Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (19)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-25 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the real deal. Even though it wasn't suggested, I made this my first bike, and it was a GREAT CHOICE. This bike really makes you feel in control. My only gripe about it so far is gas mileage, getting about 32 mpg but hopefully we can work on that. The other thing is the reserve isn't that easy to hit midflight. Other than that - Perfect.
- DJJ, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-14 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 ZX-7R with 5K miles on it in 2004. It handles great, and the Scott's steering damper wasn't really needed despite the bike's seemingly heavy weight. Engine pulled like I had always heard Kawi fans going on about. Looks were a bit dated, but actually more to my liking than the new bikes. Comfort was better than expected as a 2200 mi round trip in 5 days proved. The only hiccup I had was that the ignition switch failed while driving, and the bike died. Replaced the switch and never had any problems for the next 9000 miles that I owned it. A bit of a hard starter in chilly weather, but all Kawasaki's I have ever had have been cold natured. Great power and easy to learn on. Thanks Kawi.
- nstyle73, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my ZX-7R for 3 seasons. It's a great race-rep with awesome reliability and looks that'll never go out of style. I haven't tweaked the suspension settings, nor have I added any modifications until this spring of 2004. Sure, the bike's a bit porkier than newer 600cc and GSX-R750 offerings in the marketplace. Yes, the bike does lose out on the spec sheets, but, we're real riders aren't we? It's more than just reading and comparing spec sheets - it's also about how your bike feels when you're zipping along highways and urban streets. For real world applications, the ZX-7R has much better than 600cc torque, mid-range power, looks and handling to suit all situations, unless you're a rider that rides at ten tenths all the time! Incidentally, if you ride like that, you must have some sort of a death wish. The ZX-7R is more performance and handling than most riders can exploit in the real world. Sure, it's not showing up on the podiums anymore in World Superbike because the rules there have been more advantageous for V-Twin Ducati's and RC-51's. So what? If you are seeking a bike that can keep-up with the latest/greatest without sacrificing your bank account look no further. Remember, Kawasaki designed this bike for the street first with track considerations secondary - you'll see that evidence in the way this bike handles curves without the twitchiness that newer race reps exhibit. So, don't worry about the weight. Concentrate on it ZX-7R's great reliability, manly pose value, and superb performance!
- Lawrence C., Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-06 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always read on this bike and the yzf600r (thundercat) that it weighs a lot. Well if you think about, on the race track, yes you want less weight, it means more speed. Race bikes have thousands of dollars in suspension and they are rebuilt constantly. Now that is something most people cannot afford to do and who would want to do that every weekend? But, on the real world roads that most of us ride on, a bike with a little more pork in it actually handles better. If you take the mass multiplied by the inertia then factor in a good suspension and an uneven path of travel, i.e. crappy roads in America, you get a formula for a more stable rate of progress because, the weight combats the forces acting against it to provide a more solid feel and drive in the corners. Once the suspension is set in a turn and you basically let the bike take it's line and heavier one will always out corner a lighter one when the going gets ruff. Cross winds and buffeting are better eliminated as well. What moves more when the wind slams you from the side, a tri-axel or a geo metro? It gets ruff more than often here in PA and I'm sure it's like that everywhere. Hope this helps to clear up some confusion on the too much weight complaint. Oh yeah, it still wins a lot of races and competes well against 1000cc twins, it's a win win choice. Eric
- Eric, Sarver, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-19 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike since Ive had it a little over 6 months, Ive put about 1200 miles on it, great balance, great braking, great for real world riding. Now I know why they dont change this bike much because its sweet the way it is. Needs a gas guage though Ive hit reserve twice now while getting carried away on a long ride.
- RW, waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-19 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have a 00 7x7r when i bought my bike i was going to get another 600cc bike i had early model ninjas 600 85 and 86...for the extra 600$ why not step up i thought,,,,,im glad i did! true its a lil heavy.......but it makes up for it .good midrange very dependable. the way i look at it its been the same model since 95 well kawasaki is doing something right!
- john lang, fontana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-28 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding the bike for nearly two years, and it's still pretty bad ass. It's heavy, but very stable in the turns. My friends ride their gsxr600s but they like the way my bike handles, and the bike always gets compliments at school!
- akiraracing, anaheim, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-05 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my bike in September of 2001. It's a 2001 model. The bike is totally complete. It handles very well and has midrange power to boot. The looks are incredible and sound cannot be matched. I have been thinking about later down the road of installing a zx9r motor inside my zx7r. I just wish my motor had a little more power...besides that the bike is awesome. The bike too will be a collector item because Kawasaki decided not to produce a new 2002 model. They have discontinued the model
- ron, Northwest Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2000 ZX-7R P5 model. This bike is very stable at 200+ km/h, and it is great on corners. I added an Akrapovic full system to this baby, and it rocks! I have a galaxy black/yellow/silver model. The bike is rock solid and well engineered. The only down side was that I wished I got green instead ;-) Bike hasn't been changed in 5 years, and I say why mess with perfection?? This bike can keep up with liter bikes, and it always finishes in the top 5 ama and sbk races!!
- Vernon Chiang, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-02 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my "green" ZX in June of 2000. It's the first bike I've had in 9 years after owning a GPZ-550 from 82 to 84 and a 750Turbo from 83 to 91. Now I really loved my Turbo so at first I was really dissatisfied with the riding position of my new ZX and had to start a regimen of Advil for my crunched neck and shoulders. But after getting used to it I soon discovered that the technology between the 80's and 00's is just... well, AWSOME! I mean the engine makes a ton more horsepower, the brakes are better, the handling is better, and... it's just the best motorcycle I've ever owned. I know it's a bit heavier than other 750's but I can never make a mistake with this thing. When I put it into a corner with my 207's it stays right where I put it. And if some snot nosed kid comes buzzing by me on a 600 or something... all I have to do is twist the throttle and I catch up in a real hurry. I can't believe that anybody after buying one would be dissatisfied with it.
- Larry, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love kawasaki motorcycles, always have. I have owned three including two ninja's. I was planning on going to racing school and wanted to dump my 1000R for something lighter. Kawasaki and Suzuki are the only two manufacturers that produce a 750 race machine. So I studdied both models very carefully and it was a no brainer. The ZX7R is the same bike it was 5 years ago. The 600's are starting to eat it's lunch!! Come on kawasaki, shed some weight, increase the power, you know you have the tools to do it!! It is still a nice bike, still fun to ride, but let's get the ninja's crossing the finish line first again!! Ninja's are a living legend and deserve to grow with the times and keep setting records. To the guys at kawasaki - we are waiting for something new! Please impress us! Build it ... we will buy it!!!!
- Rob, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-19 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 ZX7R, And I can't understand why no one tests it or gives it a good review, they all say its long in the tooth and needs a replacement. HAVE ANY OF THESE DUMBASSES EVEN SAT ON ONE??? I doubt it!!! In my opinion this thing kicks some F------ Ass.
- Tj Jarvis, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-12 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Greeting to all my Zx-7riders, well i finally did it I put the muzzy full exhaust system and stage 1 jet kit w/ega. So, the verdict is dangerous. At first from 1st-2nd gear I can tell a little bit, but once u get into 3rd, 4th it's a Beast. Then I the quite rage begans to awaken. However, once i got into 5th and 6th gear the bike seems to have a mind of it's own. However, i still have about a few more mods so I well kept everyone info. Future mods; drop in crams,
- c-dog, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my second choice bike to the GSX-R 750, after riding it one season there's no turning away from green. If you find that the GSX-R is to expensive in price and insurance (1/3 of what it costs to insure a gixxer) this is the bike. It's very stable and makes you feel like Doug in the corners. It has huge six piston calipers begging for steel braided brake lines. More horsepower and less weight, this would be your 750 supersport champion. Where is the new one!!!
- brian wagoner, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-24 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new zx-7r yesterday and I can't seem to take my eyes off it, and it's as fast as it looks. The ZX-7R is a bit heavy but the way it handles makes up for it. If you want a fast bike that will turn heads the ZX-7R is the way to go.
- Eric Hesketh, Auburn, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-01 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a little on the chunky side... that's the bad thing about it. It looks great and has killer ergonomics. This bike hauls serious *** and has a lot of midrange power. It has a long wheelbase that will keep you solid in the corners. It corners like a dream and has a lot of power to get you out of a turn even if you are in the wrong gear. It doesn't wheelie very well though because of the weight and long wheelbase... But I didn't want a bike that would wheelie and if I did I would have a Yamaha R1. This bike can keep up with the 900's and will go 150mph no problem and still want to excellerate!! It's a great street bike and it has a race winning reputation along with excellent reliability. That is why I own the ZX7R. Plus... Its GREEN... My new favorite color!!
- Paul Shurtleff, Provo, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-04 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, in the midst of the gsxr750, and some hot shot 600s, this bike is feeling about as old school as it's starting to look. that's the bad news. The good news is, it's still a great bike, always has been, and that's what it comes down to, fun. My buddy's original zx7 melted down to nothing in a fire, but even then, that was one rippin ride. Now it feels a little tired compared to the gixer, but it isn't slow. It still can give you a full wood at full throttle. If you ask me, if the ride under your *** feels good, then it is good! As for my 2000 zx7, well it's a nice addition to my motorcycle family!
- Anonymous, Dover Plains, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-22 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think riders overlook the zx7r, which is a very good, stable and fast bike. The looks are what first attracted me to the bike, even though it has not really changed since 1995. This bike handles very well in the street. In fact, I sold my 1999 zx6r ninja to buy the 2000 zx7r. don't get me wrong, the zx6r was a very good bike but the zx7r has my heart.
- Kimara Davis, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a fairly new rider, however, I've ridden a few different bikes (Chicago loves sport bikes). My 2000 7R takes the cake. I am over 200lbs so the little extra weight of this bike doesn't phase me. The ride is very aggressive and it handles with minimal effort. This bike takes my limited riding experience and ability to a new level. If you are looking to upgrade in the sub 1000cc range, this bike can't be beat.
- Harrsk, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: