Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (44)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-01-22 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Outside of tires and oil, there hasn't been much that this bike needs. I live in a place where the roads are curvy, and stop lights few. The bike has been dependable (make sure your battery terminal bolts are tight). 40 MPG is normal, with a best of 45MPH on I-5 heading to Portland, OR, or anywhere this bike can stretch its legs. I installed Progressive fork springs (way back) to help in the curves. My friends with more "canyon focused" rides are amazed at how well this bike moves through the curves. While it is not a "power house" type of ride, pulling up to three digits on the speedo is not hard. If you want performance above and beyond a freight train, look elsewhere. If you want an easy chair that handles better than Harleys that are half again the Suzuki's price, go no further. It is heavy, but doesn't feel like it. I'm about to hit 50K on the odometer, and my Suzi doesn't use oil. I just put the original spark plugs back in it because they still looked like new (like the replacements I took out after 30K on them). The only part of this bike that has been irritating is the various vibrations that come with a big V-twin. My VL-1500 has never been in the back of a truck - I ride it and love it. This bike is a good value, and the later ones are even better. It could stand a bigger fuel tank, at least 5 gallons. It isn't perfect, but I'd buy another one. After market manufacturers treat the VL like an ugly baby - if you want more love from the Chrome and glitz mongers, buy a HOG.
- Vaughn Slavin, Cave Juntion, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first cruiser I've owned, and I like it. Bought Suzuki brand saddle bags, tried aftermarket, these fit the best. Rifle offers to custom fit a windshield, I think I will take them up on their offer. Other future mods include a backrest for rider and passenger and an engine guard. There is an exhaust backfire, possible carb jets or Calif emissions. Otherwise a lot of bang for the buck!
- Ray Hoover, Fillmore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-20 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good ride, reliable, never to the shop for anything. don't want someone else messing with my girl! Paint could have been a little thicker and brakes could have been a little better are all I feel needs improvement. Oh by the way, the gas tank could have been a gallon or so larger. Other than that, I love this bike and couldn't be happier!
- Rick, Apple Valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-26 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 2001 with 3k miles. Of course I did not exercise due diligence and discovered later that the bike was probably wrecked and/or abused by the previous owner. I experienced a moderate problem with stalling once every couple of thousand miles. Finally it cleared up on its own at 26k miles, and I'm pushing 42k now. It's easy to ride due to the low center of gravity provided by the under-the-seat gas tank. There is way more than enough get-up-and-go for me. This bike is loads of fun to cruise. If I'm grandstanding around town it'll give me 36-37 mpg, and around 42mpg if I settle in at 60 mph or so on a longer ride.
- steveinsandiego, carlsbad, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-28 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new in 1998 and have nothing but great luck with it. I have only 17 thousand miles on it and have done the regular maintenance on it. I have 80% work done by the dealer and I do the rest. I suggest this bike to anyone. I have owned and worked on Harleys and I will not buy another one.
- Steve C, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-15 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike is a used 2000 Suzuki 1500 Intruder LC. This has been a great first bike and I consider this a lucky find (I purchased a used bike with low miles and many add ons). The bike has great power, stable, comfortable to ride, and seems solid and reliable. The bike easily cruises at 75 to 80 mph and tops out around 100 mph with stock pipes. Solid acceleration in fifth gear when passing. I have put over 4 thousand miles on this bike and love riding this bike all the time. The only serious shortcoming is the woefully inadequate 4 gallon fuel tank. I have scrambled for a gas station on more than one occassion. The breaks do squeal occassionally, but I wear ear protection and hardly notice. My bike is solid black with an adjustable windshield, chrome case guards, saddlebags, rack, sissy bar, passenger handles, and a few chrome add ons. It is a great cruiser and an good touring bike. I am 5'10" 200 lbs and the bike fits me great. The hand position is unstrained and my riding position is relaxed. I have riden the bike comfortably for many hours at a stretch. The stock seat is great. Cruise control would be a nice option for long trips. All in all I feel this is a great bike. Obviously Sukuki isn't charging a premium for the label. Finally, I always wear a full face helmet and riding clothes. Nothing fashionable about Brain damage.
- Anonymous, Columia, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-09 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took a road star for a test drive, my feet vibrated for an hour after dismounting. Harleys are great bikes but the price is nuts and the dealers are worse than vampires. ( Suck ya dry ). Took out a 1500 and fell in love. Great bike, great price, great dealer. Gonna do a Maritimes tour in July with the wife protecting my back. 1500 has the comfort for both of us. Apart from sunny days, what more could a guy as for?
- John, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-30 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE A 2000 LC. HAD IT FOR 2YRS. AS OF THIS MONTH. I HAAVE 24,5+ MILES ON IT AND AND STILL HAVE NO PROBLEMS. TRUE THE BREAKES ARE UNPLEASENT AT TIMES AND THE GAS TANK COULD BE LARGER,BUT THIS HAS LITTLE TO DO WITH IT'S PERFROMANCE AND ABILITIES, WHICH ARE GREAT. THIS IS WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST BIKE ON THE ROAD. I'M 6'0 AND HAVE NO DISCOMFORT ON LONG RIDES UNTIL I've GOT 600 MILES FOR THE DAY UNDER ME. IT IS TRULY THE BEST BIKE IN SHOW. I've ALSO RODE OTHER TYPES OF BIKES AND FIND THIS WAS THE CLASS OF IT'S OWN.
- chas. merriweather, joplin, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-29 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Intruder 1500 LC is a 2000 model. I have riden it 30,000 miles in all kinds of conditions including high mountain terrain and desserts with not problems whatso ever.s I have said from the onset that it needs dual disk brakes in front and a larger gas tank. The brakes have been taken care of on the 2002 models. I plan another trip of over 3,000 miles to the mountains this summer. This time pulling a 20 cubic foot cargo trailer. I have no concerns about the bikes performance. I will update this review when I return. 30,000 miles and counting. Steve
- Stephen Hengel, St. Charle, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-02 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well for a old hard core, harley till i die, 27yrs of riding, things were bound to change, and sometimes change can be really good. i was due to treat myself to a new ride, but found that harley finally couldnt meet my needs in service or price. during the battles over price with harley,and the fact they wouldnt take a harley on trade for a harley, my brother has a 01 intruder and i would take it for a spin, and i found a leftover 2000 at a local dealer next door to harley shop!, while harley was saying no to trade in , the local dealer next door treated me with respect and had no problems with trade with fair price, and did complete oil and carb job before pickup just because bike had sit for awhile. the ride was the best-no problem, total smooth, power to spare!- shift was almost too smooth, it will take awhile to get use to no flaws, no worries. my review is truth about the ride, not mfg, or image. this bike can hold its own to any harley out there. harley will always have a place in my heart, and a old oil spot in the garage, but as for the road - THE JAP IS BACK! and looking real good.
- phwolf145, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-25 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned Honda 500 and 80' Gold Wing before. The v-twin takes a little getting used to but after conceding that it will vibrate like a paint mixer compared to the Gold Wing, I like it. The mileage is not too great with the high gas prices now. It sure is a beauty and nothing in a group ride gets more attention. It was not all that expensive and with 2500.00 in extras on it for free (spec promotion) at 10-grand I got a bargain. Lets ride!!!
- Aaron, Indianapolis, Indianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-03 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike and I can't wait to get pipes. I can tell that the bike is starving for more air flow. I ride with people that ride HDs and they can't believe the performance of my bike. I get a lot of head turns at it and i just look back and smile.
- Jeff, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-15 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The LC1500 is the third bike I have owned. It is by far the most comfortable bike I have ever riden. The power is great and I like the looks. I have 3K miles on it and it keeps getting stronger.
- Big "G", Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-21 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my Intruder. After about 6000 miles since I got it I have developed some tendonitis in my elbow. Assume it's from the extended, hanging on position we get with cruisers. Would like to hear from anyone else having this discomfort, or with advice to offer.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-16 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Intruder in Oct. 2000 and I have the fortune to get to ride a lot of other bikes. The Intruder has out performed all other bikes in comfort, speed, handling and in head-turning in it's class. I get to ride daily all year round and my Intruder is always up for the miles.
- Bill Fulghum, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-06 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well this is my third review of the same bike....still love the bike, but had a few questions... I have ordered a set of V&H Longshots, which are on back order.. I also ordered the jet kit... Has anyone found a K&N air filter for the bike or any other performance bolt ons ?? Thanks .. Rick
- Rick Williams, Rolla, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-26 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On march the 24 th my new Intruder 2001 was delivered, i drove it for the first time that day. I can tell you, it rides like a dream. The power and handling is amazing . What concernes me is that i have change the pipes for a set of Doubble D's straights and the sound is so nice but so loud that i'm werried that i might get in trouble with the police. We know that In Canada the laws are pretty bowring concerning that type of modification. I was wondering if somebody might have a solution for a little modification that would save me from removing the pipes that give such a wonderfull soud. Thanks!
- Robert Girard, Robert Girard

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my bike and haven't ridden it much. I have noticed a metallic noise coming from either the front of the bike or the front part of the motor. It almost sounds like a pinging noise and it is sporadic. Hopefully it isn't serious as a new bike should be trouble-free and enjoyed.
- quin, Hudson, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable cruiser on the market. My wife and I love it two up. Stock tires are poor. I suggest getting the Mezeler ME880's front and rear. They will improve the handling tremendously. We have put thousands of $$$ of goodies on it and are getting ready to purchase a trailer so we can carry all our camping gear. Absolutly the best big bike for the money.
- Don , Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for almost 40 years & have owned a lot of different bikes but this is the most comfortable ride I've had. I was concerned that being all of 5'7" she might be a bit too much for a shorter man-----not so at all, very easy to handle & feels much smaller from the saddle. Read magazine comments about the controls being too far forwrd unless you're on the tall side---B.S.! wouldn't change them a bit. Also lots of babble about the clutch being so difficult to control. Maybe the 1st models were, I don't know, but mine is fine. Yes, it does release at the furthest distance from the bar, but it's no big deal. Only complaint I have is that I feel the brakes are on the weak side. Should have double discs up front. Will be adding an aftermarket exhaust, want a liitle more "soul", without being obnoxious.Would appreciate anyones input on this ----brand--rejetting info, etc.
- Ed Marcot, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-07 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 99 Intruder 1500 in May of 2000. I've never ridden a bike before in my life. (well, an auto trail 90 from Honda... but that doesn't count) I love the smooth operation, immense power, and classic styling of this bike. I started out wanting a Harley, but that's only because I was uneducated at the time. I added Cobra drag pipes and a jet-kit which completed the whole cruiser package for me... Style, Muscle, Sound. that's all you need and this bike has it all. My brother has an '80 FX Shovelhead that is totally customized and beautiful, but leaks oil, and rattles the sh-t out of you after a good ride (it's a solid mount motor). My complaints: 1. The seat is too high and is not only uncomfortable, but is poor quality. 2. Suzuki should have included the lightbar from the factory. It's a styling necessity if your're going to compete with a hydra-glide or fatboy. 3. The rear brakes squeal really bad 4. Aftermarket "performance" kits are scarce Other than those 4 little gripes... I would think twice, no, three times before buying anything else.
- Rider/Owner, Santa Clarita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-02 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ONE OF THE BEST DECISIONS I HAVE EVER MADE!NOT ONLY COMFORTABLE, A REAL LOOKER!I'M A PROUD OWNER OF A 98 LC, A LITTLE OVER 4K-RUNS GREAT!I RIDE WITH ALOT OF HARLEYS AND I WOULD HAVE TO HONESTLY SAY THE BIKE GETS MOST OF THE LOOKS.PEOPLE ALWAYS MISTAKE IT FOR A "HOG"I ALWAYS WANTED A HARLEY, BUT COULD NEVER AFFORD ONE. IT WAS A BLESSING IN DISGUISE!NEVER ANY PROBLEMS.WITH A CUSTOM PAINT JOB AND COBRA DRAGS,SHE'S A REAL LOOKER. ITS FUNY TO SEE GUYS AROUND IT TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IT IS.THROTTLE RESPONSE IS GREAT TOO!MY BUDDY HAS A 2000 FATBOY AND MY BIKE IS FASTER AND SHIFTS ALOT SMOOTHER.REMEMBER LOUD PIPES SAVE LIVES BE SAFE!!!!!!
- RIDER, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-15 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike a year ago and was happy with the look, not so much with the performance. All that has changed. With a simple exhaust change from factory to V&H straights I am now in heaven. With the loss of the air box, (the weight alone robs you)it is more responsive, faster, and the gas mileage went up about 5mpg. This bike is now everything I wanted, looks and performance.
- Jim Stadler, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2000 Intruder 1500 since March of 2000 and I love it. Suzuki really knows how to take care of business. They gave me a great trade-in on my 97 Bandit 1200, gave me 8.9% financing, paid my first payment of $128.00 and gave me $400.00 in free accessories. This is the way to take care of your customers and get new ones ta-boot. My Suzuki is always being mistaken for a Harley. When it happens, I quickly let the culprit know that I would not own a Harley. Some Harleys are great lookers. My Favorite has always been the Fatboy. I have nothing against Harley except that their business practices suck and they will never get my business as long as they sell an image and not a machine. For the guys who say, "If you have to ask, you wouldn't understand"; I say, "Build your own self-esteem, don't buy it from a company." Damn shame an American can't get an quality American product at a price for the masses. Now that I stepped off my soapbox, I have to say that the Intruder has changed me forever. I never thought about buying a cruiser until my wife coaxed me in that direction. Riding a nice calm cruiser is very relaxing and this bike accentuates the experience to the max. I plan on doing a lot of long distance touring in the near future. Life is good!
- Patrick Brady, US Military Stationed in Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I took our first trip two months after I purchased my 1500LC to Dillard Georgia. Approx. 720 miles+ oneway, the longest trip we had taken on a motorcycle in at least ten years. That was a 100-mile trip to PA to visit a promotional tour resort. This was like a new experience for us and a most enjoyable one on the big LC. We made the trip a two-day run by way of High Point, NC checked out the furniture outlets and left the next day for Dillard. We traveled on the 1500LC for approx. nine days, to Greenville SC for the round up, to Atlanta to visit friends, all around the Georgia mountains sight seeing. We both were very comfortable and content with the ride of the motorcycle. My prior bikes were a 500twin Honda and then a 900f Honda super sport. I really love my 900f, trouble free for as long as I own actually I sold right after I brought my 1500LC. My wife and I have been on quite a few long distance trips since, i.e. Lake Geogre, NY, Buffalo, NY, Canada, Niagara Falls, Toronto, and I must that 1500LC resting in my basement is just waiting and ready cruise the country side so more. HOPE TO SEE YOU OUT THE CRUISING WITH THE BIG VL1500 INTRUDERS LC SOON. GONE CRUISING.
- E. Rucker of the Banderleros, Millersville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: