay the exact same as you on the break-in services...which I think is dumb seeing how they say the warrantee doesn't cover "Service Labor" charges which is 65 bucks an hour. But you have to take it in to them if you want the warrantee NOT to be void...so its a no win situation. I basically paid them 150$ to change my oil and tighten some bolts...completely retarded. After my 2nd service at 4500 miles if everything still looks o.k. I'm NOT going back after that. If it lasted that long with no probs then it should last at least another year or 2... and my manual basically has step by step instructions on how to do everything I'm paying them for anyway. that's my decision anyhoo :) GL with the bike though
- JFaulkner, Jax, FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-08 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
FOR SALE: 2000 Kawasaki ZX-12R, candy red, serviced at 600 miles by dealer, now have 1500 miles as per factor breakin. Bike is in Showroom Condition, never been dropped. I had dealer install WaterWetter SuperCoolant. Included is New Tank Bra, Included: New Bulldog rear wheel stand, New (large) leather jacket (cost $150), zip-out lining, winter & summer leather riding gloves (large-used very little). Serious inquiries only, BEST OFFER, email mcasey@bellsouth.net
- mcasey, Montgomery, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-26 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 12 since august last year.I would pick the 12 over the bus any day. The 12 has more power is faster around corners and on straights and looks an absolute shitload better, (suzuki obviously did not have the expertise to build a bike that looks good as well as goes fast), as for the blackbird well its not even in the hunt.I can keep blokes on Blades and R1s honest around the corners and just hose them on the straights.The bike is also piss easy to ride around town with its precise balance.I have raced a couple of busas all they seem to see is my rear wheel on the straights and lose sight of me on the corners. My bike has been painted black with green pearl(was green). I have fitted a full akrapovic exhaust, stainless braided brake lines,carbon rear hugger and had the wheels,swingarm,calipers,headset,and most of the visible nuts and bolts chromed. After my 6000km service the bike was put on the dyno(dynojet150) for a couple of power runs. Result was 173bhp (130kw) on 98 octane pump fuel, even though the bike was running rich which is common to all ZX12s (a factory thing im told).Once i fit a power commander 2 to tune out the richness and add high flow air filters (the ZX12 has 2) i have know doubt it will be over 180bhp.I have had the speedo on the politcally incorrect side of 330kmph and it was still going, this on a flat road with no wind assistance.Stoppies,wheelies,burnouts no problem, flogging guys who think there turbocharged (insert car here) is fast no problem.This bike $%#@ing ROCKS.
- James Miller, Townsville, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-23 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks! Whether blasting from 0 to 150 mph or taking some tight twisties on a back road, the ZX-12R is up to the task. Unlike its competitors, the ZX-12R blends the best of both worlds. The other big bikes can be leaned but not as far as this one. Deeper lean means more speed and control through the corner. If you don't want vibration, get a Goldwing. If you want unadulterated performance, get this thing. You won't be disappointed.
- R. Washington, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2000 zx-12r in April 2000 and sure enough the bad reviews started. But in the real world this bike has not given me any trouble at all. Fast..brakes..everthing works so well.the break in was something because kawasaki just could not get me the right information so i just took my time.. turned out to be 3600kms but it was worth it. If I had to do it again I would. No Busa for me...get a copy of the fast bike tape mach 3 and you will know all about the 2 fastest bikes in the world ( for now) its the ZX 12r on top.
- Glenn Cheney, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a couple of questions for the ZX12 riders. I'm having a bit of a problem deciding on a GSXR1000, or the ZX12R. I like the way the 12 looks, but I have heard more negative comments about it than I care to hear. My questions are as follows: For those of you who were somewhat skeptic about the 12 before buying it, did your fears subside you once you actually rode the machine? I hear negative things about the oil level gauge, and the vibration. Is this all just trival rubbish once you have the bike in your possession. Last question...despite its weight and size, does it wheelie easy? Any feedback would be great. Thanks!
- Don Garber, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-10 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a technician & part owner at a Kawasaki dealership in Meridian,MS. At a factory seminar it was said to get 100mph in 1st gear alone. It is also to be the fastest production bike on the market. Out of the crate to get 190's(194-196)mph & the Haybusa to get 180's (186)mph. It also so has about 184 Horsepower at the crankshaft & 160's at the rear wheel. It is a great bike. Great looks to 2001 Green & Silver. We have 2 left at our store Taylor & Sons, Inc. at (601)483-0714.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-24 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
KING KAW. BY FAR THE FASTEST PRODUCTION BIKE ON THE ROAD. THE HYABUSA IS A BIG PIG COMPARED TO THIS BABY. UNBELIEVABLE RESPONSE MADE FOR ONLY TRUE RIDERS WHO CAN AFFORD THIS LUXURY. GOES DOWN AS ONE OF THE ALL TIME BIKES RIGHT UP THERE WITH THE 93 ZX11 PURE ADRENELINE RUSH. P.S DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE SUZUKI STILL FALLS 2 STEPS SHORT TO THIS KAWI. WELL MAYBE THEY HAVE A 1400 IN THE WORKS. BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME. OH WHAT DID U THINK THE $3000 PRICE DIFF.IS FOR?
- J. MANTOVI, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki set out to build a bike to dethrone the Suzuki Hayabusa, but they failed. So what do they do? They come up with an Idea to tell us they have restrictions on the bike. Explain this to me. Why would you attempt to build a faster machine then the Hayabusa only to put restrictions on it.Duh! Are we that stupid? If you want the fastest bike buy a Hayabusa. I did. If you want the facts, go to cycleworld.com They tested both the Hayabusa and the ZX12R. The 2001 ZX12R ran the 1/4 mile in 10.04 and has a top speed of 187mph. the 1999 Hayabusa ran the 1/4 mile in 9.86 and has a top speed of 194. The 2001 Hayabusa's top speed was 191mph with the same 9.86 1/4 mile time as the 1999 model.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-07 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to agree with most of you I too own the ZX and have to say the handling makes me forget it's a 1200 it's speed and power makes me glad I asked the dealer what's the fastest bike you've got he had one ZX and two Busas side by side and after not riding for awhile I'm happy to say this is truly a great bike I'm trying to find info of removal of all restrictions please contact me at jayze8@juno.com. Thanx, and good riding.
- jay mendes, quincy ma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-25 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nothing can escape the 12 (land vehicles at least). The 12 drops the Cybusa like is standing still. If you need proof, get the mach III video from Europe. Fit and finish a little disappointing, still one great machine.
- JOSEPH G. CIOPPA, ORLANDO, FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: