Suzuki Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (225)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Diane McFadden from Paris, Texas says:

I bought a new 2001 Suzuki Savage in September of 2001. I am 57 years old and had not ridden a bike in many years. I FINALLY got MY license in F

Read More (225 reviews)

Have you owned a Suzuki Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2001 Suzuki Savage in September of 2001. I am 57 years old and had not ridden a bike in many years. I FINALLY got MY license in February of this year. I like the bike very much. I take my cell phone and take off by myself quite often. My husband does not like to ride as much as I do. I have found the bike to be very manageable and quite easy to handle on the road. I would highly recommend this bike for women especially. It is not so big, but has lots of power.
- Diane McFadden, Paris, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-05 2000 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Many people purchase this bike thinking that it is a cheap sport bike, which in one manner it is. It has the motor (and possibly frame) from the 88-91 GSXR 750. It's old, proven technology. If you think you're getting a sportbike that can hang with anything that has an "R" in the name, think again. This is a sport-touring bike which means you are going to sacrifice speed and agility for other features. It isn't spectacular in any one field but very good across the board. Consider the fact it has a centerstand, gas gauge, and a monster 5.2 gallon tank. Every day I ride it, I'm more impressed with how much of a "jack of all trades, master of none" this bike is. I rode it for 2,000+ miles over four riding days and it performed flawlessly with decent comfort. Could it be faster? Anything can be faster. Does it really need to be for daily road use? I don't think so
- Anonymous, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-24 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been a great bike, it has never let me down. It is mostly ridden off-road and does a commendable job for a dual sport. It's a little heavy, but for trail riding and a little on-road riding, I couldn't ask for anything more.
- Rob, Felton, Palau

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-15 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many dirt bikes over about 30 years of riding. The bike is very comparable to the xr bikes of the 90's. It has the same great low end of the xr, but has more mid and top range. The bike has been as reliable as an ax. It is the estart model and has not ever needed to be push started. The previous owner made it minimally street legal. Not a great highway bike but fun on the side roads.
- Dave, Ishpeming, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2000 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rock-solid reliability. I've had my speedometer pegged at 160! I can't think of anything to complain about. The only thing is that if you use synthetic oil, the clutch will slip at 8,000 rpm when you're fully on it. Use regular oil!
- Eric Braga, sactramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-09 2000 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned my Katana for 6 years before I sold her to upgrade to the almighty BUSA. Extremely comfortable (except the stock seat is very uncomfortable on the '00 model so I put a gel seat on), looks awesome and has some good mid range power. I never had a single problem with my Katana. She was an awesome bike and every now and then I see the guy I sold it too riding it. I'm sure he is having a blast on it just like I did. After awhile, you may find you want more power and speed, but you picked a great bike to learn on.
- Todd, Harker Heights, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-19 2000 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this bike about a month ago and I haven't got off it yet! This is a great bike for a beginner, I am 6 foot 5 the seat is a little too low but I still love it. Like I said this is my first bike, so I can't compare it to others. The price was right, a 2000 Katana 750 with 7012km's for $4500.00 you can't go wrong for a first bike and not a scratch on it! Friends of mine cannot believe it's a 2000 they all think I bought a brand new bike. Cheers!
- Larry, Guelph, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-22 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Outside of tires and oil, there hasn't been much that this bike needs. I live in a place where the roads are curvy, and stop lights few. The bike has been dependable (make sure your battery terminal bolts are tight). 40 MPG is normal, with a best of 45MPH on I-5 heading to Portland, OR, or anywhere this bike can stretch its legs. I installed Progressive fork springs (way back) to help in the curves. My friends with more "canyon focused" rides are amazed at how well this bike moves through the curves. While it is not a "power house" type of ride, pulling up to three digits on the speedo is not hard. If you want performance above and beyond a freight train, look elsewhere. If you want an easy chair that handles better than Harleys that are half again the Suzuki's price, go no further. It is heavy, but doesn't feel like it. I'm about to hit 50K on the odometer, and my Suzi doesn't use oil. I just put the original spark plugs back in it because they still looked like new (like the replacements I took out after 30K on them). The only part of this bike that has been irritating is the various vibrations that come with a big V-twin. My VL-1500 has never been in the back of a truck - I ride it and love it. This bike is a good value, and the later ones are even better. It could stand a bigger fuel tank, at least 5 gallons. It isn't perfect, but I'd buy another one. After market manufacturers treat the VL like an ugly baby - if you want more love from the Chrome and glitz mongers, buy a HOG.
- Vaughn Slavin, Cave Juntion, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first cruiser I've owned, and I like it. Bought Suzuki brand saddle bags, tried aftermarket, these fit the best. Rifle offers to custom fit a windshield, I think I will take them up on their offer. Other future mods include a backrest for rider and passenger and an engine guard. There is an exhaust backfire, possible carb jets or Calif emissions. Otherwise a lot of bang for the buck!
- Ray Hoover, Fillmore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-20 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good ride, reliable, never to the shop for anything. don't want someone else messing with my girl! Paint could have been a little thicker and brakes could have been a little better are all I feel needs improvement. Oh by the way, the gas tank could have been a gallon or so larger. Other than that, I love this bike and couldn't be happier!
- Rick, Apple Valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-12 2000 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from a trip from Indianapolis to NC and Tennessee. The bike handled very well on the highway, but I will tell you side winds slowed me down to 50 MPH at times... most of the time I was able to cruise at 80 MPH with no problems. Even going through the mountains, it handled beautifully despite the heavy rain. After riding 500 miles on the trip my butt started to feel pain, and by the time I reached 800 it was screaming... the trip was just shy of 1200 miles, and I can tell you it took me a few days to recoup. Still think this is a great bike, it is very responsive, torky little thing, and it's got a lot of pep. The bike is perfect for camping. I took tons of stuff strapped to the back (I have no luggage rack - bike is stock) and even being a bit heavy, bike was great on the highway. I have been riding with folks who ride cruisers, and I sometimes struggle to keep up if they decide to speed, but I think it is mostly because of the unusual Spring/Summer season we've had in the midwest... too much rain and tons of wind. While all bikes don't like the wind, the DR really hates it. Your question, "Do I recommend the bike?" You BETCHA! Buy this bike and you won't be disappointed. By the way, it's been getting anywhere between 50 to 60 MPG and with gas prices this high, this bike pays for itself every time you ride it! It is kind of cool to be riding a bike that is different from eveyone else. Lots of people came to talk to me about the bike.
- Lou Oliveira, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-26 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 2001 with 3k miles. Of course I did not exercise due diligence and discovered later that the bike was probably wrecked and/or abused by the previous owner. I experienced a moderate problem with stalling once every couple of thousand miles. Finally it cleared up on its own at 26k miles, and I'm pushing 42k now. It's easy to ride due to the low center of gravity provided by the under-the-seat gas tank. There is way more than enough get-up-and-go for me. This bike is loads of fun to cruise. If I'm grandstanding around town it'll give me 36-37 mpg, and around 42mpg if I settle in at 60 mph or so on a longer ride.
- steveinsandiego, carlsbad, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-25 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am not a little person and couldn't be happier with seat size and peg location. It is my first street bike and has served me well. I had to crank up the preload in the back and added a Two Brothers Slip-On, K&N air filter, and Jet Kit to help compensate with my extra weight. I now can lighten the front end with wheelies in first at 7k on the tank and actually had a light tank slapper once in second. It is also fun getting on and off the throttle in the dark and watching the lights rise. The pipe is way louder than stock put much quieter than a Harley with aftermarket pipes. It handles very well. I kind of ride it like a dirt bike, cranking it over into turns and snapping it back out. Good fun! Only complaint is it is a tight fit to get the carburetors out of the bike to rejet them.
- John Vorisek, Espyville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-08 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this dual-sport fall 2003 with a four-gallon IMS tank, Yoshimura exhaust system, rear fender eliminated and smaller light put on, and more. I have taken it to a local motocross track several times and had lots of fun. It's amazing that I can do a double and then drive the thing away (although I do truck it to the track to save the tires). The trails are a bit of a challenge if it requires my legs to touch the ground. I'm 5'8and the seat is thicker than stock, so touching the peg with one leg and land with another just doesn't happen. Seat is also good for about an hour on the road, but not much more. It will do highway speeds, but doesn't like to for long. To sum it up, for what I want I would only be happier with a Yamaha WR450 if it came it dual-sport mode. For now, love the DR! Anyone in the Charlotte area looking to ride, email me and we'll try and get together.
- Donnie, Kannapolis, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-28 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new in 1998 and have nothing but great luck with it. I have only 17 thousand miles on it and have done the regular maintenance on it. I have 80% work done by the dealer and I do the rest. I suggest this bike to anyone. I have owned and worked on Harleys and I will not buy another one.
- Steve C, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-07 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
PURCHASED THE 2002 DRZ400E IN APRIL 2003--NEW! I IMMEDIATELY WENT FOR THE DUAL SPORT CONVERSION AND HAVE BEEN CHUCKLING SINCE! I PARTICULARLY ENJOY THE LOOKS I GET FROM LAW ENFORCEMENT! THE BAJA DESIGNS DUAL SPORT KIT HAS GIVEN ME THE OPPORTUNITY TO RIDE HASSLE FREE AND LEGALLY ANYWHERE I CHOOSE. THE BIKE ITSELF IS AWESOME IF NOT A BIT HEFTY! NIMBLE BEYOND ITS WEIGHT ON THE TRAIL,SUZUKI HAS MANAGED TO DISGUISE THIS BIKE WITH A COMPACT CHASIS. THE MOTOR IS ANEMIC DOWN LOW BUT TORQUEY ENOUGH TO CHUG ALONG OVER THE CHOPPY FLORIDA ROOTS LIKE SILK! YOU CAN ALMOST RIDE THIS BIKE IN A SINGLE GEAR (3RD) WITH MINIMAL CLUTCH WORK! I GET A KICK(LITERALLY) BY TAKING IT OUT ON THE MX TRACK, JUST TO SHOW OFF ITS VERSATILITY....AND YES,I LEAVE THE LICENSE PLATE ON!........THEN ITS OFF TO THE WOODS AGAIN.... NO,ITS NOT THE PERFECT DUAL SPORT CONVERSION FOR THE AGGRESSIVE MX/WOODS RIDER....BUT WITH SOME SUSPENSION WORK THIS BIKE IS WORTHY OF SOME SERIOUS HAMMER TIME!
- EDDIE, WEST PALM BEACH, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-26 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my five year old '98 Savage with 2100 miles on it, and have put on that many more in five months. It is an elemental throwback, a pure motorbike. The tachometer is your butt and your ears, the gear indicator is what it feels like when you let the clutch out, and it can take you from cowpaths through pastures to the passing lane on the interstate, but its element is back roads and state highways. It handles like a dream, is easy to maintain, will last longer than you will, and get more admiring glances than you deserve. You can get new repair manuals and parts to service Savages dating from the '80s. If it ain't broke, go ride it!
- Jim Canfield, Mason, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-26 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '00 TL1000S is the most fun I've ever had on two wheels. Mods include Leo Vinci slip-ons, Heli-Bars & Dunlop D209's Thats all I've done,Thats all it needs. Every day I ride it i feel like im getting away with something. I get all kind of envious looks and positive feedback. I can sit and look at my bike and know I've made the right choice. More power and handling than i could ever LEGALLY use. Maybe a Radar Detector is in order. Ride one and you'll know why!!!!!
- Glenn J Crane, Boscawen, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-11 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike for a great price used to satisfy my desire to play in the dirt again. My 1st dirt ride since the mid-80's, TOO FUN! I went on a state park with some pretty tough trails it never missed a beat. This is the S version with the lights. The mirrors came in handy to watch my riding buddies on their 4 wheelers. I wrecked 2 times ( mud and on/off road tires don't mix) I'll do a few mods( suspension) but the bike is a blast. I think there is no other choice for a real dirt ride you can ride on the street.
- Legrand, Gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2000 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Katana in April 2001 and by December I've already had 8,000 miles on it. Of all the bikes I've had, this is the most comfortable considering the fact that I'm 6'3". I must admit that it could use more power. The only vibration I felt was when I put a D&D slip on. For that beautiful sound I'm willing to use bicycle gloves any day. Great bike for the price.
- JUN JUN, Severn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-23 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I can highly recommend a Bandit 600 for this task. I prefer to ride in the country and for me this bike works well for that. It is has plenty of power for me, but I have nothing else to compare it to having never ridden another bike. I don't ride too feverishly and get about 48 mpg while on the highway-haven't really rode around town. The only problems are a vibration around 5000-6000 rpm and the mirrors also vibrate at highway speeds. Overall a good bike.
- Dave, Iowa City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the only bike I will ever buy again. This thing has power from the low end to the high and I have never reached a point where there is no power. The carb that was chosen for this bike is what makes it. The accelerator pump is what gives it low end and gives it to you fast. I am looking to add more power some day but it has plenty off the show room floor and the electric start is awesome NO MORE KICK MY BRAINS OUT.
- Mark (Trailrider6), Newport, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-15 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike is a used 2000 Suzuki 1500 Intruder LC. This has been a great first bike and I consider this a lucky find (I purchased a used bike with low miles and many add ons). The bike has great power, stable, comfortable to ride, and seems solid and reliable. The bike easily cruises at 75 to 80 mph and tops out around 100 mph with stock pipes. Solid acceleration in fifth gear when passing. I have put over 4 thousand miles on this bike and love riding this bike all the time. The only serious shortcoming is the woefully inadequate 4 gallon fuel tank. I have scrambled for a gas station on more than one occassion. The breaks do squeal occassionally, but I wear ear protection and hardly notice. My bike is solid black with an adjustable windshield, chrome case guards, saddlebags, rack, sissy bar, passenger handles, and a few chrome add ons. It is a great cruiser and an good touring bike. I am 5'10" 200 lbs and the bike fits me great. The hand position is unstrained and my riding position is relaxed. I have riden the bike comfortably for many hours at a stretch. The stock seat is great. Cruise control would be a nice option for long trips. All in all I feel this is a great bike. Obviously Sukuki isn't charging a premium for the label. Finally, I always wear a full face helmet and riding clothes. Nothing fashionable about Brain damage.
- Anonymous, Columia, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-09 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took a road star for a test drive, my feet vibrated for an hour after dismounting. Harleys are great bikes but the price is nuts and the dealers are worse than vampires. ( Suck ya dry ). Took out a 1500 and fell in love. Great bike, great price, great dealer. Gonna do a Maritimes tour in July with the wife protecting my back. 1500 has the comfort for both of us. Apart from sunny days, what more could a guy as for?
- John, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2000 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Why is it the #1 selling model in the world for 2000 & 2001? Because dollar for dollar nothing matches it. I put 20 wt Belray in the forks when I took delivery on 5/00 along with Micron full exh. and Goodrich brake lines and 14k miles later, its still the cats meow. No problems with suspension or anything else. Travels well(2300 mi. Canada trip), great commuter, tons of fun to flick around in the twisties. It doesn't take a pulitzer prize winner to write a positive note for this ride!
- Bob Andrus, Thomaston, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: