Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (27)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-06-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after reading all the reviews and I have to agree with everyone that this is a great bike. It's a sharp looking bike and I get told that it looks like a Harley all the time. The bike handles well and the 800cc's is enough power to keep up with the group. After market Vance & Hanes pipes make it heard loud and clear. I get between 46-48 MPG and normally hit the reserve around 140-150 miles. Now even though it's a great bike and I do recommend it there are a few things that you should know. The first thing is that if you have a full face helment you will not be able to see indicator lights or (depending on how tall you are) half of the speedometer. I tend to ride the turn signal and if the indicator lights were higher it would be a good reminder. The second thing is that I wouldn't recommend the bike to persons over 6 foot if you intend on taking long trips. I'm 6'2 and the seat slumps in the center of the bike and I can't move my butt back far enough to ride in with straight posture. After 100 miles or so you'll tend to slump and get backaches. Other then that it's a great bike.
- Vince, Lumberton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-05 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Vulcan since 2000. Brand new, put together in the shop. Cobra Pipes, Backrest, Roll Bars Front and Rear, Windsheild, Double Running Lights in front, And about $1000 in Chrome, from Kawasaki. I have had twelve cycles since I was 16 years old, and NONE, can compare to the Vulcan 800 Kawasaki. It rides like a Cadalic, has power like a Crotch Rocket, and is great looking. I am asked all the time, what it is. # 1 in my book. Ride a VULCAN, you won't be sorry.
- LA Steidl, Wausau, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-19 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 20 year absence from biking I decided to return take it up again. I wanted something for weekenders and around the back roads of rural Texas. (I try to avoid interstates). But I didn't want to empty my life's savings. I researched all I could find about medium sized bikes and finally decided on the Kawa 800 classic. I made a very, very good decision. The bike meets all my needs, expections, and hopes. I'm now the "old grandpa" on a fancy bike to all the neighbors. (I'm 63). This bike really rules. LOVE IT!!!!
- Bob Morris, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-18 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my motorcycle license September 2000 and just started really riding the Spring and Summer of 2001. Finding a bike for a 5'2" woman was difficult, But the 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan Classic was great. I did have to get a lowering kit (which was hard to find for the classic), but since I got it, it has really improved my balance and now I am flat footed. The bike is not too heavy for me either. My first long ride with the bike was from Delaware to Virgina (about 250 miles). It felt great. Even though I have learned a lot, I still have a lot to learn about the bike. But I am glad I chose this bike and not something else that would have been too small for me and I would have gotten easily bored on. I still have some accessories I want to get for the bike including a windsheild, floor boards, and highway pegs. Any woman who rides and is around my height, this is a perfect bike for you.
- Sherry (Rider), Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2000 Vulcan Classic 800 back in June and have loved it every day since. I have installed a Cobra exhaust system, windshield, saddlebags, chrome engine guard,radiator cover, and sissybar. It has plenty of power and makes the 41 mile drive to work a thing to look forward to. The only problem I have encountered was the correct jets on the carburetors after installing the aftermarket exhaust system. It truly is a super bike for anyone..The heighth of the seat makes it easy to control and long distances are no longer a thing to be dreaded. It gets my vote anyday..
- Ron Stone, Denison, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not having a motorcycle for many years and not sure of the one I wanted to buy was a problem. The problem was solved when I visited by local dealer. Sat on different types of Cruisers and the 800 fit me the best. Took out the Black/Silver for and a test ride and what a great feeling. Decided to buy it. Add a lot of accessories since May 1, 2000. Keep adding on the chrome. People say "nice HD or Victory" and I say it's not, it's a Kawasaki Vulcan Classic. I would recommend anyone looking to buy a bike go sit on a Vulcan 800 Classic and you won't want to get off!
- Jim Naymik, Defiance, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-26 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2000 model Vulcan Classic I purchased had a previous owner,..but he gave up on the bike after just 61 days. The dealer made me a deal that was hard to turn down. I have installed a windshield, saddlebags, a chrome radiator cover, Cobra exhaust, and a sissy bar to keep Momma from falling off. I ride the bike 190 miles to work, and the return trip five days later. It handles like a dream and runs 70 mph for two hours without a problem. This is a great mid-size bike for the money.
- Ron Stone, Denison, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-28 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my New 2001 800 Classic 5/3/01 from a dealer and now have about 400 miles on the bike. I can honestly say I LOVE this bike and am glad I made this choice. The bike rides smooth with the two 16" wheels, corners well, has low seat height, that I need, overall feels good, has very good styling and on the first tank of gas, got 53 mpg. I bought the Candy Wine Red color and added a windshield, light bar kit w/ visors on all lights, sissy bar with rack and crash bar, all of this REALLY sets this bike off !! The only thing, I wish this bike had a driveshaft instead of a chain drive for lower maintenance. Several of my Harley friends have made comments as to how nice of a choice I have made and for sure you CAN'T beat the price!!! ($7000 range).
- Pc, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-19 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 800 Classic in July 2000. It had been bought new by a friend who wanted something larger after only three months. He goofed and I got lucky. He knows now that he should have kept the bike. It does resemble H-D's offerings after he added a set of aftermarket soft bags, floorboards along with a Fire & Steel windshield and sissy bar. No engine modifications were needed. There is sufficient power on tap at the flick of the wrist and prudent use of the gear shifter. Riding right I get over 50 mpg. that's no laughing matter with the gas prices going higher each day. When I first got the bike I noticed how quiet it was compared to many of the other V-Twins I had heard. No so now. I've over 7200 miles on it and once it gets warmed up a little it sounds great. I saved the money and aggravation of having to change out the pipes, re-jet the carb, etc. Now I can use those bucks for one problem area I have had with the bike...the seat. I'm not a small man, but it is a little too soft for me on longer hauls. The only other problem is that you can't get too aggressive on left turns without dragging something. It's not a sport bike and does not pretend to be one. In summation, if something happened to this bike I would buy another one like it. It is that good a bike.
- J. R. Pyle, Jr., Spring, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-23 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine only three weeks ago. Already put 600 miles on it. I only paid $5995 for it. $1000 under MSRP! This bike is an awesome deal. I think that you get a lot for the money. My only complaints are that when I lean to the left on a turn it is easy to scrape the kickstand, the tranny is not very smooth shifting and there is no fuel gauge. Other than that, I am 6 foot tall and this bike fits me real well. Even the handlebars are just right. The only things that I added were a sissy bar (for the wife), soft saddlebags, and a rear luggage rack. I do not plan on adding anything else. In two years I will trade her in for a 1500 Nomad FI. Compare and see for your self! Nobody else gives you this much for this money in this kind of bike.
- John Mc Laughlin, Darby, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-29 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this motorcycle the end of December. I now have 800 miles on it. It is a joy to ride. It is smooth and handles very well. A strong engine and I see no need for anything bigger. Even at 70mph on the interstate with both myself and wife on it still has some punch left. The motorcycle itself is very reasonable cost. Lots of extras available and I loaded it up. Typical though, they make more money on the accessories than they do on the motorcycle. I added windshield, wind deflectors, light bar, floor boards, back rest, luggage rack, engine guard, Hwy pegs, thunder kit air intake and straight exaust system (really bosts the power), molded and custom painted hard bags, and some extra chrome pieces. I am not a Harley fan, and had no intention of making it into one but when I got done it looks like one and a number of people was sure it was a Harley. Very comfortable fit and ride. Real Happy. Purchased at Kawasaki of Statesville in Statesville, NC. A fair and very good d
- Tom, Cornelius, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-27 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first new bike that I have ever bought, I fell in love with it the moment I saw it. The 50's look sold me right away.... I have had many bikes and this one sold me on it's looks alone!... Then when I drove it out of the dealers show room I was so excited that put 210 miles on it the first day!!! Everyone thinks it's a Harley!... That is NOT a positive thing though! MY bike is built in America... That is more than I can say for the Harley counter-part!!!!... This bike has been my dream..and I did'nt even have to give any blood to buy it!!!... I have read all the reviews and I agree with them all.... Just READ them!!! The only "down" side is that the peg protector scrapes when you go into a corner a "little" fast..... I love this bike and you may think that a KAW is "not" American... But do the research and you will find... indeed that it is AMERICAN MADE!!!!!! Can "Harley" say that!!!...... This bike handles like a dream, feels like the wind and will MAKE you hold on when you give her the gas!.....
- Wayne D. Wentz, Port Huron

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT MINE LAST SUMMER. IT'S A 98, WANTED TO GET BACK INTO THE MARKET, BUT REFUSE TO PAY HARLEY PRICES. I've HAD 2 HARLEYS, 2 HONDAS AND ALSO OWN A VENTURE ROYAL FOR LONG HAULS, BUT FOR SHORT HOPS HAVE REALLY ENJOYED THE VULCAN. THE FIT AND FINISH ARE GREAT, WAS A LITTLE UNDERPOWERED WHEN I GOT IT BUT A HYPERCHARGER, JET KIT AND PIPE CHANGE MADE A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE. WOULD LIKE TO ADD A BIG BORE KIT IF I CAN FIND ONE. NEED JUST A FEW MORE PONIES. BUT OVER ALL I've BEEN REALLY PLEASED WITH THE BIKE.
- RICH, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-23 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first cruiser in 19 years of riding. Purchased new in summer 2k. The handling on this bike is terrible! I have spoken to my dealer (golden gate cycles in SF,CA) and they told me it was normal. This bike doesnt feel good in the corners, is sloppy on all turns, is like jello on any road surface that is not 100% smooth. I dont think this can be right, but my dealer tells me it is the fact that this cruiser has so much of its weight on the rear wheel. Am I being snowed by a 'crappy' dealer, not interested by service? Is anyone else having this kind of issue? If so please tell me (either way) at tellrich@hotmail.com. I think this bike is unbelievably beautiful, people stop me all the time...but unless it can be improved upon in the handling department I think its garbage or worse a danger to any rider. Anyone from kawasaki checking these reviews out? Anyone from Golden gate cycles? At my riding wits end (I dont even think riding this bike is fun anymore). Please help!
- rm, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike was a Honda CB 160 back in 1965, I have owned other Hondas over the past 35 years, but when I saw the Classic 800 and read the reviews I fell in love. I was able to purchase the 800 with easy financing and soon was awed with its great feel, looks, and responsiveness. I would recommend this bike to any inter mediate/experienced rider that needs a nice reliable ride at a nice non-harley price. I work with a lot of Harley owners that diss the Orientals but all I can say is that I got a lot of bike for half the priced with better technology. My congratulations to the big "k" for the 800 and its Vulcan family.
- Dave, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-17 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had mine for two weeks now. I don't know what it can do since I haven't gotten past the break-in period yet, but it's a good running bike that handles highway speeds well.
- Steven Maurno, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-16 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been a great year, My new 800 Classic is so popular, all my friends want to take it out. And they all want one now: Only complaint is the front end is too stiff, and accessories are too expensive. Overall Kawasaki you did a fine job on this cruiser...Thanks
- creaker, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-26 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just rolled over 2k on my 2000, Classic. It is a fun bike to ride with a couple of exceptions. This is my fourth bike (last one was a V65) and my first cruiser. I like the power, the looks, and the feel. Minuses would be the low ground clearance (easy to scrape those feeler pegs), a little stiff in the ride and the chain drive. I plan to convert to belt drive as soon as I can afford it. Otherwise... Have Fun!
- Ray, SF Bay Area, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-18 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 Vulcan 800 Classic with just about 3000 miles on it. This was my first bike in about 20 years and my first brand new bike ever. It is great. The bike is well balanced, smooth, and very easy to ride. The motor is a dream and pulls strongly from idle to full throttle. It can cruise all day at 70 with no problem. The ergonomics are good, and the bike just looks right. The only problem is a lack of ground clearance. Even at a relaxed pace you can drag the pegs in the turns. Once you get used to the lean angles it isn't a big issue, but it is something that detracts a little from the otherwise stellar performance. While not an expert by any means, I highly recommend this bike...
- Brian Milack, Merrick, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Put 3000 on so far and it's runnin' fine. I get 47-49 mpg. Peg drags on SHARP turns, but slowing down prevents this MOST of the time. I'm thinking of putting a Corbin seat on. The lady needs a little more comfort. I thought of a bigger ride, but really don't NEED one. Any EXPERIENCE with a corbin? Please let me Know. Great Cycle!
- Roger Sanders, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-07 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been without a bike for several years and thought I'd get back into it with an 800-class cruiser. After much research, I bought the Kawasaki, and am extremely happy with it! I am 6'4" and it fits me very well. It is a big frame with a low seat. Even my wife at 5'2' can reach the ground when sitting on it. It is very smooth at highway speeds, little vibration and the mirrors are clear. The smoothness has impressed me the most. Power at any speed is good. Conceptually, I am not a chain drive fan, but this bike is so smooth I don't notice it. On the highway, it seems most comfortable at 65 mph, or above 75 mph. My top mileage has been 49 mpg. After 5000 miles, I am quite happy. A couple of minor aggravations - the low clearance makes it a bit disconcerting to scrape pegs on twisties which don't seem too severe, but that hasn't happened often. (Okay, so I was going a bit fast for the roads I was on!)Also, after about 150 miles or so of continual riding, the seat begins to feel hard to me. My wife doesn't know I've been 102 mph on it on a flat straightaway. And, I have had to chuckle when I have gotten quite a few "nice Harley" comments.
- Jim Williams, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-30 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently upgraded from a 1985 KZ750 (4 cylinder) to the '00 Vulcan 800. I exhausted myself looking at bikes across the spectrum; out of all the brands and models I looked at, the 800 classic was by far the best choice. It's plenty powerful enough for the interstate, way customize-able, and a joy to ride. And the price is right at about $7000. I believe this bike will retain its value well. I have about 3K miles on it already, and it has been running great.
- Steve, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-22 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put the 2k 800classic to the test, and found that it's almost perfect except for the foot brake gets in the way when you try to put your foot on the footpeg, and the pipes are SO quite my lawmower drowns it out! The bike handles great and has good power up to 95 mph! The bike will go faster, but it's starting to run out of steam. The bike is a good looker and will give you a smooth ride and 55miles to the gallon!
- The Master, Paennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-26 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my new 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic for about a week and a half now and it is one of the smoothest riding bikes I have ever been on. With all the chrome and stylings this bike has to offer, I couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. It doesn't feel like an 800 (more like a 500 or 600) because it is so well balanced. It has great power with no hesitation. Probably the best bike I've ever ridden.
- Anonymous, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-12 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What first attracted me was the look. The two-tone paint, full flared fenders, tank-mounted speedo, staggered slash cut pipes and the abundance of chrome. What "sold" me was the ever reliable "butt" test of the relationship between the seat, bars and pegs. It just feels right! I have just completed the 600-mile break in and am very pleased with the smoothness and comfort of this motorcycle. Power is strong and smooth through all gears, even when riding two up, which brings me to my other selling point. My "wife", very much intimidated by the thought of riding "any" motorcycle on the highway was quickly won over. Though her passion is not quite equal to mine, she looks forward to our Sunday rides along the ocean, and "I" look forward to sharing many more with her. This is a "quality" motorcycle with the perfect blend of the classic look of the 50's and the technology of the 90's. This is "NOT" my father's motorcycle!
- Richard VanCampen, Wellington, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: