Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (33)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2001-09-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My green machine. At first I was totally happy with the performance and handling of my bike. Then I happened to get on a GSXR750 and WOW. I realized that it was a 750 but I knew my bike had more to give, and I had to have that kinda power with the look and style of my bike. I ordered a Muzzy full system and K&N jet kit right away. Once I installed the parts and set the jets correctly the bike became everything I was looking for I just wish I could keep the front on the ground. PS. Order the parts from Kawasaki Wholesale for the best prices. 1-877-797-2453 they had my whole setup for a better price than anyone I could find.
- Jason Tabor, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my red ZX-6R instead of the F4 I was gonna get about 2 weeks ago. Up front I'll say it's an awesome bike. Very fast for a 600. I had heard from more than one source including "sport rider" magazine that this is THE best 600 to have around town because it has so much low-end power, but I haven't found this to be the case. I had a cbr F3 before and it felt like it had twice the low end of the Kawi. I let my friend with an F2 ride it and he even commented that it felt a little peaky like a gsxr! Not a bad thing.. just not what I expected. The carburation is very glitchy below 3k rpm's and the bike will jerk, feeling like it has fuel injection. Mine also doesn't seem to run right once the temp gets above about 200. anybody else have a problem with this?? Also the PLAIN red fairings need some work... the green one looks much better but some stickers or graphics definitely help. Now the good stuff... The really is a great bike and it's very comfortable for long rides and the mileage is really good (not that I give a damn). The brakes a very strong but just require a little more effort at the lever. This bike loves the curves and is very confidence inspiring. It is ready to lean over quick when you push on the bars! The rear shock does have too much compression damping and makes for a rough ride sometimes though. Front end is great. I plan to add a Jardine slip on, drop 1 tooth on the front sprocket and I might try a race-tech gold valve kit for the shock and see if that helps. I recommend this bike to anybody... if you have any questions or comments about it please feel free to e-mail me. GO ERIC BOSTROM #32!!
- Lawdog, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my red ZX-6R about three weeks ago with 900 miles on it and as of yesterday it now reads 2000 mi on the gauge. And let me say that every mile has been awesome. This is a great all around sportbike. I commute to work eighty miles a day round trip and it has to be the most comfortable supersport out there. The nice thing is that it has a broad powerband and has punch right were you need it. I've been thinking about adding a slip-on exhaust, but I don't want to sacrifice any midrange power. Has anyone had good results from any slip-ons out there? Drop me a message if you have. Once again, if I had to do it all over, I would take the ZX-6R in a heartbeat.
- Jon, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-04 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now put 4,000 miles on my ZX6R. It's been rejetted with a K&N filter and a Kerker race carbon end can. Dyno'd at 106 ponies at the back wheel. I love this bike. It screams past 11,000 revs and the can sounds incredible. The only limiting factor was the usual poor Kawasaki rear shock which is harsh and over sprung. This has now been changed to a WP racing shock with a softer spring. It has transformed the handling. The shock is longer than standard and raised the rear ride height so it turns like a demon. The front end on this bike is excellent. If you can lose the front you are mad.
- Danny, Darlington, England

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-04 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First time sportbike rider. Love the bike, happy with everything. haven't really tested the limits yet, but can't wait to do some serious knee dragging. I picked the bike because it was voted best 600cc out of the bunch. A good solid comfortable fun bike. Own one and you will be happy.
- Chris, Roseville

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-28 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've just about finished with my ZX6R. Over the last few months I've added a Micron Titanium slip on (easiest thing ever to hook up), added a K & N jet kit and filter, a LP Euro windscreen, a Eurobikes undertail enclosure (sweet!), and a taillight integrator kit to remove the rear turn signals. This bike flat out screams. This is the way Kawasaki should come from the factory. With the added boost from the pipe and kit, and the sweet smooth handling from the factory, this bike will more than keep up with the "new" 600s. This is the first Kawasaki I've owned, and it won't be the last. If you're looking for a good bike for the daily commute, along with thrashing on the weekend, ride a ZX6R. Try it, you'll love it.
- Kawitipper, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with the guy who wrote not to bother adding the Factory Jet Kit. I had already had a Muzzy exhaust for about a month before the jet kit finally came out. I wish I had never added either one! I mean after I added the pipe, my throttle response, idle, and everything went to shit. I mean the damn thing wouldn't hardly warm up in the mornings. I figured once I got the jet kit for it that would be all I needed. Wrong again. The bike does warm up a little faster now, and it does ride a little better, but nothing to warrant the $1,000 plus I spent on both the full Muzzy exhaust & jet kit! I am in the process of putting my ZX-6R in the paper this Friday. I bought it in January of this year and I am already disappointed big time. I was much happier when I had the bike completely stock. Well, after riding a friend of mine's R1, that is all I needed to decide to make a switch...and fast.
- John M., USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back in August, I posted a raving review about this bike. While I still love my bike, I think it's more just the idea of owning a bike that has me hooked. I just want to warn you that I have had a few problems with this bike since purchasing it including a broken clutch that the Kawasaki dealership says isn't under warranty. Also, after a few months, I noticed a slight but steady decline in power. This tells me that the engineers at Kawasaki spent a lot of money on looks and aerodynamics, but neglected to obsess over the mechanics. I'm still happy with this bike, and wouldn't call someone stupid for owning it, but I would warn you against buying any extended warranties as it wont cover much that goes wrong with the bike -- this is the first and last time I ever get suckered into a warranty. Consider alternatives carefully before purchasing this bike.
- Tobin Titus, Greenville/Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the zx6r back in April of 2000, as a first time rider I was not sure what to expect... I test road every bike on the market and the zx6r was the best. I have now 8200 miles and loving it. Wheelies, endo's, stoppies, canyon carving, I do it all on this bike. Still Stock besides going down one tooth in the front sprocket the bike was on the dyno at 101.3 (California bike) I ride with anywhere from 50-100 riders(socalriders.com) and they give me nothing but props. So trust me when I say this is the bike for you..
- Ryan, Sunny San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first superbike, and I am thoroughly impressed. I have a lot of experience on motocross bikes and finally decided to get a superbike. I love canyon riding and with the ZX6R no one can come close to me. This bike handles so smooth when you're fast and low in the corners, and acceleration in straight-aways is almost unbeatable. The only time I see other bikes is in my rearview mirror. And the growl of that Kawi engine...Catch me if you can.
- S. Allen, Lancaster, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is now November and cold but I got my bike anyway today was my 1st day and I just love it. The new ZX-6R 2001 kick ass. I think I will enjoy it more come spring. Oh one last thing top speed to day 135 mph!!!!! COOL!!!!
- Will, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a newby to say this bike is the end all would be totally exagerating, but it really does just about everything as good or better then expected. I have 2000 canyon carving, trouble free miles. Already got rid of the stock pipe and got a Vance & Hines slip on. With or without it you got to love the intake growl. True, you may have a little trouble keeping up with the liter bikes in a drag but this bad boy was made for the twisties! War Kawi.
- weeicemon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-26 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After putting 2500 miles on my 2000 6r since 9/12/00, i have to say i'm most impressed with its stomping engine and its ability to be ridden very fast with confidence after only a few minutes. Ergos are very CBR-like and leave me feeling very refreshed and eager to ride again once at my destination. Wind protection has got to be the best in the class, and the suspension out of the crate seems to be sporty enough for my 160-pound butt. Handling? Nimble as a cat on a rug. But my favorite characteristic about the bike would have to be that raspy airbox growl that begs me to wring its neck every chance I get! Only complaint? Used to the power. Needs about 25 more horsies. Other than that, it's a long-term keeper. Ride safe.
- Dane Campbell, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-24 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as a first time rider, never even driven a manual transmission car. I got on this zx-6r and was pleased. The only two complaints that I have is my 3rd gear. It keeps getting stuck between 2nd and 3rd. It also makes an annoying clicking sound. The second complaint is that I want more wheelie power. Other than that this bike is great. Great cornering, awesome ergonomics, and awesome comfort. I like the green, which turns heads everywhere. Thanks Kawasaki.
- Ron, Sunrise, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-24 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2001 ZX-6R and after 180mi. I am very pleased. Two minor niggles: I agree with the previous post about the clock and temperature gauge sharing the same LCD (BAD IDEA KAWASAKI). Secondly the helmet hooks if used may dent your rear fairing (IT'S SAD BUT TRUE) with 180 mi I have a small marble size dent in my rear fairing cause I used my helmet hook. While I agree with the use of lightweight materials this is (pardon the expression) ridiculous! What a fun bike to ride though. I sampled a very twisty road with none to smooth a surface in some parts and elevation changes as well as decreasing radius turns and this bike remained fairly composed. This bike has MOTOR!!!! and delivers power throughout the rpm range. Happy trails
- Jeff Whittemore, Evanston, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike ranks up there as one of the best in its class. It's very comfortable, looks great, has a sweet engine, and is easy to ride. But if you want to keep up with everyon else, I suggest getting at least a 900cc.
- Arn, Bay Area California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-27 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello, This 2000 Kawi, ZX-6R is great. They did some refinement to it this year and I am enjoying this bike very much. The new firecracker red color is outstanding and gets you attention. Still breaking the baby in but it still kicks and I just can't wait to crack the throttle open. The seating position to me is the same as the Suk. Bandit, and other naked sport/tourers. Granted I am 6'1" and 240 lbs. This bike as enough to get me around that is for sure. I highly recommend this bike to anyone especially the taller riders
- Matt Smith, Norther, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Unless you're planning to take your purchase to the track, this is by far the best 600 in its class. Great comfort, best mid range in its class...and the looks..WOW. Thanks Kawi.
- Anonymous, Vancouver, Brittish Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally got my Dynojet kit installed to compliment my muzzy pipe, and at this point I can't say I would recommend it. I've noticed a significant power loss below 10,500 rpm that has left me turning upwards of 14,000 rpm to get the acceleration I had without the kit and pipe. Under 10,500 rpm the bike is as slow as the older 6r's, but as soon as you hit 11,000 rpm it takes off. Gone. I wouldn't mind it so much but if I have to continue to run it up against the rev limiter to find the power I'm gonna loose and engine. Has anyone else had this problem with the Dynojet kit and if so do you know of any adjustments that can be made? I know you can go down a tooth on the counter sprocket and add timing advance, but I'm more interested in any carburetor adjustments that can be made. bat out of hell dICK dOOBIE
- dICK dOOBIE, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 1500 miles on my Y2K 6R now and am totally pleased with it. The bike looks, handles, and has incredible power all the way to redline. What a rush...find a real twisty road and have fun. Those liter bike guys will saying, what the heck is going on here? I used to have a Y2K ZR7, but traded it for the ZX6R. The 6R runs circles around the ZR7 in all areas. I like the green and being different than most other bikes out there. So far, I flush mounted the turn signals, cut the rear fender down, and took off the ZX6R and ninja stickers. Plan on getting a Micron slip on soon.
- Steve Christian, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-04 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my ZX-6R in Feb 00, the same time that my best friend bought his CBR F4. I was 100% sure that I had a faster bike. A lot of magazines under rated the CBR but I am here to tell the truth: This bike is fast but not faster than that CBR F4 point bank if you are going to buy in the 600 class go with the CBR F4 Not the ZX-6R.
- Adrian Blackwell, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-21 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Motorcycle World - what an AWESOME WEB SITE!! You and all the reviews posted definitely helped make my decision on a sports bike much easier. Well, I am happy to say that I am now the proud owner of a new Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R (firecraker red at that). And I love it, I haven't even broken in the tires yet, let alone the engine and I can say that the bike just wants to GO! I love the sound, THAT SCREAM, well once again thanks and good luck to any who are about to make one of the best decisions in life by purchasing the new ZX-6R.
- Stanislaus, San Clemente, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-19 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 6R for about 3 months now and it has almost 5000kms on it! Most of my friends that I ride with have liter bikes and to tell you the truth, the only time they can get away from me is on the highway doing roll ons and at insanely high speeds. The 6R can keep and over take all these bikes in the twisties. It is so confidence inspiring when you lean it over that it's almost unbelievable. The tires stick like glue and the suspension soaks up whatever the road dishes out to it. I took it to track day once, and I was passing all sorts of bikes in the corners including R6s, F4s, and a Ducati 996! The motor is phenomenally strong for a 600 and it sounds so good when you hear the ram air sucking it all in at 200+! The great thing about this bike though is that you can be civil with it, and it'll be happy booting around all day at legal limits. But when you want to get rowdy with it, it'll go toe to toe with you and even come up with some surprises of its own!
- Wallace Wong, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my ZX 6R about a month ago and have already racked up 2,000 miles. Included in that was a trip to Ottawa, Canada during which I had the opportunity to cruise at 90-100 mph for extended periods, something my previous bike (RF600R) wouldn't allow due to vibration. The Kawasaki is relatively buzz free to my immense pleasure. Last weekend I got to really hammer it through the Adirondack mountains with three friends and it is easy to run away from bikes the likes of the TL1000R and even the '99 GSXR 750, though the GSXR holds it's own in strait line pretty well. The F4 that was with us was easy to reel in curves and straits. I did a roll-on in sixth and he downshifted to fourth. After 110 I caught and passed him easily without downshifting. I can't express how happy I am with this machine. I highly recommend the D&D pipe, it sounds awesome!
- Evan Smith, Watertown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-12 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From across the pond. Got my 00-ZX6 in April. Running OK, no problems, except found rear shock to be useless on the pot holed, bumpy UK roads. After much fiddling, invested in an Ohlins, transformed bike on stock settings, got even better after dialing in own settings. The bike just drives like its glued to the road. Also threw on a set of Goodrich hoses, good brakes just got better.<br /> Just returned from a 2000 miles dash across Europe, learned a lot, this bike has such good fairing protection, you can just blat all day. The R1's, 996's, CBR6's just could not hold such high cruising speeds (130mph+) only because of less protection. The only bike that looked as comfortable was a 96 Blade. At the pumps the ZX6 and Blade won hands down at about 40-45 mpg (UK). The ZX went up and down mountain passes fast, roads and motorways at such ease, you only realized it's a 600 when on a roll on the 1 litres. Go in much harder unless you have the motor spinning real fast, though even then you're not gonna hold that initial push. We found at top end there was nothing in it with the ZX6, R1, Blade, only the CBR6, 996 could not wind up as far. Once again the large front of the ZX6 really gives you a big bubble, and lets you stay up top with the 1 litres, much to everyone's surprise, add the screaming ram air, this is nirvana!<br /> Swapped to my mates R1 for an hour on a motorway blast, and once again that R1 roll on in any gear has got to be about the best there is. The riding position is focused, but after about 120 miles, the neck muscles were screaming, but I had to fight to get the ZX6 back off him! Fastest armchair in town was the comment. Just looking forward to a whole summer's fun. Safe riding.
- UK biker, London, England

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: