Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

70 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron Grooms

Mount Vernon, Washington

Reviewed on 2011-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it new at a dealership in Washington State. We get a lot of rain throught the year (yes, sometimes summer showers, too). It does well in the rain but it will hydroplane in puddles and ruts. I've been riding since I was a kid. I use the 'BUSA' for rush hour traffic into Seattle, 62 miles one-way. Commuting is where the miles have piled up. The dealership has keep my animal alive and kicking. I was hoping to reach 100,000 miles this year but it might not happen until next year.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Devil

Anytown, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is absolutely flawless. After reading the reviews posted here, I finally amassed enough courage to buy one. It is used, with 32K miles but it feels brand new and smooth. It has insane power, but can be very tame. I saw the review that said that the bike handles like crap... I'm here to say that that is a lie. This bike handles very nice and will lean with the best of them. Super twisty roads may not be the place for this, but on your average roads and highways, it will perform. My previous experience includes two R6s and and a Gixxer 1K. All bike have been fantastic, but I could never ride another. If I did, it would be a GSXR 1K, but I think that's a stretch. My Busa is here to stay. Bite your tongue and swallow your fears, this bike is nothing to be afraid of, but something to be respected. Mind your throttle gents...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

Boonville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought new in March of 2000. Had to wait for the Blue/Silver which I still like the best. Have a few rock chips in the lower fairings from the front tire, otherwise holding up well. Gone thru a couple batteries, 3 drive chains, 2 sets of plugs, 2 sets of brake pads, and several rear tires. Nothing else has been done to her. Just starting to get a little valve noise when you first start her up in the morning, but still running great. No oil burning or leaking. Getting 46 to 49 mpg most of the time. Only complaint is that the seat could be more comfortable. Like the energizer bunny, she just keeps going and going...quickly. Would like to have a new 2008, just nothing wrong with my 2000. Still enjoy riding it after 72,500 miles and counting!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amrit Moola

Allentown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had the 2000 Red/Silver Hayabusa for almost 6 years now. This is the one without the speed restrictor on it. This bike never fails to surprise me even now. It's ready to deliver the power I need in almost any situation - I was able to pull it up to 90mph in 1st gear and also was able to be in the 6th gear at 35mph. Needless to say, it leaves others far behind on wide open roads, but it is very well behaved in city traffic as well. I was able to get 30-50 mpg depending on the driving style.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Craven

Wichita, Kansas

Reviewed on 2006-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have my boys to thank for having this bike. They both have GSXR's, and while the riding position is a bit uncomfortable for this 52 year old, they are blast to ride and represent a lot of thought and engineering. After deciding to get a bike for myself, I leaned toward more of a naked sport bike with traditional handlebars. After taking a test ride on the Triumph Speed Triple on a blustery Kansas day, I realized what a difference these fairings make! I was getting blown all over the place (or so it felt). So with a fairing on the must-have list, I looked at everything I could. One day while at the local Suzuki dealer, I sat on the Busa and was very surprised at the relaxed rider position. After confirming their cult-like following with serious touring folks and reading a zillion reviews I bought one. The Busa is a quality, precision machine. Unlike the smaller GSXers, the power band is much flatter. It pulls with authority from idle on up. It is an easy bike to ride. I put my 100lb daughter-in-law on it and jumped on a GSXR 750 to follow along. I felt like a chase plane following the space shuttle. My beefs are 2. The seat is fine for 150 miles or so, but after that it can get uncomfortable. I'm getting a Corbin to fix that. Secondly, it can get hot on summer days setting at a stop light (the rider not the bike). The fairing lets a bit more hot air escape from the left side than the right. But in the scheme of things those squawks are insignificant. The Busa is a classy bike, it does everything effortlessly. Now back away from the computer and go out and buy one. Life is short.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JC

Laguna Beach, California

Reviewed on 2004-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Here is the whole truth and nothing but the truth! The 1999 Busa is and always will be the fastest (top Speed) mass production bike in the world. This is because motorcycle manufactures put limiters on their bikes starting in 2000. 185mph is the most any stock bike can do. The 12R was designed to beat the Busa for 2000 when it first came out (it has more horse power), but it never had a chance to prove it because of the new limiters installed for that year. Their were top speed tests done with the limiters removed and the 12R beat the Busa. The Busa has a more aero dynamic body thats easier to push through the wind than the 12R though. Kawasaki had a similar design for the 12R's body, but they didn't want to release it because it was considered UGLY. They were afraid people would not buy it. The 12R also has more leg room than the Busa (it's taller) which is nice for people over 6 feet tall. Personally I like the looks of the 12R better. It's got twin head lights and a fatter rear tire than the Busa. I could never get used to the Lemon shape front end and strange looking tail of the Busa. I have to have it all: good looks, comfort and high top speed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

West Linn, Oregon

Reviewed on 2004-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased a new 2004 'Busa. Having ridden a 2002 CBR1100 XX I can tell you there's miles of difference between the two. This is just my opinion of the two, that comes from riding motorcycles of every type since I was 16 and I'm now 57. The Honda has a hard seat, I can only do about 45 minutes at a crack when I'm fresh. When I'm tired I can only manage about 20 minutes. The riding position is such that it puts a lot of stress on my wrists and hands. The Honda also seems geared too low. It feels like you should be able to shift it up one more gear out on the higway. The 'Busa has a much more comfortable seat on it and the riding position is a lot more comfortable to me. I feel like I'm more of a part of this machine. The big Suzuki flip flops thru the turns easier and feels much more nimble that the CBR does. The bike has so much torque it's like driving an endless torque generator or an unbeliveably fast tractor. The transmission up and downshifts better than the Honda. The ergonomics are excellant and the suspenion has lots of adjustment to it unlike the Honda which has none on the front and minimal on the back. The Hayabusa's ride is much better than the XX in my opinion. However the linked braking on the Honda is taking me some getting used to on the Suzuki because of it's lack of that. It feels like the brakes on the Busa, are quite as good, I think this is just me. I've only got about 24 miles on the bike as of today. I'll tell you one thing, it's a beauty of a machine and anybody that bad mouths it really hasn't ridden one. It might not be as nimble as the Ducatti's and some of the lighter class bikes but then hey it's a bigger machine and designed with a different crowd and end in mind. I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

big dog

miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my 2000 Hayabusa and I just can't believe the performance of the bike. The take off is unbelievable, and I get looks at almost every stoplight. Up until now I have no complaints. The Hayabusa is Top Dog.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Oz

Melbourne, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The introduction of the Hayabusa in the bike world has created controversy and elation. This rocket sled has eliminated the competition for fastest bike, everybody knows it, but Kawi fans hate it. The worse news is that 'busa has also created it's own class of bike, touring sportster. In capable hands, this baby will keep with any sport bike (R1 and GSXR1000 incl) on a corner, and then evaporate them on the short trip to the next one. Further pleasure comes with knowing you can do this for hours on end, in comfort without the vibration, sore wrists and back you get from a thoroughbred sports bike. As they say, "Suddenly everything else looks like prey"!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a Y2K H-Bus for 15,700 miles. It was the best motorcycle I've owned by far. Here are the +'s *Unsurpassed acceleration thrust *STABILITY? You can practically read a book at 150 mph! *Good cornering for PRACTICAL street riding. Knee-dragging nutbags need not apply. CONS: *Insurance is a killer. *It will tempt you on every straightaway. *Wears out tires and chains like mad. * Will get walked though corners and and on the track against lighter high powered superbikes. On a 1.5 mile straightaway, say GOOD NIGHT to the track stars!! I've read a few negative 2 or 1 star reviews with guys ripping the bike fo handling and looks. Looks are a matter of opinion and no one should try to compare this bikes handling to a GSX-R or an R1. We're talking two types of beasts. I tried a GSXR-600. The handling runs rings around the Bus! If you want to go 70 through 25mph twisties, then buy a sub 400lb. dry weight bike!!!! It's like buying a Cadilac and complaing it won't hang with your buddy's corvette!! And If you don't like the looks, KEEP SHOPPING!!! The Hayabusa is a well engineered, lumpy throught the corners and tight turn, stable, smooth, speed fix for the most insane speed lover.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 70 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: