Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport Reviews (33)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-06-03 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before buying this bike iv heard good and bad things. Most people that own one swear buy them, and most performance magazines slate them as being (slow steering, poor suspension and ugly) Since owning 1 for 2 months I've totally fallen in love with this beastie. It was a unmodified 2000 model in black. If you get a unmodified model get it sorted (derestricted and suspension set-up) you wont regret it. The bike is now twice as good, handles sweet. A16 race cans, unrestricted in gears, new maps, front dropped 13mm from top, rear spacers to raise height. Set-up suspension to performance magazine settings, and its awsome on corners now. Will soon change crapy front damper. I've owned vtr1000, zx9rc1, and this bike feels much better in all aspects. Dont believe what the magazines say and try one, you wont be dissapionted!!!
- sumowilkie, leamingotn spa, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE A 2000 TLR AND THIS IS AN AWESOME BIKE. D&D EXHAUST MAKES IT SOUND LIKE A DIESEL TRUCK. LOTS OF TORQUE, COMFORTABLE,AND ATTRACTS LOTS OF ATTENTION AND LOOKS. AS LONG AS THEY CONTINUE TO MAKE TL'S, THIS WILL BE THE ONLY BIKE I WILL BUY FROM HERE ON OUT. ALL HAIL=POWER OF THE V-TWIN!!!!
- JASON GREGORY, HILLSIDE, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 98 TL "bad Ass" 1000 r and I have been known to take every chance I can to ride it including to the mailbox...which it at the end of my driveway...it doesn't get much better then this.I decided on the TL over the busa because everyone is either on one or trying to get one.The TL is in a class of it's own and the sound of a V-Twin superbike is out of this world.
- gene p, columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-10 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very impressed, sweet bike the TL's torque was smooth and beefy. My next bike is diffently the V-twin monster. Wouldn't give up the Honda9 for it! jmostar
- jmostar, lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-28 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote previously on the TLR, and after slight upgrades, I'm back. I added the K&N PowerCommander II to take away some of that "lag" in reference to the throttle response, so now the V-twin, although still strong and smooth, has much more umph out of 1st, and top end I feel the PC II as well. In addition, I added the Wiley slip-ons, which gave the v-twin the sound I was craving, not too crazy, but you hear me coming and going. My riding partners are awestruck by the sound, and me as well. For the ladies I added a black windshield, and aqua-colored neon lights. The last thing I've done to my pride and joy is to go up from the stock 190/50 rear tire to the Dunlap 200 series. Oh, I almost forgot, I also had the rear fender eliminator kit installed, which beautifully exposes that nice, fat, 200, and it rides like a show pony and whenever I feel the need, I can either put my chest on the tank and hold on, or, I can raise the front end on ANY GIVEN SUNDAY. In this small military town, definately an head turner. Oh, one more thing I added was the tricked out tailights, which slowly rotate counter-clockwise upon starting and whenever you hit the brakes, they pulsate and flash until you let up. In closing, my bike is truly on point now. Feel free to hit me at your earliest convenience. Ride safe and have a nice day. Plate reads: Slim-65
- Keith Avery, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-28 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2001 TL1000R in January of 2002. I traded a ZX6E. It has been a totally different experience for me. This bike has massive torque at all levels of the rev range. The riding position is perfect for getting down and dirty in the twisties. Stop and go traffic sucks. That last statement is true for most riders, but if your riding the TL you will have to slip the cluch on nearly every take off. When looking at it you can see the quality that went into its construction. This bike looks powerful sitting still. In this case you can judge the book by its cover.
- Lawrence Wright, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2000 TLR had 1200 mi when the clutch started slipping. I ordered a set of replacement clutch springs from Barnett, it now has 9600 mi on the odometer. I have not had any further problems. Total cost of fix was $17. **note** Plan on replacing springs at next oil change as the oil will need to be drained to remove the side cover. I was able to use the same o-ring with the low milage that was on the bike at the time.
- year-round-rider, Senoia, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-19 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In response to the guy from Australia who wrote the silly review "Why the Bad Press" maybe if you spent less time changing the oil all summer to get an extra horspower or two and desperately hunting down other bikers to boost your own ego you would actually realize that motorcycling is more than just power and speed.By the way about your genius statement" if the Japanese built a bike like the 900ss and called it a supersport they would get laughed of the face of the earth" Ducati came out with that bike in the 70s and at that time it was very much a supersport. But I guess you didn't have time to think it through while you were changing the oil. Maybe it's because of people like you the TLR gets bad press. Damn shame. LONG LIVE THE TLR
- The Man, Philly. USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-06 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm on the look out for a new bike.. The old CRB 1000 is getting very long in the tooth and a nice new twin could be just the answer. There rises the problem -- VTR1000 OR TL1000R? The TL1000R looks sexy compared to the VTR but the VTR gets all the good press. Can some one help my decision? Has anyone out there ridden both bikes.. and what's all this stuff I hear about the TL1000r's clutch slipping on a brand new bike and the tank slapping mid corner ? E-mail me if you can help spik2@optushome.com.au
- Andrew Miller, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-17 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always been a Suzuki rider but i almost fell for a CBR929 or the R1 but i looked a round and feel for the TRL due to comfort, then i took it home and right from the dealer (under estimated it's power) the back slid out a little with just a tap of juice :) I have no respect for 929's, 750's etc... (well the Hayabusa and Gixxer 1000 01' is another story) I have just done some minor mods to the bike and this baby is BAD. Going for a fine tune on the dyno next week and when thats done watch out Gixxer 1000 i'm coming hard and i have a total of $9500 investment so far on a 2001 TLR, think of what can be done for another $1500 or less
- Rick, NYC, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-16 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't own a 2000 but did buy a slightly used '98 R. I'm a Marine stationed in Okinawa and I bought this bike at a local shop. Unfortunately, my bike blew over in a typhoon but am currently awaiting parts from my dealer in New Mexico. The damage is minor and I can't wait to get back to riding, especially after hearing all the great comments! I have no complaints other than finding a "deep & throaty" set of canisters and a set of 5-spoke wheels. Does anyone know if they make high mount exhausts for this bike? I've already had several offers to buy the bike, even with broken parts but have declined them all. I have a lot of great things in store for this bike and hearing your comments solidifies my decision in purchasing my '98 Blue and White TL1000R...thanks!!!
- RedMan, Okinawa, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-17 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am attempting to get a large group of TLR riders together for Octoberfest in Daytona Florida during the month of October, 2001 and a group together for Bike Week 2002 in Daytona. The purpose is to show all other bike enthusiasts what the TLR is all about. Anyone who has ridden a TLR knows that this is the fastest production bike available and when there is a heard of 3 or more TLRs the roar of the exhaust is simply incredible. I did something of this sort last bike week and there were 9 of us on TLRs, it was awesome to see the heads turn from other sport bikers when we pulled up to a red light and all you heard was a roar from the deep exhaust pointed up at the sky. If you ride a TLR and are planning on being in the Daytona area for Octoberfest 2001 or bike week 2002 email me at garrison1383@yahoo.com Keep on riding and be safe! Garrison
- Garrison, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for about 10 years, and have never come across a machine quite like the TL1000R. Any street bike that can stand up on its rear sneaker with just a flick of the thottle at about 4500 rpm. right out of the box deserves a closer look from the pencil pushing geeks that wrote all the trash press about it. (let me see your stinkin' R1 do that, Mr. inline four!) Yes, I do admit, for a 120 lb. weakling, the TL may seem a bit heavy; but your baddest 4 is only about 30 lbs. lighter. I really dbout that anyone short of an avid track racer (which most of the motorcycling world is not) will notice. I currently own a 2000 TL1000R with a set of Yoshimira aluminum cans. Let me just say, that when I go for a ride with all of my sport riding pals, I am the one who gets the most rubber necking from the general public. If it's not the incredible styling that catches thier eye first, it's the growl of the exhaust note that makes thier ears stand at attention. of course, I am the only twin rider in the group. Not to mention that when we find that long streach of asfalt which makes every sport rider into a drooling, throttle pegging, maniac; I always seem to be directly out in front of the pack trying desperately to keep the fuel tank from blocking my view. don't get me wrong, the 929's and R1's are right there on my six, but they just can't hang with the awesome tourqe of the TL. Handling is unmistakingly up to the rider. I think that for me the TL gets mega points for traction and stability. Just take it easy on the throttle when exiting corners with all that low end tourqe. In short; the TL1000R is the all around best bike I have ever owned and deserves much more support from the factory and racing circuit.
- BIll Sauerhoefer, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-24 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Forget the magazines and their explicit track bias for bikes they review, this is an easy to live with bike with all the show and go you ever need for a damned good price...and japanese reliability too boot! I have recently acquired a '99 yellow model with Remus stainless cans and only 3,300 kms on the clock. I traded a '98 TL1000S on it. I ride 400kms round trip every week to and from work, and then also ride to and from clients on the bike as well, averaging 600km a week, man is this bike awesome! The bike is easy to ride, very comfy, with great fairing protection, and boy does it draw attention from all the ducati posers on sundays and the porsche drivers during the weekday rush! The girlfriend reckons it is the most comfy pillion perch she has ever encountered and loves the rumble that emanates from those cans when i get up it thru the Black Spur. Stuff the press. I was after one of these for the last year, nearly went for a Ducati ST4, but saved a packet and got heaps of grunt with a much bigger grin factor thrown in. Do yourself a favour give it a good test ride, find a friend with one and check it out, or just buy one and enjoy. I have ridden for the past 10 years on two-strokes, four-strokes, twins and fours including R6's, R1's, GSX-R750 & 600's, 900SS's, 916, Harley's, ZX-9R and lots of older stuff - the TL has me hooked. This has some of the best attributes of all those bikes packaged into one sexy, capable and awesome sounding bike.
- Lonestar, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-11 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, this bike kicks, screw what the press has said of it. Great low end torque, brakes, suspension, handling...etc. Yes, it could be a tad lighter. But hey, everybody's saying that it's still a step behind the R1 and that the TLR is not worth its price. Let me tell you, I got a smoking deal on my TLR, $7990. Right now, I know I'm right with the R1. All I need to do is make a couple of mods, spend $1500, maybe $2000 and I'll blow the R1 away easy. So, if my bike was $7990 and I put in $1500 in mods, I've still only spent about $9500, less than the R1 costs out of the box. There's no comparison for me, I love my TLR.
- Anthony Serano, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding fours, a twin is a revellation. Riding on a wave of torque is a smile a mile don't believe what you read in the mags buy one!
- mark, Kent

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a TL-R and loved it until my dealer convinced me to get on to an R1, at which point I then asked myself why I didn't buy an R1 in the first place. The TL-R is way too heavy of a bike and doesn't make enough horsepower to compensate for the amount of bulk ot carries. Torque is good at the low and high ends, but mid-range suffers greatly. The fuel injection system doesn't work the greatest either. Yes, with many weight-saving and performance mods this bike will easily keep up with other open-classers out there, but you have to consider how much those mods will cost you altogether (around $2,000 max or so?) Given the TL1000R's price of around $9,499, you may as well go and buy an R1, 929RR, ZX-9R or GSX-R750 or GSX-R1000 for much less and get a bike which is a hell of a lot lighter and much more powerful. If you really need a 2-cyl. bike, then go for the new RC51 or the Aprilia RSV Mille 1000R (or if you can afford it go for a 996R.)
- former owner, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-24 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe that two cyl. can make so much adrenaline. don't believe all the bad press (to heavy, bad suspension, days numbered, bla bla bla bla f*ckin bla). This bike is the sh*t, the most powerful, the most comfortable, best looking bike I've owned. Can't say enough, go buy one. One bad thing though, hard to find aftermarket parts for.
- dan, Central New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-24 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The TLR is without doubt one of the best bikes on the road. with some mods it'l eat R1s, blades & the like with ease. The girls luv'em but the 4cylinder boys hate'em (GSX R 1300 not withstanding). Get A good set of cans and they've got A noise to die for. don't set suspension too tight, power it on through the bends, and wait for the blades birds and yamyRRRsss when you get there, they'll turn up eventually. This bike is not for the faint hearted!!!. It demands full comitment by the rider,and will reward you with bucketsfull of fun.
- Bill Havelock, London,England

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-23 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I need info on the Correct Exhaust system to purchase without changing the sound too much or making it too Loud. Also the correct Fender Eliminator kit to purchase. email at Heidelberger90@yahoo.com
- Goody, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Some of us miss the point the TLR might not be great(race track)bike, most of us are not great riders we just think we are. On the street my TLR is all that and them some.I love beating up on the 929s, gixers. A the end of a pickup ride I like it when the other riders comment I didn't know the TL ran like that...Power of the twin!!!!
- lee Williams, Monroe County, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't know a whole lot about motorcycles, except that they are fun, fast, and they make my friends and co-workers exceedingly jealous. I have owned a few over the years ( gsxr750, fzr600, and a ton of dirtbikes,) but nothing can compare to my new 2001 TL100R. This bike has muscle, class, style, comfort ( relative to my gsxr anyway)and I couldn;t be happier. I'm still breaking it in, but I can already tell that this bike has everything I need, and everything my friends and co-workers want!
- Greg Neville, Silicon Valley

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-18 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning two TLRs a 98 and a 2000 model I bought a new 2000 GSXR750. What a disappointment. It is an excellent machine no doubt but by the time the power hits the pavement the guy on the TLR has already vaporized you. I don't care what the magazine guys think this puppy can do anything the GSXR can and then some. I saw the errors of my ways and traded the GSXR back for a new 01' TLR. PAY ATTENTION SUZUKI: To Hell with the GSXR750 shave some weight off the TLR and go racing with it again!
- anonymous, Cheat Lake, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden since 1973. I currently own a 2000 Bandit 1200S, and a 2000 TL1000R. The TL1000R gives me everything I need in a supersport, good handling, kick ass motor, superb acceleration, and it does so at a fraction of the price of the other twins, i.e. Aprilla and Ducati. For the extra money you spend on those bikes with marginal if any increased performance, you could put a turbo fan engine on the TL1000R. TL1000R will make you ecstatic.
- Gregg Martin, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had two TLR's. The first was a yellow 99 model the second, and current one, is a yellow 2000 model. Both bikes have had minor modifications done, being Remus mufflers, K&N air filters, and the airbox lids removed. I also had the suspension settings changed from stock, and the forks dropped 13mm through the clamps. the full suspension recipe can be found on Jamie Mcallister's TLR info site. The running in procedure I have taken is slightly different from the owner's manual, and this seems to be beneficial. I kept the revs under 6000rpm during the first 500km,and then changed the oil and filter. I then replaced the oil with good quality mineral bike oil, but every 100km I let the motor rev to 8000rpm for one second, and so on until I had covered 1200km. After that I do the same in first and second every 100km,untill 2000km. After that I drop the oil and filter, replace with a good mineral oil and ride normally. Then at 5000km,I'll change to high performance synthetic oil and change it every 3000km. Following this procedure, which was explained to me by a racer friend, my first bike was pushing out 123hp at the back wheel after 6000km,and still felt tight, with more performance to come later, I wonder how many red Italian bikes push these figures. Riding on a Perth highway a few weeks ago I saw a guy on a 916,so I caught up, to see what he would do, as soon as he saw me he nailed it. Now I don't know if his bike had a problem, or if he suffered from duc ego but my bike destroyed him, when I stopped at a set of lights, he lifted his visor and said, "gee that thing goes well.I told him It wasn't fully run in yet, and I was on my way to the licensing center to get private plates with the word 'duceata'. Why do TLR's get such bad press? I don't knowas a road registered sports bike I think they are great. Maybe because they are cheaper than the other big twins, maybe because they are from Asia, but what I do know is if the Asians built a bike like the Ducati 900ss and called it a super sport they would be laughed off the face of the Earth. Long live the TLR
- Leon Tsouris, Western Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: