Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (11)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2001-05-06 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a fun bike if you think of it as a Japanese Sportster with real muscle. It is an elemental motorcycle with bigtime grunt, stable handling, and the ability to still carve a mean corner despite being a cruiser. The roll on power any speed any gear is really fun, as is the solid feeling in the corners. Once I got used to the ergos I have found it to be much less wearing to ride long distance than my BMW RT. Vibration is there but it is moderate. A superbike handlebar has greatly improved comfort although the bike needs a gel seat for long distance comfort. Perhaps the most impressive aspect of the bike is it's high-speed high gear roll on performance. It is a mountain road monster, what a blast, what fun. The only major change I would like to make would be to install a larger aftermarket gas tank, 100 miles is just not enough. In some ways the Intruder 1400 despite being an old model was ahead of its time. There is a new awareness among cruiser riders of the value of performance and handling with the new cruisers, but the Intruder with it's ground clearance and high compression twin carb motor has been there all along. This is a bike for serious riding, not just to impress the great unwashed with. After 33 years of riding this is the most pleasure I have ever had on a bike. It is a real MOTORcycle!
- Dave Phillips, Vancouver B.C. Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-20 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a '95. Bought it new, when I was 18. Rode it a few months later from Florida to California. The stock seat sucked, but overall was a great ride. Three years in Hawaii mangled the paint and chrome (the salt air), so last year, I stripped it down to the frame and engine. A complete rebuild is in progress. Mechanically, it's a perfect engine. No probs at all. A bit weak by today's standards, but powerful enough. The looks might not suit you completely, but there is a healthy aftermarket to turn it into 'your' bike. that's what I'm doing now. If you don't want to spend big money on a large-bore cruiser, and still want great power and great looks, this is the bike for you. Check out www.intruderalert.com for other riders of this beast and for pics of some custom jobs; some mild, some wild.
- Brad Swearingen, Splendora, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a bike over a decade ago but could not justify the cost then. The bike was a Suzuki Intruder. Now that I am able to get a bike what do you know? Almost the same Intruder is still there, so I purchased a 2000 Intruder 1400 for its slender size, speed off the lights and head turning looks. I have taken several long trips across Texas and enjoyed the ride and the looks. Every Harley friend I know would purchase one of these bikes if HD wasn't around. Too bad. I have added a Memphis Slim 17" black gradient windshield, slant saddle bags. Highway Hawk "Intruder" Fork bag and Cobra 2" drag slashcuts. Next "to do's", Highway pegs and a 5.2 gallon gas tank to give it extra range. Bike really moves and sounds thunderous with the new pipes. Highway pegs will make the longer rides more comfortable. I cannot say enough about this exceptional motorcycle! Ride Safe.
- Kerry Tschirhart, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-26 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a leftover 99 model. I bought new in 2000. For what I paid I could have bought 2 for what a Harley would have cost and I wouldn't have a bike that I like as well. The seat needs help but thats about it. If you like the style this is a great bike.
- Dave, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-26 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 94 1400. I've put 42,000 miles on this bike. This thing pulls great wheelies for a cruiser. Love to light up that big 170 rear tire around corners. These bikes are known for thier bullet proof motors. I guess that doesn't hold true for tranny's. I broke the main gearshaft in half at about 32,000 miles. Maybe this bike wasn't designed for wheelies or wheel slides. Outside of that one major problem it has been very dependable. 42K hard miles and no other problems. Getting that many miles however is an exercise in physical stamina. For a cruiser the seat is hard and nearly unbearable at 50 mi. They have however redone the seat since this model although if you put lots of miles and comfort is an issue for you seek out Corbin. I have installed Cobra pipes, jet kit, windscreen, custom highway pegs, extra chrome, saddlebags,etc. many, many, aftermarket parts to customize to your individual taste.
- James Squires, Oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own A 98 1400 and put OEM Drag bars on it..yes they are available from Suzuki...This improved what I thought was a top heavey feel at low speeds..I put over 3100 miles on last year which is more than I have on any other bike....I am looking forward to this year to try and double that figure...Intruders are known for high mileage and this bike is in it for the long haul although the larger cc bikes are spurring some interest...I am brand loyal...I also added Jardine 2 into 2 slash cuts and a highway hawk under engine spoiler which they don't make no more..it gives the intruder a very different look people look long hard and often...I also added neon lights under this spoiler for a glow in the dark chrome light show...It's a really nice bike that I would reckamend....
- David Firman, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 98 vs1400 that I traded a 97 Vs 800 for. Loved the 800 but wanted a larger engine. Put on cobra slash cut pipes first thing to let it breath great sound and noticed an increase in power in the top end. Also added crash bars & highway pegs, windshield, Cobra lite bar and custom turn signals. Did rolling thunder and Sturgis last year (I live in pa) no problems. Cruised at 85 across S D.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a used 1995 Suzuki 1400 Intruder one year and 6,500 miles ago.I love the torque and rumble of this bike (stock exhaust)the low maintenance and dependability lets you ride worry-free.The '95 handlebar is too narrow and pulled-back for my 6'5 260 lb. self. I swapped them out, not an easy task.The raked front-end and large front tire merit wider bars.The 2000 models did this AND has a 5 speed tranny.I did alot of research before purchasing.This bike is right for me.Ride all the bikes you're considering and get what's right for YOU !don't buy on someone elses advice.Intruderalert.com is a great website for these bikes !
- Rider/ Owner, Palatka, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-02 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched cruisers for a full year before deciding on the 1400 Intruder. I have a 1998 model. Previously I owned a Honda CB450, a Yamaha XS11, and a Suzuki VX800. This Intruder had the features I wanted such as max power in stock condition (two carbs and three valves per cylinder), max handling (it is no contest compared to the Fat-boy clones the other manufacturers are selling), and max reliability (japanese reliability, need I say more?). Down sides are that it's not designed to be a long-hauler (go buy a Gold-wing if that's your first priority), and passenger seating is cramped, short range, not much room for saddlebags. But if you want a fun, haul-butt cruiser, this is for you. Vance and Hines exhaust sounds real nice on this one.
- Intruderman, Suwanee, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever owned. It's got low vibration, and lots of power.
- broman, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-09 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned & ridden many types & makes of bikes & have finally gotten over the image thing. This bike runs great, looks great, & is reasonably comfortable. If you take a passenger, you may want to consider an after market seat. It is low maintenance & dependable. Easy to handle & fun to ride. Good availability of parts. If those "H-D" guys make fun, just invite them to "line'em up".
- Anonymous, Chattanooga,Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: