Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycle reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

sean

watertown, New York

Reviewed on 2009-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is very fast. Has lots of torque. I am very happy with this bike. I recommend this bike to anyone looking to purchase a cruiser that has the power and handling of a sport bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Atwell

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2001-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a new 2000 Bandit 1200S a couple weeks back and now have over 1300 miles on it in four rides. Overall power delivery is great and the low/midrange torque is just what the non-racing rider enjoys in normal weekend riding. But with a flick of the wrist it jumps from 70-100 mph in seconds, is still only at 6000 rpm (redline is 10), and has way too much power left. Handling is also tremendous and I'm really enjoying it while running through the Colorado mountains and valleys. It'll be a while (if ever) before I'll want to reach the limits of the bike's handling capability. Unfortunately, the seat design is poor and uncomfortable for the 300-500 mile rides I enjoy. However, I have easily altered my seat by peeling back the cover and using a common electric kitchen carving knife to reshape it to fit (more like a saddle). At 5'7" that got my feet flatter on the ground and also took just a bit of weight off my arms and shoulders (sorry, I'm not a crotch rocket rider). The seat modification is easy and well worth the effort. Of course, you can always drop $300 for a Corbin if you wish. The stock mini-fairing works pretty well, throwing most wind around your torso although your arms and head/helmet will feel the wind. For early and late season riding I may buy and use a slightly higher and wider shield so I can extend by riding season. I own a '95 Gold Wing SE which my wife likes to ride on and which I'll continue to use for long trips. I also have a Honda Magna 700 cruiser which is great for "calm" day rides. But for an invigorating 1-up day ride the Bandit 1200S is the bike of choice, hands down. It's combination of great styling, handling, and superb power make it one great canyon carver!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J.

Syracuse, New York

Reviewed on 2001-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I researched many bikes before choosing the GSF1200,(Ducati Monster, ZRX 1200R ). I currently have just over 900 miles on the bike -- I've only had it two weeks and can't stay off it. It is a great bike for two up riding or just commuting. I can not say enough about the bike's midrange torque. It makes the bike very easy to drive. When cruising with friends I have not found one of their bikes that can keep up with me when I roll the throttle back. They are all grabbing for a lower gear and the Bandit just blows them away. The bike handles well for a big bike. It's no GSXR but holds it's in the handling department. My only regret may have been buying the base Bandit and not the "S" the wind is intense over 130 MPH no matter how flat you lay on the tank.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chevysellr19

Upstate New York

Reviewed on 2001-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Let me just say that I've researched EVERYTHING in the "naked" bike market. I compared price, features, horsepower, handling, seating, you name it! I even had the chance to compare a 2000 1200S along side the 2001 I bought. There is no better all around machine for power, handling, looks,or anything else for that matter, that will measure up to the '01 Bandit 1200S! Sure, there are bikes that will do something better than the B12, but for all around riding, this thing is fantastic. Great mid range punch, easy in town riding and holds it's own on the twisty back roads. And the price!! I got my '01 for $6600.+ tax. NO OTHER BIKE in this engine class came close to that!!! Hats off to Suzuki for taking a solid bike and making it a ton better in 2001. I can't stay off it!! But that's the general idea, right! If your looking for a great machine to do alot of things well, GO see your local Suzuki dealer quick, and hope he has one!! Good riding>
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Derrough

Lewisville (Dallas) , Texas

Reviewed on 2001-03-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For those of you tall guys who find it uncomfortable to ride cruises even with forward foot control, I have found the bike for you. Being a 6 foot 6 inches mostly leg bike rider, cruisers didn't fair well with me that little thing of steering just keep getting in the way. But I seen the light! and it came in the form of the Bandit 1200S . Those of you with a 38' inseam will enjoy this comfortable ride of this sport bike. It has the feel of a cruiser with the handling and looks of a sport bike. You will feel at ease weather you are on the highway are or just wondering the city streets. The 1200S have plenty of power to spare and a seat that you can stay on all day. Over all this bike is a good value, with the heart of an untamed beast. Sign; Lets ride!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glenn

Detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2001-02-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I used to ride a 1993 Suzuki GS1100 that I thought was a great all around standard until I sold it prior to having knee surgery and knew I wouldn't be riding for some time. Well that was 2 years ago, in December of 2000 after reading a whole bunch of reviews on different bikes and price ranges, I decided to come back home to Suzuki and try the Bandit this time. One of the best investments I have ever made, great riding, handling, and just plain fun bike that you could ever own. I know a lot of riders say that the Bandit is fast, they are not kidding, now we are not talking about racetrack fast, we are talking about street driving and before you know how fast you are going before you get a ticket fast here. I've heard a lot about this bike wanting to do wheelies all the time when you twist the thottle and thought yea right, I'm 6'3' and weight over 300lbs, they were not kidding about that either. Look I always beleive people should buy what they want and be happy, but if you're unsure about what bike to get that you'll keep for a long time and modify to become that perfect bike for you this is it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howard Betts

San Jose, California

Reviewed on 2001-01-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a brand new rider, just started in October. I was afraid the Bandit was going to be too much bike. The Bandit is easier to ride than the small bikes I rode during the MSF class. If the engine is turning anywhere from 2500-8000 rpm, it doesn't matter, just twist the throittle and go. I hear the Bandit is not considered fast, but any faster would be scary. I haven't found anything (car anyway) that I can't leave behind with a filck of the wrist. Handling on the twisting backroads has been wonderful. I have yet to notice any holes or flat spots in the power curve. At 6'4", I needed a tall bike. There are many bikes I can't sit on, nevermind trying to ride. The Bandit gives me a good bike that I can grow into for many years to come. Thanks Suzuki!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Monterey, California

Reviewed on 2001-01-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The new Bandit is better than I imagined. It's comfortable, smooth, and fast. It's the first time my wife asked to hop on the back for an afternoon cruise through Carmel Valley. Since the engine is same bulletproof mother that was bolted in the GSXR, I think it will be very reliable and affordable to maintain. I'll write again after I put a couple thousand miles on it and see how I still feel about it...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter

Southern, California

Reviewed on 2001-01-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a long time rider, 35yrs since my first Triumph and numerous high performance bikes since. I first rode a big Suz in 1981 and knew that if they ever put that engine in a proper street setup I'd be knocking down the door to buy it. I guess they must have heard me and 20,000 other riders thinking because this is almost exactly what I would have done and at such a reasonable price! WOW, what a machine... Strong, stable, quick steering, fine brakes. Perfect, comfortable seating posture for long sporting rides. Even the small fairing does a good job of keeping the air pressure off your head and chest. This machine takes a highly evolved engine design and puts it's best features to work in a way that makes it's power characteristics usable, safe to play with and enormous fun in the proper setting. And the 2001 is supposed to be an improved version. There's never been a street bike like the Big Bandit!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Southern California

Reviewed on 2001-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been lucky enough to have ridden just about every damed motorcycle out there. My favorites have always been the GSXR line. Now that I'm a little older, a little wiser and I was looking for something a little more comfortable with the capabilities of hot rod performance, so I bought the 2000 1200 Bandit. The funnest bike I have ever ridden! It's comfortable and wicked fast! It power wheelies 2nd gear! The amount of torque is very cool. After changing the S/O, jetting and timing advancer (all HOLESHOT products) this thing is running 1/4 mi's in the mid 10's at 130+ mph. But oh no, I'm not stoping there. Stepped header, head work, and re-profiled cams, I'm look for 3rd gear power wheelies. Even if I have to pick up an 11:1 piston kit from holeshot. This bike is a total blast. I plan on keeping if a long time. I just read one article, someone complaining about vibration and I'm not sure what they are talking about? Even after the modifications that I've made, vibration is minimal and only existant at warm-up / idle. On the freeway, smooth as silk. This is the world fastest sofa.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: