Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (70)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-03 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new at a dealership in Washington State. We get a lot of rain throught the year (yes, sometimes summer showers, too). It does well in the rain but it will hydroplane in puddles and ruts. I've been riding since I was a kid. I use the 'BUSA' for rush hour traffic into Seattle, 62 miles one-way. Commuting is where the miles have piled up. The dealership has keep my animal alive and kicking. I was hoping to reach 100,000 miles this year but it might not happen until next year.
- Ron Grooms, Mount Vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is absolutely flawless. After reading the reviews posted here, I finally amassed enough courage to buy one. It is used, with 32K miles but it feels brand new and smooth. It has insane power, but can be very tame. I saw the review that said that the bike handles like crap... I'm here to say that that is a lie. This bike handles very nice and will lean with the best of them. Super twisty roads may not be the place for this, but on your average roads and highways, it will perform. My previous experience includes two R6s and and a Gixxer 1K. All bike have been fantastic, but I could never ride another. If I did, it would be a GSXR 1K, but I think that's a stretch. My Busa is here to stay. Bite your tongue and swallow your fears, this bike is nothing to be afraid of, but something to be respected. Mind your throttle gents...
- The Devil, Anytown, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-06 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in March of 2000. Had to wait for the Blue/Silver which I still like the best. Have a few rock chips in the lower fairings from the front tire, otherwise holding up well. Gone thru a couple batteries, 3 drive chains, 2 sets of plugs, 2 sets of brake pads, and several rear tires. Nothing else has been done to her. Just starting to get a little valve noise when you first start her up in the morning, but still running great. No oil burning or leaking. Getting 46 to 49 mpg most of the time. Only complaint is that the seat could be more comfortable. Like the energizer bunny, she just keeps going and going...quickly. Would like to have a new 2008, just nothing wrong with my 2000. Still enjoy riding it after 72,500 miles and counting!
- Jack, Boonville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-24 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 2000 Red/Silver Hayabusa for almost 6 years now. This is the one without the speed restrictor on it. This bike never fails to surprise me even now. It's ready to deliver the power I need in almost any situation - I was able to pull it up to 90mph in 1st gear and also was able to be in the 6th gear at 35mph. Needless to say, it leaves others far behind on wide open roads, but it is very well behaved in city traffic as well. I was able to get 30-50 mpg depending on the driving style.
- Amrit Moola, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-02 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have my boys to thank for having this bike. They both have GSXR's, and while the riding position is a bit uncomfortable for this 52 year old, they are blast to ride and represent a lot of thought and engineering. After deciding to get a bike for myself, I leaned toward more of a naked sport bike with traditional handlebars. After taking a test ride on the Triumph Speed Triple on a blustery Kansas day, I realized what a difference these fairings make! I was getting blown all over the place (or so it felt). So with a fairing on the must-have list, I looked at everything I could. One day while at the local Suzuki dealer, I sat on the Busa and was very surprised at the relaxed rider position. After confirming their cult-like following with serious touring folks and reading a zillion reviews I bought one. The Busa is a quality, precision machine. Unlike the smaller GSXers, the power band is much flatter. It pulls with authority from idle on up. It is an easy bike to ride. I put my 100lb daughter-in-law on it and jumped on a GSXR 750 to follow along. I felt like a chase plane following the space shuttle. My beefs are 2. The seat is fine for 150 miles or so, but after that it can get uncomfortable. I'm getting a Corbin to fix that. Secondly, it can get hot on summer days setting at a stop light (the rider not the bike). The fairing lets a bit more hot air escape from the left side than the right. But in the scheme of things those squawks are insignificant. The Busa is a classy bike, it does everything effortlessly. Now back away from the computer and go out and buy one. Life is short.
- Dennis Craven, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here is the whole truth and nothing but the truth! The 1999 Busa is and always will be the fastest (top Speed) mass production bike in the world. This is because motorcycle manufactures put limiters on their bikes starting in 2000. 185mph is the most any stock bike can do. The 12R was designed to beat the Busa for 2000 when it first came out (it has more horse power), but it never had a chance to prove it because of the new limiters installed for that year. Their were top speed tests done with the limiters removed and the 12R beat the Busa. The Busa has a more aero dynamic body thats easier to push through the wind than the 12R though. Kawasaki had a similar design for the 12R's body, but they didn't want to release it because it was considered UGLY. They were afraid people would not buy it. The 12R also has more leg room than the Busa (it's taller) which is nice for people over 6 feet tall. Personally I like the looks of the 12R better. It's got twin head lights and a fatter rear tire than the Busa. I could never get used to the Lemon shape front end and strange looking tail of the Busa. I have to have it all: good looks, comfort and high top speed.
- JC, Laguna Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-29 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a new 2004 'Busa. Having ridden a 2002 CBR1100 XX I can tell you there's miles of difference between the two. This is just my opinion of the two, that comes from riding motorcycles of every type since I was 16 and I'm now 57. The Honda has a hard seat, I can only do about 45 minutes at a crack when I'm fresh. When I'm tired I can only manage about 20 minutes. The riding position is such that it puts a lot of stress on my wrists and hands. The Honda also seems geared too low. It feels like you should be able to shift it up one more gear out on the higway. The 'Busa has a much more comfortable seat on it and the riding position is a lot more comfortable to me. I feel like I'm more of a part of this machine. The big Suzuki flip flops thru the turns easier and feels much more nimble that the CBR does. The bike has so much torque it's like driving an endless torque generator or an unbeliveably fast tractor. The transmission up and downshifts better than the Honda. The ergonomics are excellant and the suspenion has lots of adjustment to it unlike the Honda which has none on the front and minimal on the back. The Hayabusa's ride is much better than the XX in my opinion. However the linked braking on the Honda is taking me some getting used to on the Suzuki because of it's lack of that. It feels like the brakes on the Busa, are quite as good, I think this is just me. I've only got about 24 miles on the bike as of today. I'll tell you one thing, it's a beauty of a machine and anybody that bad mouths it really hasn't ridden one. It might not be as nimble as the Ducatti's and some of the lighter class bikes but then hey it's a bigger machine and designed with a different crowd and end in mind. I love this bike.
- Dave, West Linn, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-20 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 2000 Hayabusa and I just can't believe the performance of the bike. The take off is unbelievable, and I get looks at almost every stoplight. Up until now I have no complaints. The Hayabusa is Top Dog.
- big dog, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-04 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The introduction of the Hayabusa in the bike world has created controversy and elation. This rocket sled has eliminated the competition for fastest bike, everybody knows it, but Kawi fans hate it. The worse news is that 'busa has also created it's own class of bike, touring sportster. In capable hands, this baby will keep with any sport bike (R1 and GSXR1000 incl) on a corner, and then evaporate them on the short trip to the next one. Further pleasure comes with knowing you can do this for hours on end, in comfort without the vibration, sore wrists and back you get from a thoroughbred sports bike. As they say, "Suddenly everything else looks like prey"!
- Oz, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-29 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a Y2K H-Bus for 15,700 miles. It was the best motorcycle I've owned by far. Here are the +'s *Unsurpassed acceleration thrust *STABILITY? You can practically read a book at 150 mph! *Good cornering for PRACTICAL street riding. Knee-dragging nutbags need not apply. CONS: *Insurance is a killer. *It will tempt you on every straightaway. *Wears out tires and chains like mad. * Will get walked though corners and and on the track against lighter high powered superbikes. On a 1.5 mile straightaway, say GOOD NIGHT to the track stars!! I've read a few negative 2 or 1 star reviews with guys ripping the bike fo handling and looks. Looks are a matter of opinion and no one should try to compare this bikes handling to a GSX-R or an R1. We're talking two types of beasts. I tried a GSXR-600. The handling runs rings around the Bus! If you want to go 70 through 25mph twisties, then buy a sub 400lb. dry weight bike!!!! It's like buying a Cadilac and complaing it won't hang with your buddy's corvette!! And If you don't like the looks, KEEP SHOPPING!!! The Hayabusa is a well engineered, lumpy throught the corners and tight turn, stable, smooth, speed fix for the most insane speed lover.
- Andy, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-20 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the red one and I couldn't be happier! Mine is stock and will remain so. Why do I need to improve on the best! What am I going to do? Make it faster? I have 12300 miles on it now. It commands respect and attention. Love parking it at Starbucks and have the lesser bike owners ask about it and the women remark about it. Glad I bought it and would buy the solid Black one in a second if I had to buy again. By the way, this is the last one with the "Big Boy" speedo.
- Darrell, Antioch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-17 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So, you are 19 years old and your heart is set on a sport bike, you ride without a helmet, in shorts, passing cars on a double yellow line up the canyon. Your life expectancy as a novice with an R1 or GSXR 1000 is about two weeks. I see your ilk as I catch up to you on my BOO..sah smoothly overtaking you on the corners, noticing that your line and body position is way off, you try to catch up as I shower you with sparks from my pegs while my bike accelerates out of the corner with a slight squirm. A few seconds have passed and I can see you head lights growing smaller. The Hyabusa is a wonderful choice if you have survived those early years, you deserve a comfortable predator that dispatches beginner riders on their R's and Gixers with ease. There is more to this machine than it's speed, if you are interested in cruising long distances where the only other bikes you see are Harley's and BMW's then this is your baby.A factory gel seat, Tourmaster tank bag and saddle bags with a duffel that snaps onto the saddle bags and your ready for some great trips, and when you get to those twisties you won't have to worry about the R1's and Gixers because you are way beyond their range, after all you are flying a P-51 mustang with fuel tanks. The only thing missing are the 50 cal. machine guns....I'm working on that one. See you far out there, somewhere in the mountains carving turns. I will wave. BOO-SAH
- aw, salt lake, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-09 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As an older rider, I enjoy the crazy power and the stability and smoothness the "Busa provides. I also enjoy the homage paid by those less fortunate. No matter where it is parked, there are always people wanting to look and talk about the "Busa. Other riders never challenge for fear of being embarassed. The only negative is a low howl from the gastank while sitting with engine off. Suzuki swears there is no fix and it is the sad result of California Emissions laws. It is too bad that an otherwise OUTSTANDING bike is marred by the above noise. I would buy another one in a second!!
- D7dun, Antioch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Busa for one year,and I like it better than any of the 26 bikes I have owned.Everyone knows that it is fast but, the real surprise is the handling.The power is smooth and predictable,yet wild and furious. The trend seems to be towards lighter and faster bikes ,ie. GSXR1000,but the Busa is still the King.
- sparrow, san antonio, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the third bike that I have owned. I started off with the GZ250 so as to teach myself how to ride, then moved up to the 1500LC Intruder, finally to the Hayabusa. It is by far the best bike that I have ever ridden. I know that I don't have as much experience as most guys that write in but what drew me to the Hayabusa was the power and the awesome comfort. Really guys the bike is so comfortable! Hey just one warning -- If you get down low so as to benefit from the wind protecting fairing and shield then watch your speed. Every time that I do so I have to make a conscious effort not to do 100mph and more. I have just purchased the bike and have only had it for about a month but every day that I ride I love it even more. GO Hayabusa!!!!!
- Mecco Dog, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-12 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just had to write when I read the last reviewer. I am 5 foot 4 inches tall and weight 135 lbs. I too love my Blue and Silver 2001 Hayabusa. I'm 47 years old and have been riding for 27 years. I have owned many bikes, but never a sports bike until now. I can't express how this bike makes me feel. In town it's a great bike, smooth and for me very easy to ride. On the highway it's a blast, for the back roads, well sometimes I find myself breathing harder than the bike. The only thing I have a hard time doing on this bike is getting it off the kick stand, but once this is accomplished everything else is sweet. God bless.
- Jon, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-05 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a black and silver 2001 Hayabusa and I love the bike. It does everything well. It is effortless to ride in almost all situations, whether just cruising along, passing cars, or riding with my friends on their TLR's and 929's. It has tons of low and midrange power as well as that amazing top end. But I would not say that this is a bike for anyone. I am a fairly big guy, at just over 6 feet tall and 240lbs, this is a bike that fits me very well and also one of the best handling bikes that I have ever ridden. However, some of my smaller friends think that my bike feels large and is intimidating in corners, where I feel that a 929 feels very small and darty in corners. The busa is a very stable bike in a corner, but also turns in very quickly if you want it to. For quick backroad touring, I don't think that there could be anything better. The chassis is so stable, yet handles so well and the engine is so smooth, it is just effortless to ride it fast. But, maybe that's just for us big guys. Oh well, at least I can now be on an even playing field with my 900 class friends who weigh 100 pounds less than me!
- Mike, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-18 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2001 GSX1300r Hayabusa, I purchased it brand new on Jan 23 2001. And all I can say is this bike rocks. I have a little over 6,000 miles on my Busa. I have met no other bike to date that compares to the power of the Busa. Be it the quarter or top speed. Although the ZX12r and GSXR1000 come close. All you ever hear about in reference to the Busa is its top speed, but like most of my buddies have found out is it kicks ass all the way from zero miles per hour to its top speed.and handling is awesome, this bike wheelies at the flick of the wrist and corners very well for a large bike. True I have never taken it to a track, how many people do? Some people say the front of the bike is ugly, but if you're not on a Busa, don't worry you will never see the ugly front, just the rear.
- Troy, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding the busa for about 11 months now and the bike does it all. I have owned 20 or so bikes and the busa is so superior for the street it is mind boggling. As for the guy who wrote the review before myself that mentioned that he has seen 600s beat the busa, that is impossible on the street with two equivalent riders. He was probably riding the busa and too scared to hit the throttle.
- busarider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-05 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off I would like to say that I love Suzuki and am a proud owner of a GSXR 1000. A friend of mine recently let me ride the Hayabusa for a few days and the reviews are true it is very fast (but not much faster then the 1000) but only fast in a straight line. The down side is when you get into any type of a twisty situation it handles like absolute crap. Anyone who says that the Hayabusa can take the r-1 or the GSXR 1000 in twisties or at the track is either just plain lying or riding with a bunch of first-timers, the bike is simply too heavy. Ive seen souped up 600's take this bike in the twisties before easily! If your looking for an ugly sport touring bike that can drag race, look no further then the Hayabusa. If you want a real sportbike that can rip it up not only on straightaways but on the corners as well.. get a gixxer.
- Jason Tartaro, Melbourne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-08 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went looking for a ZX-12 in March but the local Kawasaki dealer had none and did not expect any until end of the month. So I went looking for a Hayabusa at the local Suzuki dealer and they had four of them with two already sold. I picked the only blk/slvr Busa and took delivery the next day. The power is by far the best thing about this beast. It will go like a Kona windblast but does it smooth as silk. I am 6'3" tall and weigh 198lbs but the comfort of the Busa is better than any sportbike I have ever owned. All those folks on their 929RR's, ZX12's, and R1's I have met on Oahu have seen my tail lights more than any other part of the Busa. For anyone who wants a bike for the pure enjoyment of riding, run to your nearest Suzuki dealer, pick your Busa color, and ride home happy. By the way, with the available mod's I've done on the Busa for the money it is dollar for dollar the fastest bike you can buy short of being sponsored by a race team.
- C.L. Thames Jr., Haleiwa, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a proud owner of a blue/silver 01 Busa, I also own a 851 Ducati of which I think is one of the best handling bike around. All I have to say is that All of you people who are saying that the Busa cannot handle are the ones who has not had the chance to ride one or you have not adjusted yourself to the bike. Up in the Bay area we have some of the best back roads around and all types of bikes use them. I wish that you can see the faces of the Ducati, R1, GXSR 1000/750 as a Busa passes them in the twisties and disappears on them in the straits. Keep the rubber side Down.
- Gregory Smith, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-09 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Went down to the dealer after I'd read the first FZ-1 review. Found out I was 6th in line for 2 bikes. Wondered around sulking till I saw the blue and silver 'Busa. Figured, what the he**, always wanted one of those but hated the copper color. haven't looked back yet. I've riding Yamaha's since 78. Still have my XS1100 (145,000 miles). If you want the quickest corner strafer, get an R1. If you want the comfyest get a Goldwing. If you want any other bike in your mirror, at will, get one of these. It took the first 7-800 miles to break in my body now ithe bike feels just right and I plan on doing my 1500-2000 mile 3-4 day fall trip on it. Gonna fond the curviest roads between here and there and go for it.
- Garry Dykes-Modlens, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-30 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This year I decided it was time to get a new bike. Not that my old bike was showing it's age or was a disappiontment, on the contrary I owned a '99 ZLX-1100 and enjoyed riding it. The problem was the power factor. My friend and I usually take the bikes out on the weekend and with his TLR, he would blow by me regularly. When we would hit the highway, I would typically get beat up by the air blast. I therefore made a list of bikes I was interested in : Hayabusa, RC-51, ZX-12R and the R1. After much research it finally came down to the RC-51 and the Busa. I test rode both bikes and though the RC is a fine bike, I really liked the look and the smoother power band of the Busa. Though I agree, this bike is not for everyone. Anyway, ride safe!!
- J , Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-23 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A lot of talk surrounded the ZX-12R vs. Hayabusa conflict. In the end the Hayabusa retained its crown. Many riders come down hard on the Busa for silly reasons like "it doesn't handle well" or "it's so ugly". The Hayabusa was built for one thing, top speed. It achieved that goal quiet confidently. Beauty was not a consideration and neither was flickability, only top speed. don't knock Suzuki for achieving goals. For all of you ZX-12R riders, Kawasaki also achieved it's goal. They wanted an extremely fast but very manueverable bike, thus the ZX-12R. Each bike does its own thing. For me, choosing the Busa over the 12R is a no-brainer. But that's FOR ME. I would imagine it's quite a different story when asking a ZX-12R owner. It's all in what you want.
- Busa Maniac, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: