Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lou Oliveira

Indianapolis, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Just got back from a trip from Indianapolis to NC and Tennessee. The bike handled very well on the highway, but I will tell you side winds slowed me down to 50 MPH at times... most of the time I was able to cruise at 80 MPH with no problems. Even going through the mountains, it handled beautifully despite the heavy rain. After riding 500 miles on the trip my butt started to feel pain, and by the time I reached 800 it was screaming... the trip was just shy of 1200 miles, and I can tell you it took me a few days to recoup. Still think this is a great bike, it is very responsive, torky little thing, and it's got a lot of pep. The bike is perfect for camping. I took tons of stuff strapped to the back (I have no luggage rack - bike is stock) and even being a bit heavy, bike was great on the highway. I have been riding with folks who ride cruisers, and I sometimes struggle to keep up if they decide to speed, but I think it is mostly because of the unusual Spring/Summer season we've had in the midwest... too much rain and tons of wind. While all bikes don't like the wind, the DR really hates it. Your question, "Do I recommend the bike?" You BETCHA! Buy this bike and you won't be disappointed. By the way, it's been getting anywhere between 50 to 60 MPG and with gas prices this high, this bike pays for itself every time you ride it! It is kind of cool to be riding a bike that is different from eveyone else. Lots of people came to talk to me about the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Banzaguy

Bisbee, Arizona

Reviewed on 2002-02-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If your toy budget is too thin to cover multiple bikes, a dual sport like the DR is worth serious consideration. The counterbalanced single has plenty of low-vibration beans to pull away at the stoplight rush, and the height and upright seating lets you scan that dangerous urban terrain more effectively. Lighter & faster than the KLR, yet steady at rush-hour slab speeds. Great brakes limited slightly by compromise tires, flickable like a bicycle compared to most cruisers. 55 mpg almost any way you abuse it. And then on the weekend, you're ready to do some off-road exploring, because face it, interesting twisty asphalt is hard to find here in the desert S.W., but there's TONS of good dirt. The seat is hard, but there are aftermarket solutions - my cheap fix that's good for an extra hour in the saddle is a simple sheepskin pad. Solid transportation, great fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray Browne

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2001-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 97 DR has over 24,000kms on it and it still runs strong. the original front tire needs replacing as the stable feel at high speeds has diminished. All my riding companions ahve big bore sport bikes so I do hold them up a bit. I added a slipstreamer windshield for a trip to Colorado and it made a huge difference in comfort. I also lowerd the gearing one tooth on the primary because 5th gear was bogging at 100 km/hr. The top end of the bike (over 170km/hr) was beyond the stability limit of the chassis; the lower gearing produces better mid-range acceleration as well. I may go with a gel or Corbin seat for next years trips.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

Oregon

Reviewed on 2001-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got a great deal on this bike '01 DR650, if not for this deal I probably would've bought the XR650L. The suspension was my biggest concern, but after riding with my friend on his xr650L I'm no longer concerned. This bike went over the logs, ruts and obstacles just as well as the Honda. The motor is much smoother and more powerful than the Honda as well. This bike is better everywhere except maybe high speed whoops, and jumps. Buy this bike, it will put a smile on your face! :-)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mikey

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2001-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As usual with anything "dual," this bike turns out to be "neither"--that is to say after 40 miles on the highway your butt is gone, and for primarily dirt work the 400 will outperform it. Suzuki has, however, inadvertently created a great city machine. Plenty of torque; high ride for good visibility (a must now, due to idiot helmet laws narrow machine with flex signals and mirrors and hand protectors makes bike ideal for lane-splitting; potholes = no problema; you can jump a curb and hardly feel it; light so you can manhandle it with ease; will stop on a dime, whatever that is. Avoid high winds, though. This bike is FUN.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2001-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm just past the first recommended service, and the bike's been terrific! Plenty of power, solid brakes, light and nimble. I worried about the power before I got it (6' 285lbs) but no problems there. Can get squirrely past 70mph 'cause of the wind buffet. For rides of 3 or 4 hours or more I suggest the optional gel seat. But I'm VERY happy with it!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2001-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been doing research all winter. My goal was a bike for country farm roads and limited woods roads & trails. I also wanted enough power for two people if the need should arise. I got a new 2001 model, which seems to be the same as a 2000. If one is looking for a machine to ride the interstate with on a 3 hour trip, then this is not your bike. I wanted a bike that had some mass to it so the wind wouldn't blow you off the road and was still nimble enough to navigate a logging road with ease. I don't have a lot of miles on it but it sure seems to be a solid bike that will be around for awhile.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

California Bay Area

Reviewed on 2001-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow, the reviews for this bike are all over the place! I guess it comes down to what you expected the bike to be and what bikes you are use to. I didn't really expect much of the bike. I bought it to ride on rough paved roads in the Santa Cruz mountains and for a few trips off road in the Sierras. When I bought this I had 2 street bikes and 1 dirt bike. I have been amazed at how great a street bike it is. It is very powerful, easy to pass slow cars in the mountains, runs very smooth at 70-80MPH and all this with out touching a thing (stock tires, jetting, pipe, etc). Maybe racing enduros on KTMs makes me think this Suzuki seat is fine! :-) For the street, I don't think I'd take off on an Interstate, multi-day trip ... that'd be a pain. But a multi-day trip through twisty mountain roads would be great. So far I've just done basic dirt roads for off road and I'll probably leave it at that. I'm totally thrilled with the bike ... I've actually sold 1 of my street bikes and considering selling the other one (only reason to keep the other street bike would be for those long multi-day highway trips). It would be nice if it was a 6 speed so that the gearing would be lower offroad but still have the high speed capabilities.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

STEVEN REES

Los Fresnos, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
JUST COMPLETED OVER 5000 MILES. I SOLD MY XL650R BECAUSE OF ITS SHORT FIRST GEAR AND TALL SECOND GEAR WHICH MADE IT HARD TO RIDE IN THE DIRT AND NOT TO MENTION THE NOSE BLEEDS FROM THE TALL SEAT HEIGHT. NOW THIS DR HAS PUT THE LOVE BACK INTO DUAL SPORT BIKES. IT RIDES SMOOTH WITH NICE HANDLING AND POWER DELIVERY. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SEAT. YOUR GLUTIS MAXIMUS WILL BE BEGGING FOR MERCY AFTER 100 MILES, UNLESS YOU CAN EXPLAIN TO THE POLICE OFFICER WHY YOU ARE RIDING ON THE FOOTPEGS DOWN THE FREEWAY. I SUGGEST YOU MAKE A FEW STOPS ON THOSE LONG TOUR RIDES. OH, BY THE WAY, DOES ANYBODY KNOW WHERE I CAN GET AN AFTER MARKET PIPE FOR THIS BEAST?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter

Northern Ireland

Reviewed on 2001-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Sold my GSX600F because I thought I was going to get killed on it...Bought a DR650...What a nightmare. Anything over 30 miles did my back in, and the seat!!! Like sitting on a razor blade. As for pillions, forget it, unless you like your passenger head-butting you all the time! Had to take it to Waterford a couple of years ago about 200 miles away. Let me tell you, motorways are out. Anything over 80mph and the bars are waving from side to side, good job there were two lanes because I used them both. Anyway, I was left miles behind my mates, they had their tents up, had a smoke and a couple of beers before I even arrived .Oh, I was also told that when riding my bike, it looked like I had a poker stuck up my hole, and let me tell you.... it felt like it.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: