Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Vince

Lumberton, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike after reading all the reviews and I have to agree with everyone that this is a great bike. It's a sharp looking bike and I get told that it looks like a Harley all the time. The bike handles well and the 800cc's is enough power to keep up with the group. After market Vance & Hanes pipes make it heard loud and clear. I get between 46-48 MPG and normally hit the reserve around 140-150 miles. Now even though it's a great bike and I do recommend it there are a few things that you should know. The first thing is that if you have a full face helment you will not be able to see indicator lights or (depending on how tall you are) half of the speedometer. I tend to ride the turn signal and if the indicator lights were higher it would be a good reminder. The second thing is that I wouldn't recommend the bike to persons over 6 foot if you intend on taking long trips. I'm 6'2 and the seat slumps in the center of the bike and I can't move my butt back far enough to ride in with straight posture. After 100 miles or so you'll tend to slump and get backaches. Other then that it's a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LA Steidl

Wausau, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my Vulcan since 2000. Brand new, put together in the shop. Cobra Pipes, Backrest, Roll Bars Front and Rear, Windsheild, Double Running Lights in front, And about $1000 in Chrome, from Kawasaki. I have had twelve cycles since I was 16 years old, and NONE, can compare to the Vulcan 800 Kawasaki. It rides like a Cadalic, has power like a Crotch Rocket, and is great looking. I am asked all the time, what it is. # 1 in my book. Ride a VULCAN, you won't be sorry.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Morris

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After a 20 year absence from biking I decided to return take it up again. I wanted something for weekenders and around the back roads of rural Texas. (I try to avoid interstates). But I didn't want to empty my life's savings. I researched all I could find about medium sized bikes and finally decided on the Kawa 800 classic. I made a very, very good decision. The bike meets all my needs, expections, and hopes. I'm now the "old grandpa" on a fancy bike to all the neighbors. (I'm 63). This bike really rules. LOVE IT!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sherry (Rider)

Delaware

Reviewed on 2002-02-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got my motorcycle license September 2000 and just started really riding the Spring and Summer of 2001. Finding a bike for a 5'2" woman was difficult, But the 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan Classic was great. I did have to get a lowering kit (which was hard to find for the classic), but since I got it, it has really improved my balance and now I am flat footed. The bike is not too heavy for me either. My first long ride with the bike was from Delaware to Virgina (about 250 miles). It felt great. Even though I have learned a lot, I still have a lot to learn about the bike. But I am glad I chose this bike and not something else that would have been too small for me and I would have gotten easily bored on. I still have some accessories I want to get for the bike including a windsheild, floor boards, and highway pegs. Any woman who rides and is around my height, this is a perfect bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Stone

Denison, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2000 Vulcan Classic 800 back in June and have loved it every day since. I have installed a Cobra exhaust system, windshield, saddlebags, chrome engine guard,radiator cover, and sissybar. It has plenty of power and makes the 41 mile drive to work a thing to look forward to. The only problem I have encountered was the correct jets on the carburetors after installing the aftermarket exhaust system. It truly is a super bike for anyone..The heighth of the seat makes it easy to control and long distances are no longer a thing to be dreaded. It gets my vote anyday..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Naymik

Defiance, Ohio

Reviewed on 2001-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Not having a motorcycle for many years and not sure of the one I wanted to buy was a problem. The problem was solved when I visited by local dealer. Sat on different types of Cruisers and the 800 fit me the best. Took out the Black/Silver for and a test ride and what a great feeling. Decided to buy it. Add a lot of accessories since May 1, 2000. Keep adding on the chrome. People say "nice HD or Victory" and I say it's not, it's a Kawasaki Vulcan Classic. I would recommend anyone looking to buy a bike go sit on a Vulcan 800 Classic and you won't want to get off!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Stone

Denison, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 2000 model Vulcan Classic I purchased had a previous owner,..but he gave up on the bike after just 61 days. The dealer made me a deal that was hard to turn down. I have installed a windshield, saddlebags, a chrome radiator cover, Cobra exhaust, and a sissy bar to keep Momma from falling off. I ride the bike 190 miles to work, and the return trip five days later. It handles like a dream and runs 70 mph for two hours without a problem. This is a great mid-size bike for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pc

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2001-05-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my New 2001 800 Classic 5/3/01 from a dealer and now have about 400 miles on the bike. I can honestly say I LOVE this bike and am glad I made this choice. The bike rides smooth with the two 16" wheels, corners well, has low seat height, that I need, overall feels good, has very good styling and on the first tank of gas, got 53 mpg. I bought the Candy Wine Red color and added a windshield, light bar kit w/ visors on all lights, sissy bar with rack and crash bar, all of this REALLY sets this bike off !! The only thing, I wish this bike had a driveshaft instead of a chain drive for lower maintenance. Several of my Harley friends have made comments as to how nice of a choice I have made and for sure you CAN'T beat the price!!! ($7000 range).
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. R. Pyle, Jr.

Spring, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 800 Classic in July 2000. It had been bought new by a friend who wanted something larger after only three months. He goofed and I got lucky. He knows now that he should have kept the bike. It does resemble H-D's offerings after he added a set of aftermarket soft bags, floorboards along with a Fire & Steel windshield and sissy bar. No engine modifications were needed. There is sufficient power on tap at the flick of the wrist and prudent use of the gear shifter. Riding right I get over 50 mpg. that's no laughing matter with the gas prices going higher each day. When I first got the bike I noticed how quiet it was compared to many of the other V-Twins I had heard. No so now. I've over 7200 miles on it and once it gets warmed up a little it sounds great. I saved the money and aggravation of having to change out the pipes, re-jet the carb, etc. Now I can use those bucks for one problem area I have had with the bike...the seat. I'm not a small man, but it is a little too soft for me on longer hauls. The only other problem is that you can't get too aggressive on left turns without dragging something. It's not a sport bike and does not pretend to be one. In summation, if something happened to this bike I would buy another one like it. It is that good a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Mc Laughlin

Darby, PA

Reviewed on 2001-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought mine only three weeks ago. Already put 600 miles on it. I only paid $5995 for it. $1000 under MSRP! This bike is an awesome deal. I think that you get a lot for the money. My only complaints are that when I lean to the left on a turn it is easy to scrape the kickstand, the tranny is not very smooth shifting and there is no fuel gauge. Other than that, I am 6 foot tall and this bike fits me real well. Even the handlebars are just right. The only things that I added were a sissy bar (for the wife), soft saddlebags, and a rear luggage rack. I do not plan on adding anything else. In two years I will trade her in for a 1500 Nomad FI. Compare and see for your self! Nobody else gives you this much for this money in this kind of bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: