Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-07-12 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from a trip from Indianapolis to NC and Tennessee. The bike handled very well on the highway, but I will tell you side winds slowed me down to 50 MPH at times... most of the time I was able to cruise at 80 MPH with no problems. Even going through the mountains, it handled beautifully despite the heavy rain. After riding 500 miles on the trip my butt started to feel pain, and by the time I reached 800 it was screaming... the trip was just shy of 1200 miles, and I can tell you it took me a few days to recoup. Still think this is a great bike, it is very responsive, torky little thing, and it's got a lot of pep. The bike is perfect for camping. I took tons of stuff strapped to the back (I have no luggage rack - bike is stock) and even being a bit heavy, bike was great on the highway. I have been riding with folks who ride cruisers, and I sometimes struggle to keep up if they decide to speed, but I think it is mostly because of the unusual Spring/Summer season we've had in the midwest... too much rain and tons of wind. While all bikes don't like the wind, the DR really hates it. Your question, "Do I recommend the bike?" You BETCHA! Buy this bike and you won't be disappointed. By the way, it's been getting anywhere between 50 to 60 MPG and with gas prices this high, this bike pays for itself every time you ride it! It is kind of cool to be riding a bike that is different from eveyone else. Lots of people came to talk to me about the bike.
- Lou Oliveira, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-27 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your toy budget is too thin to cover multiple bikes, a dual sport like the DR is worth serious consideration. The counterbalanced single has plenty of low-vibration beans to pull away at the stoplight rush, and the height and upright seating lets you scan that dangerous urban terrain more effectively. Lighter & faster than the KLR, yet steady at rush-hour slab speeds. Great brakes limited slightly by compromise tires, flickable like a bicycle compared to most cruisers. 55 mpg almost any way you abuse it. And then on the weekend, you're ready to do some off-road exploring, because face it, interesting twisty asphalt is hard to find here in the desert S.W., but there's TONS of good dirt. The seat is hard, but there are aftermarket solutions - my cheap fix that's good for an extra hour in the saddle is a simple sheepskin pad. Solid transportation, great fun.
- Banzaguy, Bisbee, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-26 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 97 DR has over 24,000kms on it and it still runs strong. the original front tire needs replacing as the stable feel at high speeds has diminished. All my riding companions ahve big bore sport bikes so I do hold them up a bit. I added a slipstreamer windshield for a trip to Colorado and it made a huge difference in comfort. I also lowerd the gearing one tooth on the primary because 5th gear was bogging at 100 km/hr. The top end of the bike (over 170km/hr) was beyond the stability limit of the chassis; the lower gearing produces better mid-range acceleration as well. I may go with a gel or Corbin seat for next years trips.
- Ray Browne, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-03 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got a great deal on this bike '01 DR650, if not for this deal I probably would've bought the XR650L. The suspension was my biggest concern, but after riding with my friend on his xr650L I'm no longer concerned. This bike went over the logs, ruts and obstacles just as well as the Honda. The motor is much smoother and more powerful than the Honda as well. This bike is better everywhere except maybe high speed whoops, and jumps. Buy this bike, it will put a smile on your face! :-)
- Larry, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-02 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As usual with anything "dual," this bike turns out to be "neither"--that is to say after 40 miles on the highway your butt is gone, and for primarily dirt work the 400 will outperform it. Suzuki has, however, inadvertently created a great city machine. Plenty of torque; high ride for good visibility (a must now, due to idiot helmet laws narrow machine with flex signals and mirrors and hand protectors makes bike ideal for lane-splitting; potholes = no problema; you can jump a curb and hardly feel it; light so you can manhandle it with ease; will stop on a dime, whatever that is. Avoid high winds, though. This bike is FUN.
- Mikey, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-02 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm just past the first recommended service, and the bike's been terrific! Plenty of power, solid brakes, light and nimble. I worried about the power before I got it (6' 285lbs) but no problems there. Can get squirrely past 70mph 'cause of the wind buffet. For rides of 3 or 4 hours or more I suggest the optional gel seat. But I'm VERY happy with it!!
- Ray, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-11 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been doing research all winter. My goal was a bike for country farm roads and limited woods roads & trails. I also wanted enough power for two people if the need should arise. I got a new 2001 model, which seems to be the same as a 2000. If one is looking for a machine to ride the interstate with on a 3 hour trip, then this is not your bike. I wanted a bike that had some mass to it so the wind wouldn't blow you off the road and was still nimble enough to navigate a logging road with ease. I don't have a lot of miles on it but it sure seems to be a solid bike that will be around for awhile.
- Joe, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-25 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, the reviews for this bike are all over the place! I guess it comes down to what you expected the bike to be and what bikes you are use to. I didn't really expect much of the bike. I bought it to ride on rough paved roads in the Santa Cruz mountains and for a few trips off road in the Sierras. When I bought this I had 2 street bikes and 1 dirt bike. I have been amazed at how great a street bike it is. It is very powerful, easy to pass slow cars in the mountains, runs very smooth at 70-80MPH and all this with out touching a thing (stock tires, jetting, pipe, etc). Maybe racing enduros on KTMs makes me think this Suzuki seat is fine! :-) For the street, I don't think I'd take off on an Interstate, multi-day trip ... that'd be a pain. But a multi-day trip through twisty mountain roads would be great. So far I've just done basic dirt roads for off road and I'll probably leave it at that. I'm totally thrilled with the bike ... I've actually sold 1 of my street bikes and considering selling the other one (only reason to keep the other street bike would be for those long multi-day highway trips). It would be nice if it was a 6 speed so that the gearing would be lower offroad but still have the high speed capabilities.
- David, California Bay Area

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-20 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
JUST COMPLETED OVER 5000 MILES. I SOLD MY XL650R BECAUSE OF ITS SHORT FIRST GEAR AND TALL SECOND GEAR WHICH MADE IT HARD TO RIDE IN THE DIRT AND NOT TO MENTION THE NOSE BLEEDS FROM THE TALL SEAT HEIGHT. NOW THIS DR HAS PUT THE LOVE BACK INTO DUAL SPORT BIKES. IT RIDES SMOOTH WITH NICE HANDLING AND POWER DELIVERY. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SEAT. YOUR GLUTIS MAXIMUS WILL BE BEGGING FOR MERCY AFTER 100 MILES, UNLESS YOU CAN EXPLAIN TO THE POLICE OFFICER WHY YOU ARE RIDING ON THE FOOTPEGS DOWN THE FREEWAY. I SUGGEST YOU MAKE A FEW STOPS ON THOSE LONG TOUR RIDES. OH, BY THE WAY, DOES ANYBODY KNOW WHERE I CAN GET AN AFTER MARKET PIPE FOR THIS BEAST?
- STEVEN REES, Los Fresnos, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold my GSX600F because I thought I was going to get killed on it...Bought a DR650...What a nightmare. Anything over 30 miles did my back in, and the seat!!! Like sitting on a razor blade. As for pillions, forget it, unless you like your passenger head-butting you all the time! Had to take it to Waterford a couple of years ago about 200 miles away. Let me tell you, motorways are out. Anything over 80mph and the bars are waving from side to side, good job there were two lanes because I used them both. Anyway, I was left miles behind my mates, they had their tents up, had a smoke and a couple of beers before I even arrived .Oh, I was also told that when riding my bike, it looked like I had a poker stuck up my hole, and let me tell you.... it felt like it.
- Peter, Northern Ireland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-20 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in 1996...this past year it's been my only transportation, so i use it mainly for commuting & such...it's happy doing 80 on the freeway...would easily go faster...you do get buffeted by the wind, of course, but to me that's part of the appeal of a motorcycle...it's also unfazed by pothole-infested city streets...handles well on wet pavement...I did find the seat height intimidating at first, not being able to put both feet down, even with the optional lowering (I'm 5'2")...once I got used to that I found it very comfortable...no noticeable vibration either...maintenance & insurance costs have been quite reasonable...the engine does seem to be fussy about being kept in perfect tune; valve clearance needs to be adjusted every few thousand miles...my only minor quibble is that the suspension could be better for road riding; it feels a bit unstable in cornering at speed...I intend to get a street bike too this year, but no way I'm giving up my DR!
- rowan!, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Dual sports (all of them) are cursed with awful seats. I added the Corbin seat and IMS oversize tank and transformed my 99 DR650 into a really comfortable mount. Last weekend I rode 200 miles to a series of trails in western Va, rode 75 miles of trails then rode 200 miles home, all in one day! And I'm no teenager, I'm 44 years old. The bike performs perfectly. In the 8000 miles I've ridden this year, I've replaced the noisy stock chain rollers with White Brothers rollers. This reduced noise and vibration to very acceptable levels. Having owned a 96 XR650L, I can attest that the DR is more forgiving for us mere mortals to ride in the dirt, mostly due to almost three inches lower seat height. The DR's suspension is a step down from the XR and won't soak up high-speed rock hits as well, but it won't beat you to death and bottom over everything like a KLR 650 either. On the street (since the addition of the Corbin seat) it has replaced my SV650 as my choice for the 30-mile daily freeway commute. Sitting up high and straight with plush suspension, plenty of room to move around and wide, comfortable handlebars makes for a great ride with the added capability of cutting across the medians and heading the other way whenever I come upon traffic jams. The motor purrs happily at 70 mph with enough juice left for spurts to 90 when necessary. The only thing the bike won't do is carry a passenger in any degree of comfort as the seat is just too short. I intend to ride the wheels off my DR and buy another one if they still make them by then.
- Dave, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-26 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a '96, but it has not changed.... the bike has good power, and does a great job of ripping through corners on the street, and then take a little air out of the tires, and you are good (not great) for the dirt. A buddy owns a KTM 640LC and he cannot lose me in the dirt,and his bike is heavier. It is a fun all-arounder. On the street, it is a blast in real twisty roads where you will frustrate most sport bikes by passing in tight U-turn-like corners....really funny to see the looks on their faces when they finally catch up with you....most are just pissed off...
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-19 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, mine is a '96 but this bike hasn't really changed since then. I just wanted to say that my buddy (65) and I (66) rode our DR's to Alaska this summer with no problems at all (rain excluded). We took dirt roads where practical but still rode about 6000 miles on pavement. We averaged 400 miles a day and did as many as 550 a couple times. We moved right along. Several days NO ONE passed us. Neither of us added any oil on the trip. We did pad the seats, take the knobies off, and attach saddle bags and small windshields but that's about it. If you have been riding dirt bikes you will love the freedom this bike allows. If you are a street rider, forget dual purpose or stifle the whining.
- Bob, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The prior reviewer just doesn't like dual-purpose bikes. Of course a standard or cruiser has a more comfortable seat. But in the dual-purpose competition, this bike shines. The Honda model is better in the dirt, and the Kaw is better on the street, but this is the perfect 50-50 match. It's equally good either place. And it IS comfortable for a dualer.
- gonzo, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-01 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a DR650SE and traded it up for a Kawasaki 750 Vulcan cruiser a month later after barely breaking it in. The seat was comparable to sitting on a rock. Now I know it's a dual sport and you're supposed to spend more time standing on the pegs but let's face it, most dual sports are 90% street driven. Something I think the manufacturers are starting to address (As with the Kawasaki 650 which is more street oriented). I often had problems getting it into first gear -- seems it just wouldn't come out of neutral until I really banged the gearshift (embarrassing at red lights). Arizona heat in the middle of July was too much for its under-powered battery and would cause it to crank very slowly. It had a lot of vibration through all gears and all rpm ranges. Power was acceptable (Providing the motor wasn't overheating in the 110+ degree temps) and it would get 55 or so miles per gallon. Off road the bike seemed best at home where it would take hills and jumps with ease. After buying and trading this one, I can only say this: 1) avoid a dual sport if you are thinking about buying one "Just to go to work and back". Past 15 minutes of riding it is very uncomfortable, as there is no back support to speak of. There are cruisers available in the same price range that are far more comfortable. 2) Avoid single --cylinder big bores, they are vibrations' best friend (We've all had the "tingling hands" but this one is really bad) and 3). If you like off road riding, but still want something to get back and forth to work with, you might want to consider getting an inexpensive cruiser (like an 800 Suzuki Marauder or an 800 Yamaha V-Star) and look for your off-road "toy" separately. Dual Sports have their place and it isn't on the pavement.
- Richard Haag, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: