Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (42)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-10-14 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Couldn't find any other place to post a question. Hopefully I don't get into too much hot water for doing it here. Needed a few lines of opinions for Kawi riders about their ZX-9's. Heard all the phrase but I just want to be also prepared for any issues that might come up. Thanks for the help in advance. From what I've read and test rode this is the bike for me. First one and all but I'm limited due to my size. 6'2" at 250 lbs.
- Bishopxl21, Glendale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-10 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 2 years and 20,000+ miles with no problems, This is still a good all around pick. A pipe and jet kit make 134hp. The Corbin seat gets rid of any butt burn. 600 mile days anyone? It cound handle better, but it still handles better than I can ride. I know the gsxr, r1, 954, duc & milie are faster, lighter, kooler. Just sit on one for a couple of hours. OK maybe I'm a sport/touring old guy cause I can smoke bemmers, cbrs & sprints.
- Barry Beckemeyer, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-28 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I struggled recently on my new bike purchase, I've owned numerous sport bikes over the years, but now I needed my last sport bike that I would really excersize before old age creeped up on me. With my riding associates purchasing new bikes, an R1 and GSXR-1000, I knew I had to pick something with power and reasonable handling. Well, we're all 45-48 years old, and my choice of the 2000 ZX9RE is proving to be the best for we mature riders. Living in Southern California, we have excellent roads to attack. I find that on smoother roads, my ZX9 can leave my pained friends behind. The GSXR-1000 is smooth, with compliant suspension and a turbine like power delivery, but its extra power rarely helps in real world road riding. The R1 is quite capable, but I notice the longer we ride, the slower my companions go, so it's obvious to me that the ergo's on my bike allow longer missions. On rougher roads, the suspension's harshness shows itself with a few problems holding a fast line resulting. I suspect a bit of fiddling will improve somewhat. Other than a bit more mechanical noise than other bikes, the Kawasaki is the first choice for the mature sport rider who must first ride the freeway for an hour or so to get to the good roads. My 2000 went out the door in September, 01 for $8400 vs. $11300 for the GSXR-1000 my friend picked up. I have a better all arounder, he has a smoother, more powerful, more refined bike- none of which makes it faster on the roads we ride! The Kawasaki's rough edge begs you to thrash it, the Suzuki demands you are more controlled with your inputs, personally, the Kawasaki is just plain more fun to ride!
- Jon M, Anaheim Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-05 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I finally did it. I bought a crotch rocket. This is after I swore I never would. It is a very good bike. This is my fourth bike in less than a year and half. I am going to keep buying until I find the bike I can't live without. The zx-9r is a really fast bike. It is a lot more comfortable than I would have thought. I've already been on a 500 mile trip on it and it did a lot better than I thought. I was hurting some when I got home, but overall the bike did a lot better than I thought it would. The performance of this bike is a lot more than I will ever use. I can't understand why you would want more. I read the test and comparisons and the zx-9r always comes in last! Why, I can't understand. It has a lot more performance than 99% of most people will ever use. The test talk about how it is not the best track bike there is. How many of you actually go to the track? Its straight line performance is awesome. I gunned it in first gear and it pulled so hard I up shifted into second without using the clutch, this was by accident because I was pulled back so hard I missed the clutch lever. The motor makes a little noise but you get used to it. One of my buddies drives a Honda f4i and he says my bike is more comfortable than his and that my gearbox is so much smoother. So far the only complaint I have is that the bike is not a two-up bike.
- Felix A Valadezf, Midwest City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I had my Kawi 9r, I was very happy, and frankly I can't say anything truly negative about this wonderful bike. However, after riding a friend's Honda 929, I sold my 9R, and bought a new 929. Like all the magazines say, the 929 is a superior bike in most every category when comparing it to the Kawi. The 929 feels and rides more refined and polished, and it his awesome fuel injection too. The Kawi 9r is a bit more comfortable on long rides though.
- Dan, Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WELL THERE IS GOOD & BAD NEWS I love this bike more than sex & U can quote me on that. There is a person who can ride & there are riders. I'm a person who can ride. I brought my Kawi from S.C. to the b town, which is 1800 miles without aching at all. The only problem with that bike is the seat. It could be softer. So how many non Kawi riders can do that and say that they will be able to do it again Suzuki, r1, 929, etc. because their bikes are only for around in the city riding. It's a shame that they spend all that $$$$ on there bikes to just ride around in the city and tow it to another state cause they can't ride cause its only made for around the city. Bad news is 4 days after they stole it right from in front of my apt I'm crying. Later think about those words non Kawi riders
- Grasshopper, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-31 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Why don't you take your sorry 595 back to Britian with all the wankers and slow pokes. Apparently it takes a turbo to make your heap go down the road. Take that turbo off and the 9R will leave your Tridumph trembling in fear. Also, the 9R is lighter than the 595 so get your facts straight before you start running your mouth. I just cannot believe your comments. What a moron...
- KawaFasa, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Barely had my 9R for a month. It's still winter here but I have managed 300 miles so far (500 km). I had an 83 Suzuki GS750ES before this. It amazes me how far bikes have come since. I tested a Bandit 1200 and a ZRX 1100 and this thing is as comfortable as I need with far more power than either of those two. The day I got it I rode 250km with no discomfort at all. As a real world race bike this thing has it all: POWER, STABILITY, COMFORT. I love this bike.
- Caesar, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got it with 1500miles on it bog stock. Have 996S for hardcore stuff. Use the 9R for commuting. Like the looks better than the 929 or the R-1 and more road oriented. Monster motor could use more bottom end. don't really think the things all that heavy and don't notice it on average road. Great fairing. Not the easiest to wheelie at least need to alter my style from dead easy 996. Really like the stock can, intend to see about just modding it and dropping in a jet kit to take a slight dip in power at 4500rpm. Also removed the butt ugly green stickers from the purple black mica paint..MUCH nicer!
- Larry, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-21 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ive had my 9R for three months and 1 speeding fine, its great except the seat. After about two hours my boney ass (sorry butt!) goes numb. Love the silky smooth power delivery once above three grand. Wobbles at high speed round tight bumpy corners but it never does anything silly. Would definatley recommend it. I've had Busa's and exups but this one's the best true road bike yet. There's only one other bike i would buy if the tyres (sorry tires) did not cost a fortune and last only 500 miles is another Busa. Ugly but bloody fast!
- Rob Beck, Wales, UK

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike that offers 90 percent of more focued bikes like the R1, CBR, Gixxer... but is more user freindly. I've logged several 400 and 500 mile days on my 99. Perfect all-arounder for those willing to sacrifice a sharp edge for better ergos. Very suitable for experienced riders who can bridge gap in performance with riding skill. However, i would not buy one if i had the financial resources ($$$$) to purchase more than one motorcycle. Ideally, I'd own two bikes: a balls to the wall track/weekend bike and a more relaxed commuter/tourer. The R1 and Aprillia Futura or Busa would fill my respective needs.
- philip, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am enjoying the greatest 900cc bike on Earth!!!! But the downside to this bike is the suspension system, can anyone share with me their experience on how to tune up the suspension to suit my needs? My weight is 65kg,I like to travel fast on my nine and often encounter handle wobbling during high-speed bends at the speed of 220km-240km, that scares me to go even faster. Town riding always throws me off my seat when going over small humps and uneven roads!!! So please tell me the correct adjustments for this bike thanks a lot guys!!!
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding two wheels (Jr.50,BMX,Mtn.bikes CR125R etc..)for 21 yrs. now. I hooked up with my NINJA in November, the first street bike I have ever owned. What I'm trying to say is, if you're not familiar with motorcycles, this one could hurt you if you're not carefull, (like any 2 wheeler can ) but this one could do it reeaallyy fast. I can't get enough of my two-wheeled ROCKET. From a fellow motorcycle fanatic "BE CAREFULL AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL" Oh yeah, question,, the zx9r will do 0-lightspeed in what?
- 1 proud owner, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-28 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st sportbike. I've ridden a '90 something Yamaha Seca 400 and a '70 CB500. The genre of sportbikes alone is light years ahead of the aforementioned. I was so amazed at the power! I was able to get the Seca to turn and go fairly fast, but not without sphincter-tightening results. I guess I get the same results now, but only because of the increase in speed at which everything now takes place. INCREADIBLE!! I love the 9R! I've had it since mid-June and have about 3400 miles and it's still bone stock. I do have plans for upgrades, but as it stands it flat out rips!! I've had it cranked up to, what the speedo said, pushin' 170mph! Talk about SPF (sphincter pucker factor)!! Ride SAFE!!
- Steve Colorado, Santa Clara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have I been surprised, or what? This bike is great. Quality abounds. Some of the best production welding I've ever seen! Take the time to dial in the suspension - it makes all the difference. It's so refreshing to have suspension adjustments that make a difference. Wish the rear tire was a bit narrower, but no bike is perfect. Have to mention the motor - it's perfect. Smooth, powerful, with a great powerband. The powerband is wide, but still has an exhilarating rush! You want a sportbike that you can ride all day? Go get this one.
- Nicco, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a Hindle Supersport slip-on and I opened the mixture screws 2 turns. that's it. I drag raced 2 2001 GSXR 750's, one stock and one with a full Yosh system. Was no surprise to me that I beat them both. The stock one I beat pretty badly. The other one I pulled by about a bike length in every gear. I road race, and I know on a track it would be the other way around. But you can't beat Kawi horsepower. And everything else about the bike is great, too. I love it!
- Erik Kauffman, Wooster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went this march and got a 2000zx9r, I can't say enough about the bike, it was fast stock, but when I had a full micron exhaust put on, watch out. If any is thinking about a exhaust system for the bike go with micron THE BEST. The bike is fast easy to ride and a great looking bike, you can ride it all day and never get tired of it. Team green did its homework this time. I'm so happy with this bike I'm going to store it in the house this winter. Every bike rider out there, no matter what you ride stay safe and come home alive. John P.S. If any one can guess what this means please e-mail with answer. 1-B-K-A-W.
- john McBride, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-02 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 9r is a great bike but a few things annoy me. The faring rattles over every bump, and the tank is to fat on the top some of that is because of the airbox I know, but it makes the bike feel bigger than it is. No complaints from the motor though its very smooth and lighting fast. My buddies R1 beat me through first gear I caught him by second and past him just as I shifted to 3rd. It also has a great riding position that easy on the wrists and back. And since I do all my riding on the street that was the determining factor for me to purchase the zx-9 over the R1.
- jeff hoffman, Gering, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-12 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To Kawa-Sucki, aka anonymous aka gutless.. It's obvious that you haven't really driven the 2000 zx9r OR got hold of a sick one. Mine does 0-60 in 2.4 seconds and 140+ in the 1/4. You stated "From 0-60mph took. Well, the damn thing barely can hit 60mph" DA! How fast do you expect it to go in the 0-60 test?
- Ronnie Stewart, Fayetteville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-12 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish they would stop comparing this bike with the R1 929 996 GSXR -- it really is built for the real world, and everyday riding. I really like the VFR 800 but low on power that's were the Nine comes in -- big bang motor, touring comfort, great brakes, wind protection good, now if they would just make hard bags. This is my third Nine and nothing on the market comes close.
- K LEBLANC, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-17 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got off my friends zx9 the "WINTER DRAGON "and I have to say, what a heavy, tall, lethargic hunk of Kawa-Sucki dung. If this bike was brown, it would have flies all over it. It handles like a school bus and is just as heavy. The Flintstones car had better breaks. From 0-60mph took..well, the damn thing barely can hit 60mph, ok a little faster, but two full moons passed before I hit 80mph. I will say I had one positive moment on the " Dover Dragon Wagon ", that moment came when I got off the bike, and got back onto my Turbo charged t595, and proceeded to Kick the Kawa~Sucki to the curb.
- Jim the Ping Master, Maple Lane, Dover Plains, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 98 ZX-9R as my first bike. I was told to get to know the bike or else...it will kill you. I took the advice and the time to get aquatinted with the bike. Since then no problems...well just one: I don't get to ride it enough. As for the suspension just take out the time to dial it in to your comfort and riding skill. My bike is still stock and has never lost a single race yet929RR included. If your skills progress and so does your wallet, get Ohlins suspension and dictate your turns.
- Omar Ahmed, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-25 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose the 9R for speed and comfort. At 6' 2", 220 lbs., I'm very pleased. I can ride the bike all day long, and not feel as if I've been on a torture rack. The performance and handling is truly awesome! I've only had the 9R for four months, and I'm looking forward to many, many miles on it. The bike is also quite the head turner everywhere I go, and just flat out ROCKS!!! PS Stay safe, stay alive!
- B. K. Thomas, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-12 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was the only sport bike that fit me. I'm 6'3 and 225lbs., so my choices were limited. I was really happy at first, but never felt all that confidant probably because of the suspension being cranked all the way up for my weight and ability. So I installed a Penske rear shock and Ohlins front springs and boy what a difference a grand makes!! (Thanks Lindemann Engineering) Also the Muzzy Ti system gave me 139.9hp!! Not only does the bike handle my size now, it wants to throw me off the back end. In conclusion, a great motorcycle if you can have only one bike. It won't kill you on a few hour ride and feels like a sheep in wolfs clothing. I do wish it got a little better cruising/mpg range.
- Anonymous, Santa Cruz, Calafornia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Oui oui, this bike is nice enough to kiss. Yes indeed it is a little hefty, but what man doesn't like a little meat on their bones. The power is like John Holmes on Viagra, explosive. The handling is like the 1st time you made it to second base, you'd better consider slowing down, or you may get stopped. But if you don't and make it to home base, it's all worth it. Only bottom boys ride R1s, their the only ones who want their asses in the Air. OK, the 929 is sweet, but the motor isn't as nasty as this one. I am The French lover of KAWASAKI !!! JaTaime
- Alberto Saint, Amenia, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: