Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (29)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-06-24 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1500 fi new in Dec. 2000, I primarily use it for the daily 40 mile round trip to and from work. I am really pleased with every aspect of this bike. The quality and craftsmanship are number one. This is an extremely comfortable bike that handles very well, other than normal maintenance, I have had to replace the "propeller shaft boot" which is a very simple process. I get lots of compliments on my Vulcan and would recommend them to anyone that wants a maintenance free ride. I have owned several different brands of bikes over the years including Harley Davidson, this bike is half the price and for my needs it serves the purpose.
- Ron, Bedford, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-11 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has got it all... It handles bumps and curves easily, pulls from any speed smoothly and has great power and comfort. What can I say about this bike that hasn't already been said. It seems to the number one rated BIG-TWIN everywhere you look. Every bit the look and feel of a Harley at half the price. Just got through my 600 mile service. I used Mobil-1 MX4T 10W-40 oil and the bike runs WONDERFUL, much better than before. Using the Mobil-1 gear oil (75w-90) in the rear. Stay in touch...just added Cobra Highway bars...OMG...awesome, the biggest improvement you could make to the looks of the bike, by far!! SEE YA ON THE ROAD!
- Todd Burton, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-22 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted a cruiser type motorcycle. It was my dream since I was a teenager. Two weeks ago I took a Road Riders Course from Freedom of Road Riders. They supplied the 125cc bikes to do the course. The next day, with my wife's permission, I went out and bought this "Beast". I had to drive it home from the dealer's place, and I was scared as hell. I mean to tell you, though, that after a couple of days, and just barely over 100 miles, I am totally pleased with the Vulcan. I never would have believed that something so big could be that easy and comfortable to ride. It is extremely easy to shift, and with the fuel injection I didn't even need to choke it on a couple of cool morning starts. I just have one question. Why the heck did I wait until I was 53?
- Tom Leyden, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-02 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1500 Classic isn't the fastest, the most powerful, the smoothest, and the prettiest. But, this Vulcan is powerful, torquey, very smooth, maybe the best handling and very nice looking. It has all around appeal. The Vulcan 1500Fi does everything well. I've ridden motorcycles all my life and this bike deserved the "Cruiser of the Year". If you want a cruiser that'll make you smile.... Buy this one!
- Stephan D. Hall, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-06 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my Buell M2 last week for a new 00 Vulcan Classic FI. My buddy owns the shop and gave me a great price (also 4th bike from him).I wanted a v-twin cruiser with metric reliability. Had a K&N/V&H Longshots installed the 2nd day and "Wow". Bike sounds awesome !! Power / Plenty for me. I'm in it for sound, look and feel and am very happy. Too early to question reliability but Kawasaki is known for bulletproof motors. Adding the chrome now and have nothing but + comments. My winter add-on will be a DynoCommander to adjust the fuel injection. Anyone have positive results with this ? If so, lemme know. Thx and be safe.
- Troop, Stoughton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-17 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is fantastic! The best stock seat I have ever owned (15). The only fault I can find is the knocking in the engine, when it is cold. I LOVE this motorcycle! I have a little over 6,000 miles on it.
- Charlie, Pittsfield, Ilinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read a lot of reviews stating how fantastic this bike is. I think I got the lemon. It is three days old. When cold {overnight} there is a loud knocking down in the motor for about 2 to 3 minutes. Then it gradually goes away. It is not a hydraulic lifter. More of a con rod death rattle sound, or a piston slap/pin sound. The battery was flat so the dealer started/warmed the bike up in the back before bringing it to me. I was unaware of the noise or I would never have purchased the bike. Anyone else hearing a knock cold? Also the headlight vibrates in tune with the engine and is hitting the chrome trim.
- Paul, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Vulcan 5 months ago and now it looks like a show bike for half the price of a stock harley. So many aftermarket to chose from u couldn"t imagine!!!!!! All in all watch out all u other bike co. Theres a new dogg in town!!! Betcha you can't ride it just once......
- D , USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took my 1500 FI to an auto upholsterer and had him cut 1" off the top of the pillon and replace with a soft foam, he built up the front and Widened the seat 1 1/2" still using the original seat cover. Difference is night and day. wife no longer complains about hard seat. Rider's saddle is so comfortable, I never would have thought the pillon was hard and uncomfortable. Ordered a pair of passenger boards from Kawasaki and will get them next week. This should make it even more hospitable for passengers, combined with sissy bar. In all other respects this is a superior motorcycle. Been riding since I was 15, now 61. Prior to this bike my all time favorites were a '71 Norton commando and a '71 Motor Guzzi full dresser. This bike just plain does it all, short of trying to be a sport bike. Cruising,touring,commuting, etc.
- Anonymous, Boca Raton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my 2000 Honda A.C.E.750 to the Hoot in Asheville N.C. in June. I test rode a Vulcan 1500 FI. I traded for the Vulcan in July. It has everything you could want in a street cruiser, add bags and your ready for a tour. The ride is smooth, the gear shifting is effortless, a true pleasure to ride. Once you get on you'll make excuses not to get off.
- Frank Moore, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before buying the Vulcan FI, I researched every cruiser on the market. The bottom line is simple and well documented...NOTHING beats the Vulcan for price, performance, quality, and rideability. This is an incredible motorcycle! My wife says the passenger compartment is very comfortable and I couldn't be more pleased with the seat with the driver's layout. I bought the 2000 model as a dealer closeout but this one won't be for sell again in a long, long time. Happy Cruising!
- Bill Allen, Suffolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-11 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say? Went looking at a Harley, then bought a Vulcan. From just outstanding looks to the smoothest ride this side of my couch; the bike is 5-star from end to end. It is absolutely a dream to ride. My only complaint is the chenzy little tool compartment that won't even hold the tools! But at the price, I'll figure something out. Kz fuel injection forever.
- Warren Konkle, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha Roadstar, Suzuki Intruder, Honda Shadow. The Vulcan had everything I was looking for. Shaft Drive, Liquid Cooling, Counterbalanced and rubber mount Engine, Fit & Finish, Fuel Injection, Performance, handling and the Classic Cruiser look. Am not disappointed with the selection of the Vulcan FI. Suits me just fine, right out of the showroom. Have had Harleys in the past. Regardless of their many improvements, I am still not satisfied with their reliablility. For the price they charge they should be better bikes. And since their components are mostly made in Japan, and the parts that are made in Milwaukee and York are made on Japanese machine tools, I figured, I might as well look at Japanese cruisers. And to my surprise, they are superior overall. The Harley's torque is no better and they sound better (in Stock Form), but still are not as reliable. And then there is that price thing. If I took the $9,000 I saved by buying the Vulcan, and put it in a secure investment, I could have returned the full purchase price of the Vulcan after three years. It is like getting a free motorcycle. Even Harley can't make that claim, in spite of their retained resale value. So if you want to work on a bike get a Harley. If you want miles of trouble-free riding, go metric. Yamaha Roadstar is also a great choice. But, they seem to have problems with engine knocks that don't seem to be getting resolved. Plus it scratches the pavement too often in turns. The Vulcan FI has all the good traits and none of the bad. After reading other reviews, I noticed that the biggest complaint on the Vulcan FI was the location of the ignition key. Hey! If that is the biggest problem, then that bike is for me. I guess if I had a complaint it would be that the passenger pillion is a little hard. Actually, that is my wife's complaint. So that leaves me to complaining about the cost of accessories. But all manufacturers gouge you on that. But with the Vulcan FI, there is not much more that I see a need for.
- Bob Burns, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I do not own a Classic 1500 FI, it was a "finalist" during my purchase of a Victory V92C. I had a chance to test drive one in Sturgis, and I was very pleased with the bike. It looks great, has a wide list of accessories, handles well, has good power, and is smooth. Only 4 things were negatives for me: a) it isn't an American V-Twin; b) it has spoke wheels; c) only one color was available (at least two color schemes will be available in 2001 and finally, d) the seat was too squishy for me. I'd imagine that most people would go to an after-market seat. The Victory won out for me, but this is a fantastic bike that you should look at if the "American" issue isn't a big deal for you. It's probably the best big twin on the market today, and I've test ridden everything...including Yamaha, Harley, Suzuki, Honda, and Excelsior Henderson big twins.
- Chris Russell, Cottage Grove, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-23 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in mid-July after having put 5500 miles on a 750 Vulcan (also very sweet but the showroom 1500 Classic FI kept talking to me every time I came into the dealers display area.) The best thing I've done in 30 years, outside of the divorce. Put the usual extras on (bags, sissy bar, super white halogen headlight bulb (highly recommended) and wind shield. Something was missing. Too late for the great summer riding did I figure out a little "sound" was the missing link. With a set of Cobra slash cuts (no injection compensation problems encountered) this already great machine now talks great, too. Only go a month of potential good riding weather and thinking "I'll wait till spring", NUTS, get it now and make your winter miserable waiting for spring :-)!!!!!
- itchyclick, Hastings, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-16 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my '99 Harley in June because I didn't think I had enough time for it to justify the $22,000 tied up. By August I was "lonely" for a bike and headed to the Harley store. The Kawasaki dealer is on the same street and I had just read the FI review in Cruiser, so I stopped. Two hours later I left on the FI for $9700 and have not looked back! It has top shelf technology, features, ride quality, handling, and fit/finish. I now find the time for my FI and don't feel guilty about the $$$!
- stan litsinger, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased the Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 FI last week. The dealer had 2 left and I bought one for, get this: $8400. I couldn't believe the price! They said they had a bunch of 2001 bikes coming in so they had to price the other ones to sell. Anyway, after riding it for just a few days, this is one smooth cruiser. Powerful, refined great seat and handlebar position. The positive neutral finder is a godsend, self-canceling turn signals, really bright headlight and fit and finish that are second to none. The fuel injection makes all the difference in the world. It starts right up every time and provides smooth and instant throttle response. I sat on a Fatboy the other day and I thought "this is nice" but, I could buy two Vulcans for the price of one HD Fatboy and it still wouldn't be as good or offer as many features as the Vulcan Classic. Outstanding value, high tech with a classic look. In my opinion, it's the best cruiser out there.
- Jim, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-15 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my '00 KLR650 in on a '00 Vulcan 1500 Classic FI. Wow! This bike is awesome. Loads of power yet very smooth. I have always wanted a cruiser. When I saw how much maintenance the KLR was going to demand and how little the Vulcan requires, I decided it was time to make the switch. Now valve adjustments. There's no chain cleaning or adjustments. I could go on. I looked at all of the cruisers available and, for this class/ price range, nothing else came close.
- Greg Hoff, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-23 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding all types of motorcycles for the past 45 years, but without any doubt this cruiser is the most enjoyable, smoothest accelerating &easiest handling (for a big bike)I have ever had the pleasure to ride. I bought it one month ago, rode it 250 miles home through the mountains and along the Oregon coast and really put it to the test. I truly can't imagine any other cruiser outperforming it. It swoops thru the curves and glides through the forests like silk. It puts me in mind of when I carve big S-turns snow-skiing!! If any experienced ridersmall or large, male or female is hesitant about buying this awesome machine because it seems to be too big, too much power, too heavy then just do one simple thing TEST RIDE IT and I promise... you'll be amazed at how easily it handles, how stable it feels & how beautifully smooth & quickly it accelerates! This bike has already been voted "Bike of the Year" & "Most Outstanding Cruiser for 2000" by the leading Motorcycle Magazines. And if all those attaboys weren't enough, it's probably one of the best looking stock cruisers, with more state of the art technological features for less money than any other motorcycle made. Do I sound enthused? Naaawww! Just deliriously happy that I own the best bike in town!
- Dave, Brookings, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK...After being hounded by my husband for the last two months, I finally did it. I rode it. I loved it. I really can't say anything bad about it. Although I must admit, I would have liked to. I started riding when I was twenty-three (ahem, about 20 something years ago). I bought a 1976 H.D.Superglide. Subsequently, over the remaining 20-odd years I rode it and four other Harleys. My last one was a 1985 WideGlide. I sold it five years ago due to bad back and knees. Too many years on a hardtail. I found the Vulcan ride to be incredibly easy and smooth. I loved the braking system, really comfortable ride, great acceleration at high speeds. It is an incredibly huge bike but handles with great ease. It really cranked on the highway. I was doing about 90 passing a semi and I could still see my husband's look of terror in my mirror since he was driving behind me. There's very little vibration -- a nice change from the old H.D. I am old now, and things ache on a daily basis. Getting off this bike was simple. My butt wasn't numb, my thigh wasn't red from hitting the rocker boxes and I could feel my fingers. Again, very little vibration. All in all, I told my husband that I was glad he saved the 10 grand rather than buy a Harley. I never thought I'd say it, but the 10 grand will be for my Vulcan in the year 2001. As I was turning into a road a Harley was coming out. He did a doubletake. I said to myself...Ha Ha my husband paid cash and I can ride it anytime I want. Get with it ladies, this is a bike any experienced woman can ride.
- Bonnie from Greentown, Steven's wife, Greentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-08 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just love this bike; the last 1000 miles have just been a pleasure. Just don't try to buy after-market parts. I had to wait four months for the windscreen. But after letters to the AMA, BBB, Kawasaki, and the dealer, I received the accessories. I also found out that customer service people are useless. They can't make up their minds when parts will be available to the customer. This is a great bike, just don't count on customer service.
- Forrest R. Moore, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-08 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Of all the big bikes this was the only one I could get off of the kickstand (true). I had never previously owned a Kawasaki. The low $10,800 suggested list price was not a consideration. Although the Vulcan Classic NON-fuel-Injected version is lighter, has a lower seat height, and lower center of Gravity, this is the bike to buy. I have 3500 miles on it. Turning at low speeds could be improved. The fuel injections, shaft drive, wide-gear ratios, power, workmanship, low-end torque, finish, are all terrific. At 2000-2700 RPM the engine is delightfully smooth. At 3000 there is noticeable vibration in the floorboard. Above 3500 the engine begins to smooth out. The rear-view mirror is never blurred. The instant-automatic-neutral-finder when stopped in low gear is worth the price of admission. The floorboards are marvelous. Although the bike is a heavyweight, a short weak person will enjoy it. All of the many innovations work well. The Kawasaki accessory adjustable backrest for the rider is a must. The headlight is about as bright as the sun. Rifle introduced a paint matching two-tone "Raven" fairing for it. I have one on order. I have owned many bikes over the years. Even after a long journey you will be sad to put this bike away. Of this class of bike the Kawasaki offers the lowest center of gravity. Nit-picks: With the luggage rack installed the helmet holders are difficult and annoying to use. The multi-readout LCD tank located display is small and too often unreadable. I cannot imagine any classic style cruising/touring bike at any price to be better. If Kawasaki could make a V-4 version or eliminate the sympathetic vibration at 3000 RPM the other manufacturers could close up shop and you would never need another bike. Suggestions to Kawasaki: Design an attractive two-tone, matching paint, full fairing for this bike and it becomes your best handling/best selling tourer. Although the vibration is not excessive and could be avoided by gear selection, Kawasaki can and should eliminate it. Purchase Price: $9700 I wonder how it can be improved for 2001?
- Sandy Cooper, West Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-18 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first cruiser I've ever had and I just love it! It constantly remindes me why I started to ride in the first place. I'll now leave the sportbikes to the under 30 crowd. I was going to get a HD Fatboy, but liked the idea of saving $5K and not waiting 7 months for delivery. It's difficult to get over the "Japanese crusier thing" in my head, but once I'm off the boulevard and not posing, it's obvious I made the right choice. Can't beat fast and smooth. There are some chessy chrome covered plastics that scream cost cutting. Oh well, guess I'll be spending some of the money I saved on good chrome accessories!!
- peter fletcher, Santa Cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I put 150 miles on my new bike this past weekend. I love it. The Vulcan FI cruiser has power to spare, and is a real pleasure to ride. I can't wait to get past the break-in period. I ordered new passenger foot pegs, and a Fire & Steel backrest for the wife. This is another classic Kawasaki success story. This cruiser I will keep for many years. It is OUTSTANDING!!
- JD, Brecksville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it yesterday and put 160 miles on so far. Starting to smooth out now and get some power as it breaks in. I love the attention to detail, the long list of features, the fit and finish. Handles well, looks great, has that big twin sound without being obnoxious, and I got mine for just under ten grand. This is the bike Harley SHOULD be making. My only nit-picks? Cheesy passenger and shifter pegs (easy enough to fix) and not as much power off the bottom as I had hoped for (more as it breaks in?). Went through the Kawasaki after market site and didn't find much to buy, then again the bike doesn't need much. One question- how big a pair of saddlebags can I put on this? Got my eye on a set that's 16 x 12 x 5. Too big?
- Steve, Greentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: