Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (30)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-09-04 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for many years. My 2003 Nomad FI is my third bike. My last bike was a 750 Honda Shadow. My Uncle can into town and made be ride his 2001 Nomad FI. I feel in love. The next day I was at the dealership walking out with my new 2003. I have had it for about 600 miles now and everyday look forward to hitting the road. I am 5'11" and about 165lbs. My 2003 is perfect for me. It handles great and I have no problem what so ever with the weight of the bike. I Took alittle honey for a ride the other day and could not even tell she was behind me. Great bike, would recommend it to everyone.
- Allan Newbern, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-08 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 5'2" 112 lbs and have recently traded for a 2000 Nomad FI. The bike is black and is completely stock. I traded my old bike in because I wanted something a little more powerful. I had previously owned a burgundy Honda Shadow 750 ACE. This bike is perfect for me... it lays into turns well and has a great feel for the road. Most other women feel somewhat intimidated when the learn that this bike is 1500 cc's..but I think Kawasaki had us in mind when designing this tourer.. they kept the power somewhat low, and gave the bike a lower seat to accomodate smaller riders.. thank you Kawasaki.. I thought about buying the Intruder LC but decided on the Nomad.
- Tammy Arlis, Neosho, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-11 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A smoooth ride. The best looking cruiser with room to tour two-up in comfort.
- Gary Keeney, Deer Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-18 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote a review last Sept on this bike. I now have 7,000 miles on it now and still love it. I just returned from 2,000 mile Americade rally trip to Lake George, NY. The bike performed flawlessly in the Adirondacks and those bag inserts are excellent to stow a lot of kit. I spoke to a Kawasaki rep from Irvine California while at Americade, who mentioned that a K&N filter and Vance & Hines pipes boost the power nicely - and that with the fuel injection, the system/sensors adapt right away to the changes. I spoke to two folks who made these changes and added the Power Commander as well without any trouble and with more power. Bike is highly recommended! The ignition key position still stinks though.
- Ron Carson, Pembroke, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-16 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 2500 miles on the bike and just returned from the ROT rally in Austin. The bike is top notch, no worries. Travels two-up with loaded bags and T-Bag like it is on rails. I plan to add a Power commander 111 and either some BUB or Vance&Hines pipes and maybe and Thunder Air Kit and get it Dyno tuned. Watch out then. All in all it is great just the way it is but what's wrong with a little more power and a little growl.
- John Herring, Liberty, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-06 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new Nomad is the best touring bike I have ever owned; better than my past BMW R1000RT, HD FLTCUI, Goldwing SE, Shadow Tourer, etc. Its roomy, stable, great handling, starts and runs instantly (FI no choke), and the throttle response is better than I ever thought possible. I regret every day I spent on Carb bikes.
- Alan Wilensky, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-28 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever owened! 25 years of riding, by far the most comfertable and stylish.I was leaving work and couple parked next to me commented " That is the nicest looking Harley they had ever seen" I said thanks but it's not a Harley,It's a Kawasaki Nomad, they said " thats probably why it's nicest bike I've ever seen!"
- Danny Schmidt, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have about 7,000 on my Nomad FI, and not a glitch. With some 30 years of riding, and more than just a couple of bikes over that time, I expected at least a few "normal" new bike problems. There have been none. This bike seems to do it all, and all well. This has to be the best value for the buck out there, and after the time I have spent with it so far, I would buy another, and be willing to pay more. Maybe at 100,000 miles...
- George Roe, Long Grove, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike four days ago and only have one hundred miles on it, but like it already. I have owned a 750 shadow that I keept spotless but this bike is so easy to clean and service can't wait to get it dirty. It's easy to ride, handle, shift. I'm going to have it a long time.
- chas. gwaldo, Cedarpark, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of the bike on july 27. and i made 8k kilometer in 2 months. It's fantastic, the confort, the ride, the brake, the sound, etc... I test ride almost all the new Harley 2000 and i was GLAD to hop on my NOMAD after. For half the price i can ride a good quality bike. Looking foward for this summer, Montreal, California, Seattle, Sturgis, Montreal. SEE YOU
- Daniel Proulx, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-01 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 6 months and 4,000+ miles it just makes going to work each day a JOY! I don't get to spend the time on the weekends exploring the back roads that I would like but a few 300 mile trips make this bike stand out in the world of comfort and ride quality. My short drive to work each day is so much fun I almost don't mind the cold and the rain. My old Honda stayed in the garage on overcast days. A few personal touches make it all the better, i.e. relocating the ignition switch, a backrest and a few bits of dress up chrome make this bike all mine! If I could change a few things, it would be more power and the head light. Not as much power as I fell such a large bike should have, my Honda 700 will out run it, and the headlight can not be aimed high enough on low beam thet the high beem is not in the trees. I'm getting the soulitions, performance parts and a light kit. Problems solved. For the price of this machine, and the looks you can't beat it. I love it when Harley riders say my bike looks better than many $19,000+ Harleys :)
- John D, Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is truly amazing. Could have ridden to California straight from the dealer. Self adjusting valves, self adjusting clutch, liquid cooled, FI, maintenace free shaft drive. My first service cost $95 and that was getting all fluids changed, unbelievable. Valve job on a Harley runs $300-$400. My dealer gives me the best service and Harley wouldn't give me the time of day. I originally wanted to buy American, but since I was treated so badly by Harley I will NEVER buy a Harley. I prefer dealing with someone who actually wants my business, not someone who is doing me a favor by my dropping $20,000 in cash at THEIR doorstop. I am really happy with the way the bike handles, the torque, the look, reliability,and price. It is a superb bike. If you are considering buying one JUST DO IT. In the three months I have owned it I have passed (and offered to help) at least three Harley chappies on the side of the road. The three year bumper to bumper warranty makes this a no brainer! Happy trails, see you in California some day (unless you riding a overpriced piece of crud)
- Michael, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe the response I get from other bikers out there. I have had nothing but praise from all. I now have 2000k on my 2001Nomad FI and the more I ride it the better I like it. Even when We are Two up it cruises with no effort. I am hefty at 240 lbs and my wife is of heavy build. So much for that. And this bike still performs as if I was riding solo. The only thing bad I have To say is that the tires whine at cruising speeds. Maybe a set of Dunlops will solve this problem when I'm ready for new tires.
- Jerry Ward, Middleburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-26 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned an early 99 model Nomad, I can tell you that the improvements made to the engine are very noticeable. The fuel injection is a big plus on the road, and easy starting and smooth running are the norm. Getting 34-38 mpg in the city and 40-47 mpg on the highway, depending on how fast I go. The higher compression and hotter cams make a big difference. The bike is very stable at interstate speeds, passing semis don't blow you off the road. The first thing to change are the tires. The stock rear Bridgestone tire starts whining at 2,500 miles or sooner. Overall this is a great bike, just wish I had held out for the 2001 model, with its seamless 5 gallon fuel tank and cableless speedo!!
- Scott, Savannah Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden for 25 years, hadn't really ridden that much back then, and nothing larger than 350 cc. I bought a Vulcan 800 Classic in June 2000, rode it 600 miles, loved it, but then wanted something bigger. Got a 2000 Nomad FI with 1,100 miles on it off e-bay. (My wife has inherited the 800.) I am 5'6" and 150 lbs. I was concerned the Nomad might be difficult to handle at slow speeds, but once I got used to it I found it to be no problem. It definitely is not as easy to handle in slow maneuvers as the 800, but it is just a matter of practice. When I first rode the Nomad, I thought I would still want to ride the 800 from time to time. Wrong! Now that I am used to the Nomad, I much prefer it to the 800, even on short jaunts around town. The fuel injection and shaft drive gives it extremely smooth acceleration (I would never go back to a carbeurated bike.) It shifts very easily and quietly. The seat is exceptionally comfortable. The bike is extremely stable at highway speeds. The gearing is much higher than the 800 - the engine is barely above an idle at 60 mph and will accelerate from there to 90 or so without any effort. The braking is superb. The clutch is hydraulic; this makes it much easier to pull the lever than my friend's Harley mechanical clutch. The engine is not as smooth as the 800, but the 800 might even be too smooth. The 1500 is perfect in my opinion. You can "feel" (or "sense" rather) and hear the rumble of the V-twin, but there is no noticeable vibration - really. The only down side to the bike is that the handlebars are not long enough for a short guy like me, so I get a little uncomfortable on longer rides. But all that is needed are longer bars, which I will be getting shortly. The rest of the ergonomics are great. As you might suspect, I love this bike. Unless a person cares more about "status" or likes to spend more money, I see no reason at all to buy a Harley.
- Dave H., Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-19 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike,got it the end of July. Can't put it up for the winter,every brake in weather,I've got to get it out! If someone knows of the right touring seat for this bike drop me a line.
- Robert, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ran a carbureted Nomad for two seasons and switched to the FI last May. The bike is very comfortable (once I put the Mustang Wide Nostalgic seat, 4x1 risers and Kuryakin offset ISO pegs on it). The ignition switch has also been moved (Thunder). I am enjoying this bike immensely. I put 34,000 kilometers (21,000 miles) on it in five months, and only did oil and final drive fluid changes. No problems. I have towed a cargo trailer for over 13,000 of those miles. The tires are now Avon Venom-X, which improve the handling. I would recommend the FI Nomad to anyone who wants a cruiser bike. And when you factor the price in, it's a great value.
- Jim Robinson, Sudbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In August of this year I traded my Vulcan 800 Classic for a new Nomad FI (impulse buy) on a Saturday and left Sunday morning for what turned out to be an 800 mi. tour through Nova Scotia. The bike never missed a beat, and still hasn't, it just keeps on getting better and better. The ride, comfort, performance, fit and finish is all I could ever ask for. Plenty of power for rides through the White Mountains, and plenty of braking for that Moose in the road. If my local dealer is any indication of the Kawasaki organization then it must be good, he is extremely knowledgeable, and service (both sales and mechanical) has been excellent. My impulse buy turned out to be the best buy I have ever made. I can't wait for Spring.
- Bruce Massie, Gilford, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have just traded my Honda Blackbird for the VN1500. (There was a real threat that I would lose my license on the Blackbird) Have never experienced the cruiser concept before and have been very pleasantly surprised. The seating position is comfortable and relaxed and the engine just ooozes an effortless relaxed atmosphere. This bike has resurrected interest from my wife who has enjoyed two good outings so far but she is asking for a backrest. She feels somewhat insecure when I accelerate hard. I looked long and hard at the competition including Harley's. I concluded that the Kawasaki offered the best value for money and the build quality looks superb. Only time will tell if I am right in this respect. Overall this bike is a real head turner. Everywhere we stop a group of admires always forms especially the more senior people. Will submit a further review in six months time.
- Peter, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-14 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 20 years, I decided to ride again. All I ever had were Harleys. After road testing all the new big v twins, I bought the Nomad F.I. Had it 3 weeks and already have 1400 miles on it. Can't get off. This bike is very comfortable, handles well, has plenty of torque gets more looks than a custom (mine is the purplish black) & averages 40mpg. What more can you ask for. Buy the F.I. Nomad, every one with carb Nomads complain about poor gas mileage. All I did besides cleaning the bike was to add a back rest for my wife. Buy the contoured one, it's the most comfortable. Only complaint is that the ignition switch is in the dumbest place. I plan to move it just below the speedo.
- Ted, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-17 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Extensive research led me to purchase my first big sled in May 2000 at the tender age of 53. The small Suzuki I owned in my 20's and the "scooters" I rode in driver training barely prepared me for the thrill of owning and riding my black Nomad/FI. With a few accessories for my favorite passenger (my wife picked the color) all this horse needs is time and the open road. The ride is always pure fun and excitement. Now that it's broken in after many hours on our lovely and plentiful back roads, we have learned a few neat tricks when it comes to parking, tight maneuvering and passenger boarding. This brute is heavy and requires full concentration but is well worth the occasional strain once the abundant torque propels you at any speed, and in any condition. Can hardly wait until autumn.
- Des Smith, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-15 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently returned from a trip of 1,800 miles through every conceivable type of roadway from Florida to West Virginia. The bike exceeded all of my expectations: comfort, power, and maneuverability. I have always been a Honda man but the features offered over the Valkyerie made me take the chance and I am glad I did. I can't imagine any better ride. The FI is a piece of heaven and the counterbalanced engine purrs smoothly at any speed. I know that Kawasaki has copied the style and engineering from Harley-Davidson but even if I had the money, I would still choose this bike. There is no competition at this price.
- John D., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-14 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished a 9 day trip through the Smokey Mountains on my week old Nomad FI, riding two up with my wife. Couldn't believe how comfortable the factory saddles were for both of us. This bike has plenty of power, handles well and the range is acceptable, I like to stretch every couple or hours anyway. We put 2300 miles on and did not experience any saddle soreness! I did add the factory drivers backrest as well as the factory sissy bar and rack, and am glad I did. Got a lot of looks from all different riders when we stopped. Even fully loaded with a large tailpack it handles well. If you want a great touring cruiser without having to add a lot of accessories this is the one!
- Ned K, North Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-11 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After trading my 99 Nomad for a Royal Star Venture, I longed for the V-twin and a bike I could customize more. Got the Nomad FI and am very happy with this bike. Very smooth tranny and motor. Accelerates easily and is very stable at freeway speeds. Of course, I've added my personal touches such as Bub exhaust, Mustang seat and 4 x 2 risers along with lots of chrome. All in all, one of the finest light touring rigs around! BTW, learn more about your Nomad at www.vroc.org.
- Tallsilver, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2000 Nomad FI in March. I love it! This was my first "cruiser" and the biggest bike I have owned in 27 years of riding. I was amazed at its ability to hold a line in a turn and how stable it is in the wind and traffic. Slow speed maneuvering can be tricky but just remember to keep your head up. The seat, bars and controls relationships are just about perfect. The foot boards are nice and roomy and give you a variety of positions for your feet while riding. The power is smooth and the FI makes starting and warm-up effortless. There are, of course, endless accessories available from Kawasaki and many other sources. Once you get your new Nomad, don't forget to check out the Vulcan Riders and Owners Club at www.vroc.org. Lot's of tech tips, performance mods, rides, rallies, etc online.
- Bill Langton, Truckee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: