Suzuki Standard Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Standard Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Standard? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2001-08-29 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an 1100cc tank that is great for the long cruises with two up but found it sat mostly in the garage. Jump on for a trip to town for some shopping and pushing this heavy monster around the parking lots, forget about it! This little cruiser is perfect and unlike many of the midsize bikes like the Virago and the Savage this puppy handles! Tried both the Virago 535 and the Savage LS650. They are fine as long as you are going straight but with that rake on the front forks extremely sluggish in the tight turns. This little beauty will turn on a dime as you even begin to think about it. I believe so many people would be happy with a cruiser like this if they only knew about it.
- Capt. Al, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-04 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't rode for 8 years when I decided I would like to get back into it. I bought the GZ250 thinking it would be great to relearn on and i really liked the bikes looks. The dealer told me it was to small and I would outgrow it quickly. I bought it last summer and have had a blast riding it. I haven't outgrown it and have no desire to move to a bigger bike. I highly recommend this bike to anyone who enjoys riding.
- Mark, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am so glad I listened to my heart instead of the salesman. I live 100 miles away from my work and with soaring gas prices, I needed something economical and stylish to get me there. My first thought was motorcycle. I am 36 years old and had not ridden in 20 years, so I browsed the internet and fell in love with this bike. I bought the bike in July, took the Motorcycle Safety Foundations safety course(A MUST) and have logged over 4000 miles now at the end of October. What a pleasure to ride, a very well balanced bike that corners more by thought than muscle and averaging 65 miles per gallon a definite cruiser in the literal sense of the word. Bravo!
- Perry McDonough, Northern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Dude, you're gonna outgrow this bike pretty fast. Let me show you this 1100cc. one I got... I could've bought the GZ250 6 months ago, but somehow I'd been tricked into believing this thingy was not suitable. They also tricked me into believing that the next one in the line-up, the Savage, wasn't good enough either. I guess my waiting paid up. I thank all the people that have written reviews here, and since I'm needing something to commute every day (50-60 miles per day), I'll go ahead and buy a used GZ250 from the guy that bought it a month ago and says he outgrew it already. Bye, Silvio
- Silvio Ligutti, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-11 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a motorcycle and dirtbike enthusiast since about the age of twelve. I've owned bikes ranging from 80cc to 600cc, and with each one comes a new experience. Let's face it, the motorcycle industry does little for the vertically impaired. If you're under 5'2" there isn't much out there except a few poorly styled 250's. Then comes the GZ250. Sure it's still a 250, but lets take a closer look. The bike gives off a big bike appearance, and can comfortably seat any rider between 5' and 5'6". How about those 3.7-gallon gas tanks that'll let you cruise with the big bikes all day or maybe the hot-rod-styled rear fender. How about the generous amount of polished aluminum, and chrome(although some of the shiny stuff is plastic too!). I think they should have gone with with the cruiser styled exhaust though, and not the cheesy megaphone. The performance is more than adequate For around town and the bike will cruise easily around 65-70 mph. It handles well, and the brakes are more than enough to handle the bikes performance. The only problem with the bike so far is that first gear is a little moody when awoken in the morning.
- Ben Boulris, USS Phillipinesea, Mayport Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a Yamaha Riva 180 Scooter for 13 years, I came across a Honda Rebel and discovered that small motorcycles that I would feel comfortable riding were out there. While shopping around, I was introduced to the GZ250 and it was love at first sight. - what a beauty. I got mine 3 days ago, practiced shifting for a few hours (the scooter was automatic) and then hit the road (figuratively, not literally!). This bike is fantastic. It's certainly quick enough for me, handles great, and it looks like a motorcycle, not a plastic factory on wheels. As far as I'm concerned, it's not just a beginner's bike - I'm going to be riding it for a long, long time. Seat, hand and foot positions are very comfortable, great pick-up, wide power band - I'm In The Wind.
- Rich C., Long Island, NY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my GZ250 for a few days now and I am completely satisfied with its styling and performance. It was very easy to start learning to ride again after 11 yrs. with a bike that handles as well as this one. Only complaint is first gear is so short, but a little practice with throttle and shifting control helps. Overall a great little bike that doesn't look so little.
- Jeff, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-19 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 33-year-old first time rider and I immediately fell in love with the Suzuki GZ250 in the dealer showroom. While shopping, all the salespeople were suggesting larger bikes like the Yamaha V-Star, or the Honda Aero, but being a beginner, I thought it would be smarter (and safer!) to start light. Well, I bought the Suzuki GZ250 in April and I totally love it! It corners very easily and the light 302-lb. weight makes it a joy to maneuver the hills and traffic of San Francisco. Shifting is smooth and easy (although the first gear takes you barely above 10 mph) but it makes for a great city commuter bike. It's got great balance, is easy to lean into turns, and a smooth adjustable suspension. If you're a novice, don't let the speed demons or Hell's Angel's wannabes try to intimidate you in getting a bigger bike that you may not be able handle. This bike has big bike looks and will get you started with a lot of confidence. I'll be taking the MSF course in July and look forward to riding one in the class.
- Anonymous, San Francisco, California. USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-12 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used this bike at my Motorcycle Safety Course in May. I loved it then and have been looking for a decent bike to buy since. So far, of everything I have looked at, I haven't found anything that beats it as far as looks and price go. I have been told that I will get sick of it fast because of the small engine. Well, even though I'm only 28, I have grown out of the just go for speed and power phase and just want a cool little bike to cruise around on without breaking the bank. I think this is going to be the one!
- Anonymous, Superior, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-18 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 16 so this bike fits me perfectly! My dad drives it too. He is 6'1 -- it is so nice. I LOVE IT!
- Andy, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-09 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for those times you need to unwind. The affordable price lets you get into the sport without feeling guilty about spending too much money. The good looks (chrome, large tires, gas tank & fenders) make the bike look much larger than its low weight indicates. Unless long range freeway cruising are needed, this bike will fill the need for a motorcycle.
- Anonymous, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-28 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode this bike during the Motorcycle Riders Safety course the weekend of March 24-26 and fell in love with this bike. The only thing that I didn't like about it was when you had to zig-zag through cones, it didn't handle as well as I thought it should. Now mind you, this is the first bike I actually rode by myself and I'm 46 years old so maybe it handles better than other makes/models. The bike is extremely comfortable and I really enjoyed it. I would recommend it to anyone who was interested in it. The price is very good as well and that is a factor for a first time bike owner. I would like to thank Suzuki for sponsoring such a worth while event. My boyfriend rides a 1400 Intruder and I love riding with him however since taking this course I won't be satisfied to just be a passenger any longer, hopefully I'll be riding along side him instead of behind him in the future.
- Jo Whitehead, Maryville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-21 2000 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a blast to ride. It is perfect for beginners. When I went to look for a motorcycle my friend said I could never find a good bike for the money I had. When I first took this bike for a test ride I was plesantly surprised at how quick it was for being so small. Needless to say six months later I'm still happy with it.
- Ed C., Park City, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: