Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

BARRY J from FISHERS, Indiana says:

I've had my 2000 Intruder 800 for 18 months and 2600 miles. I bought it used with 4,000 miles on it. I like the bike a lot. I had not ridden in almost

Read More (26 reviews)

Have you owned a Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 Intruder 800 for 18 months and 2600 miles. I bought it used with 4,000 miles on it. I like the bike a lot. I had not ridden in almost 30 years before this bike. I recommend it highly as a first bike or for someone returning to riding. I get 44 mpg. It has plenty of power, but it reaches high revs quickly in all gears. It could use another gear on the highway. Takes a while to warm up and runs roughly at cold start. Once warmed up it runs great. Nice exhaust sound. The seat is low, and the bike is relatively light, so it is easy to maneuver in the parking lot. The ride is a little stiff with noticeable, but not aggravating, vibration. Overall, the ride is pretty comfortable. My wife hates the passenger seat. It's not a bike for 2 up riding. I'm torn right now between putting a windshield on the Intruder or selling it and buying a bigger cruiser. The big cruisers are a little more cushioned and comfortable. However, the Intruder runs as fast as or faster than most cruisers up to the 1100. In summary, you can't go wrong buying an Intruder. It gets approving looks and compliments everywhere I go. It's dependable, nice looking, rides nice, sounds great, sips gas and is easy to handle.
- BARRY J, FISHERS, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-29 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Intruder with 12,900 miles I have 18,900 now. It takes vey little maintenance, and at low cost too. The tank is small for such a long ride. Plenty of power. Also I removed the baffles(no jetting needed). It really rummbles and keeps up nice with the Harley boys.
- T Mosser, Sterling Hts, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-09 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for 10 months still adding stuff like exhaust and jet kit. Mine is a 2002 which was still new in July last year when I got it. It has great power has more horsepower than an 1100 V-Star (53 vs. 52) and an 883 Sportster can't keep up with it and I don't think many Harleys can either.
- Bob, Sidney, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-12 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an 800 Intruder. I love my bike. There seems to be come common complaints. The front brakes squeal, gas tank capacity is too small, it needs a 6th gear for highway or smaller 5th gear. I don't mind the seat but don't ride long distances otherwise it would make me sore. The bike is so close to being great, but not quite there. I'll buy something different next time unless there are changes.
- Alan Spirdione, Southfield, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-02 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this model for 2 years now, and only have a few complaints. First off is the seat. Suzuki should put a more comfortable seat on thier bikes. Second there could be a bigger gas tank on it as well. I switch to reserve after 110 miles. The front brake is always sqealling. And the last complaint is the engine is working pretty hard in 5th gear at 70-80 miles an hour. Seems like there should be another gear. Other than those complaints I have no other problems with it. I have added highway pegs with a engine guard. I am 6'2" 210lbs and I am pretty comfortable since I put them on. I have also put a Mustang seat and saddle bags. It does its job getting me to and from work on a daily basis a total of 60 miles round trip. One day I will upgrade to the 1500 Intruder.
- Clovis Long, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-30 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 95 800vs from a friend with 3000 miles on it. Now have over 20,000 and runs as good as the day i bought it.The bike is a little light but man does it go!!! Plenty of power at high-way speeds and easy to whip around on the road.
- Ron Howdyshell, Flint

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought it Friday for my wife's first bike. The same day my Gold Wing went into the shop. I commute by motorcycle and since my wife is still studying for her liscense test, she allowed me to use it. At first it seemed a bit cramped. I am 6' 250lbs. After a few days though it is not uncomfortable for the 24 mile trip. I can see that a smaller person would really be comfortible on this machine. I am very impressed with the power band. Downshifting is opptional. There is plenty of power up to about 80mph then it tapers off. My one gripe would be the gas tank. To get a full tank you need to hold the bike upright during filling, and there is no center stand. Full the tank is only 2.9 gal(CA model). I had to go to reserve at 85 miles this morning after filling the tank with the bike on the sidestand. Even holding the bike up I only get about 100 miles before reserve. The motor impresses and for someone smaller than my it is a good bike. It seems to fit my wife perfect. She is 5'5". For someone my size I would recommend the Volusia instead.
- Ray, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-16 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike - bought the Intruder used and was very impressed with the power and looks. I am 6' tall and the foot controls are a bit cramped. Any way to get them extended?
- Mike, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As the owner of a 99, I can attest to the number of reviews I have read. When I first sat on this bike in the showroom I knew it was built for me. (low seat height and great balance) I have added Cobra 'slash cut' pipes, case guard, bags, and a wdshield (great if your subject to tearing) My brother did the research as to class, weight, performance and specs, verses other bikes in it's class. Best bang for the buck! he said. Impressive, coming from the owner of a radical Yamaha V-MAX owner! As for squeaky front brakes and uncomfortable seat, long rides, there are modifiations and accessories that can rectify these small irritations. An otherwise small sacrifice for an extremely great looking, fun loving, moderately priced cruiser.
- Jude Brattoli, Elyria, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-11 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being an "older" rider and my last bike a vintage 2 stroke Yamaha 350 , this Suzuki Intruder is one heck of a piece of work. Shaft drive, liquid cooled and is a real looker. It is fast but also very nimble on long winding roads. I plan to add some baggage and hi-way bars and thought of a windshield but I like having the wind buzz around my helmit. Great value if you want a great bike for a resonable buck.
- BOB, Madison, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-05 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Except for the seat, this is the best bike i have owned to date. Looks great and runs like a cheetah - quick and smooth. Totally pleased with my choice. Highly recommended. Aftermarket seat for long trips is suggested, as stock seat can get to your behind after a while. Only problem I have found, a minor one at that. Low profile gives good stability and ease of operation. Great bike.
- JP800, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-28 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would like to see bigger gas tank at least 4 gallons and also it would be nice if Suzuki fixed front brake squealing. Other than that it is very nice and pleasant bike.
- Yevgeniy, Chicago, Illinios

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-12 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 VS 800 for 9 months now. I have 900 miles now. This is one sexy bike... gets a lot of attention. Ran a few Poker runs and have no complaints. This bike definitely holds its turf when surrounded by the big hogs. Compare it to all others in its class and you'll see the value of this bike. Suzuki did not skimp on technology and flashy chrome. This is my first street bike and I love it! It goes about 100 miles before reserve, more fuel would be nice. The front brakes squeak a little, but overall this is a great bike for the money!
- Kajunar, Lutcher, LA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great looking bike, but thay have a long break-in period for everything. The seat was like a bench for 1,500 miles. Now at 3,100 miles its pretty comfy. No lack in hoursepower, I Love it. But even at 3,100 miles the front brakes still squeek!!
- Jason Ruch, Lehighton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After not riding motorcycles for about 20 years, this bike caught my eye sitting in front of the dealer. Man, was it shiny with chrome. The bike gets looks from everyone. I love the ride but sometimes I wish for a 6th gear. This is a great bike to travel the highway or even the daily commute to work.
- Andre Lee, Kingsland, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-08 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Intruder in June of 2000 I have1900 miles on it. It is the first bike I've had in 11 years. I love it. The seat is a little hard, I plan on replacing it soon. It was a little cold natured but I took care of that. I had ridden every day until I broke my ankle at work. I'll be back on it in about two weeks. I looked at other bikes, but glad I decided on the Intruder, It's easy on the wallet too.
- tony, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-14 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike with only 968 miles on it and now I have 1750 in 2 months of pleasurable riding. This bike is absolutely gorgeous and quick as the wind! I have no problem keeping up with the BigBoys!! I did however change my pipes to Jardine slip-on slashcuts, and added floorboards and forward controls for added long distance comfort. For the price, you can't beat the Jap Cruisers. Harley Davidson - Eat your Heart out!!
- Bruce, Wickliffe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my bike now for 3 years. Love the bike and I have no complaints. I really enjoy the ride and handling. I owned a Harley Custom Softail prior to this bike and I must say I enjoy the Intruder the most. I ride the bike to work daily and I've only had to change the oil and front brake pads... I've had 300-mile rides and still felt like going further.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently have a 1998 with 43,000 miles. I bought it with 3 miles on it. Have logged 800-mile days with no complaints. Added highway pegs, 15-inch windshield and a Travelcade gel seat. Range between fill ups is limited, then again the wife is ready to stretch her legs after 150 miles anyway. No problems to speak of. I have been riding for 25 years, owned 10 bikes and this one the is best. Only complaint needs a 6th gear. Engine is really busy at 75mph. Everyone says should have bought an 883 sporty. Been there done that got the repair bills to prove it.
- brian forrest, North Port, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-31 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, and I must agree with so many other riders who think it is a great start bike. I love its height and the way it handles. Love the chrome and the style. I must say I am quite pleased with these aspects, however, I do have a few reservations about the Intruder 800. The choke has to be pulled all the way out in order to effectively work. The pipes are a little weak and do not truly represent the 805cc engine that it supports. It needs a little more growl. I've heard 600cc engines sound more powerful. The seat becomes a little uncomfortable after about 2 hours. Beside those things, I must admit that I love its torque, and stylish looks. It's perfect for a beginner and someone who enjoys the stares.
- Terry Parchman, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The fuel tank is quite small and as a result the bike has limited range. I'm seeing 108 miles before reserve. It feels like I always have to fill it up. The bike is really lightweight. It's easy to handle and quite forgiving. Pipes are quiet for a cruiser. I'd like them a little louder. I keep nicking the side stand with my heel also, not enough to extend it, but enough to cause the ignition interlock to kill the engine. It's just a little too easy to do. <br /> This thing is pretty comfortable for extended periods. I have little trouble riding it for hours at a stretch. I'm a full 6 foot and would like to see some highway pegs. It vibrates a bit at lower RPMs, but get it cranked up a little bit and it smoothes out to a purr. <br /> The front brake squeaks and has an un-vented front rotor that I'm not entirely fond of. The rear brake seems under powered. Acceleration is pretty good. We're not talking about a rocket, but passing traffic on the highway is not a problem. Generates plenty of torque at the low end, but power flattens out noticeably as the revs increase. I'd really, really like a tach and a clock. The bent handlebars look cool, but they don't allow much space for mounting a bar-mounted clock. There's no storage to speak of. I can barely fit my registration in with the tool kit. You want some kind of external baggage, I got a set of custom saddlebags that make the bike look even cooler!
- Rick Minkle, Sandown, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice looking cruiser,front brakes pads needed replaced after 1000 miles, too squeeky. Replaced seat with a new mustang seat for long distance comfort.
- robert levites, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-19 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a new rider I don't have a whole lot of experience to draw on, but a few things are obvious about this bike. <ul> <li>If you plan to do much highway riding you want a windshield. The riding position is such that you'll be hanging on to the bars for dear life, which gets kind of tedious after a couple of hours. No problem cruising around town or on back roads, though. <li>The fuel tank is quite small and as a result the bike has limited range. With the windshield I'm seeing 90-100 miles before reserve, and I estimate 120-130 miles to empty. (Mileage was slightly better without the windshield.) It feels like I always have to fill it up. <li>The bike is really lightweight, about 70lbs lighter than the Kawasaki Vulcan I was also considering. It's easy to handle and quite forgiving. This had a lot to do with why I purchased it over the Vulcan. <li>Pipes are quiet for a cruiser. I'd like them quieter still, but purists would probably want the opposite. <li>I keep nicking the side stand with my heel -- not enough to extend it, but enough to cause the ignition interlock to kill the engine. Might be me, might be that it's just a little too easy to do. <li>I know it's a typical cruiser thing, but the pegs are low enough that it's not hard at all to drag them in a corner. <li>This thing is pretty comfortable for extended periods. I have little trouble riding it for hours at a stretch now that I have the windshield. It vibrates a bit at lower RPMs, but get it cranked up a little bit and it smoothes out to a purr. The seating position is rather upright for a cruiser, a plus in my opinion, although I find myself wanting to stretch out my legs a bit after a few hours in the saddle. <li>The front brake squeaks and has an un-vented front rotor that I'm not entirely fond of. The rear brake seems under powered. <li>Acceleration is pretty good. We're not talking about a rocket, but passing traffic on the highway is not a problem. Generates plenty of torque at the low end, but power flattens out noticeably as the revs increase. <li>I'd really, really like a tach and a clock. The bent handlebars look cool, but they don't allow much space for mounting a bar-mounted clock. <li>There's no storage to speak of. I can barely fit my registration in with the tool kit. You want some kind of external baggage. </ul> Overall I'm quite happy with the bike. It's light, nimble, and has clean lines (although the radiator kind of sticks out like a sore thumb). This is a fun little bike, and quite reasonably priced. It loses a star for its short range and another for the little things like squeaky brake, obtrusive side stand, and lack of a tach. It begs for a windshield, highway pegs, and saddlebags
- Jim Frost, Arlington, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-12 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only have 200km (120 Miles) on it so far and I'm from the school of wanting to hear the bike. So, not being able to "hear and feel" the engine makes me wish a Tach was installed. There seems to be a bit of hesitation if opening the throttle slowly when first starting out-and a bit of gear whining, again in first when coasting. Bike seems very smooth thru corners and sufficient power for hills and normal passing. Still breaking in so haven't cranked it. When the engine is cold and cool outside temp-choke has to be pulled fully out and warm-up time allowed.
- Bob, East Coast

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-29 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1. Great looks - not a cruiser clone. 2. Shaft drive. 3. Lots of low-end torque, and still more roll-on at high speeds. 4. Low center of gravity, easy handling. 5. Cheap insurance. 6. Stove-bolt reliable.
- Bruce Hoffman, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: